Housing loan is scary

poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 10 2023, 04:13 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Oct 10 2023, 03:59 PM)
Let say I want to buy an apartment cost about rm600k, should I take 90% loan? Or 50% loan instead?

Throw cash 300k as deposit, then 300k with 10 years loan

However on 3rd year of loan I can settle the loan, anyone can help calculate how much interest I could save?
Tak bagi interest rate how to calculate?

Also some loan got 5 years lock in period which need to pay penalty for early settlement.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 10 2023, 04:36 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 10 2023, 04:15 PM)
lets say u borrow 500k for 30 year 4%, at the end u have to pay 359k interest on top of the 500k.

but if u pay 100k downpayment and borrow 400k for 30 years at 4%, at the end u have to pay 287k interest on top of 500k.

difference is u save rm 72k on interest

but, if u take that 100k and dump into epf lets say 5.5% for 30 years, u will have 498k after 30 years.

minus the 72k due to house loan interest difference, u still have 426k extra.

so for me, is really no brainer la, i sure whack highest loan tenure as possible and save the money elsewhere with higher return than house loan.

but will get in trouble if use it to leverage and borrow more to goreng house. once opr hike more than epf rate then gg
Lol your concept is right but the numbers are all wrong.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 10 2023, 05:00 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 10 2023, 04:46 PM)
simple math la come on. use house loan calculator/compounding calculator to count and u will see the numbers.

as long as interest u can earn > house loan interest then u are safe to keep there.

and for 100k that u put in epf with 5.5% u will get 4.96x 100k after 30 years
I agree keep in epf is better, but not as much as shown in your calculation.

You see, 500k/30y you pay monthly RM2387.08, but 400k/30y you only pay RM1909.66. Difference is RM477.42/month. If you put RM477.42/month into epf, you will have RM414,620.68.

Plus the RM72k, you will get RM486,620.68.

Just RM11k less only.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 10 2023, 06:10 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 10 2023, 05:53 PM)
Question to all financial sifu.

I got a shoplot, already own for 6 years now only the rental break even with the monthly installment. I have no problem paying the monthly installment and the rental i received should go all in to pay the principal off or sumbat into EPF?

Few points to consider.
- I have enough savings to survive 1 year without working.
- Currently in the highest tax bracket. So if i pay principle i lowered the interest amount i end up paying more tax? dunno how to calculate this.
- unfortunately i dont have flexi loan.
- total noob in investment. never play stock market. Tried invest some trust fund all end up rugi. As the saying goes, i am the type that kena curse to only profit by working hard. No shortcut in my life in regards to asset gain. I lose out everytime i venture out of property/FD/epf.
If you are in the highest tax bracket, get a financial planner to help you. Serious.

0.0156sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:05 AM