WHAT WOULD YOU CHOOSE?

TSBlackblade0303
post Oct 5 2023, 01:27 PM, updated 3y ago

139 posts

hi all sifus, currently ayam is at a dilemma.

Ayam : 27 years old, civil & structural graduate, currently at at developer company, already tendered from current company due to toxic environment.

Received 2 offers as below:

Offer A
Company : Prestigious Developer Firm
Pay : 16 % hike from current pay
Working environment : Free & Easy, interview process was smooth & hiring manager seems to be very friendly (asked a few peers working in the field, all mentioned that he's a good leader)
Distance to office from home : 7 km
Benefits : Employee discount for property, educational benefit, basic dental & optical claims, outpatient & inpatient claims)
Remarks : Last year staff had 3 months bonus

Offer B
Company : Famous Solar Panel Contractor
Pay : 24 % hike from current pay
Working environment : Free & Easy, interview process was smooth & hiring manager seems to be very friendly . (female & married) (had to highlight this as i had experience with non-married superior, and it was hard to deal with)
Distance to office from home : 7.5 km
Benefits : Phone & meal allowances, dental & optical claims, mileage claims, in & out patient benefit.
Remarks : Might need to travel outstation for site visits as solar farms are usually outskirt. Mileage & meal allowances are available whenever outstation trips are required.

** both offers are doing project management.

What would be your advice if your younger self received these 2 offers?

Ayam's concern is that:

If take offer A, the pay might affect future salary progression.

If take offer B, too focused onto 1 field which is solar.

All daikor & daijie, please share your comments & advice sad.gif

For ease of reference, I’ve uploaded the respective JD for SiFUS’s review & comment XD

Developer Firm JD

Solar Company JD

This post has been edited by Blackblade0303: Oct 5 2023, 09:09 PM
vin6
post Oct 5 2023, 01:32 PM

202 posts

Solar is a good field you might wanna look more into it.

Another things -- how do you know the working culture there before even started working? Grass is never greener on the other side - Unless it and big MNC then may be a bit better.

bryant601
post Oct 5 2023, 01:35 PM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

maybe you can elaborate further on your ex-company what is your scope and stuff.

maybe on what is your aim for your future plan?

if you wanted to get Ir or stuffs
awol
post Oct 5 2023, 01:36 PM

910 posts

previously you from consultant firm or contractor side?
both seems like a good option.
not bad if take B and become solar panel expert.
jamesteoh8177
post Oct 5 2023, 01:50 PM

486 posts

the only free and easy work environment is that u being the boss on ur own.
work place is always toxic, it depends on how much u can tolerate it. politicians, backstabbers and loyar buruks are everywhere in every organization.
u wont know ur bosses until u work with them and u will only how genuine ur boss is until a crisis happen in that organization.

up front everyone will try to put a genuine intention in front of everyone but that doesnt mean that they are really genuine.

then again, u cannot control what other choose to be, more important what would u like? a boot licker?, a politician? a person on the fence?

u gotta to ask urself, bro

at ur age (27), solar industries or not, it doesnt really matter. go out gain ur working experience that unis do not teach u.
bumfart
post Oct 5 2023, 02:01 PM

258 posts

B
solar / renewables industry will only grow
more pay
just go to site, more experience. don't be scared of it. you will learn more
sticking to 1 field is not a bad thing. the more you specialise, the more money you can demand; the flipside to this: may be hard to switch later and job pool is less, but as i said, solar industry can only grow

TSBlackblade0303
post Oct 5 2023, 04:19 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(vin6 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:32 PM)
Solar is a good field you might wanna look more into it.

Another things -- how do you know the working culture there before even started working? Grass is never greener on the other side - Unless it and big MNC then may be a bit better.
Agree that Solar is a good field, however just a small concern that it might be hard if i were to switch back property development.

QUOTE(bryant601 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:35 PM)
maybe you can elaborate further on your ex-company what is your scope and stuff.

maybe on what is your aim for your future plan?

if you wanted to get Ir or stuffs
Currently ayam in developer firm, doing mostly project management stuff, but more on residential & commercial building. Not aiming to get Ir, but aiming to get a work life balance job haha...

QUOTE(awol @ Oct 5 2023, 01:36 PM)
previously you from consultant firm or contractor side?
both seems like a good option.
not bad if take B and become solar panel expert.
Previously from developer side.. But takut too specialized and takut future selection will be limited..

QUOTE(jamesteoh8177 @ Oct 5 2023, 01:50 PM)
the only free and easy work environment is that u being the boss on ur own.
work place is always toxic, it depends on how much u can tolerate it. politicians, backstabbers and loyar buruks are everywhere in every organization.
u wont know ur bosses until u work with them and u will only how genuine ur boss is until a crisis happen in that organization.

up front everyone will try to put a genuine intention in front of everyone but that doesnt mean that they are really genuine.

then again, u cannot control what other choose to be, more important what would u like? a boot licker?, a politician? a person on the fence?

u gotta to ask urself, bro

at ur age (27), solar industries or not, it doesnt really matter. go out gain ur working experience that unis do not teach u.
Wise word sir.. But again, have to decide which field to join.. if i were to join in Solar, 3 years down the road, will i be stuck in this field and difficult to join back project development / project management?

QUOTE(bumfart @ Oct 5 2023, 02:01 PM)
B
solar / renewables industry will only grow
more pay
just go to site, more experience. don't be scared of it. you will learn more
sticking to 1 field is not a bad thing. the more you specialise, the more money you can demand; the flipside to this: may be hard to switch later and job pool is less, but as i said, solar industry can only grow
Agree sir, mind me asking if you are in solar / RE?
bumfart
post Oct 5 2023, 04:22 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Blackblade0303 @ Oct 5 2023, 04:19 PM)

no i am in O&G
awol
post Oct 5 2023, 04:36 PM

910 posts

Previously from developer side.. But takut too specialized and takut future selection will be limited..
i see. then you should stick with developer side.
jamesteoh8177
post Oct 5 2023, 05:13 PM

486 posts

Agree that Solar is a good field, however just a small concern that it might be hard if i were to switch back property development.
Currently ayam in developer firm, doing mostly project management stuff, but more on residential & commercial building. Not aiming to get Ir, but aiming to get a work life balance job haha...
Wise word sir.. But again, have to decide which field to join.. if i were to join in Solar, 3 years down the road, will i be stuck in this field and difficult to join back project development / project management?
well, like i said earlier...
at ur age, both fields are good to gain experience. as long as ur comfortable with it and u feel good about it. hell, ya... go on with it. rclxm9.gif

3 yrs down the road and u turn 30 backed with good solid experiences and credentials and if u decide to move to projects, i think many hiring manager will definitely shortlist u.

i have seen some people around ur age that started in the manufacturing and eventually move to project development / management too. u gotta be tactful and think logical in whichever field that ur in.

being tactful and logical helps me (a lot, really a lot) in my career path. thats my 2 cents for u, bro.
TSBlackblade0303
post Oct 5 2023, 08:22 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(bumfart @ Oct 5 2023, 04:22 PM)
no i am in O&G
Oh I see.. how’s life in O&G? Are you onshore or offshore?

QUOTE(jamesteoh8177 @ Oct 5 2023, 05:13 PM)
well, like i said earlier...
at ur age, both fields are good to gain experience. as long as ur comfortable with it and u feel good about it. hell, ya... go on with it.  rclxm9.gif

3 yrs down the road and u turn 30 backed with good solid experiences and credentials and if u decide to move to projects, i think many hiring manager will definitely shortlist u.

i have seen some people around ur age that started in the manufacturing and eventually move to project development / management too. u gotta be tactful and think logical in whichever field that ur in.

being tactful and logical helps me (a lot, really a lot) in my career path. thats my 2 cents for u, bro.
Noted with thanks sir! This really helps a lot!! TT

Chadlonso
post Oct 23 2023, 03:59 PM

115 posts

so in the end TS pick which one? ayam curious to know
autodriver
post Nov 1 2023, 08:23 AM

404 posts

My friend who was once work as QS for a developer for many years. Due to property demand getting slow in late 2010 and he got retrenched. He had switch to another field and find it better. He feel the property development industry is getting tougher to work because over supply. Many developers actually holding the new projects because afraid of no buyer and once the project started it will incur high cost.

My own view is solar panel demand will grow. Although nowadays has many players in solar panel industry but the demand will certainly grow. EV cars will grow double digit at least for 10 years time and for people who stay landed houses they will likely install solar panel to save cost. And also more and more buildings especially factories are installing solar panel. The renewable energy is a new trend.
SUSchickenshit36
post Nov 1 2023, 05:54 PM

509 posts

Bro don’t be afraid.
U will be gaining project management skills which is very transferable across diff industry.
I was from telco, and as project manager have moved into software dev which is a way diff industry.

jhkhaw
post Nov 7 2023, 03:20 PM

18 posts

Better take the contractor, no guarantee the next delevepoler also same toxic environment

0.0197sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:05 PM