my friend droped my electric guitar

TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 24 2007, 10:35 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Zeroize @ Oct 24 2007, 08:09 AM)
Use water color to repaint, its cheaper.

else just ask your friend to pay half of the expenses to repaint it lor.
=./.= wont it look sucky

QUOTE(hotfootpowder @ Oct 24 2007, 01:46 PM)
if u're into punk u can always put a sticker there... heck... put stickers all over the guitar and nobody would know... smile.gif
ya, thats a great idea!!^^ i might consider that if the cost is too high
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 24 2007, 03:47 PM)
Sorry mate. Still don't know which guitar you are using... model name?
my guitar model is a black ibanez Gio
QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Oct 24 2007, 06:44 PM)
get a sticker with your name on it and cover up the "imperfectness" to make it looks less "imperfect"...
lol.hehe might do that.

well,i might take it to the shop on friday.
after reading wat u guys write, it seems that it wont look great if i juz srpay that area?? =,.,= haizz........
donno wat to do lo. i cant sleep until 4.30am because cant stop thinking bout my guitar

my neck doesnt seem to have any faults.
but i donno about the pickup or anything inside,havent plug in the Amplifier.
do u think i should ask him to un-screw and check the inside ?
Iliveunderwater
post Oct 24 2007, 10:44 PM

599 posts

I think its more better and cheaper if u put sticker (Unless something is broken inside). Tell your friend to buy the sticker for you. I'm not sure if you can blame your friend, because it might have just been an accident he never thought could happen, if he is not a guitar player, most likely he would not know how to take care of a guitar and place the guitar in a way so that it wouldn't fall. But if he took your guitar without permission, for the fun of it, without permission, and he's a guitar player then he must be responsible for it. At least pay half for the recovery.
TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 24 2007, 10:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Oct 24 2007, 10:44 PM)
I think its more better and cheaper if u put sticker (Unless something is broken inside). Tell your friend to buy the sticker for you. I'm not sure if you can blame your friend, because it might have just been an accident he never thought could happen, if he is not a guitar player, most likely he would not know how to take care of a guitar and place the guitar in a way so that it wouldn't fall. But if he took your guitar without permission, for the fun of it, without permission, and he's a guitar player then he must be responsible for it. At least pay half for the recovery.
well,his not a guitar player. my head already want to Blow liao.
I watch the process of the guitar falling in front of my eye.

i would take to the shop first and see how lo.
if too expensive i think i go with sticker.

(and is it possible that the inside of the guitar is damage???(drop from chair)
blacktrix
post Oct 24 2007, 10:57 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Highly unlikely, but plug into an amp and see if the pickups work.
zeroglyph
post Oct 24 2007, 11:34 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

i agree with the sticker suggestion. a gio is just a beginner's guitar. not worthed to spray the whole body. would probably cost around 300-500 or even more to airbrush the whole body.

spraying the dented part may work since yours is just black. just use spray can for cheaper option and some epoxy filler.

as with the others, the concern is the playability of the guitar. the electronics has little chance of dmg as they are inside the body. it's the neck. falling from a chair's height could seriously dmg the neck, even though you can't really see visible marks. there must be some after effect from the fall. check and double check. most likely you need to re-setup the guitar.
TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 24 2007, 11:39 PM

170 posts

well the pickup works!!

but the noise from the distortion appeared to be louder or is it juz me..
blacktrix
post Oct 24 2007, 11:50 PM

13,063 posts

Hahahah.... well, don't worry man... Like everyone says, it's the scars of war... let it be. It adds character to the guitar and you can have a tale to tell to it....
TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 25 2007, 12:10 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 24 2007, 11:50 PM)
Hahahah.... well, don't worry man... Like everyone says, it's the scars of war... let it be. It adds character to the guitar and you can have a tale to tell to it....
haha,u got that right. better to have a tale to tell and have a experince in life and not repeat the same mistake again^^

well,im still young so this a lesson told,lesson learn^^

At least this didnt happen in a expensive like u lowyatier have

This post has been edited by ongpohheng: Oct 25 2007, 12:10 AM
crazychris
post Oct 25 2007, 12:18 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

let the scar be there man!!

tats wat musicians called a "seasoned" instrument haha
just like how u see all those custom chops create wear on a brand new gita
u r custom-ing urs smile.gif

jacksonyong
post Oct 25 2007, 01:25 AM

108 posts

damn! your axe is just so PUNK ROCK!
hanhanhan
post Oct 25 2007, 09:48 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

dude i also dropped my own guitar in front of my eyes. left it on the chair, and it dropped hard!

the switch is now jammed (stuck at rhythm). but im not sure if the pickups are damaged, because my amp also sucks - lots of buzzing.

i had some chips at the back of the guitar. neck i think no damage...
mine's a neck-thru...are neck-thru guitars better?

btw my guitar veli cheap only.. SX lespaul copy..
jammaster
post Oct 25 2007, 10:05 AM

28 posts

Ya... let it be man... you should learn how curt cobain, Yngwie Malsteen smash and burnt their guitars on stage... be a hardcore player.. the more scar, the more you'll become guitar expert.. next you can try to play with teeth and bytes all those rusty strings...

"It is more difficult to play fast so don't do it unless you know what you are doing..." - Yngwie J. malmsteen brows.gif

This post has been edited by jammaster: Oct 25 2007, 10:21 AM
TSsoraxroxas
post Oct 25 2007, 10:23 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(jammaster @ Oct 25 2007, 10:05 AM)
Ya...  let it be man...  you should learn how curt cobain, Yngwie Malsteen smash and burnt their guitars on stage...  be a hardcore player..  the more scar, the more you'll become guitar expert..  next you can try to play with teeth and bytes all those rusty strings...

"It is more difficult to play fast so don't do it unless you know what you are doing..." - Yngwie J. malmsteen  brows.gif
wah rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tat guy must have damn good teeth

but i dont think i will bite my guitar shocking.gif shocking.gif
u-djinn
post Oct 25 2007, 11:18 AM

172 posts

what, yngwie's too good for burgers now?

ongpohheng: if it's a relatively small ding, you could try masking it with black nail polish. it dries quick, and is glossy.
freakfingers12
post Oct 25 2007, 11:27 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Yngwie and kurt cobain are rich....poor musicians like us must jaga our gear properly...battle scars are cool,but SRV's guitar...
unloco
post Oct 25 2007, 12:45 PM

43 posts

i think u r worrying too much ... since the neck n every other part is ok, just paint back that small chipped part in black la .. use permanent marker or something. from far when u're performing ppl won't realize anything wan ..

lagipun it's a GIO ibanez (not to put u down or anything) .. but next time when u get a better guitar u'll sure want to throw your GIO at the wall or something, or stage a drop from another chair again or something for ur GIO ... hehheehee..
Everdying
post Oct 25 2007, 01:06 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

black? i can show you something i did on a black guitar of mine...filled up some bare wood spots with nail polish...
you can still see the outline of where the bare spot was...cos of the guitar's poly finish.
jammaster
post Oct 25 2007, 02:17 PM

28 posts

Curt cobain dead already laa...

This post has been edited by jammaster: Oct 25 2007, 02:50 PM
unloco
post Oct 25 2007, 07:10 PM

43 posts

jammaster : eh.. u're al? al hambra, rite?
blacktrix
post Oct 25 2007, 07:37 PM

13,063 posts

But sometimes, cracked guitars actually sound better!
the guitarist for A Perfect Circle SWEARS by his broken neck Les Paul Standard and says "it sounds better when I accidentally cracked the neck one day." Zakk's infamous Bottlecapped Les Paul, Rebel, also has a broken neck, but he still absolutely loves that guitar and still says it's one of the better sounding Les Pauls he has..... now THAT guitar is throughly bruised and abused! Even set on fire!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0210sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:27 PM