Financial Wise to dump RM900k on 1st property? Condo

TSTamsin
post Oct 20 2023, 10:48 AM, updated 3y ago

553 posts

Seeking advice from veterans here. I'm 28 this year and in the process to purchase my 1st property with the help from my parents. I am planning to buy a 1.6k sqft unit (ayanna residence) in bukit Jalil. What bothers me the most is the extremely huge amount of money thrown in here and I would like to sell it in the future to purchase a bigger house upon nurturing my family growth, as I'm planning to tie the knot in 1-2 years. I have asked my friends and people around me about the pros and cons of the property. Some say location its good, some say its bad. Why buy such an expensive condo when you can get a subsale landed at a cheaper price? Condos are the worst investment, you will definitely lose money and the list goes on.

The reason why I chose this condo because of its price and location, nothing more. Its close to the highway for me to travel to my hometown in melaka and go N9 & Shah Alam for work. Going to central KL/PJ will be a hassle, but I'm willing to sacrifice for the latter options. Food, mall and other amenities is near me, so I can ease in my new life here in BJ

Back to my question, is it wise for me to dump such an amount for a condo? I'm very worried that I could be making a disastrous choice, but houses are getting so expensive in KL and apparently the norm to obtain a 1k sqft+ property condo is already starting at 600k+. It is my 1st property and I don't want to make a bad decision that will affect the rest of my life thinking that I could have used the money to invest in business or something more worth
bigbang90
post Oct 20 2023, 10:53 AM

63 posts

900k better buy intermediate terrace in bk5.

not too far from bukit jalil and landed appreciation is better. high rise is very oversupplied now.
shaoching
post Oct 20 2023, 10:56 AM

708 posts

why dont go for lelong property can get much cheaper.
and, first property usually people will make it as an investment asset which come with lower cost & higher return.
now, you may do your own judgement on it
vin6
post Oct 20 2023, 11:00 AM

202 posts

Well, 900k for a condo not in the city center - i think not a wise choice .... 900k still can get lovely landed house. Not sure how much can a condo appreciate in that area. To Rent condo later is probably easier than selling high-value condos.

I suggest you get a lower value property(condo) because your planning to sell in future - just say RM500-600k then after 10 years it appreciate to just say 900k-1m then its easier to sell - but if you already bought for 900m and next 10 years it will be around 1.3m for me i think it would be hard to sell at that price .

This is just based on current economics and experience in buying and selling property.

And I think getting landed property while we still can afford is an opportunity because maybe in 10 years it would be very hard to buy landed property in urban areas, as prices would be mad high.

This post has been edited by vin6: Oct 20 2023, 11:01 AM
taitianhin
post Oct 20 2023, 11:09 AM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

Around BK5 are better choice...
Even Around condo KL could could get 1 at 900K price tag. WHich has more buyers to play around
900K condo at that area, probably has no space for the price to go up anymore...
icemanfx
post Oct 20 2023, 11:20 AM

21,456 posts

One should buy affordable unit and trade up with rising income. jumping into overpriced unit is almost certain will be trapped in mortgage prison like many others.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Oct 20 2023, 11:22 AM
anakkk
post Oct 20 2023, 11:27 AM

2,114 posts

hmm where is your office?
scorgio
post Oct 20 2023, 11:30 AM

4,694 posts

Own stay ok, if don't bother about capital appreciation.

BU9 condo, 12 yrs ago my fren bought 1.2mil, now also still 1.2mil.
redondo88
post Oct 20 2023, 11:34 AM

40 posts

How about 1200sqft? If it's enough for you there are new condos around Sg Besi, Desa Tasik, Cheras can get around 500-700k. Better location. For me 1200sqft is enough already with 2 kids max. 1600sqft for a condo is considered enormous.
DragonReine
post Oct 20 2023, 11:34 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

At that price point better to buy a landed if strictly talking about preventing loss of value.

How much are your parents contributing and will they be moving in with you? That may affect your purchasing decision. If your parents are encouraging you to buy this specific project with a significant cash deposit, then you will have to consider if this house really is for yourself, or your parents just tumpang your name to buy something they want through you (because your age can get long loan tenure compared to retiree/near retirement parents). If like that, you might not have much choice on whether this is good property or not, especially so if you'll be bringing them into the house as well.

If they're just passively helping you buy without really caring about location/project/type etc. AND you do have some conscience/filial piety about making use of their gift money wisely, I would advise either:

1) buy cheaper, but smaller high rise (approx 850 to 1000 sq ft). As you've mentioned that you're only marrying 1-2 years later, a small home is less of an issue until your child (or children) get older. Wouldn't aim for super new launch construction in this case, more important to get a home that you can move in before or soon after you're married.

1.6k sq ft IMO is somewhat excessive for a new family unless you have other dependants (parents etc.) moving in and/or you're 100% sure you're unlikely to move from your job location for a decade or so. For comparison, an average single storey landed is approx 1200 sqft - 1400 sqft for the LAND parcel size, not the built up (liveable) size.

Unless future spouse wants large home AND planning to chip in, no point buying excessively large but burdensome property since you yourself unsure of whether it's an ok investment.

Consider also that a larger unit = more maintenance fees, since your lot is larger so your total maintenance fees per month would be higher. You also need to spend a lot time cleaning and keeping home clutter free, unless you can afford maid.

2) buy an older landed property that meets your requirement for size and location. At that price range, there's still a decent selection out there, just bear in mind consideration of renovation and fixing up older things etc.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Oct 25 2023, 10:47 AM
prdkancil
post Oct 20 2023, 11:41 AM

218 posts

Current property situation , anything above 500k only buy for own stay if can afford , not for investment .
redondo88
post Oct 20 2023, 11:41 AM

40 posts

Don't listen to them if they say better buy landed. Landed ain't better, is the location is bad for your convenience. 900k for a landed at Elmina is no better than Bukit Jalil condo, even it's bigger.
thenazek
post Oct 20 2023, 11:46 AM

566 posts

I look at investments similar to any stages in life that we go through.

Take small baby steps. You dont simply skip to additional mathemathics in primary school. and you dont straight buy a BMW the moment you graduate.

Although you MAY be able to afford it, but its crucial for you to start small. So that even if you made a mistake, your mistake is small and you can easily get back on your feet.

In the future, you can always upgrade. But downgrading is much harder, especially when its in a huge loss.

Just my 2 cents.
Jason
post Oct 20 2023, 12:15 PM

6,354 posts

Just rent lah
Buy for what since you know it’s not what you want and it’s just to serve a temporary need.

I don’t think the rental can cover installment so it’s not an investment; it’s a liability.

You want milk don’t buy the cow. You *can* buy the cow doesn’t mean you should. Also you’ll have to deal with the cow dung.
Ask.Property
post Oct 20 2023, 12:23 PM

553 posts

1600sqft condo wont be easy to transact in secondary market if you wanna make some money from it... be it KLCC area or BJ area... lol... better consider to stay in it forever if you reli wanna commit this much for first house...
hightechgadgets8
post Oct 20 2023, 12:27 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

buy small condo 800sqft @ 300/400k, keep rest for next investment

later can rent out if not using yourself

This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: Oct 20 2023, 12:27 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2023, 12:45 PM

14,511 posts

If your parents can give you a 900k property, BUY !

If you have to work your axx to pay the instalment, DONT.
PAChamp
post Oct 20 2023, 01:01 PM

1,157 posts

At 900k, landed bro , get landed...
elimi8z
post Oct 20 2023, 01:20 PM

940 posts

If got that much cash and super like BJ area, just buy subsale, cheaper and plenty of choices. Paying 1.6M for a condo in the suburbs, really siao.
al_madd
post Oct 20 2023, 01:21 PM

1,382 posts

Wise if you can you annual income 1M...that one okay
pysh
post Oct 20 2023, 01:27 PM

382 posts

900k and need to sell within 1-2 years later.. i dont think property is a good choice.. what if you cant sell it that time? 900k stuck to this property..

redondo88
post Oct 20 2023, 01:56 PM

40 posts

Landed subsale in prime area actually worse, if you plan to stay yourself. Every views blocked by those new high rise condos, can't see nothing. Bad safety. Need to fork out more for repairs & renovation. Traffic jams in front of your gate. Outdated look compared to those new condos. Noisy if near train tracks. It is only good for the land value (investment), nothing else.
victorian
post Oct 20 2023, 02:05 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,599 posts

Let me advise you something.

If you did not earn that pot of money, you will not know how to keep it.

Better for you to just start your first house with affordable housing and work your way up from there.

Having capital injection from your parents will just give you a false impression that a property is cheap, when it is super overvalued.

When you have to use your own money, then only you'll feel the pain of it and make more calculated decision.
Aaron212
post Oct 20 2023, 02:49 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 20 2023, 06:48 AM)
with the help from my parents
I think many ktards forget this point

fama foundation wins ALL

If TS parent is well to do I would say go for it

dont need to wait just use up their moni

If u 0 fama foundation its conlanfirm NO for 1st prop to straight buy 900k unless u CEO monthly salary 50k

dont put all ur salary into just 1 prop

next month will build another nicer condo next to yours
rumahwip
post Oct 20 2023, 03:04 PM

1,086 posts

QUOTE(bigbang90 @ Oct 20 2023, 10:53 AM)

not too far from bukit jalil and landed appreciation is better. high rise is very oversupplied now.
which terrace in BK5?
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2023, 03:18 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Oct 20 2023, 02:49 PM)
I think many ktards forget this point

fama foundation wins ALL

If TS parent is well to do I would say go for it

dont need to wait just use up their moni

If u 0 fama foundation its conlanfirm NO for 1st prop to straight buy 900k unless u CEO monthly salary 50k

dont put all ur salary into just 1 prop

next month will build another nicer condo next to yours
Some don't understand that it is actually Pama decision and money.

TS has no say.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 20 2023, 03:25 PM
JustForCheonging
post Oct 20 2023, 03:22 PM

215 posts

landed bro, gonna get real expensive in future.

lucky dude who has fama to sponsor you.
LuckyBai
post Oct 20 2023, 03:26 PM

424 posts

It is a steal long as you like it ..

Location wise is easily accessible to literally every where ... Good amenities and infra around the neighborhood too

You shouldn't think more if i were you
jojolicia
post Oct 20 2023, 04:12 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 20 2023, 10:48 AM)
Seeking advice from veterans here. I'm 28 this year and in the process to purchase my 1st property with the help from my parents. I am planning to buy a 1.6k sqft unit (ayanna residence) in bukit Jalil. What bothers me the most is the extremely huge amount of money thrown in here and I would like to sell it in the future to purchase a bigger house upon nurturing my family growth, as I'm planning to tie the knot in 1-2 years. I have asked my friends and people around me about the pros and cons of the property. Some say location its good, some say its bad. Why buy such an expensive condo when you can get a subsale landed at a cheaper price? Condos are the worst investment, you will definitely lose money and the list goes on.

The reason why I chose this condo because of its price and location, nothing more. Its close to the highway for me to travel to my hometown in melaka and go N9 & Shah Alam for work. Going to central KL/PJ will be a hassle, but I'm willing to sacrifice for the latter options. Food, mall and other amenities is near me, so I can ease in my new life here in BJ

Back to my question, is it wise for me to dump such an amount for a condo? I'm very worried that I could be making a disastrous choice, but houses are getting so expensive in KL and apparently the norm to obtain a 1k sqft+ property condo is already starting at 600k+. It is my 1st property and I don't want to make a bad decision that will affect the rest of my life thinking that I could have used the money to invest in business or something more worth
Define dump here, as in cash purchase ?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Oct 20 2023, 04:17 PM
forever1979
post Oct 20 2023, 04:35 PM

2,854 posts

how much is the monthly maintenance fee ? if u are okay to pay monthly, then its fine.

with RM900K is good to secure a decent second hand house in puchong or kinrara.... long term the price of landed is proven better than high rise.
Cavatzu
post Oct 20 2023, 04:35 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 20 2023, 11:30 AM)
Own stay ok, if don't bother about capital appreciation.

BU9 condo, 12 yrs ago my fren bought 1.2mil, now also still 1.2mil.
People still think capital appreciation is linear. Buy 500k now will be 1M in 10 years.

TS maybe settle for something more intermediate that you know is easily rentable to young professionals like yourself when you upgrade. 1k sqft at around 600k sounds fine.

romuluz777
post Oct 20 2023, 05:54 PM

2,215 posts

Landed is always the best.
Just select carefully in good areas and survey first the surroundings for any future high-rise developments, high tension cables, etc
bigman
post Oct 20 2023, 05:57 PM

4,224 posts

Cut it short... buy landed at matured area where Chinese population more than 50%... sure wont get wrong one....no need scientific analysis and guru talks...

those cakap landed apa bagus?... all got hidden agenda... either no duit or never living in landed...
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2023, 08:34 PM

14,511 posts

For many diy beginners, I don't think someone will buy a 1600 SF condo.

Anyone with that budget and age will likely be now living in a detached house and maybe with a pool. So used to large spaces, a 1000 SF doesn't fit 😄

I don't see how a terrace will fit into the plan and capital appreciation is not always a priority with that background.

Maybe someone having a unit in klcc can shed some light 😂
Tan&tan
post Oct 20 2023, 08:45 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(bigbang90 @ Oct 20 2023, 10:53 AM)

And get ready for the ugly facade and to reno easily 200k above plus no gates guarded . Zzz
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2023, 09:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 20 2023, 08:45 PM)
And get ready for the ugly facade and to reno easily 200k above plus no gates guarded . Zzz
I can agreed with ugly facade or no GnG but additional 200k reno is no issue for a beginner with 900k budget.

nexona88
post Oct 20 2023, 09:36 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 20 2023, 01:56 PM)
Landed subsale in prime area actually worse, if you plan to stay yourself. Every views blocked by those new high rise condos, can't see nothing. Bad safety. Need to fork out more for repairs & renovation. Traffic jams in front of your gate. Outdated look compared to those new condos. Noisy if near train tracks. It is only good for the land value (investment), nothing else.
Then which project u can recommend??

That fit all your requirements 😏
ribby2020
post Oct 20 2023, 10:11 PM

60 posts

If the RM 900k can only spent for your own house but not for other purposes, then just buy a landed house. I wouldn't think twice with such a strong FaMa foundation.
bigduck
post Oct 20 2023, 10:20 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 20 2023, 01:56 PM)
If already have one landed, is 900k condo still wise?
mini orchard
post Oct 20 2023, 10:29 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Oct 20 2023, 10:20 PM)
If already have one landed, is 900k condo still wise?
I wouldn't say is a bad decision for all.
nexona88
post Oct 20 2023, 10:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 20 2023, 05:57 PM)
Cut it short... buy landed at matured area where Chinese population more than 50%... sure wont get wrong one....no need scientific analysis and guru talks...

those cakap landed apa bagus?... all got hidden agenda... either no duit or never living in landed...
Kepong? Cheras? Seputeh? Serdang? 😁
Arvinaaaaa
post Oct 20 2023, 10:34 PM

Peace :D
3,928 posts

900k better but landed property at alam impian.
Tan&tan
post Oct 20 2023, 11:04 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 20 2023, 09:08 PM)
I can agreed with ugly facade or no GnG but additional 200k reno is no issue for a beginner with 900k budget.
I don’t know la but what I know is youngster Nowadys step in landed geli geli want need hack and redo all and smelly bla bla bla . Hence they go landed with lesser headaches . Afterall is just a place to stay .
Tan&tan
post Oct 20 2023, 11:05 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Oct 20 2023, 10:34 PM)
900k better but landed property at alam impian.
Far af . Chinese say Niao bu shen Dan . Friend want come your house also sien
Tan&tan
post Oct 20 2023, 11:44 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 20 2023, 09:08 PM)
900k project is easier than buying a 500k Subsales .
Chanzeryl
post Oct 20 2023, 11:56 PM

646 posts

My dear friend, please do better research about the developer's track record before paying gold for copper cry.gif
redondo88
post Oct 21 2023, 09:11 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 20 2023, 09:36 PM)
Then which project u can recommend??

That fit all your requirements 😏
His current choice is already good with the location with RM560+ psf. Just need to research more for better views, convenience, facilities offered, better traffic area etc. Plus he might not need that big of a space, so can save more.
Aldo-Kirosu
post Oct 21 2023, 09:34 AM

662 posts

For ownstay and take important for quality living this big size unit and location ts choose I alright. But for resell value Definately not as good landed surrounding. I personally mark this condo as ownstay design condo as the price is high due to freehold title. But I will not recommend ts this project is not for long term ownstay (more than 10year) as my opinion condo is more suitable for investment purposed and rental. Plus now dbkl already banned partition room, so it's very very hard to recover the interest.

But for ownstay expect without talk the condo appreciate value, this condo and the size Ts choose is fairly ok compare to the surrounding landed house. Direct comparison for opposite landed, I not sure it 2 storey or 2 half storey but it marketed 1.2m to 1.3m. But 900k can get 4 bedder 3 bathroom and 1 store room is sufficient with a family or 3 generation together will current less children family. Parent can stay at masterbed room, couple can stay another masterbedroom. And there are another 2 room for feature children very sufficient.
bigman
post Oct 21 2023, 09:47 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Oct 21 2023, 09:34 AM)
For ownstay and take important for quality living this big size unit and location ts choose I alright. But for resell value Definately not as good landed surrounding. I personally mark this condo as ownstay design condo as the price is high due to freehold title. But I will not recommend ts this project is not for long term ownstay (more than 10year) as my opinion condo is more suitable for investment purposed and rental. Plus now dbkl already banned partition room, so it's very very hard to recover the interest.
But for ownstay expect without talk the condo appreciate value, this condo and the size Ts choose is fairly ok compare to the surrounding landed house. Direct comparison for opposite landed, I not sure it 2 storey or 2 half storey but it marketed 1.2m to 1.3m. But 900k can get 4 bedder 3 bathroom and 1 store room is sufficient with a family or 3 generation together will current less children family. Parent can stay at masterbed room, couple can stay another masterbedroom. And there are another 2 room for feature children very sufficient.
900k cash + loan (top up) can get landed at very prime area already
Aldo-Kirosu
post Oct 21 2023, 10:12 AM

662 posts

"The reason why I chose this condo because of its price and location, nothing more. Its close to the highway for me to travel to my hometown in melaka and go N9 & Shah Alam for work. Going to central KL/PJ will be a hassle, but I'm willing to sacrifice for the latter options. Food, mall and other amenities is near me, so I can ease in my new life here in BJ"

yeah i agree sub-sale prime location. But from what i can see the TS talking, i believe he have a very huge house at the Melaka? He seen like often go to shah alam & negeri 9. With 900K cash i think TS is from a rich family, so he are looking for condo sometime he is more considering easy management. Condo with security and strata easy manage compare to landed house. And for people already have big house stay, sometime they are more enjoy about the highrise for the good KL city view + resort style facilities lifestyle. Make sure he pick a right direction so that the view of the condo is nice.

Imagine if he currently staying at semi-d or bungalow at melaka but choose landed at prime area double storey, actually the living experience is not huge different compare to 4bedder condo at city. And everytime if his family member want to visit the TS, condo bring more resort and holiday mood feeling to his family member.

But its depend on TS.

If today he is asking for investment advice, this project definately out, but if project comparison surrounding Bukit jalil, i think ayanna still have some worth point. If condo vs landed for appreciation value, then form beginning he may start asking landed house question but not condo kind question
sijun
post Oct 21 2023, 10:59 AM

318 posts

Condo will always be a no-no for me. next to no capital appreciation and extra cost in maintenance for facilities you'll rarely touch.

as majority of others have said, with a 900k budget, better landed. especially if already have plans to dispose in the near future.
ck_chew
post Oct 21 2023, 12:59 PM

142 posts

Asking such a question in a public forum like this and u'll get too many opinions and views from people with their personal biasness.

If ur buying for own stay, it really depends on whether u like the location and product or not. I've heard the presentation from Chin Hin's management on Ayanna before, I must say the layouts, design, concept and partially furnished package vs the price point is very good value for money, especially compared to the surrounding like Sunway Flora. But take cognisance that Chin Hin's recent product delivery has been very much below expectations.

On condo living, I've lived in a landed all my life and transitioned to condo living few years ago. I must say its a very good decision and I cannot imagine myself living in a landed house anymore.

If ur looking at it from an investment standpoint, then a 900k investment for a condo at that location is unlikely to bring u much capital appreciation or rental returns, unless perhaps, Chin Hin really surpasses expectations beyond what was promised (but i doubt so). Moreover, 1600 sqft will cost u a bomb for maintenance fees.

Perhaps, if FOMO is not affecting u (or ur parents), u can consider revisiting Ayanna later on when the product is close to completion so that u can have a better idea on its quality to reduce ur risk. At the same time, visit many many other properties to open up ur comparability vs Ayanna.

Good luck!
bigman
post Oct 21 2023, 02:41 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(ck_chew @ Oct 21 2023, 12:59 PM)
Asking such a question in a public forum like this and u'll get too many opinions and views from people with their personal biasness.

If ur buying for own stay, it really depends on whether u like the location and product or not. I've heard the presentation from Chin Hin's management on Ayanna before, I must say the layouts, design, concept and partially furnished package vs the price point is very good value for money, especially compared to the surrounding like Sunway Flora. But take cognisance that Chin Hin's recent product delivery has been very much below expectations.

On condo living, I've lived in a landed all my life and transitioned to condo living few years ago. I must say its a very good decision and I cannot imagine myself living in a landed house anymore.

If ur looking at it from an investment standpoint, then a 900k investment for a condo at that location is unlikely to bring u much capital appreciation or rental returns, unless perhaps, Chin Hin really surpasses expectations beyond what was promised (but i doubt so). Moreover, 1600 sqft will cost u a bomb for maintenance fees.

Perhaps, if FOMO is not affecting u (or ur parents), u can consider revisiting Ayanna later on when the product is close to completion so that u can have a better idea on its quality to reduce ur risk. At the same time, visit many many other properties to open up ur comparability vs Ayanna.

Good luck!
Pls visit Andes to get answer … you statement just too many guessing

chicargo
post Oct 21 2023, 09:40 PM

359 posts

The location is not really bukit jalil. This is actually kinrara.

If there's 3 categories of Bukit Jalil prime, Bukit jalil fringe and fake Bukit Jalil, Ayamna falls into the 3rd category

Tan&tan
post Oct 22 2023, 12:19 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(chicargo @ Oct 21 2023, 09:40 PM)
The location is not really bukit jalil. This is actually kinrara.

If there's 3 categories of Bukit Jalil prime, Bukit jalil fringe and fake Bukit Jalil, Ayamna falls into the 3rd category
Prime =km1
Fringe = the rainz
Fake = Andes and this ayanna
Tan&tan
post Oct 22 2023, 12:20 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 21 2023, 09:47 AM)
900k cash + loan (top up) can get landed at very prime area already
Very prime ? 900k where got landed . Unless those geli geli want more than 20 yo . Neighbour no quality . Better condo close the door who’s your neighbour not your problem
post Oct 22 2023, 10:02 AM

4,230 posts

If 3-4 persons in a household, ~1200sqf is good enough imo.

Tan&tan
post Oct 22 2023, 12:11 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Oct 22 2023, 10:02 AM)
If 3-4 persons in a household, ~1200sqf is good enough imo.
1 person 500sf . Sufficient . A family of 3 . 1500sf . Etc
Aldo-Kirosu
post Oct 22 2023, 08:29 PM

662 posts

1 person 500sqft too luxury haha. Even a landed house 20x60 1600sqft need to fitted with 5 people, so its very depending on the layout design for a highrise project

I think a good layout better have 3bathroom with at least 3bedroom. Now a day majority condo standard with 3room 2 bathroom design. Its ok for a family use but if it for investment, then less 1 bathroom can be a lot harass especially live by girl tenants spend longer time at bathroom during morning time.

I ever live at a condo with 1200sqft but the design is 2bedroom 3bathroom (1 masterbed, 1 common area, 1 yard) the living hall is very spacious but waste of place better design it became 3 bedroom & 3 bathroom.

Fat3Twister
post Oct 22 2023, 10:00 PM

1,559 posts

1. Can further explain "help from parents"? Ayanna is offering 13% rebate iirc, hence no DP required, no acquisition cost too like legal fees, stamp duty etc.
Age doesnt limit your property purchase, your financial profile is. If you're financially well and can afford 1 mil property, why not?

2. If you already plan to sell it in the future, so ignore those advice saying "if you like it, just buy since you're buying for own stay". You must think of the exit plan at the time of your purchase. Not only exit plan, but also holding plan in case you cant sell. Can the rental cover your instalment? I agree to what Bigman bro suggested go for somewhere where chinese population is >50%, the more the better. My condo in Wangsa Maju, despite fetching good rental, want sell also no value, just cover cost only. Prime part of bukit jalil want sell also not easy d, kinrara? err...

3. You're going to tie the knot very soon, go for subsales, look for those completed recently or going to complete soon especially your parents willing to help. Buying new project for own stay is a gamble, everything based on imagination only. And many things can happen in 4 years, you may want to change your plan but got stuck with this.

4. Some say always avoid condo and go for landed, I only agree to a certain extent. I will only go for landed at good location, GnG, freehold and if my family grows bigger. I had been staying in landed for 30 years before I moved to condo 5 years back. Me and my wife prefer condo over landed. Easier to take care, less house chores to take care, facilities for our kid to enjoy, better security etc. 16xxsf is never too big for a family of 2 or 3. I'm staying in 15xxsf unit with wife and baby, just nice. If financial allows, go for bigger unit. Dont be afraid to rent, although chinese always prefer to own a property. I own properties but I moved out from my own property and rent a unit in Park 2 Pavilion, best decision ever. My rental is 50% lesser than the instalment and maintenance charges if i were to buy a unit here. You can rent first and wait for Ayanna to complete, then go see yourself and buy subsale. I believe the price wont appreciate a lot by then but you elimate all the risk.

5. I'm actually quite surprise many say this is a good location. With the upcoming Ayanna and Vierra, and also plenty of vacant lands nearby, you might want to check the access roads during peak hours now and imagine how it's going to be especially rumawip has 16xx units and most of them come with 1 car park.
Cavatzu
post Oct 23 2023, 08:20 AM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(Fat3Twister @ Oct 22 2023, 10:00 PM)
1. Can further explain "help from parents"? Ayanna is offering 13% rebate iirc, hence no DP required, no acquisition cost too like legal fees, stamp duty etc.
Age doesnt limit your property purchase, your financial profile is. If you're financially well and can afford 1 mil property, why not?

2. If you already plan to sell it in the future, so ignore those advice saying "if you like it, just buy since you're buying for own stay". You must think of the exit plan at the time of your purchase. Not only exit plan, but also holding plan in case you cant sell. Can the rental cover your instalment? I agree to what Bigman bro suggested go for somewhere where chinese population is >50%, the more the better. My condo in Wangsa Maju, despite fetching good rental, want sell also no value, just cover cost only. Prime part of bukit jalil want sell also not easy d, kinrara? err...

3. You're going to tie the knot very soon, go for subsales, look for those completed recently or going to complete soon especially your parents willing to help. Buying new project for own stay is a gamble, everything based on imagination only. And many things can happen in 4 years, you may want to change your plan but got stuck with this.

4. Some say always avoid condo and go for landed, I only agree to a certain extent. I will only go for landed at good location, GnG, freehold and if my family grows bigger. I had been staying in landed for 30 years before I moved to condo 5 years back. Me and my wife prefer condo over landed. Easier to take care, less house chores to take care, facilities for our kid to enjoy, better security etc. 16xxsf is never too big for a family of 2 or 3. I'm staying in 15xxsf unit with wife and baby, just nice. If financial allows, go for bigger unit. Dont be afraid to rent, although chinese always prefer to own a property. I own properties but I moved out from my own property and rent a unit in Park 2 Pavilion, best decision ever. My rental is 50% lesser than the instalment and maintenance charges if i were to buy a unit here. You can rent first and wait for Ayanna to complete, then go see yourself and buy subsale. I believe the price wont appreciate a lot by then but you elimate all the risk.

5. I'm actually quite surprise many say this is a good location. With the upcoming Ayanna and Vierra, and also plenty of vacant lands nearby, you might want to check the access roads during peak hours now and imagine how it's going to be especially rumawip has 16xx units and most of them come with 1 car park.
Having more space never goes out of style. But if the ultimate dream is to have a nice landed somewhere, shouldn’t one focus on a decent unit that can appreciate and aid in that goal? Can a 1500 sqft unit in Bukit Jalil do that for you? If you are happy to buy it and live in it indefinitely that’s fine but does it work as an investment later on if this is a stepping stone unit.

People from other states are very malleable and potentially think in very simplistic terms as they have minimal ties and understanding of micro locations. Being close to a highway to drive home is not a valid reason to buy something.

shaoching
post Oct 23 2023, 08:46 AM

708 posts

after so many advice. TS just keep silence...then better go and google it
bigduck
post Oct 23 2023, 08:51 AM

156 posts

TS why not look at Aurum Sri Petaling? Location definitely better than Kinrara
bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 08:55 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(shaoching @ Oct 23 2023, 08:46 AM)
after so many advice. TS just keep silence...then better go and google it
and back to square...

better rent the unit first then decide later after get familiar wit the area...no need too rush to put money into... cash is king...
shaoching
post Oct 23 2023, 09:16 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Oct 23 2023, 08:51 AM)
TS why not look at Aurum Sri Petaling? Location definitely better than Kinrara
i think kinrara BK5 is much better. walkable glocery shop, LRT station, fitness center, food court, and surrouded by mature township
Fat3Twister
post Oct 23 2023, 09:30 AM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 23 2023, 08:20 AM)
Having more space never goes out of style. But if the ultimate dream is to have a nice landed somewhere, shouldn’t one focus on a decent unit that can appreciate and aid in that goal? Can a 1500 sqft unit in Bukit Jalil do that for you? If you are happy to buy it and live in it indefinitely that’s fine but does it work as an investment later on if this is a stepping stone unit.

People from other states are very malleable and potentially think in very simplistic terms as they have minimal ties and understanding of micro locations. Being close to a highway to drive home is not a valid reason to buy something.
My 2c on the 15xx sf unit doesnt relate to this ayanna purchase decision. I was referring to the idea of getting big size units after we have more than 2 children or plan to stay with parents which i don't agree on it. If you noticed, i mentioned i rent a 15xx sf unit in Park 2, if I were to buy a unit of Park 2 during its launch (which i booked but cancelled afterwards to make way for Aster), I would have bought a unit around 1000sf. For own stay, it's always better to buy a completed unit which fits your current requirements and preference
Fat3Twister
post Oct 23 2023, 09:34 AM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(shaoching @ Oct 23 2023, 09:16 AM)
i think kinrara BK5 is much better. walkable glocery shop, LRT station, fitness center, food court, and surrouded by mature township
Well, one man's medicine is another man's poison. I believe every areas also sure got people wanna stay there.
Aurum got MRT2 and also in a mature township itself
bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 10:01 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Fat3Twister @ Oct 23 2023, 09:30 AM)
My 2c on the 15xx sf unit doesnt relate to this ayanna purchase decision. I was referring to the idea of getting big size units after we have more than 2 children or plan to stay with parents which i don't agree on it. If you noticed, i mentioned i rent a 15xx sf unit in Park 2, if I were to buy a unit of Park 2 during its launch (which i booked but cancelled afterwards to make way for Aster), I would have bought a unit around 1000sf. For own stay, it's always better to buy a completed unit which fits your current requirements and preference
if you can afford Park 2...then aster just a peanut for you.... unless you buy 2 biji aster 6xxsf to replace 1 biji 7zzsf park 2.... or 5 biji aster 6xxsf replace 1 biji 1500sf park 2....

2 development is totally different league ...one is affordable TOD at Cheras another one is the most expensive high end at Bkt Jalil...

sorry... i dont see any logic behind your cancellation since you emphasis on own stay.... cos aster for me is product more for investment than own stay....

Back to current market, subsales at Aster rather stagnant with few lelong units kick in… but I believe the rental demand is there (rental follow market price ) cos direct attached to MRT…

For the park 2 … rental should be ok as well and unit for 1500sf now can sell at nearly 1.9mil… the asking price over there about 1000psf depend on unit… for unit facing park with balcony … asking price May higher

This post has been edited by bigman: Oct 23 2023, 10:29 AM
bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 10:03 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Fat3Twister @ Oct 23 2023, 09:34 AM)
Well, one man's medicine is another man's poison. I believe every areas also sure got people wanna stay there.
Aurum got MRT2 and also in a mature township itself
aurumn is not township ya...is stand alone project which attached beside matured area Sri Petaling....
shaoching
post Oct 23 2023, 10:14 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 10:03 AM)
aurumn is not township ya...is stand alone project which attached beside matured area Sri Petaling....
yes.i agree aurum is not within township also. if really want to relate it to a matured town, probably its just at the most border of sri petaling. cant really relate aurum with any walkable amenities.
talking about near to MRT, i believe some might has mislook that you need to climb the 800m slope on the way return to your unit.
long distance+slope = worst case senario

This post has been edited by shaoching: Oct 23 2023, 10:17 AM
redondo88
post Oct 23 2023, 10:20 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 23 2023, 08:20 AM)

For gen-x above minded yes. They always go for traditionally bigger house, must be landed and all. But for the current generation, they don't need too much space. More space = more maintenance = more cleaning. Mostly just need the facilities offered by condos. More activities instead of bigger living room (don't even use every space most of the time).
bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 10:23 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(shaoching @ Oct 23 2023, 10:14 AM)
yes.i agree aurum is not within township also. if really want to relate it to a matured town, probably its just at the most border of sri petaling. cant really relate aurum with any walkable amenities.
talking about near to MRT, i believe some might has mislook that you need to climb the 800m slope on the way return to your unit.
long distance+slope = worst case senario
Actually the slope is quiet gentle … no problem at all for normal healthy person… only worry about raining day… cos no cover walkway provided …
cedyy
post Oct 23 2023, 10:26 AM

1,404 posts

if i were you i'd look for subsale.
shaoching
post Oct 23 2023, 10:35 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 10:23 AM)
Actually the slope is quiet gentle … no problem at all for normal healthy person… only worry about raining day… cos no cover walkway provided …
8th&stellar do promise their purhcaser for the covered walkway. however, dint see any progress yet todate.
anyhow, i believe the walkway will be congested as need to serve stellar,aurum,serina & comercial lot.
Fat3Twister
post Oct 23 2023, 02:45 PM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 10:01 AM)
if you can afford Park 2...then aster just a peanut for you.... unless you buy 2 biji aster 6xxsf to replace 1 biji 7zzsf park 2.... or  5 biji aster 6xxsf replace 1 biji 1500sf park 2....

2 development is totally different league ...one is affordable TOD at Cheras another one is the most expensive high end at Bkt Jalil...

sorry... i dont see any logic behind your cancellation since you emphasis on own stay.... cos aster for me is product more for investment than own stay....

Back to current market, subsales at Aster rather stagnant with few lelong units kick in… but I believe the rental demand is there (rental follow market price ) cos direct attached to MRT…

For the park 2 … rental should be ok as well and unit for 1500sf now can sell at nearly 1.9mil… the asking price over there about 1000psf depend on unit… for unit facing park with balcony … asking price May higher
I have 4 units in Aster if u wanna know.
I bought 2 side by side units for own stay as my parents staying in cheras.
As i said, plans always change. My wife prefer to stay in Bukit Jalil

Sold 1 unit in Aster bought at 534k at 650k...stagnant?

And also Aster so far only 1 unit got auctioned off at first round auction, second unit called off d

This post has been edited by Fat3Twister: Oct 23 2023, 02:50 PM
Fat3Twister
post Oct 23 2023, 02:46 PM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 10:03 AM)
I was saying Aurum in a mature township, which is sri petaling.
Never did i say aurum is a township
bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 03:01 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Fat3Twister @ Oct 23 2023, 02:45 PM)
I have 4 units in Aster if u wanna know.
I bought 2 side by side units for own stay as my parents staying in cheras.
As i said, plans always change. My wife prefer to stay in Bukit Jalil

Sold 1 unit in Aster bought at 534k at 650k...stagnant?

And also Aster so far only 1 unit got auctioned off at first round auction, second unit called off d
wow...big boss here.... instead last time i'd drop 2 units booked in aster and switched to Tropika at Bkt Jalil and landed at Elmina...

hehe...diff people diff appetite ...cannot say which right which wrong...

anyway i got units at park sky ... even on paper untung 2xxk plus per unit...but for me still stagnant when considering minus inflation and deprecation of Rm....
Fat3Twister
post Oct 23 2023, 03:14 PM

1,559 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 03:01 PM)
wow...big boss here.... instead last time i'd drop 2 units booked in aster and switched to Tropika at Bkt Jalil and landed at Elmina...

hehe...diff people diff appetite ...cannot say which right which wrong...

anyway i got units at park sky ... even on paper untung 2xxk plus per unit...but for me still stagnant when considering minus inflation and deprecation of Rm....
Big big boss's strategy is different, focusing on CA while small potato we need to have the cashflows, else my name will appear on lelongtips.
There's no right or wrong, go for the one we are comfortable with

Anyhow, the main point of my post was to tell TS if wanna buy project, dont ignore the investment value coz we wont be 100% sure that we will be staying in as plans changes.
futurevision_ben
post Oct 23 2023, 03:51 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 20 2023, 05:57 PM)

hi boss, want to get some opinion from lowyat senior

let say for 2 sty landed freehold link house, which would be your pick?

1. Puchong Bandar Puteri / Bandar Kinrara 22 x75sf rm1.2m (very new house)
2. PJ Bandar Utama 22 x75sf rm1.2m (about 20 years house, need some reno)

tq smile.gif

bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 03:59 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(futurevision_ben @ Oct 23 2023, 03:51 PM)

tq  smile.gif
for me I will go for newer development.... my choice is number 1.

1.2mil only can get subsales.... for new development at Bandar Kinrara.... now already 1.5mil onward...

if you can get 1.2mil in BK8. terus grab... for BK 5, choose Desiran, Melody, Hening...
Aaron212
post Oct 23 2023, 04:13 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(futurevision_ben @ Oct 23 2023, 11:51 AM)

tq  smile.gif
number 1

connectivity is good just need to endure some jam but u go everywhere u got entertainment for young to old
futurevision_ben
post Oct 23 2023, 04:13 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 03:59 PM)
for me I will go for newer development.... my choice is number 1.

1.2mil only can get subsales.... for new development at Bandar Kinrara.... now already 1.5mil onward...

if you can get 1.2mil in BK8. terus grab... for BK 5, choose Desiran, Melody, Hening...
thanks for reply

yes bk8 landed shoot up tremendously post covid, FOMO maybe?

perhaps need to look to older phase like bk8 emerald, sapphire or bk5

bigman
post Oct 23 2023, 04:21 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(futurevision_ben @ Oct 23 2023, 04:13 PM)
thanks for reply

yes bk8 landed shoot up tremendously post covid, FOMO maybe?

perhaps need to look to older phase like bk8 emerald, sapphire or bk5
the old bk8 now asking price at 1.3mil onward... 1.2mil already got few transacted ...last year i nearly get sapphire 1.2mil...but unit grab by other without viewing...

recently just bought corner irama villa... price still below 2mil... but can foresee ... price will keep uptrend
Autocountstick
post Oct 23 2023, 04:22 PM

671 posts

buy shoplot seri petaling
Cavatzu
post Oct 23 2023, 07:25 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 23 2023, 10:01 AM)
if you can afford Park 2...then aster just a peanut for you.... unless you buy 2 biji aster 6xxsf to replace 1 biji 7zzsf park 2.... or  5 biji aster 6xxsf replace 1 biji 1500sf park 2....

This is an example of rentvesting. He bought units he rents out and he rents at a bigger upper class place which often can’t justify the price if it’s not an expat zone. More people need to think like this.

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 23 2023, 10:20 AM)
For gen-x above minded yes. They always go for traditionally bigger house, must be landed and all. But for the current generation, they don't need too much space. More space = more maintenance = more cleaning. Mostly just need the facilities offered by condos. More activities instead of bigger living room (don't even use every space most of the time).
People are not always at the bottom of the food chain. As one progresses then their appetites and tastes will change as well. Who’s going to absorb all the bungalows in Damansara Heights in the future if not the current generation who are doing well? Privacy, community and space is ultimately the biggest luxury a person will pay for in terms of property.
redondo88
post Oct 23 2023, 11:14 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 23 2023, 07:25 PM)
This is an example of rentvesting. He bought units he rents out and he rents at a bigger upper class place which often can’t justify the price if it’s not an expat zone. More people need to think like this.
People are not always at the bottom of the food chain. As one progresses then their appetites and tastes will change as well. Who’s going to absorb all the bungalows in Damansara Heights in the future if not the current generation who are doing well? Privacy, community and space is ultimately the biggest luxury a person will pay for in terms of property.
That's the point. Extra large houses will be less relevant in the future, doesn't matter how much money you have. It will die with the old generation. Another example nowadays is the taste for sports car, it's dying.

People will only prioritize with the quality of space, location quality & how tasteful you are with your ID selection (can see its getting started now in TikTok).

Alvin1233
post Oct 23 2023, 11:26 PM

56 posts

Ask your parents at least sponsor you super heavy downpayment like few hundred K la. Then its worth it like that
Tan&tan
post Oct 24 2023, 12:43 AM

786 posts

tq  smile.gif
Bu la for sure . ATAs then Kinrara 99 street .
Cavatzu
post Oct 24 2023, 05:54 AM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 23 2023, 11:14 PM)
That's the point. Extra large houses will be less relevant in the future, doesn't matter how much money you have. It will die with the old generation. Another example nowadays is the taste for sports car, it's dying.

People will only prioritize with the quality of space, location quality & how tasteful you are with your ID selection (can see its getting started now in TikTok).
I don’t think so. Large luxury mansions will always be a status marker and be desired if you have the money. Don’t think through the lens of working class. The elites are your business owners, celebrities, inherited wealth etc. if you’re a multimillionaire, you still want to cram in with other people in a high rise?
Chadlonso
post Oct 24 2023, 09:35 AM

115 posts

Extra large houses will be less relevant in the future, doesn't matter how much money you have.
nowadays new houses built are getting smaller. large houses will always stays relevant especially you are T20. its a matter whether u can afford.
redondo88
post Oct 24 2023, 10:29 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 24 2023, 05:54 AM)
I don’t think so. Large luxury mansions will always be a status marker and be desired if you have the money. Don’t think through the lens of working class. The elites are your business owners, celebrities, inherited wealth etc. if you’re a multimillionaire, you still want to cram in with other people in a high rise?
Nowadays highrise ain't cram like the condos 20years ago. These elites you mention mostly have highrise properties in prime area, and they use it more than the mansions far away from the city. The status marker you said is very grandpa mindset. Like when you have money must buy Rolex, Ferrari etc biggrin.gif .
Aaron212
post Oct 24 2023, 10:32 AM

1,773 posts

TS MIA after posting now tered derail adi
shaoching
post Oct 24 2023, 10:37 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 24 2023, 10:29 AM)
Nowadays highrise ain't cram like the condos 20years ago. These elites you mention mostly have highrise properties in prime area, and they use it more than the mansions far away from the city. The status marker you said is very grandpa mindset. Like when you have money must buy Rolex, Ferrari etc  biggrin.gif .
if one's single/couple, they will chose for affortable properties and go for others thing than can make up their status in front others.
if one's with family/married, they will get a bigger house to upgrade their living status for themselves.
with the condition both option having the same fund on hand.

so, i think diff generation might has some impact on their decision, but changing of mindset through changed of personal status will make up the bigger trend.
just my thought.

This post has been edited by shaoching: Oct 24 2023, 10:39 AM
knwong
post Oct 24 2023, 10:37 AM

3,559 posts

I own few properties

You got the right advice from your friends and family. Always buy cheaper for first property

When you want to get marry you and your spouse will likely decide to stay elsewhere
shaoching
post Oct 24 2023, 10:38 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Oct 24 2023, 10:32 AM)
TS MIA after posting now tered derail adi
as usual la, once no more benefit, everything is disposable.
PAChamp
post Oct 24 2023, 10:42 AM

1,157 posts

There is a trend where the aged parents who are well to do and used to live in big bungalows sent their children overseas etc. Then the children became independent and bought their own properties. The parents passed on and left the big house to their children but none of them want to stay there because they will need to spend money to renovate and/or they will have to buy over their siblings share in the house or simply the house is too big to take care of in their busy lives. Thus you can see many empty bungalows. And buyers of bungalows worth millions are quite scarce.

Someone posted BU or BK? answer depends on where your circle of family/friends are and work place is. All things being equal, BU for me.
cooldog_777
post Oct 24 2023, 10:44 AM

58 posts

it all depends on you.
if you can afford the monthly installment, then go for it.
condo or landed, all depends on your personal liking and preference.

bigduck
post Oct 24 2023, 11:35 AM

156 posts

tq  smile.gif
BU would be a nicer place to live in, but less food choices compared to BP/BK

Cavatzu
post Oct 24 2023, 12:39 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 24 2023, 10:42 AM)
There is a trend where the aged parents who are well to do and used to live in big bungalows sent their children overseas etc. Then the children became independent and bought their own properties. The parents passed on and left the big house to their children but none of them want to stay there because they will need to spend money to renovate and/or they will have to buy over their siblings share in the house or simply the house is too big to take care of in their busy lives. Thus you can see many empty bungalows. And buyers of bungalows worth millions are quite scarce.

Someone posted BU or BK? answer depends on where your circle of family/friends are and work place is. All things being equal, BU for me.
No doubt there’s a lot smaller market for this type of property. But your Damansara Heights, Bangsar, Bukit Tunku market will always survive as long as classism exists.

Young people simply have to make do with what they can afford in the mean time. But they are the future CEOs of companies and they will move up the chain simply because they are expected to maintain a certain image.
Aldo-Kirosu
post Oct 24 2023, 03:11 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 24 2023, 10:42 AM)

not doubt that those elitist more prefer to oversea & better life style and new life. Malaysia is good to stay (harmony, less natural disaster, friendly neighbourhood) but not the best place to stay due to polity, policy, economic, infrastructure, etc.

"If you are capable to bring better life to your family, why not go to better place than current place?" i watch a youtube channel, a singapore malaysian worker said this phase, even though by his current position and salary very hard to support his whole family living at singapore, but he saying this sentence, how about those elitist in malaysia?

He use the malaysia traffic as example, do you saw the half way built highway / trail way hang on the road? do you ever hear about the crane accident to road user? if you are driving safety but suddenly a group of children playing mosquitos bicycle come to you, or meet drank driver? Even you are drive safety, but mat rempat, broken road that will hurt your life. cool2.gif We cant blame accident, but only traffic matter you can feel how dangerous live in malaysia already especially the elitist who more take important to their life. how about other matter? whistling.gif One you step our your huge house and walk on the road, the danger is near to you already.
Tan&tan
post Oct 24 2023, 08:21 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 24 2023, 05:54 AM)
If one menerung . Why not ?
TSTamsin
post Oct 24 2023, 09:35 PM

553 posts

Hi guys! Appreciate all the replies and I apologise for not responding earlier as I’ve been dissecting all the inputs on what steps to take next. My loan process is still ongoing, so nothing is confirmed yet.

For those wondering, my parents are planning to invest rm300k as downpayment. I wouldn’t say I come from a very rich family, only slightly above-average. Our family business was kickstarted by my late grandfather who is very wealthy. Yes, I stay in a corner semi-D landed in Melaka. My dad specifically love the idea of condo home because it’s very convenient and gives a holiday feeling.

I will be exploring bk5 and other sub sales nearby from the recommendations of the forumers here. It’s just less than 10 min from ayanna and most importantly - freehold. Previously, I’ve searched for sub sales in bandar kinrara, but I only looked at Jalan TK/DU which was leasehold and I based the entire houses in bandar kinrara as leasehold which was very foolish of me

Stirring my decisions based on the investment side on rental returns and capital gains is not my strongest point, but I entirely believe that landed is definitely on the safe side

Thanks all again for the effort to answer my doubts, I will explore more of BK this week.
Tan&tan
post Oct 24 2023, 10:28 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 24 2023, 09:35 PM)
Hi guys! Appreciate all the replies and I apologise for not responding earlier as I’ve been dissecting all the inputs on what steps to take next. My loan process is still ongoing, so nothing is confirmed yet.

For those wondering, my parents are planning to invest rm300k as downpayment. I wouldn’t say I come from a very rich family, only slightly above-average. Our family business was kickstarted by my late grandfather who is very wealthy. Yes, I stay in a corner semi-D landed in Melaka. My dad specifically love the idea of condo home because it’s very convenient and gives a holiday feeling.

I will be exploring bk5 and other sub sales nearby from the recommendations of the forumers here. It’s just less than 10 min from ayanna and most importantly - freehold. Previously, I’ve searched for sub sales in bandar kinrara, but I only looked at Jalan TK/DU which was leasehold and I based the entire houses in bandar kinrara as leasehold which was very foolish of me

Stirring my decisions based on the investment side on rental returns and capital gains is not my strongest point, but I entirely believe that landed is definitely on the safe side

Thanks all again for the effort to answer my doubts, I will explore more of BK this week.
Bro 900k anytime bukit jalil . 1500 sf plus minus you can get rainz 800-900k . Treez . Km 1 and so on . Anytime better than bk .
Knight_2008
post Oct 24 2023, 10:33 PM

1,270 posts

If you know you are going to upgrade property after 1-2 years, don't bother buying now. either buy the upgraded one now, or buy later.

Property prices hardly moved these days, and appreciation is difficult to come by. Meantime, you will spend 4-5% of property value upfront on legal SPA, loan legal, stamp duty etc. And you haven't count the renovation cost. even basic stuff will cost, and some of these like built-in cabinets and airconds are immovable.

If you move house in 1-2 years, and you sell the property at flat price with no gains - all these upfront cost will burn (legal, stamp duty, reno).

Also consider the current mortgage rate of 4-4.5%, this is the cost interest cost you will incur. And you got to add in things like insurance, maintenance fees, etc. You rent another place for now, rental yield also probably 3%+ only. And you don't need spend upfront cost and maintenance fees not your issue. Might as well rent own place 1-2years, then only buy the upgraded place.

This post has been edited by Knight_2008: Oct 24 2023, 10:34 PM
TSTamsin
post Oct 24 2023, 11:43 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 24 2023, 10:28 PM)
Bro 900k anytime bukit jalil . 1500 sf plus minus you can get rainz 800-900k . Treez . Km 1 and so on . Anytime better than bk .
I was interested in the treez and rainz because of exsim. Km1 Yes, price is around that range, but after renovation, legal fees, stamp duties, misc, price will definitely shoot up above 1 mil+. Might as well get new project alrdy at this point. Can't argue that location is definitely solid, but price factor is a big turnoff
Tan&tan
post Oct 25 2023, 12:10 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 24 2023, 11:43 PM)
I was interested in the treez and rainz because of exsim. Km1 Yes, price is around that range, but after renovation, legal fees, stamp duties, misc, price will definitely shoot up above 1 mil+. Might as well get new project alrdy at this point. Can't argue that location is definitely solid, but price factor is a big turnoff
FYI rainz no need reno d . Some loose furniture will do . Easily better than bk .
Cavatzu
post Oct 25 2023, 06:51 AM

2,832 posts

In that case, with a 300k deposit and something which serves as a home for you as well as a holiday home for your parents then the world is your oyster. The picture is a bit clearer and yes a convenient condo would fit the bill. Sounds like the landed is a way off if not a stretch dream. Don’t forget property is meant to serve you and not the other way round.

DragonReine
post Oct 25 2023, 11:03 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

A slightly unusual/off-topic type suggestion, but if your parents want to enjoy that holiday feeling and would want to live in the condo in far future, maybe you might want to look into developments that are designed around multigenerational households.

Example of a notable developer in Klang Valley that prioritises such facilities is Sunway, their higher end products often have features like ramp in bathroom shower area, lowered light&fan switches, wider than usual pathways etc. that are more user-friendly to the very young/very old/orang kurang upaya who have mobility issues.

Features like that may be something you want to pay attention to if you expect parents or grandparents to move in or visit often. Not wanting to make assumptions about their current health, but it might be something to consider in the event of age/accidents causing mobility to decline. I previously recommended smaller units to prevent overspending, but smaller units also often have awkward narrow spaces and tight bathrooms which may not be good for mobility/safety.

Good luck with your search!
bigman
post Oct 25 2023, 11:26 AM

4,224 posts

you can pay visit to SP Setia Bandar Kinrara Sales gallery ...from there you can get a good view on overall development of BK and future launching... happy hunting...

This post has been edited by bigman: Oct 25 2023, 11:26 AM
rumahwip
post Oct 25 2023, 12:38 PM

1,086 posts

BK 11 is good. abt 1mio now. i m guessing is abt slightly over 10 yrs. BK 12 also good but i nvr been b4
bigman
post Oct 25 2023, 01:10 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Oct 25 2023, 12:38 PM)
BK 11 is good. abt 1mio now. i m guessing is abt slightly over 10 yrs. BK 12 also good but i nvr been b4
here talking about BK = Bandar Kinrara

your BK = Bukit Kiara?

fyi, bandar kinrara until BK9 ...no bk 11 or 12

This post has been edited by bigman: Oct 25 2023, 01:11 PM
il0ve51
post Oct 25 2023, 01:15 PM

1,054 posts

900k for that area too high, next time you will sell for at least 1m, which i dont think you have large pool of prospect.
with 900k if die die want condo try get 2x 450k property. you will thanks me later.
if not 900k get landed better.

rumahwip
post Oct 25 2023, 02:31 PM

1,086 posts

when u wan to sell in the future, depend when is the future. you may not actually make money

BJ is good location. just too expensive (for me)
rumahwip
post Oct 25 2023, 02:32 PM

1,086 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 25 2023, 01:10 PM)
here talking about BK = Bandar Kinrara

your BK = Bukit Kiara?
fyi, bandar kinrara until BK9 ...no bk 11 or 12
sorry puteri. sudah blur
Cavatzu
post Oct 25 2023, 04:37 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Oct 25 2023, 01:15 PM)
900k for that area too high, next time you will sell for at least 1m, which i dont think you have large pool of prospect.
with 900k if die die want condo try get 2x 450k property. you will thanks me later.
if not 900k get landed better.
For his budget, either landed in a newer ulu area or a condo in a more established in demand area like MK. My reference point for old monied areas doesn’t extend beyond the 90s so Bukit Jalil doesn’t register for me. Expect this sort of elitism later on. As the other older monied areas aren’t really more expensive than these new townships.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Oct 25 2023, 04:39 PM
bigman
post Oct 25 2023, 04:59 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 25 2023, 04:37 PM)
For his budget, either landed in a newer ulu area or a condo in a more established in demand area like MK. My reference point for old monied areas doesn’t extend beyond the 90s so Bukit Jalil doesn’t register for me. Expect this sort of elitism later on. As the other older monied areas aren’t really more expensive than these new townships.
Why cannot buy both?

Got money...every where can buy...regardless old money , new money, no money, hot money...
rumahwip
post Oct 25 2023, 05:42 PM

1,086 posts

ada uang semua bisa
Cavatzu
post Oct 25 2023, 06:59 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 25 2023, 04:59 PM)
Why cannot buy both?

Got money...every where can buy...regardless old money , new money, no money, hot money...
The whole point of these threads is what is the most efficient thing to do with limited resources. This is not helpful. When you have unlimited resources of course you can do anything you wish. You may have a lower budget, an average or above average one. Regardless, there are always going to be important decisions to make. Rich people do not get there by intentionally making stupid mistakes.

It might not matter to you but old money always ranks above new simply due to experience like any other job. This will play out in Bukit Tunku wealth vs Cheras money for example. The gulf between upper and lower class areas in KL is relatively low - maybe 50% to 2 times more than average price. In a developed city this can be 10 times or more.

There are Malaysians in Damansara Heights who have never stepped foot into a mamak and instead have French patisseries all their life for breakfast. They play polo and are season patrons of the MPO. It’s a very different existence. But better the devil you know.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Oct 25 2023, 07:23 PM
Tan&tan
post Oct 25 2023, 08:23 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Oct 25 2023, 06:59 PM)
The whole point of these threads is what is the most efficient thing to do with limited resources. This is not helpful. When you have unlimited resources of course you can do anything you wish. You may have a lower budget, an average or above average one. Regardless, there are always going to be important decisions to make. Rich people do not get there by intentionally making stupid mistakes.

It might not matter to you but old money always ranks above new simply due to experience like any other job. This will play out in Bukit Tunku wealth vs Cheras money for example. The gulf between upper and lower class areas in KL is relatively low - maybe 50% to 2 times more than average price. In a developed city this can be 10 times or more.

There are Malaysians in Damansara Heights who have never stepped foot into a mamak and instead have French patisseries all their life for breakfast. They play polo and are season patrons of the MPO. It’s a very different existence. But better the devil you know.
Sorry to say you talk like you’re there , if you’re there , you won’t be here . If you’re not there how you know they never step in mamak lol 😂
bigman
post Oct 25 2023, 09:55 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 25 2023, 08:23 PM)
Sorry to say you talk like you’re there , if you’re there , you won’t be here . If you’re not there how you know they never step in mamak lol 😂
Want step in but not qualify… wat to do… come here to show off and bossing here and there… anyhow… me personally won’t desire those so called high class life style (gamnang style?) doesn’t matter old money or hot money… our time in this reality world is same… you won’t get extra one second even though you richer than me…

I happy with my life … and I never begging for penny from those old money … just live happily and appreciate what you have … no need envy on those old money … bukit Tunku so wat… I no need extra build up of house to make me sleep well…
Cavatzu
post Oct 26 2023, 05:27 AM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 25 2023, 08:23 PM)
Eh I’m just discussing what’s the best use of limited resources. I’m refuting the fact that neighbourhoods don’t matter. Don’t presume to know where I am or who I know.
autodriver
post Oct 26 2023, 08:22 AM

404 posts

If you have cash on hand you have plenty of choice. with 900k budget can go straight for landed house. Landed house can hold the value and appreciate while nowadays most condo if not all are not wise to invest anymore.

If condo 1200sqf price around 500k-600k for own stay still okay but if for investment not worth. Some people said can rent the unit out and get return like RM 2k monthly. Yes, at first 10 years maybe can get RM2k rental monthly if lucky, but when condo is getting old the rental can't go up or worse it might get lower. There must be new condo built around the area and people may want to rent a newer unit with similar price. This had happened around Wangsa Maju where the old PV rental drop and getting more and more vacant unit due to more and more new condo built. Supply more than demand.
bigman
post Oct 26 2023, 08:51 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 08:22 AM)
If you have cash on hand you have plenty of choice. with 900k budget can go straight for landed house. Landed house can hold the value and appreciate while nowadays most condo if not all are not wise to invest anymore.

If condo 1200sqf price around 500k-600k for own stay still okay but if for investment not worth. Some people said can rent the unit out and get return like RM 2k monthly. Yes, at first 10 years maybe can get RM2k rental monthly if lucky, but when condo is getting old the rental can't go up or worse it might get lower. There must be new condo built around the area and people may want to rent a newer unit with similar price. This had happened around Wangsa Maju where the old PV rental drop and getting more and more vacant unit due to more and more new condo built. Supply more than demand.
True and not true...

Condo still a better choice to invest but need to very picky and choose wisely... landed need to have very strong holding power before can monetarized your investment...

both is right depend on your financial, commitment and investment appetite...

good property can hold value plus generate good rental income... now very difficult to find... but still available in market... it very seldom appear in this lowyat forum la...
redondo88
post Oct 26 2023, 09:14 AM

40 posts

Condo price wont appreciate is just a myth (especially in KL area). Actual case: A 30 year old medium low cost leasehold apartment in Cheras (69 years lease left) now valued 250-300k. Original SNP price around 60k. And this is not just for 1 apartment, this is common around Cheras area.

And these apartments current rental rate is RM1200-1500 (750sqft, no balcony, NACO window) with plenty of new condos built around.

This post has been edited by redondo88: Oct 26 2023, 09:31 AM
ck2chan
post Oct 26 2023, 09:54 AM

2,144 posts

900K better look for subsale landed in Bandar Kinrara.
Plenty of choices and save your future time and money to upgrade.
the 1.6K sq ft condo maintenance also not cheap oh if you are staying there for long term.

Gated Landed property also more space to move around.
Chin Hin quality not so good.

if got 900K can look at Exsim new project behind those Jalil Link 2 shop lot.
The entrance is beside AFC office in Bukit Jalil.
Exsim quality is anyway better than Chin Hin. brows.gif
ck2chan
post Oct 26 2023, 09:58 AM

2,144 posts

Look at newer BK area like BK9.
There very near to Pavillion Bukit Jalil and easy to go out to Bukit Jalil highway to connect to Sg Besi, PLUS, LDP, MEX, MRR2 and etc.
Tzu Chi International school also very near only.
autodriver
post Oct 26 2023, 09:59 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ Oct 26 2023, 08:51 AM)
True and not true...

Condo still a better choice to invest but need to very picky and choose wisely...  landed need to have very strong holding power before can monetarized your investment...

both is right depend on your financial, commitment and investment appetite...

good property can hold value plus generate good rental income... now very difficult to find... but still available in market... it very seldom appear in this lowyat forum la...
Invest in property is not a good choice like 2000 - 2015. Even the property price in Desa Park City is stagnent. My friend now stay in WS2 and S&P price is almost RM1m. He is planning to sell for some years at RM 1.2m but till now still no news. In ipropxrty many unit listed as RM 1.2m but in real world people hardly pay more than RM1.1m to buy it. My friend was renting to foreigner when the WS2 VP at RM 3k. After 2 years tenant left and unable to find a new tenant, by then he move in. The monthly instalment is about RM4k and maintenance is maybe around RM 400.

In year 2015 I almost bought a unit in Koi Prima puchong 1055sqf at RM550k (before 10% discount) and now the 2nd market price is RM 350k only and negotiable. I got few friends bought condo in Puchong, Bukit Jalil, and Kepong around year 2013 - 2018. None of them able to make profit for the high rise property from S&P price if they sell it out now. Plus nowadays new condo projects are offering 2 carparks and free almost all kind of fees, the 2nd market is getting tougher.

autodriver
post Oct 26 2023, 10:12 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 26 2023, 09:14 AM)
Condo price wont appreciate is just a myth (especially in KL area). Actual case: A 30 year old medium low cost leasehold apartment in Cheras (69 years lease left) now valued 250-300k. Original SNP price around 60k. And this is not just for 1 apartment, this is common around Cheras area.

And these apartments current rental rate is RM1200-1500 (750sqft, no balcony, NACO window) with plenty of new condos built around.
It is not wise to compare 30 years old property. My parents bought a double storey 20x70 house in selayang at RM 90k in early 90s. The house sold in RM 270k in 1998 and the current market value is RM 600k.

My friend's parents bought a condo in Kepong nearby desa park at RM 150k in year 2007 and the market price now is RM 400k. In the past condo or landed houses were cheap and affordable. But in late 2000 till 2015 the property price shoot up high, around 2016 or 2017 property price start falling until now. Look at the condo sold in 2015 at Cyberjaya, Kepong, Cheras, Wangsa Maju, Puchong, Sungai Buloh. Most if not all of these property price 2nd value now is cheaper than S&P price.
Aaron212
post Oct 26 2023, 10:14 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 05:59 AM)
Invest in property is not a good choice like 2000 - 2015. Even the property price in Desa Park City is stagnent. My friend now stay in WS2 and S&P price is almost RM1m. He is planning to sell for some years at RM 1.2m but till now still no news. In ipropxrty many unit listed as RM 1.2m but in real world people hardly pay more than RM1.1m to buy it. My friend was renting to foreigner when the WS2 VP at RM 3k. After 2 years tenant left and unable to find a new tenant, by then he move in. The monthly instalment is about RM4k and maintenance is maybe around RM 400.

In year 2015 I almost bought a unit in Koi Prima puchong 1055sqf at RM550k (before 10% discount) and now the 2nd market price is RM 350k only and negotiable. I got few friends bought condo in Puchong, Bukit Jalil, and Kepong around year 2013 - 2018. None of them able to make profit for the high rise property from S&P price if they sell it out now. Plus nowadays new condo projects are offering 2 carparks and free almost all kind of fees, the 2nd market is getting tougher.
hahaha KOI tats the shittiest place. u dodged a bullet and used up all ur luck adi
Tan&tan
post Oct 26 2023, 11:21 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 26 2023, 09:14 AM)

This is because they bought it long time ago at 60k . Today scenario totally different , no matter damansara heights or cheras .
Tan&tan
post Oct 26 2023, 11:25 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 09:59 AM)

1000000000% agree
marfccy
post Oct 26 2023, 11:27 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 10:12 AM)
It is not wise to compare 30 years old property. My parents bought a double storey 20x70 house in selayang at RM 90k in early 90s. The house sold in RM 270k in 1998 and the current market value is RM 600k.

My friend's parents bought a condo in Kepong nearby desa park at RM 150k in year 2007 and the market price now is RM 400k. In the past condo or landed houses were cheap and affordable. But in late 2000 till 2015 the property price shoot up high, around 2016 or 2017 property price start falling until now. Look at the condo sold in 2015 at Cyberjaya, Kepong, Cheras, Wangsa Maju, Puchong, Sungai Buloh. Most if not all of these property price 2nd value now is cheaper than S&P price.
this, my dad used to have a condo at Mutiara Damansara bought 250k for 1400sf more than a decade ago

now its price jumped to like 750k at min in 2023

as for OP Tamsin my 2 cents on why dont target an expensive condo;

1. unless you can afford the loan repayment/DP by yourself + have stable financials
2. never buy condo expecting it to give massive returns in future, its too variable for us normal peeps to understand deeper
3. never buy higher tier condos unless expecting to stay long term, as some time in future (10-15yrs later) since you will be tying the knot soon, you will end up target larger home for your kids

so buy into what you can afford atm, i know that having a larger home seems more safer since we all always want larger space. but ultimately as per #3, as all family man be, we will end up looking for larger homes and ended up selling the first home
redondo88
post Oct 26 2023, 12:02 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 26 2023, 11:21 AM)
This is because they bought it long time ago at 60k . Today scenario totally different , no matter damansara heights or cheras .
Property investment is not a short term flipping. 30 years with 5x original S&P value is normal, with the inflation etc. And 60k in 1990s aint cheap, it was equivalent to 200k today.

So now if you see 900k condo, don't think it can't move up anymore 30 years later. Just have to make sure the S&P price is not a future price set by greedy developer (look around). And the location must be correct. If you are not sure, don't ever buy ulu place, either landed or highrise, it's a gamble.
jrshow
post Oct 26 2023, 03:08 PM

2,186 posts

trust me bro, dont buy condo,very hard to sell in future, my friend brough a condo at 700K in 2015, now value only 400K,property doesnt mean will appreciate for current situation
rumahwip
post Oct 26 2023, 05:43 PM

1,086 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 09:59 AM)

wat is WS2?
rumahwip
post Oct 26 2023, 05:47 PM

1,086 posts

for farway place, better be landed. condo has to be in good location.
in KV, back to back talk location
autodriver
post Oct 26 2023, 06:38 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Oct 26 2023, 05:43 PM)
wat is WS2?
Westside Two
Tan&tan
post Oct 26 2023, 06:43 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 26 2023, 06:38 PM)
Westside Two
If he want let go at 1m pls pm me
Cavatzu
post Oct 27 2023, 10:45 AM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(redondo88 @ Oct 26 2023, 12:02 PM)
Property investment is not a short term flipping. 30 years with 5x original S&P value is normal, with the inflation etc. And 60k in 1990s aint cheap, it was equivalent to 200k today.

So now if you see 900k condo, don't think it can't move up anymore 30 years later. Just have to make sure the S&P price is not a future price set by greedy developer (look around). And the location must be correct. If you are not sure, don't ever buy ulu place, either landed or highrise, it's a gamble.
I think the key is managing expectations. Know that if you buy something now the likelihood that it will appreciate in value in 10 years is minimal when you do wish to upgrade. Family size units don’t often perform well as an investment. Supply will only go up and population is generally shrinking.
woolei
post Oct 27 2023, 04:55 PM

1,745 posts

fact:
-TS is just 28 year old - (assume he is senior rank employee earning 4-7k per month?)
-1st home buyer
-need parent help for the down payment (i assume monthly income cant sustain the installment of 900k house?)
-possible already have a car loan (always need traveling around)
-hometown at melaka, need go shah alam/N9 for work
-worry about making wrong decision + asking around his fren for opinion and also stranger forumer opinion (not confident/comfortable with this option)

my suggestion:
-why not try to get a 300k prima/rumahvip if entitle? dont waste the 1st home quota
-hunt subsales, since you have parent support for deposit, really alot of option for you in bukit jalil.
-get a more defensive property (easy to rent out, near public transport, easy access, population is ONG) so you got choice wait for a better price before let go too cheap

rumahwip
post Oct 27 2023, 05:32 PM

1,086 posts

after 7 pages, best comment
Cavatzu
post Oct 27 2023, 06:59 PM

2,832 posts

QUOTE(woolei @ Oct 27 2023, 04:55 PM)
fact:
-TS is just 28 year old - (assume he is senior rank employee earning 4-7k per month?)
-1st home buyer
-need parent help for the down payment (i assume monthly income cant sustain the installment of 900k house?)
-possible already have a car loan (always need traveling around)
-hometown at melaka, need go shah alam/N9 for work
-worry about making wrong decision + asking around his fren for opinion and also stranger forumer opinion (not confident/comfortable with this option)

my suggestion:
-why not try to get a 300k prima/rumahvip if entitle? dont waste the 1st home quota
-hunt subsales, since you have parent support for deposit, really alot of option for you in bukit jalil.
-get a more defensive property (easy to rent out, near public transport, easy access, population is ONG) so you got choice wait for a better price before let go too cheap
Yea getting a rumahwip for “investment” and the remaining 600k for an ownstay is perhaps the most financially sound thing to do but it’s not always black and white.

Jazted
post Oct 29 2023, 11:09 AM

542 posts

900k for condo which is not very near to city centre?
bigduck
post Oct 29 2023, 11:27 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Jazted @ Oct 29 2023, 11:09 AM)
900k for condo which is not very near to city centre?
Cause it’s 1.6k sqft
lioncarlsberg
post Oct 29 2023, 02:28 PM

321 posts

Which landed project in Bukit Jalil available at the moment?
Jazted
post Oct 29 2023, 11:17 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Oct 29 2023, 11:27 AM)
Cause it’s 1.6k sqft
noted,

consider ts didn't mention he brought it for the marriage purpose. i think no need to own this much size condo.

since TS is working around shah alam, my advise TS is go for the ecoworld ardence services apartment series. (hana or huni). you can enjoy the ecoworld greenery and condo facilities at one go.

900sf -1000sf service apartment with 2 cp at 450k (probably got rebate 410k). 300k probably already cleared most of the loan. remaining can focus on renovation.

if you have a bigger family in future, its easy to sell and buy a new larger unit than larger unit.

Buy a largest size condo at your first property is a big risk especially not all condo appreciate the value.

ahkit123
post Sep 27 2024, 06:38 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Oct 20 2023, 11:48 AM)

Yes, go ahead
nauticat99
post Sep 27 2024, 10:45 PM

587 posts

One option is to rent for a year or two in the locations you plan to buy. Who knows you may like is dislike the locations or you may change jobs to a different state or even to another country. Don’t tie down your life
boyboycute
post Sep 28 2024, 07:31 AM

549 posts

It's never wise to seek advice from online forum.

If your wife or girlfriend loves the house, just go for it. Use MasterCard. It's priceless
jrshow
post Sep 29 2024, 12:56 PM

2,186 posts

Dont bro...later will be deappreciate
rumahwip
post Sep 29 2024, 06:04 PM

1,086 posts

ukur baju di badan sendiri
ahkit123
post Sep 29 2024, 10:35 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 28 2024, 08:31 AM)
It's never wise to seek advice from online forum.

If your wife or girlfriend loves the house, just go for it. Use MasterCard. It's priceless
Use mastercard? Wise indeed
PS8805
post Sep 29 2024, 10:54 PM

23 posts

Just to share some of my experience,

Initially we wanted to rent first to try out certain places if it suits our needs. Thankfully, it didn’t work out and we moved. We liked the new place and purchased. Then when we had kids, we had all sorts of issues because we didn’t foresee that far ahead. Our earlier “investment properties” were not suitable to either one of us before kids, let alone after kids. So we were stuck in a predicament that we can’t afford to buy anymore other property without selling but can’t move without renting elsewhere to sell which is a massive inconvenience.

1) my suggestion is if you want to purchase an “investment property”, it’s probably wise to purchase one that you and your future wife might agree on. To most of us, a home investment is a once a lifetime event and it’s necessary to get it right. Otherwise you’ll have a tough time changing later on. So discuss this together.
2) if you plan or might plan for kids, choose location accordingly. Same as point number 1 above.
3) if you need a support system, whether it’s near parents, in-laws, Nannie’s or daycare centers, it is important to consider those too before purchasing
4) yes. Location is key, but if you can’t get the three items above to work, any good location won’t be good enough for you.
5) like others, I agree that you should invest in RUMAWIP if you qualify. As a pure investment property. It’s one of those rare properties that may be able to offset the mortgage with losses. Amazing. Illegal of course. Still amazing.
ck2chan
post Oct 1 2024, 01:33 AM

2,144 posts

Go look at BK9, Bandar Kinrara double storey landed.
900K buy condo is a bit waste. Next time your condo become old, who wanna fork 900K with 90K deposit + lawyer fee alone already breach 100K cash money to buy your old condo.
Will have more newer and newer condo coming up. Landed price will just keep increase steadily over the years. Condo price might drop on oh or stagnant with little appreciation.
New condo now first 10 years if cannot move up much the price then jialat de that condo. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ck2chan: Oct 1 2024, 01:34 AM
Chanzeryl
post Oct 1 2024, 10:04 PM

646 posts

Check out the developer's reputation before you decide to splurge 900k on its product mega_shok.gif
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Oct 2 2024, 05:22 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Usually, people who want to live in a big house start by buying a smaller one. As the property appreciates in value, they sell it and buy a bigger house. They repeat this process over time, gradually moving into larger homes.
gashout
post Oct 3 2024, 07:20 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Ts. What did you end up doing?

I saw many good advice here.

You also know 900k put in epf for 30 years when you're 58 it'll be 4.88 mil.. That's around 23k passive income per mth for you after 30 years.

Given the example above, sometimes, rent is better.

0.0577sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:09 PM