Proton S70 discussion, Budget Volvo sedan
DS51
Dec 28 2023, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(Bananahead @ Dec 28 2023, 08:23 AM) Am I the only one who finds the design not that impressive? Was expecting something like Perdana, but this s70 is not even close to that level. china where got taste one. u can youtube and search china auto show. even more funny design there than geely. lol. in term of design, they really funny, but in term of technology, their ev is a lot and really fast catching up tesla.
DS51
Jun 12 2025, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 12 2025, 11:33 AM) the thing most people are often misled about is that they think "majority" wants FC and dont care of power. but the truth is much simpler. if your sample of people are city drivers, obviously they dont need powerful engines for city driving at all which is not a wrong assumption. but it is still a biased assumption if engine power doesnt matter, why do you think there are still people driving around in powerful fuel guzzler >2.0cc cars in cities? i dont see anyone complaining about these cars FC arguably however, these car owners usually are in the higher income bracket so they dont care abt FC and can afford petrol so... above c segment car, mostly dont really care about fc already. s70 is compete with b segment according to price range, so actual owner is fall towards more fuel economy. proton try to market is as segment above b and said it compete with c segment which is civic, but real buyer of b segment will buy city/vios, while real buyer of c segment who dont care about fuel economy will end up with civic or altis. so that is where the downfall of s70.
DS51
Jun 12 2025, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 12 2025, 02:00 PM) yeah thats why arguably lor. im mostly highlighting on those naysayers who kept complaining that fuel economy is the numba 1 concern in these cars i dont disagree that people always prefer lower FC but at same time they have to be realistic with the car's power in return. we havent reached the point where FC of an Axia but power of a 2.0cc turbo, such thing havent exist yet. so to sum it up, nak power? suffer high FC. nak FC? suffer in car power.cause if by that logic that if everyone prefers FC as main concern, everyone would be sporting those japanese box cars with insane fuel efficiency on our roads. but narp, reality hits different Proton know this. thats why they die die market s70 as a civic competitors. s70 power is good, but u knowla, when power is good, fuel economy will be terrible. they c segment buyer dont really care about fuel consumption. they got more budget. thats why when proton sell s70, people still buy civic, more power. fc not saving dont care. so, when design car, manufacturer should aim which customer they want to target. fuel economy or performance. If that car not good fuel economy, but perfomance also so so lose to competitors c seg that they promote, then it will lose sales.