Poor CTOS score - apply for job in FI, Apply for job in Financial Institution

TSmetalgearash1987
post Oct 13 2023, 12:21 AM, updated 3y ago

439 posts

Dear Sifus,

Appreciate if you can share experience and 2cents.

Applying for a job in a financial institution (GLC/ GLiC) despite having poor CTOS score.

P/S: poor score due to high loans NOT due to rearrears.

What are the chances our application will be rejected despite in final stages of interview? Appreciate if sifus can share your life experience.

Thank you πŸ™πŸ»

This post has been edited by metalgearash1987: Oct 13 2023, 12:27 AM
party
post Oct 16 2023, 06:19 AM

813 posts

they check ur financial if got default or court case etc but will not care ur ctos score.

nexona88
post Oct 16 2023, 09:57 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

Checking CTOS score??

This is new information me...

So far, didn't hear an companies does that...

Only check for police records, Court cases (civil or criminal)... Like that... And maybe also family background too... U from criminal family or not 😁
Mavik
post Oct 16 2023, 02:19 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 16 2023, 09:57 AM)
Checking CTOS score??

This is new information me...

So far, didn't hear an companies does that...

Only check for police records, Court cases (civil or criminal)... Like that... And maybe also family background too... U from criminal family or not 😁
Usually it is for financial services companies that are mandated by Bank Negara to do so.

They will look out for bankruptcy, defaults, money laundering, bounce checks and financial related issues.
This is aside from criminal cases, civil cases, family background (not just criminal but politically connected, royalty connected, etc..).

Depending on the bank, most of them would use CCRIS check, some uses CTOS and some uses other providers.
Mavik
post Oct 16 2023, 02:20 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(metalgearash1987 @ Oct 13 2023, 12:21 AM)
Dear Sifus,

Appreciate if you can share experience and 2cents.

Applying for a job in a financial institution (GLC/ GLiC) despite having poor CTOS score.

P/S: poor score due to high loans NOT due to rearrears.

What are the chances our application will be rejected despite in final stages of interview? Appreciate if sifus can share your life experience.

Thank you πŸ™πŸ»
Normally a bank would run the background check after you passed the interview because it costs the bank money to run these background checks. But do not worry, having high commitments doesn't affect the interview process nor your chances in being hired by the financial institution.
tomato people
post Oct 16 2023, 02:22 PM

Tomato fan
1,730 posts

As long as no court case...no probs
nexona88
post Oct 16 2023, 02:23 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 16 2023, 02:19 PM)
Usually it is for financial services companies that are mandated by Bank Negara to do so.

They will look out for bankruptcy, defaults, money laundering, bounce checks and financial related issues.
This is aside from criminal cases, civil cases, family background (not just criminal but politically connected, royalty connected, etc..).

Depending on the bank, most of them would use CCRIS check, some uses CTOS and some uses other providers.
Oooh...

Okay. Thanks for clarifying 😊
TSmetalgearash1987
post Oct 17 2023, 02:20 PM

439 posts

Thanks all for your feedback and sharing.

How about if we enrolled with AKPK? Will that affects our hiring process and background checks?

This post has been edited by metalgearash1987: Oct 17 2023, 02:20 PM

0.0161sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:28 AM