6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

BMW F30 - 330e 2017, Time to sell or maintain?

ayamxxx
post Oct 10 2023, 08:26 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Oct 9 2023, 04:01 PM)
I'm heading to the bank to check what's the amount I need to pay to settle off the loan. If I can sell off the car sufficient to cover everything, I might go ahead and sell it. Let's see what the bank says.
Buy Lexus. Surprisingly the service is still affordable. Except the car price on higher side due to CBU. Recond unit also expansive
littlefire
post Oct 10 2023, 08:31 AM

2,505 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 10 2023, 09:24 AM)
TS, 2021 and 2022 test drove many 330e BMW from Carsome cz many units, good price, for 2017 unit. One thing I noted, Carsome 0 knowledge about the car from many branches I went. Ask if the previous owners made warranty claim during the first 4/5 years usage, no idea. What is the previous service history by owner, no idea. If the car already went for couples of services recall, also no idea. Better take from direct owner from FB group if really wanna buy that car. Especially one with proven service history, sure got cz FOC service at SC
You need to direct ask from BMW service center for history check if it is bought new from local dealer, unless it is recon unit then no choice. Sometimes direct owner also wont be honest, is better to still bring a trusted mechanic to check it out together.
ayamxxx
post Oct 10 2023, 08:33 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 10 2023, 08:31 AM)
You need to direct ask from BMW service center for history check if it is bought new from local dealer, unless it is recon unit then no choice. Sometimes direct owner also wont be honest, is better to still bring a trusted mechanic to check it out together.
It because Carsome already written they had done Pre-check, pre-inspection and warranty covered even though doubt they cover all for the warranty. If im TS buying Bmw used, will get it from direct owner or buy new since free 5 years service
usop8290
post Oct 10 2023, 09:23 AM

998 posts

im previously aim for 330e too. but end up bought f20 for my wife from sime darby auto selection. so far so good. just regular oil change and changed brake pad.

but the price of used bmw hybrid is very tempting. for example used 2018 g30 and x5 are below RM150k.
Duckies
post Oct 10 2023, 09:30 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,724 posts

I am a bit skeptical when it comes to hybrid, PHEV and EV...I am looking into 2023 BMW X3...the last one with physical buttons before the next facelift but don't know if it's reliable.

I am also eye-ing on the new Mercedes GLC 300 but that car a lot of electronics and comes with mild hybrid so a bit takut jugak..
ayamxxx
post Oct 10 2023, 09:39 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Oct 10 2023, 09:23 AM)
im previously aim for 330e too. but end up bought f20 for my wife from sime darby auto selection.  so far so good. just regular oil change and changed brake pad. 

but the price of used bmw hybrid is very tempting. for example used 2018 g30 and x5 are below RM150k.
Hybrid for Bmw, too many cases. My vendors with G30 530e, also had many issues, covered under warranty. But per cases need 3 days stay under SC
usop8290
post Oct 10 2023, 09:54 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 10 2023, 09:39 AM)
Hybrid for Bmw, too many cases. My vendors with G30 530e, also had  many issues, covered under warranty. But per cases need 3 days stay under SC
the SA told me even with extended warranty campaign for the used hybrid, only battery is covered and not the electronic control module that will cost a bomb to replace. that why used hybrid is cheap.

ayamxxx
post Oct 10 2023, 09:59 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Oct 10 2023, 09:54 AM)
the SA told me even with extended warranty campaign for the used hybrid, only battery is covered and not the electronic control module that will cost a bomb to replace. that why used hybrid is cheap.
G30 530 was better and higher RV. Love the G30 design look.
hihihehe
post Oct 10 2023, 03:16 PM

13,599 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 10 2023, 09:30 AM)
I am a bit skeptical when it comes to hybrid, PHEV and EV...I am looking into 2023 BMW X3...the last one with physical buttons before the next facelift but don't know if it's reliable.

I am also eye-ing on the new Mercedes GLC 300 but that car a lot of electronics and comes with mild hybrid so a bit takut jugak..
good luck on finding less electronics for new cars

can consider lexus for less headache. family have a nx200 since launch and still driving strong without any major issue

so reliable that we bought the new nx 350
blindmutedeaf
post Oct 11 2023, 09:52 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 9 2023, 01:50 PM)
not sure about the F30e but i have a F10 (bought new from AB), spent a fortune repairing and fixing on the 9th year of ownership (close to RM25k) replacing parts due to wear and tear etc (both interior and exterior).

just replaced one of the ECU board for RM5k (plus labor) about 2 weeks ago - sourced for a used part because the original one costs almost RM8k. with this, it tallies up to RM32k in repairs/replacements  sweat.gif
pre LCI with 6 pots?
Eternalgl0ry
post Oct 11 2023, 10:19 PM

463 posts

Buy tesla model y AWD

Pugbunny
post Oct 12 2023, 08:22 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Oct 9 2023, 12:08 PM)
Bought the car from Carsome beginning of the year at 95k mileage. Essentially, I've spent close to RM10k on fixes throughout the months which includes:

1. Changing the battery
2. Fixing auxiliary battery (Drivetrain issue)
3. Engine coolant leaking (Latest and current issue that happened over the weekend).

In view of this, getting rather pissed off with the car itself (and Carsome for doing a bullshit job with their multi points checking). The question is, have I fixed enough of the major wear and tear issues to continue driving the car for next 1-2 years? Or should I just sell it off and get another car and do a better job checking for issues for next car?

Would deeply appreciate the advises from the sifus here.
I thought carsome provide warranty?
hksgmy
post Oct 12 2023, 08:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

BMW = Bottomless Money Wasted. I gave up being a Bimmer fanboy after my F13 gen M6 because it spent more time in the workshop than on the roads. Although the repairs were free, I bought the car to drive it, not to have it grace the workshop floor of PML Sime Darby (in Singapore).

Good luck, TS. I’d dump and cut my losses if I were you.
Roadwarrior1337
post Oct 12 2023, 08:38 AM

923 posts

I got a 320d from 2012

Spent about 40k with fix and upgrade since ownership

It’s 12 year old and I got it second hand when it was 6 year old

So far so good. Next change will be its absorber and sprints as it’s been 6 year since last change

Overall since it’s fully paid I treat maintenance like it’s monthly repayment lol

Only reason I keep it due to 220hp and 470nm of torque and it’s a diesel

Also to add most of my cost are using original parts, and I don’t skimp on quality. For example when I change my absorber and sprint 6 year ago I changed to blistien b8 with eibach springs and my turbo kong also send to Tong turbo to fix and upgrade to hybrid design ( korek intake and exhaust as well use ball bearing for the fins). Rest are original bmw parts only. No china shit oem. Oh yah intercooler also using airtec

So my maintenance cost is based on quality. It cheap part likely half of that kot

This post has been edited by Roadwarrior1337: Oct 12 2023, 09:04 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 12 2023, 09:01 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Oct 12 2023, 08:22 AM)
I thought carsome provide warranty?
Too many *

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 12 2023, 09:45 AM
shaniandras2787
post Oct 12 2023, 09:37 AM

drugged coordinator
2,225 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ Oct 11 2023, 09:52 PM)
pre LCI with 6 pots?
nope, 4 pots.
IamAHuman
post Oct 12 2023, 12:38 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Oct 12 2023, 08:38 AM)
I got a 320d from 2012

Spent about 40k with fix and upgrade since ownership

It’s 12 year old and I got it second hand when it was 6 year old

So far so good. Next change will be its absorber and sprints as it’s been 6 year since last change

Overall since it’s fully paid I treat maintenance like it’s monthly repayment lol

Only reason I keep it due to 220hp and 470nm of torque and it’s a diesel
Also to add most of my cost are using original parts, and I don’t skimp on quality. For example when I change my absorber and sprint 6 year ago I changed to blistien b8 with eibach springs and my turbo kong also send to Tong turbo to fix and upgrade to hybrid design ( korek intake and exhaust as well use ball bearing for the fins). Rest are original bmw parts only. No china shit oem. Oh yah intercooler also using airtec

So my maintenance cost is based on quality. It cheap part likely half of that kot
I too own a diesel Bimmer. My 8 years ownership since new was all good! I know everyone would condemn conti cars but I had nothing but praises for my ride. All in all, the cost of maintenance in the course of my ownership was roughly RM11k plus minus. The biggest bill was perhaps changing the main pulley and the coolant hoses which came close to RM3k. The 2nd biggest bill was perhaps the battery (AGM DIN105 the biggest) which cost RM 2k original BM. Now you can get the same spec battery for less than RM1k with China brands.

Anyway, loving my ride to the bits. But I'm using it as a weekend drive for now coz I have another fun ride for my daily drives.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 13 2023, 05:44 PM

Avid Videogames Console Gamer
13,653 posts

sell it off and buy toyota veloz
Duckies
post Oct 16 2023, 09:04 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,724 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 10 2023, 03:16 PM)
good luck on finding less electronics for new cars

can consider lexus for less headache. family have a nx200 since launch and still driving strong without any major issue

so reliable that we bought the new nx 350
Ya true the new NX350 looks good...the old Lexus interior is ugly IMHO. But then as a fanboy..need to get at least 1 time conti car ma laugh.gif

Now still contemplating between XC60, X3 and GLC300 hmm.gif Plan to get a 2-3 years old car...not worried about the installment but I am worried on the repair cost lol...probably will set aside 10k a year..but don't know enough or not hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Duckies: Oct 16 2023, 09:04 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 16 2023, 09:10 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Oct 16 2023, 09:04 AM)
Ya true the new NX350 looks good...the old Lexus interior is ugly IMHO. But then as a fanboy..need to get at least 1 time conti car ma laugh.gif

Now still contemplating between XC60, X3 and GLC300 hmm.gif Plan to get a 2-3 years old car...not worried about the installment but I am worried on the repair cost lol...probably will set aside 10k a year..but don't know enough or not hmm.gif
Repair cost, after service, expertise available outside SC, dont take Volvo.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th February 2025 - 09:54 PM