7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Any EV Car users? (Share Experience)

achong09
post Jun 17 2024, 07:16 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Oct 9 2023, 06:49 PM)
Any EV Car users around? Mind to share your driving & maintenance experience?
Which model is yours?
Should I?
You plan to change?
Hunakadoo
post Jun 17 2024, 07:29 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Jun 17 2024, 03:37 PM)
How's maintainance?
almost none

tayar rotation only.
hksgmy
post Jun 17 2024, 10:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jun 17 2024, 07:29 PM)
almost none

tayar rotation only.
Yes, and wiper fluid top up right?
christ14
post Jun 18 2024, 12:52 AM

1,567 posts

i think if anyone followed the ev group on fb

theres some queues now for chargers, how do you guys who stay condo (that doesnt have chargers) charge at? because outside seems like more expensive too. a handful of us that try to change doesnt have range anxiety cuz mostly for city drive only but the charger is the main problem as many are adopting to EV
Hunakadoo
post Jun 18 2024, 12:27 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jun 18 2024, 12:52 AM)
i think if anyone followed the ev group on fb

theres some queues now for chargers, how do you guys who stay condo (that doesnt have chargers) charge at? because outside seems like more expensive too. a handful of us that try to change doesnt have range anxiety cuz mostly for city drive only but the charger is the main problem as many are adopting to EV
i hardly heard if there's queue in chargers even during the recent raya haji holiday .

for condos, jmb must approach evc / chargesini or others cpo to install chargers in their condo (usually is free installation for now , but with profit sharing scheme)

im actually staying in condo too and my condo have chargers since VP .

before u enter ev car , make sure u have home charge OR office charge (either one will do) , if u dont have both of them , dont buy ev first .
ZeneticX
post Jun 18 2024, 03:23 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jun 18 2024, 12:27 PM)
i hardly heard if there's queue in chargers even during the recent raya haji holiday .

for condos, jmb must approach evc / chargesini or others cpo to install chargers in their condo (usually is free installation for now , but with profit sharing scheme) 

before u enter ev car , make sure u have home charge OR office charge (either one will do) , if u dont have both of them , dont buy ev first .
Is there a rule or guide that says how often you should charge to keep the battery healthy?

I'm staying condo as well, currently not sure if management allow own charger. But i do know my office building basement carpark got charger. Also I'm mostly wfh, only go office like less than 5 times per month so mostly drive during weekends only
GravityFi3ld
post Jun 18 2024, 03:42 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

not a direct user, but family & relatives are - and the #1 issue is the battery stamina? strength? idk what to call it.. probably durability/performance? (fyi, cars are from both BMW and BYD).

Just like our cell/hand/smartphone, after a while, the battery cannot hold 100% charge capacity.
The longer you use, the shorter/smaller the capacity becomes.

E.g: Your new phone fully charge can tahan 48Hrs, after 1year, a full charge probably lasts less than 24Hrs. Same thing applies to the EV cars, 1 full charge say supposedly 500KM, but now only gives sub-450KM per full charge. <- example only, don't ask me the nitty gritty (for now) laugh.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 18 2024, 04:19 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 18 2024, 03:42 PM)
not a direct user, but family & relatives are - and the #1 issue is the battery stamina? strength? idk what to call it.. probably durability/performance? (fyi, cars are from both BMW and BYD).

Just like our cell/hand/smartphone, after a while, the battery cannot hold 100% charge capacity.
The longer you use, the shorter/smaller the capacity becomes.

E.g: Your new phone fully charge can tahan 48Hrs, after 1year, a full charge probably lasts less than 24Hrs. Same thing applies to the EV cars, 1 full charge say supposedly 500KM, but now only gives sub-450KM per full charge. <- example only, don't ask me the nitty gritty (for now) laugh.gif
That's more like the disparity between rated/estimated range and real world range rather than the battery itself. Just like your phone anology, they usually advertise up to XX days or hours of battery life, but your real world usage will affect the real battery life greatly

Your 2nd statement regarding battery wear is true and its a thing on EV, but EV batteries wear out much slower than phone batteries. Again also depending how you take care of it

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 18 2024, 05:20 PM
hihihehe
post Jun 18 2024, 08:23 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jun 18 2024, 12:27 PM)

even if the condo offer ev charger in public area, the rate won't be cheap too.
Icehart
post Jun 18 2024, 08:50 PM

14,899 posts

My condo here got charger.
RM 1/kwh
22kw and 11kw

Is this cheap?
max_cavalera
post Jun 18 2024, 08:54 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 18 2024, 09:50 PM)
My condo here got charger.
RM 1/kwh
22kw and 11kw

Is this cheap?
Decent.

Not expensive not cheap.

Generally simple rule of thumb,

2kwh = 1 litre of petrol…

The distance this 2 covered almost similar

Means you charge rate for electric car similar to IcE car refueling ron95 at rm2.05 per litre right now…
Icehart
post Jun 18 2024, 08:56 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 18 2024, 08:54 PM)
Decent.

Not expensive not cheap.

Generally simple rule of thumb,

2kwh = 1 litre of petrol…

The distance this 2 covered almost similar

Means you charge rate for electric car similar to IcE car refueling ron95 at rm2.05 per litre right now…
Thanks for clarification.

This would be based on the estimate of 1 kwh = 5-6km?
max_cavalera
post Jun 18 2024, 08:58 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 18 2024, 09:56 PM)
Thanks for clarification.

This would be based on the estimate of 1 kwh = 5-6km?
Yup.

Generally those reviewing EV expert put benchmark 15kwh covered 100km range.

If the ev able to achieve 100km using less than 15kwh, is considered an efficient ev for them.

So around 6.66km per kwh distance covered on average.
Icehart
post Jun 18 2024, 09:11 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 18 2024, 08:58 PM)
Yup.

Generally those reviewing EV expert put benchmark 15kwh covered 100km range.

If the ev able to achieve 100km using less than 15kwh, is considered an efficient ev for them.

So around 6.66km per kwh distance covered on average.
Wah fak means those who stay and use TNB to charge, generally paying around RM 1 - RM 1.50 per litre.
No wonder so many advocate install solar.
ahkit123
post Jun 18 2024, 10:31 PM

2,551 posts

Cheap
msacras
post Jun 18 2024, 11:27 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 18 2024, 09:11 PM)
Wah fak means those who stay and use TNB to charge, generally paying around RM 1 - RM 1.50 per litre.
If you based on lowest residential rate, its sub RM50 per “fulltank”
trusol
post Jun 19 2024, 01:25 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 18 2024, 09:11 PM)
RON95 is not going to stay low for long. RON95 might go up until even use super fast charger also considered cheap.
hksgmy
post Jun 19 2024, 07:04 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

This is the biggest issue that my OCD cannot get past, concerning EVs.

My ICE can hold a full tank of petrol, sit in my garage and when I fire it up, still take me the max a full tank of gas will take me.

An EV’s battery continues to discharge and cycles, and a full charge may hold only 80% after 3 months of sitting pretty in the garage.

I have 4 cars - 2 in Sydney, 2 in Singapore. At any one time, 3 of my cars will be garaged like queens… and if they were EVs, their batteries will start to wear down without me using them.

Sigh.
meors
post Jun 19 2024, 07:27 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Gratitude2022 @ Jun 16 2024, 07:56 AM)
Have you got your car yet? Many cars do give free EV charger box. You can also source from FB EV groups where many people got free wallbox but unable to install because staying in condo. They sell slightly cheaper. Most importantly, get authorised installer because one of my client uses unauthorised installer and the box rosak after few months use, and no warranty. Make sure the installer got ST certification as lots of installer only got chargeman and experience, when I read some of their recommendations, those truly experienced EV installer will know something is wrong.
shite, somehow i missed this valuable reply.

No I do not own an EV yet, my solar panel (10.89 kWh) will be installed next month.
Currently studying how to connect an EV charger direct to solar - came across those that has this option, e.g. only solar or both & other configs.

So the idea is, I want to make sure I can take full advantage of this setup.

From my reading, 10 kWh is sufficient for home use & EV as well. EV takes about 2.5 kWh.

Excellent idea to source form EV owners selling theirs - which FB Group is this?

Thanks!!!
meors
post Jun 19 2024, 07:31 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 19 2024, 07:04 AM)
This is the biggest issue that my OCD cannot get past, concerning EVs.

My ICE can hold a full tank of petrol, sit in my garage and when I fire it up, still take me the max a full tank of gas will take me.

An EV’s battery continues to discharge and cycles, and a full charge may hold only 80% after 3 months of sitting pretty in the garage.

I have 4 cars - 2 in Sydney, 2 in Singapore. At any one time, 3 of my cars will be garaged like queens… and if they were EVs, their batteries will start to wear down without me using them.

Sigh.
for those who can, you still have lot's of options.
for mere mortals like me, gas prices and electric tariff potential hikes already good enough reason to bite the anxieties (e.g. range smile.gif).

Will go solar & electric and put my bet on TENAGA shares

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0272sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:06 AM