The dark history of China's ghost marriages

oe_kintaro
post Oct 16 2023, 09:51 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Oct 16 2023, 09:38 AM)
Thats how Russell Lee milks his way to Book 26.
There are at least 400+ tales in Pu Song Ling's canon. Not to mention a whole slew of imitators and predecessors, but Pu Song Ling's is considered by many to be the best. But it's not just ghost stories for scaring little kids. A lot of his stories got a strong moral core.
SUSYH1234
post Oct 16 2023, 09:54 AM

372 posts

Oct 16 2023, 10:21 AM
This post has been deleted by 30624770 because: Spewing nonsense

SUSBlackscreamerz
post Oct 16 2023, 10:19 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Oct 16 2023, 09:51 AM)
There are at least 400+ tales in Pu Song Ling's canon. Not to mention a whole slew of imitators and predecessors, but Pu Song Ling's is considered by many to be the best. But it's not just ghost stories for scaring little kids. A lot of his stories got a strong moral core.
Actually what i trying to say is we all love ghost stories or more correctly supernatural tales.

Liao Zhai stories are indeed very nice. Is there an English version out there now?
Slowpokeking
post Oct 16 2023, 10:21 AM

19 posts

Is this based on Chinese legend, tie a red string between a man and a banana tree so that man malam malam dapat piap.

Read this from a HK comic. Then smex scene hnnnngh
oe_kintaro
post Oct 16 2023, 10:51 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Oct 16 2023, 10:19 AM)
Actually what i trying to say is we all love ghost stories or more correctly supernatural tales.

Liao Zhai stories are indeed very nice. Is there an English version out there now?
The Victorian era Giles translation is freely available for download. But it's a bowdlerised version of the original, i.e. the more salacious details have been toned down. I'm looking for a more recent translation as well. I heard the Sondergard version is the most complete version to date. .
SUSBlackscreamerz
post Oct 16 2023, 10:53 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Oct 16 2023, 10:21 AM)
Is this based on Chinese legend, tie a red string between a man and a banana tree so that man malam malam dapat piap.

Read this from a HK comic. Then smex scene hnnnngh
itu bukan nanyang side chinese ghost story?

i think ori china doesnt have this.
Zot
post Oct 16 2023, 10:56 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(pinkfoxlulu @ Oct 16 2023, 09:11 AM)
how to  piap first nite?
Daoshi will call the spirit into his body and then ....
Revoz
post Oct 16 2023, 10:56 AM

679 posts

QUOTE(pinkfoxlulu @ Oct 16 2023, 09:11 AM)
how to  piap first nite?
Tats y /ktard like to piap piap test drive 1st, wanna marry or not later decide.
bengang15
post Oct 16 2023, 11:59 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Oct 16 2023, 09:14 AM)
Yes, still got.

Even in Malaysia also got but they don't pay or go to the extreme of stealing bodies like in China.

I heard that two families arrange for such marriage before because both their son and daughter already pass away without marriage.

The two families actually become like relatives after the ghost wedding where they meet up during festivals.
In this case I think it's acceptable if it brings closure to the family. Just don't kill and steel dead bodies.
bengang15
post Oct 16 2023, 12:01 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Oct 16 2023, 09:26 AM)
Why not? Afterlife is once very important to the Chinese.

Custom is hard to die off.
I know. I am ok with custom. Just don't go stealing and killing.
Sien99
post Oct 16 2023, 12:22 PM

164 posts

Got people kena NTR by ghost?
Or NTR ghost?
SUSjoe_star
post Oct 16 2023, 12:25 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Oct 16 2023, 09:10 AM)
Still got? Crazy
CCP try to eradicate all this thru cultural Revolution but still got some ppl practice it, like a cancer very hard to fully eradicate
emburrar
post Oct 16 2023, 12:27 PM

14 posts

Inb4 erotic ghost story
MishimaZ
post Oct 16 2023, 12:29 PM

269 posts

Basically a culture at clearly portrays what kind of obsessed freak we Chinese are when it comes to possession of the other sex, due to sex. In the end that is still what we insanely crave for despite shaming the Japs that invaded us easily; for whatever shit they did sexually.

This also explains why even a gilf has been ran through by tyrones and chads, obtaining high mileage on the odometer - is still marketable to the Chinese. Its awkward as it defies the sexual law, but it is how it is.

Inb4 eternal ghost of asia.

This post has been edited by MishimaZ: Oct 16 2023, 12:29 PM
bengang15
post Oct 16 2023, 12:40 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Oct 16 2023, 12:25 PM)
CCP try to eradicate all this thru cultural Revolution but still got some ppl practice it, like a cancer very hard to fully eradicate
What I meant crazy is the stealing and killing. I am in fact supportive of custom practices if it bring closure to family.
kamfoo
post Oct 16 2023, 01:06 PM

847 posts

So scary
Slowpokeking
post Oct 16 2023, 01:18 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Oct 16 2023, 10:53 AM)
itu bukan nanyang side chinese ghost story?

i think ori china doesnt have this.
It’s HK comic though. I think I read it in early 2000s.
Relaxing work 2
post Oct 16 2023, 02:07 PM

76 posts

Interesting tales. Now in China dowries are so expensive for actual physically bodied wife.

keybearer
post Oct 16 2023, 02:15 PM

409 posts

The heck, auction and grave robbing. Mati also susah.

Also:
QUOTE(30624770 @ Oct 16 2023, 10:04 AM)
While most ghost marriages are performed in rural areas of northern and central China, the ritual has been reported among the Chinese community in other countries across Asia, including Singapore and Taiwan.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/lifestyle/travel/...5&ei=40#image=1
Singapore also still got practice? Malaysia how?
poco loco
post Oct 16 2023, 02:16 PM

611 posts

uhhhhhhhhhhh
spookyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0284sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:32 AM