Proton S70 discussion, Budget Volvo sedan

dares
post Nov 30 2023, 08:56 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 08:52 PM)
Bro...unker just check....even X50 is not in BMA platform....

which means they are using DIFF platform in Proton X50 and S70....it should be something much more older.....--> which means more parts (platforms), non-modular, less strength requirement, more noise chasis...

Proton actually can learn from Perodua x Toyota...

They don't hesitate to tell buyer they are sharing DNGA platform....and Toyota Vios is using DNGA platform....
X50 is BMA

X70 uses older NL platform
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:04 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 08:59 PM)
how to know/confirm X50 is using BMA platform?
Because it's reported in every media outlet, who got the info from press releases and press kits. Unless you're implying Geely/Proton lying through their teeth to everybody.

Tell me, before TNGA/DNGA, do Toyota market the name of the platform they are using? Do you know the name of the platform Honda is using?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:08 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 06:39 PM)
eh...bodo you....go see Geely China also use CVT lah....kau ah....bodo lah
China and Philippines using CVT because it is mated to the 1.5NA engine.

Proton opted for the 1.5T because of local market expectations, and also they are already manufacturing the engine in Malaysia. The entire drivetrain (engine + DCT gearbox) was lifted from the X50.

It is more cost efficient to share these components between 3 models (S70, X50, X70), instead of starting another drivetrain assembly line just for S70.
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:12 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 05:36 PM)
Another thing that i think you maybe overlooked...

Geely have their own BMA (B-segment Modular Architecture) platform.....

This BMA is B-Segment platform...

and they apply this BMA in Geely Emgrand....but the wheelbase is 2650mm not 2627mm in proton s70...

https://global.geely.com/en/models/emgrand

Unker also check the proton S70 brochure....proton didn't specifically mentioned they use BMA in S70...

So unker think proton S70 probably not built on BMA platform...

Below is the BMA platform....

Below is the PROTON S70 platform...

Quite huge different
So what are you saying? That the S70 is a completely different car from Emgrand? That Proton took another platform and built a car that looks exactly like the Emgrand, using up even more development funds, then sell it cheaper than Vios/City?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:11 PM)
not true...china is using 1.5TDGi engine
Source?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:14 PM)
You can read this...

https://www.automachi.com/2023/11/is-the-20...rawang-factory/

the cross region using same-platform is something that recently developed not too long ago....to cut cost, also to have less parts of platform and increase the stability....
What does this have to do with what I am asking?

Do you know the name of the 1st gen Vios? 2nd gen? 3rd gen? Did Toyota ever market it?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:15 PM)
bro, it is not what UNKER want to say.....it is WHAT PROTON and GEELY want to say????

Unker is not PROTON SALESMAN....no point to questions unker...
You said X50 and S70 not using BMA platform ma. So what are you implying? S70 is a totally different car from Emgrand? X50 is totally different from Binyue?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:20 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:18 PM)
here you go

This is a 1.5NA engine.

Look at the power and torque figures.
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:20 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:19 PM)
you don't sohai and directive....unker will not kena your trap btw...
You said ma, if platform good, sure will put in marketing materials.

Honda Civic FE use what platform?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:23 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:20 PM)
you please don't sohai ask back uncle questions...sendiri go see the specification okay?

Either the S70 wheelbase is wrong, or they modified it. The M in BMA stands for modular, so that is not hard to change.

And that is a far more plausible explanation that saying it's not BMA. That implies that Proton built a Emgrand-lookalike on a completely different platform. You know how much money that will cost?
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:24 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:23 PM)
no point to mislead unker ya...

actually unker know it...but unker don't want to tell you...unker is part of their supplier...

focus back to S70
No wonder Honda quality down the drain, got sohai like you as supplier.
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Nov 30 2023, 09:26 PM)
honda fans all know the handa platform name/code....it just you don't know only...

not only honda/toyota/mazda...unker also know proton saga platform name....because unker got supplied a bit of material before this...
Yes yes....sure. biggrin.gif
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Nov 30 2023, 09:27 PM)
Wheelbase is adjustable to a certain degree for car manufacturers.

25mm is definitely doable.
Yep. Tell that to mr.Toyota/Honda/Mazda/Proton supplier
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 09:35 PM

834 posts

Man, the Dr.Jay vibe is strong
dares
post Nov 30 2023, 11:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Nov 30 2023, 10:45 PM)
the Jay fella still around peddling weird CCP worship propaganda
Lol I see, still crazy. Never change, Dr Jay biggrin.gif

0.0583sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:53 PM