LYN BYD Owners' Club, World's Best Selling EV

ceras
post Mar 14 2025, 02:23 PM

647 posts

Has anyone replaced the Atto 3 12V starter battery? Any brand suggestions?
modjojojo
post Apr 8 2025, 12:50 PM

235 posts

Hi sifus. I'm seriously looking at the byd seal performance.

Would like to know, did most of you buy the standard or plus service package? is it worth to buy? I'm thinking 6 yrs should be enough for me.

May sell off the car between 5-7 yrs of ownership.
boynine75 P
post May 19 2025, 05:52 PM

Probation

Watching this thread. Haritu went to MAS at Maeps tested sealion 7 performance... very syiok. but I think for ev road tax reason maybe take premium. but want to test drive premium first. Anybody have Sealion 7 premium here to share experience?
Scissorshand
post May 21 2025, 11:26 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(modjojojo @ Apr 8 2025, 12:50 PM)

Would like to know, did most of you buy the standard or plus service package? is it worth to buy? I'm thinking 6 yrs should be enough for me.

$35k discount just buy and enjoy

QUOTE(boynine75 @ May 19 2025, 05:52 PM)
Watching this thread. Haritu went to MAS at Maeps tested sealion 7 performance... very syiok. but I think for ev road tax reason maybe take premium. but want to test drive premium first. Anybody have Sealion 7 premium here to share experience?
S7 performance road tax close to $1k vs premium $400
jianjie
post May 21 2025, 10:09 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(modjojojo @ Apr 8 2025, 12:50 PM)

actually, apart from motor coolant you must get in BYD SC, other stuff can tukar outside isnt it?

dont think they will void warranty over such minor issue.

so.. 3 years package sounds enough?
boynine75 P
post May 23 2025, 05:55 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 21 2025, 11:26 AM)
S7 performance road tax close to $1k vs premium $400
Exactly.. want to reduce so I think will take premium. But still finding shops I can test premium to see how much worse the acceleration. Also for anyone buying BYD, did you change the wheels? 19" wheels is quite expensive.. is there issue if change to 18" wheels?
Scissorshand
post May 24 2025, 10:24 AM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(boynine75 @ May 23 2025, 05:55 PM)
Exactly.. want to reduce so I think will take premium. But still finding shops I can test premium to see how much worse the acceleration. Also for anyone buying BYD, did you change the wheels? 19" wheels is quite expensive.. is there issue if change to 18" wheels?
Available at various showroom to test the premium and despite being single motor its acceleration is good plus I doubt you’ll hard accelerate every time. Even with 19” if it’s quite comfortable except as u mentioned it’s pricey a bit.
Mysteryz
post May 25 2025, 10:42 AM

BYD Original Factory Workshop Repair Manuals For Sale. The Following Models Are :-

2021 HAV EV LHD Spanish - Complete Manual
2023 BYD ATTO3 LHD Spanish - Complete Manual
2023 ETP3 LHD Spanish - Complete Manual
2023 TANG EV LHD Spanish - Complete Manual
2023 Song PLUS EV Spanish - Complete Manual
2024 SEAL LHD Spanish - Complete Manual
2024 DOLPHIN LHD Spanish - Complete Manual

2020 Han DM-i English - EWD ONLY
2022 ATTO3 EV-(RHD) - English EWD ONLY
2023 ATTO3 EV English - EWD ONLY
2021 D1 English - Complete Manual
2021 HAN EV (European Standard) English - Complete Manual
2021 HAN EV Europe English - Complete Manual

2021 Qin Plus DMi - Chinese
2021 Song Plus DMi - Chinese

2023 ATTO3 LHD English - Complete Manual
2023 ATTO3 RHD English - Complete Manual
2022 HAN EV - English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2022 TANG EV English - Complete Manual
2023 ATTO 3 Yuan Plus English - Complete Manual
2023 ATTO 3 Japan REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 ATTO 3 v2 (LHD Version) English - REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 ATTO 3 v2 (RHD Version) English - REPAIR MANUAL ONLY

2023 Dolphin Japan - Complete Manual
2023 Seal (RHD) English - Complete Manual
2023 SEAL U DM-i (Europe) English - Complete Manual
2023 SONG Plus DM-i- SONG Plus DM-i English - Complete Manual
2023 Song PLUS EV English - Complete Manual
2023 Song PLUS EV - Seal U - English Complete Manual
2023 SONG Plus DM-i-English Complete Manual
2023 Song Plus DM-i- (Uzbekistan) English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 Song Pro DM-i- (Uzbekistan) English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 Song Plus DM-i (Uzbekistan) English - Complete Manual
2023 TANG EV-English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 Tang EV Europa - English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2023 Tang EV TZ200XSN - English Complete Manual
2023 Tang EV (Europe) English - Complete Manual
2023 Tang EV (Europe) 2.0 English - Complete Manual
2024 ATTO 3-LHD - English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 ATTO 3-RHD - English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 ATTO3 (LHD) Korea English - Complete Manual
2024 CHAZOR English - Complete Manual
2024 CHAZOR DM-i Champion (Uzbekistan) English - Complete Manual
2024 Dolphin English REPAIR MANUAL-ONLY
2024 Dolphin (LHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 Dolphin (RHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 ETP3 (LHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 ETP3 (RHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 ETP3 LHD English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 ETP3 RHD English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 Han EV (European Standard) English - Complete Manual
2024 Han EV-EU-Standard English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 SEAL (LHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 SEAL (RHD) English - Complete Manual
2024 SEAL U EV (Europe) English - Complete Manual
2024 SEAL U EV( EUROPE) English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 SEAL U DM-i v2 (Europe) English - Complete Manual
2024 SEAL U DMi( EUROPE) English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 Seagull 400 (Latin America) English - Complete Manual
2024 Seagull 300 (Latin America) English - Complete Manual
2024 Seagull Latin America-English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY
2024 Sealion 6 DM-i English - Complete Manual
2024 Sealion 6 DM-i (Australia and New Zealand) English - Complete Manual
2024 Song Pro DM-i English - Complete Manual
2024 Song Pro DM-i (Uzbekistan) English - Complete Manual
2024 Song Plus EV (Uzbekistan) English - Complete Manual
2024 Song Plus DM-i English - Complete Manual
2024 SHARK GL - English - Complete Manual
2024 SHARK GS - English - Complete Manual
2024 Tang EV Europa - English REPAIR MANUAL ONLY

The price is from Rm230 to 450, depending on the year and model.

Payment by PAYPAL + $6 tax and Services

DM Me For More Details.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
boynine75 P
post May 26 2025, 03:31 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 24 2025, 10:24 AM)
Available at various showroom to test the premium and despite being single motor its acceleration is good plus I doubt you’ll hard accelerate every time. Even with 19” if it’s quite comfortable except as u mentioned it’s pricey a bit.
Went into showroom again today and saw that the 19" wheel is the smallest can fit. 18" won't fit, unless change caliper (which will void warranty). So now need to seriously check tyre price. SA told me the Conti ECO that the premium has is about RM900... is it really? I thought we are looking at about 1.2k each.

Also did a test drive with performance running on eco mode, SA said that is about the same as acceleration of premium.. don't know if true or not.
jianjie
post Jul 1 2025, 10:41 PM

290 posts

hey guys,

so I've owned the Seal Performance for a month now. Sharing my experience here, hope it helps you guys who are still contemplating or face the same problem as me.

Let's start with the "not so nice" points first. By no ranking of impact ok.

1. Range anxiety is there, even though I have home charger + solar. So it is really important you know very clearly what's the usage pattern like before buying an EV. I'm charging once a week, total travel distance between home and office is 60km, 5 days a week.

2. Listen to the 20% rule. Whatever is on WLTP range, shave off 20%. Eg WLTP range of 520km, shave off 20% means you can drive 416km. But hey there's your body weight, speeding, accelerate and brake etc.. my drive is 70% highway (avg speed 140) and 30% neighbourhood road with 30 min jam per day. My actual range is 300km~350km for each charge of 80% battery. and yes I drive quite aggressively in overtaking others.

3. Don't expect fancy handphone app if you're Huawei user. Lots of things you CANT DO with the app, such as
remote control to drive the car out
set driver seat & passenger seat cooling to turn on by default
find car location through GPS
wind down windows
use DIGITAL KEY to unlock car & start the car
adjust car setting

4. the regular stuff that you'd expect from a normal car?
set the car to lock itself after you walk away
lock the power windows so that the kids can't unlock windows
adjust aircond vent for it to blow at your face
turn off rear aircond vent
and more.. (quite sure I will find out more absurd stuff in near future)

5. slow version update. I'm still on the stock version, whereas our neighbour Singapore already has the latest 1.4 version launched >half year ago. That's 2 updates ahead,as comparison. Selecting version upgrade under Settings menu doesnt do anything.

6. BYD assistant is not smart. Just don't expect anything from it.

7. Aircond is not cold. One might say it's cause of the panaromic sunroof and window tint quality, but no. It really is not cold!

The rest of drawbacks are already mentioned in most car reviews, not gonna repeat here.

Ok how about the nice ones? I mean, the buyers are not stupid eh?

1. The combo of solar panel + home charger + EV is nearly perfect. With current solar panels price you should be able to breakeven in 3 years if not shorter. So just vroom vroom all the way!

2. A normal person doesnt do 3.8s sprint frequently, but the confidence whenever you overtake lane hogger? oh boy that's the feeling totally worthy of the price you pay!

3. High regen braking. It's not as high as Tesla's, but it does save on brake pad. Once you get used to the regen braking there's no issue in giving a comfort ride.

4. I find the audio quality quite sweet.. not just music, but when connecting phone via bluetooth to make call (normal call or whatsapp call) the voice quality is comparable to those Jabra headphones in office. I've tried this in beemer, lexus biskut, toyota, honda, mazda, none of the brand can match BYD Seal on this aspect. And this is something you don't get from regular car reviews.

5. There's 45:55 weight distribution according to the car sticker at B-pillar driver side. Handling is quite ok, though far away from Mazda and BM. Ok lar.. speeding uphill at Genting and side-winding kampung road not an issue provided there's no road wave (u know the ups and downs?)

6. Having a card clipper at sun visor, small bill box at driver side, toggle child lock from driver's door.. it's small but they make a difference!

Some things you might now know about (yet)

you can't lift the wipers without hitting front bonnet.
to open front bonnet, you gotta pull the trigger twice. It's not as convenient as back bonnet.
Store food or durian in front bonnet, the smell wont get into cabin. tested!
Try to open door while the car is moving or in Drive mode, it goes into emergency brake with electronic parking brake engaged (now I understand the Atto3 incident).
There's no car mat lock at front passenger side. If you often carries someone, be ready for moving mat.

Ok that's it for now. I'm gonna head to service center to update software, wish me luck.

KennyKB
post Jul 3 2025, 02:11 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Jul 1 2025, 10:41 PM)

3. Don't expect fancy handphone app if you're Huawei user. Lots of things you CANT DO with the app, such as
remote control to drive the car out
set driver seat & passenger seat cooling to turn on by default
find car location through GPS
wind down windows
use DIGITAL KEY to unlock car & start the car
adjust car setting

Thank you for very useful detailed review from actual user. For item 3 are you referring only to Huawei handphone or all Android phones?
jianjie
post Jul 5 2025, 06:04 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jul 3 2025, 02:11 PM)
Thank you for very useful detailed review from actual user. For item 3 are you referring only to Huawei handphone or all Android phones?
Only Huawei phone.

Samsung, Oppo, One Plus,Xiaomi, and Google are the only brands compatible with the app. Quite a crap in my opinion.
jianjie
post Jul 16 2025, 09:44 PM

290 posts

update from 14th Jul

So i've gotten my version update at the service center. Total time taken is roughly 2 hours, not bad for pure flashing of software version.

Here's what is has changed (and more of what I think about the app)
1. Karaoke - yayyyyyy BUT the song list seem really limited. Not yet try the companion phone app Stingray.
2. Youtube - Yayyyy BUT it cannot be played unless you're in Parked mode. mehhhh
3. Browser - ok, not bad. yeah sometimes I wanna read stuff in big screen.
4. Calm radio - not bad. It lets you play piano or other instrumental music while you're driving.. so far this is my favorite.
5. Arcade - it is NOT like how Tesla lets you play Mario Kart with your steering wheel k. Expect super basic boring games to kill time.
6. Zoom - no thanks. Really, no thanks.

The good part is though, more options in drop down menu. And all the basic, important options like aircond are now permanent at bottom bar of the screen.

You might start to wonder, what happened to other cool features of Ver 1.40 you found in youtube channels?

- NO autostart. It's intentionally removed from manual version update, but if you got yours through OTA then it should be available.
- NO password to drive. I kinda look forward to this one really, especially when kids are inside the car.
- Automatic activation of low beam in night time. OK take this as warning, there's NO WAY to turn it off. So if you're thinking to bring your girl out under the starlight and make out inside the car with airconds on, sorry bruh this car will keep it's bright light on no matter how you flicker the switches and buttons (no moan).

Now you might wonder if any of the issues I had from previous post is solved? No. But I did get some of my answers though.

A little FAQ:
1. Why didn't I get my updates OTA?
A: it runs through an algorithm in batches, randomly. And there's like a 3 weeks window for their server to roll out. If your car is not selected, then too bad you can only ask for it in a service center. The service center guy also told me he has seen Atto 3 owner that has never gotten any update since Day 1 the car was launched in KL.

2. why is the car aircond not cold?
A: That's the difference with ICE car. We're talking about different compressor size, power source, so yeah the compressor in your car is not as powerful as those in ICE. That's why they let you cool your car in advanced, right? Not forgetting we're sitting on gigantic battery pack that generates heat during charge and discharge and heat travels upward. So it's natural that you need stronger aircond level.

3. Do I have to pay for the manual update?
A: No. But you can only do it during weekday though, still costs you a day of annual leave.

So far that's it. I'll probably give the next update at 10,000km after service and tyre rotation. Interesting to find out how's the tyre wear & tear, service cost, and power efficiency.
Breaktru
post Jul 19 2025, 02:23 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Hmm wondering about the aircon coldness in relative to ICE . Can that be a real concern , because my ex Civic FE is very cold . I'm considering the Seal as well .

Azzqech
post Jul 31 2025, 03:24 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Jul 16 2025, 09:44 PM)
update from 14th Jul

2. why is the car aircond not cold?
A: That's the difference with ICE car. We're talking about different compressor size, power source, so yeah the compressor in your car is not as powerful as those in ICE. That's why they let you cool your car in advanced, right? Not forgetting we're sitting on gigantic battery pack that generates heat during charge and discharge and heat travels upward. So it's natural that you need stronger aircond level.

Do you find the not-so-cold aircond a problem in our hot weather? Aside from the compressor size the coldness is also affected by the windows and glass panaromic roof. Did you tint the panaromic roof and put a cover over it?
jianjie
post Aug 3 2025, 11:37 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(Azzqech @ Jul 31 2025, 03:24 PM)
Do you find the not-so-cold aircond a problem in our hot weather? Aside from the compressor size the coldness is also affected by the windows and glass panaromic roof. Did you tint the panaromic roof and put a cover over it?
problem? yes when I'm driving somewhere between 10am to 6pm while the weather is hot.
I hav not tinted the panaromic roof yet, seriously considering it... BYD does give a cover though. If u rajin enough to put it on.
Scissorshand
post Aug 4 2025, 08:57 AM

1,691 posts

May I know guys what’s the average km per full charge on premium model if travelling in KV of mix highway and city?
Azzqech
post Aug 22 2025, 05:23 PM

530 posts

Hello BYD owners, how's BYD service centre experience? Is it easy to get a fast appointment when something goes out of order? Are spare parts readily available? The 2025 BYD Seal looks tempting and I'm wondering whether to pull the trigger but worried about after sale support.

This post has been edited by Azzqech: Aug 22 2025, 05:24 PM
isr25
post Oct 23 2025, 02:30 PM

1,263 posts

Hi BYD Owners - Incoming BYD Sealion 7 Performance owner here. Car should arrive within 2 weeks - PUSPAKOM / Kastam inspection today
Scissorshand
post Oct 27 2025, 09:09 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Oct 23 2025, 02:30 PM)
Hi BYD Owners - Incoming BYD Sealion 7 Performance owner here. Car should arrive within 2 weeks - PUSPAKOM / Kastam inspection today
Congrats apa nombor to tikam? What’s the discount you got btw?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0259sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:09 AM