HD-DVD XBox 360 on next Jan, with HD-DVD and HD tuner built-in

TSsilencer
post Oct 24 2007, 10:50 AM, updated 19y ago

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Quote from avs.forum:

More confirmation...

"Sources I'm talking to at the company suggest that an announcement could come soon that Microsoft will unveil a new version of Xbox 360 featuring a built-in HD-DVD player and HD tuner. The device might be officially unveiled during Bill Gates' keynote at the upcoming Consumer Electronics Show in January, which could be a bummer since it misses this upcominhg holiday shopping season."

http://www.cnbc.com/id/21423304
aobk84
post Oct 24 2007, 11:07 AM

406 posts

Expected it from the beginning when ps3 had bluray in them. I kinda think microsoft got it right this time, now that they can capture most of the market with the inclusion of hd dvd and lots of games out there. but i doubt i wanna wait till nex year coz 40gb ps3 is worthy for now
ganaz-x
post Oct 24 2007, 11:14 AM

1,025 posts

Heard MS is working with Toshiba on this one. Thank god I haven't jumped on the Elite bandwagon yet. If it's true then this is definitely a getter rclxms.gif
samurai20
post Oct 24 2007, 11:33 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

so what happen to old 360.. throw to sungai kelang .. coz after this all game will in HDDVD format.... dry.gif...
rx330
post Oct 24 2007, 11:37 AM

11,808 posts

wats the tuner for the US?
dvb format or another type?
snipersnake
post Oct 24 2007, 11:42 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i dont think the game format will change, this will only be an advantage for the HD DVD movie buffs. the games would still be in dvd9.

http://stuff.tv/News/id-7833/
humaizyharmy
post Oct 24 2007, 11:42 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(aobk84 @ Oct 24 2007, 11:07 AM)
Expected it from the beginning when ps3 had bluray in them. I kinda think microsoft got it right this time, now that they can capture most of the market with the inclusion of hd dvd and lots of games out there. but i doubt i wanna wait till nex year coz 40gb ps3 is worthy for now
bro, how much is 40gb ps3 now in the market? already selling kah?

pmsoo
post Oct 24 2007, 11:53 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Oct 24 2007, 11:33 AM)
so what happen to old 360.. throw to sungai kelang .. coz after this all game will in HDDVD format.... dry.gif...
HD DVD player can play normal DVD mah

But if the game developer choose to use a single HD DVD instead of multiple discs (Blue Dragon), then the old xbox 360 premium owners are royally screwed.

ganaz-x
post Oct 24 2007, 12:15 PM

1,025 posts

Here are the rumoured specs:

- HD DVD
- 1080p w/HDMI (doesn't sound much different)
- Wireless Networking
- dual HD tuners with program guide (no dvr?)
- MP3 player dock (possibly a new open standard ala ipod...won't happen, Zune is USB)
- Toshiba is also exploring a 40-inch TV that can dock the 360
- This same TV dock could allow for more hard drive or component swappability
- Expected in late 2008 or CES 2009

And here's Toshiba denial:

An Australian website has reported Toshiba as saying Microsoft will release an Xbox 360 with a built-in HD DVD drive by the end of next year.An interview with an unnamed 'senior Toshiba executive' apparently reveals the pressure the HD DVD founders are under to match the success the PS3 has had on Blu-ray sales.The apparent console will also boast a universal MP3 dock, a bigger hard drive and dual TV tuners - a la PS3's new telly-watching add-on.As with every 'Microsoft to add HD DVD to 360' rumour - currently at about one a month - Microsoft is dismissing the claims. But so is Toshiba.A spokesperson for Tosh told us: 'It's got nothing to do with us. But we know Microsoft doesn't want to include the HD DVD drive so as not to limit the user's experience.'Microsoft pulled a fast one on Sony by launching its Xbox 360 (pictured) without a built-in HD DVD player and keeping costs down. Since then, the PS3's Blu-ray support has seen the format take a slim lead in the HD disc showdown.Yes, an HD DVD-sporting 360 would be sweet, but we'll believe when we see it...EssentialsContact: www.toshiba.co.uk

michael9413
post Oct 24 2007, 12:16 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well the game will be on DVD format i don think they will change it in near future...
coz too many xbox 360 outside...
but i think they do this to fight PS3 on HD support only...

samurai20
post Oct 24 2007, 12:37 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Oct 24 2007, 11:53 AM)

But if the game developer choose to use a single HD DVD instead of multiple discs (Blue Dragon), then the old xbox 360 premium owners are royally screwed.
That wht make M$ decision suk wei...

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Oct 24 2007, 12:16 PM)
well the game will be on DVD format i don think they will change it in near future...
coz too many xbox 360 outside...
but i think they do this to fight PS3 on HD support only...
if they change wat happen to OLD 360 12zilion unit around the world.. become penyendal pintu.. coz.. cannot play new game .. if game dev.. choose HDDVD format..... for me its good in Movie part but for game i will become dif story.. lor... & than u all should know la.. M$.... always kelentong one... dry.gif

This post has been edited by samurai20: Oct 24 2007, 12:42 PM
terranova
post Oct 24 2007, 01:03 PM

1,161 posts

I thought there was an issue with the HD-DVD drive reading slower than the DVD drives, hence making a 2-in-1 drive not feasible as the 360's game disc (dvd) need to be read at a certain speed to run satisfactorily on the console. the hd-dvd drive doesn't reach those speeds. i guess these technical limitations can be overcome by the wonderful engineers at their disposal. then again, i'm no techie ...

michael9413
post Oct 24 2007, 01:10 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... well they will solve that problem if they wanna use that... smile.gif
some more... still a rumours...
ataris
post Oct 24 2007, 01:14 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

lets just hope they really did solve the problem !
refnulf
post Oct 24 2007, 02:24 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I'll believe it, when I see it.

zio
post Oct 24 2007, 05:14 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I rather they separate it because not everyone is a movie buff. I doubt we will see games in HD-DVD soon anyway.

As for screwed Premium users? Heh maybe most of us will have 3RODed by then and its time for a replacement.
-=mayatsan=-
post Oct 24 2007, 05:24 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Oct 24 2007, 11:33 AM)
ko sorang je yg tau membazir whistling.gif

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Oct 24 2007, 11:53 AM)

QUOTE(zio @ Oct 24 2007, 05:14 PM)
I rather they separate it because not everyone is a movie buff. I doubt we will see games in HD-DVD soon anyway.

As for screwed Premium users? Heh maybe most of us will have 3RODed by then and its time for a replacement.
well....M$...marketing strategy mcm haram...too many profits.....sigh...sampai bila la ko nak berubah MR PAGAR doh.gif
zio
post Oct 24 2007, 05:25 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(-=mayatsan=- @ Oct 24 2007, 05:24 PM)
ko sorang je yg tau membazir whistling.gif
well....M$...marketing strategy mcm haram...too many profits.....sigh...sampai bila la ko nak berubah MR PAGAR doh.gif
siapa Mr Pagar? tongue.gif
-=mayatsan=-
post Oct 24 2007, 05:34 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Oct 24 2007, 05:25 PM)
siapa Mr Pagar? tongue.gif
MR GATES laugh.gif
zio
post Oct 24 2007, 05:43 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

adoi... lol but both companies still denying this version of 360..

0.0212sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:21 AM