Home solar 4 months in.

yushin
post Jul 25 2024, 07:46 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 23 2024, 09:54 AM)
yes... ive mentioned before for normal ppl best get nem contractors... obviously when wanna diy one should have enough technical knowledge, its pros and cons to take on the risk and enjoy the rewards... smile.gif

was just musing as got a few posts about batteries and offgrid so i did some quick cost estimates using shopee pricing and find it very close to nem folks...
If want to DIY, direct get stock from Taobao, dont go through middleman like shopee.
yushin
post Jun 24 2025, 02:37 PM

3,328 posts

There is a disclaimer saying calculation not endorsed by TNB.
Better wait for real bill and see how.

But deep inside me I feel this is the correct one...
yushin
post Jul 19 2025, 11:41 AM

3,328 posts

My house is facing south. The sun move from the front to the back and then back to front of the house every 6 months.
I have to install panels on the front and back of the house to get a more balanced power.

This post has been edited by yushin: Jul 19 2025, 11:41 AM
yushin
post Sep 3 2025, 03:54 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 3 2025, 02:20 PM)
I thought about buying an Ecoflow with 1kWh to cycle it thru daily to reduce the import by ~1kwh per day. the price of the thing is close to RM4-5k(if got discount).

1. need to figure out what would need up to 900wh thru the night, and need to schedule it to charge only during day time.

2. after thinking a while, probably not worth it.

3. Perhaps I need to do a transfer switch, and just manually power the Vehicle to home - to say power a fridge and or a freezer. even than it is just less than 1kwh per day... per month is just 30kwh??
if you solar inverter can take battery the still can consider la, coz inverter will manage the switching itself.

Manually do it and modify the DB with transfer switch macam not worth the hassle. Those ecoflow thing not cheap also.

yushin
post Sep 5 2025, 10:00 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 4 2025, 10:50 PM)
If we need to get a breather.... would it make sense to calculate the cost of 1kWh battery to be about RM1000?  Since eg.. a BYD car with 70kWh cost about RM123k --- battery take up RM70k, and the rest of the car cost RM53k?
or the battery is even cheaper than RM1000.
if that is the case, a 20kWh Home energy storage system should cost around RM23k?+ installation or RM2k = RM25k. Assuming the thing last like manufacturer claim 5000 cycle. /30days= 166 months. Each month the cost of the battery is RM25,000/166 = RM150.
And even than, would that enable us to selco or reduce import of only 540 kWh (18 kwh *30days) and for 540kWh * RM0.70 (worst case scenario we have to buy from grid) = RM378 per month.
so does it make sense to pay RM150 ++ per month for battery + solar generation cost? or pay RM378 per month to grid.
Cost for my solar gen 16kWp = RM42,000.

For it to run 5 years without any hiccup.  It produces avg 50kWh per day. 1500kWh per month. X 60 months = 90,000kWh.

RM42,000/90,000kWh = RM0.46/kWh.
What the hell.... does not really make sense to have both Solar + battery system at all.  Do I have it right?
Base on my buying experience with 3U rack mount 48v battery from taobao, 1kwh is around rm500 if you know how to install the battery yourself.

20kwh raw BYD blade cell (16 x 420ah) from taobao costs less than rm3k. brows.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Sep 5 2025, 10:06 AM
yushin
post Sep 5 2025, 10:22 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 5 2025, 10:09 AM)
So the BYD car battery,70kwh even now the cost of the whole pack minus the bms, coolant loops and pack assembly, is about rm12k. Oh geez.... Why are we not do more to get those packs installed at homes!
these 20kwh BYD cell + bms + battery box already got ready made, and its costs less than rm5k in taobao. weight 140kg. ouch

Cooling not required for home use, you're not going to put the battery under the sun and you not drawing 50+amps from the battery constantly

If you need constant high current draw, split the load across few batteries.

yushin
post Sep 5 2025, 01:47 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Sep 5 2025, 11:26 AM)
One problem is my inverter is not hybrid....and basically stuck with my current solar provided untill warranty is over.

I would just manage my Selco and charge outside with 7kw Ac whenever possible. Rm0.9/kWh.
By the time your interver out of warranty, battery will drop even more.
That time maybe we are looking at Sodium battery lor.
yushin
post Oct 30 2025, 04:40 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 30 2025, 12:38 PM)
I would assume at that time battery have better capacity, better technology and cheaper.
By that time we should have much cheaper battery made from NA battery or retired EV LFP battery.

This post has been edited by yushin: Oct 30 2025, 04:41 PM
yushin
post Nov 30 2025, 04:45 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Nov 30 2025, 04:17 PM)
I am layman.

By logic small battery capacity u going to end up depleting it to 0% everyday. Dont think thats good for lifespan.
4 unit of 6kwh battery = 24 kwh already, assuming everyday he can fully charge the battery before 5pm.

Need the owner to show how much power he use every night la.

24kwh is already enough for 2 x 1kw aircond set at 25c for 12 hour, maybe more.

0.0490sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:55 PM