Proton S70 discussion, Budget Volvo sedan

zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 12:40 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(blackie19 @ Dec 27 2023, 12:00 PM)
So you wanna dispute that X50 is not a fuel guzzler?
Problem is many of these fella all taking car with small engine output to compare the fuel consumption.

You want power, you need fuel, there's no magic to it.
255nm torque from the X50 even most 2.5L NA engine can't match its torque output,

Even the 1.0T Ativa wasn't fuel save, there's a review from Wapcar mentioned about this.

The thing these Turbo engine is it can achieve much better fuel economy at constant highway speed vs City drive, the fuel consumption gap is much wider VS NA engine

Example NA worst FC could be at 8km/L, best at 15km/L
Turbo worst FC could be at 5km/L, best also at 15km/L
zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 01:38 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(blackie19 @ Dec 27 2023, 01:27 PM)
No I wanna compare it with HRV 1.5T engine (same displacement as X50) which produces 240Nmn Torque and 179HP, both comparable if not better than X50, yet produces much better FC than X50.

Oh yeah, cos they are using outdated CVT GB that's why.
As a starter based on official site : -

X50 official fc is 6.4 litres per 100 km
Honda HRV 1.5T is 6.5 litres per 100 km

zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 02:17 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(blackie19 @ Dec 27 2023, 01:40 PM)
Ask any X50 user if they can achieve that FC, and ask any HRV user what their best FC is, and you will get the answer.
And that's your credible answer doh.gif

U first day here ke, ppl buy Honda mau maruah where want to admit own car bad
Ppl buy proton all no maruah so continue to bash and be bashed.

if any of us would want to prioritize FC and minimized spent on depreciating asset we would have gone for Axia the first day.

Let's face it ppl who buy HRV because they want a Honda HRV, not because of just that marginally difference in fuel consumption.

If you ask me I would say both of them also high FC, which beat which marginally does that even matter at the difference of about 20k difference of selling price for a car priced over 100k?
zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 02:27 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Dec 27 2023, 02:05 PM)
Completely useless rant in the face of the HRV 1.5 turbo. Same weight as X50, same power, drag race X50 lose to HRV, 4cyl supposed to be more fuel used compared to X50 3cyl.

And yet HRV is vastly better in fuel consumption. Faster, more powerful and yet more economical. Face it, as a X70 owner myself, Geely engineering is still nowhere near Honda.
Both of them have pros and cons, but everyone know who bought HRV is not because of that marginally difference in fuel consumption of could be slightly faster in 0-100km/h drag race.
They bought Honda HRV because is a car well perceived by the public VS Geely which just in like recently + Malaysian have a lot of trust in Japanese tech when it comes to auto industry.

Just enjoy what you bought and stop looking at what you could have bought for that negligible difference will make your life less miserable, both X50 and HRV is pretty good car for its price, at least u did not get the almost 20 years old engine by some maker which already discontinued at other region.

zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 02:41 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Dec 27 2023, 02:27 PM)
Geely variant has HPS?  o thought only use for proton model Like persona and iriz , saga inknow don't have
Ade lah both Geely also have, confirmed by few press also like Paultan & Carsifu

https://vernonchan.com/proton-x70-scores-5-...-safety-rating/

zero5177
post Dec 27 2023, 04:22 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(tonewow @ Dec 27 2023, 04:06 PM)
X50, X70 - got hpf.

S70 - which is actually entry level car in china like saga and bezza - DONT HAVE HPF.
look at their marketing, never say out. blardy b segment car at c segment pricing!
S70 share some BMA platform with X50
Although they did mention X50 chassis were strengthened, but wasn't sure if they did the same for S70.

I guess the Reason why they did not market this because BMA platform were Geely's, unlike Iriz they can claim because were homegrown RESS.

HPF is just a technique to make very strong steel that's stronger than Ultra High Strength Steels which is also adopted by other car maker.

Quoted from Pauline site "Safety is another key feature, with BMA being designed to exceed the criteria for a five-star EuroNCAP safety rating. It utilises 70% high-strength steel and 20% hot-formed steel in its construction, and has been designed to accommodate active safety features as well as Level 2 and Level 3 autonomous driving."
zero5177
post Feb 28 2024, 10:46 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Feb 28 2024, 09:57 AM)
Ended up getting city FL . its fuel efficient but perhaps nowhere near fun driving as the s70 would be due to the performance.
Congrats on settling down your decision! Just enjoy the ride and don't think too much about what you should have etc flex.gif
zero5177
post Feb 28 2024, 10:47 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(blackmarket @ Feb 28 2024, 10:02 AM)
Just curious, for modern proton / geely car, is the interior quality still prone to rattling? Or is it comparable with Japanese car these day?
So far for my X50 after 2 years still doing fine, no odd rattling
zero5177
post Feb 28 2024, 11:04 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Feb 28 2024, 10:58 AM)
haha ya, end up buying it because it have ready stock and i really needed a car at the time.

really tough choice especially in B segments once s70 comes out. on paper really nothing came close to s70,and it should be crime to be selling it this cheap.

To get ICC stop and go (low speed follow) for the city, you'd have to go all the way up to 110k+ for the RS eHEV. I don't like how H has been gatekeeping all the best features to the hybrid models which we know will have trouble in the future.

the vios engine output is pathetically sad to even consider it . also, same engine/ meter cluster as myvi / ativa , plus DNGA instead of TNGA, a big nope for me.

Here's to hoping it will not end up like the suprima S or preve.

perhaps next will see what offerings does proton have in the near future, i will also shift to proton (or when the civic price are not that out of reach anymore)
Yeap Vios really a turn off, between all these City is definitely the decent one among them. S70 should be pretty ok, it wasn't a new car abroad, but like u said when in need of a car urgently only can pick what's available.

Don't worry City is a decent car, at least VS S70 u guarantee to get better fuel economy + stable resale value which S70 is still not known yet which I predict should be holding up pretty good itself as long it doesn't cause much issue, the powertrain + GB is pretty stable for now with X50 on the road for 3 years already did not hear premature failure.
zero5177
post Feb 28 2024, 11:47 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Feb 28 2024, 11:44 AM)
i saw one in DUKE in the morning.  drive very fast like sohai  biggrin.gif  but the back tailights really look nice
So far I also only encounter 2-3

Agree the tailight look nice, and it looks better in reality than in picture.

0.0176sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:28 PM