TS, mind sharing the city you installed solar panels?
Average sunny hours per day is 3.5 hours in klang valley area, if it can be 5 hours, it will be cheaper to install solar panels as less solar panels required
Home solar 4 months in.
Oct 3 2023, 03:35 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
1,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Kembangan |
TS, mind sharing the city you installed solar panels?
Average sunny hours per day is 3.5 hours in klang valley area, if it can be 5 hours, it will be cheaper to install solar panels as less solar panels required |
Feb 27 2025, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(giftfre @ Feb 26 2025, 04:32 PM) got welcome letter on last Tuesday and get solaris email on last Thursday, submit it on the same day, received RM 4K on last Friday! kudos TNB giftfre liked this post
Feb 27 2025, 06:12 PM
Feb 28 2025, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(thankyou @ Feb 28 2025, 05:31 PM) The roof guy is not wrong.... tak kan you install 100/200w panel... even 100w panel is 7kg+-... 400w panel is > 20kgs the bracket that holding panels can be sitting on the tiles depend on installation quality, it is possible the pressure keep pushing tiles will one day cause it to break.but yeah... the panel is not sitting on top of the roof tiles directly, by right it shouldn't cause any strain to the tiles |
Mar 1 2025, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(Genosyde @ Mar 1 2025, 03:32 PM) If you have a simple roof layout and not that many panels, I would personally pick string over micro. While both have their pros and cons, the one thing that bothers me about micro is that it gets installed right under the panel subject to the intense heat. And you know what they say about electronics and heat. Of course you have the warranty to fall back on but still... That's just me, of course. correct, the more components, the more failure, and you can’t easily replace micro inverter yourself because it is on top of roof.QUOTE(kucingfight @ Mar 1 2025, 04:14 PM) Mine also waiting. Mine has 51reading..can juz switch on? Will the current bill be 'offset' or it won't? you can turn it on, all excess energy will not be reflected in your next bill until you got welcome letter.This post has been edited by Kiding: Mar 1 2025, 04:30 PM |
Mar 1 2025, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Mar 1 2025, 04:38 PM) Thanks, so it will only be reflected on NEM bill, meaning production from now on till welcome letter, the 'excess energy' is brought fwd ? not reflected in your bill means you give it free to TNB! not bring foward, all export energy code 51 in your smart meter will not be counted in your TNB bill before welcome letter.Any issues with tnb legality if switch on earlier? Tq |
Mar 2 2025, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 1 2025, 11:29 PM) Bro When you turn on solar inverter, your appliance consume it first, if solar power is greater than your whole house power consumption, it means TNB wont supply electricity to your house and you are not using TNB power == save moneyThe meter display changes from 01, 11, 09, 51 etc When it’s showing 51, it does not blink. So any benefit to switch on instead of waiting for welcome letter 💁 |
Mar 3 2025, 08:02 PM
so far the biggest solar energy production since I installed it on 8 Feb 2025, 5 hour 15 mins sun hours or 29kWh 6.15kWp solar panels 5.5kWac huawei sun2000 inverter ![]() gobiomani and Scissorshand liked this post
Mar 6 2025, 12:35 PM
Mar 28 2025, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 28 2025, 01:04 PM) Is this the spd u referring to? Is it suffice? that is SPD for TNB power lines. there is another DC SPD to protect inverter from lightning strike coming from solar panels.Btw I noticed when I switched on all the lights, some led will flicker after installation. Is this normal? |
Mar 28 2025, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 28 2025, 08:49 PM) the SPD protects the lightning strike coming from TNB wires for your inverter.Your inverter has another input which comes from solar panels, it is DC wires and requires DC SPD which is not in the picture. |
Apr 3 2025, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Genosyde @ Apr 3 2025, 11:51 AM) Interesting. I never thought of that. I did some reading and this is what I found out. I believe the clipping that you mentioned is inverter reaching the max AC power outputYou are right. If you have a hybrid string inverter coupled with a DC battery, the battery can be used to store excess energy because both the panels and the battery use DC power. Hence, no energy loss i.e. no clipping. However, if you have a micro inverter system, the DC to AC conversion is done at the panel itself and therefore, the clipping still happens. Usually, you have an AC coupled battery system that converts the energy back to DC before storing in the battery. Thanks for asking the question. I learned something new today. for example, your solar panel peak output is 6.5kwp, but inverter only can support AC output 5.5kw, at noon with clear sky, DC input power could reach 6kw, but inverter with 98% efficiency is clipped at 5.5kw ac output only. this is clipping in this case, clipping is nothing to do with battery system. battery system is for system does not want to export energy to TNB, but want to store excess energy for night use. |
Apr 4 2025, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Genosyde @ Apr 4 2025, 03:44 PM) I had a similar problem but with a string inverter. It shuts down and restarts every time it peaks. The app recorded the errors as over voltage. I reported to the installer and they adjusted the inverter parameters. The problem went away after that. my huawei string inverter also faced same problem where TNB input voltage is above 253V, I reconfigured the inverter power protection high voltage threshold to 254.5V, so far no issue since then. |
Apr 4 2025, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(bee88 @ Apr 4 2025, 05:14 PM) It’s kinda defeat the purpose though to reconfigure too high. I only increased 1.5v in the first threshold, huawei inverter has second threshold protection for even higher voltage surge.It is supposed to be a protection mechanism. Also the production is not so much loss too. once the TNB voltage is too high, the inverter shutdown, it is more than 50% production loss. |
Apr 5 2025, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(bee88 @ Apr 4 2025, 09:56 PM) When inverter shut down, it will restart after few minutes kan? I don’t think u will lose 50 percent production loss of the day. Just for a few minutes. Usually they wil have a mechanism to check the voltage from time to time. no, when high voltage, it keep restarting and shutdown, the whole day solar only produce less than 10kwh on sunny day, in normal time, i can get more than 20kwh per day. |
Apr 6 2025, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(bee88 @ Apr 6 2025, 09:52 AM) Yes. Eventually will happen in Malaysia as well. I think tnb already have standby charge for commercial solar in Malaysia now. nowadays inverter can limit the power output, just limit it to the min house electricity load, or even use smart home system to control power output.But this is an easy problem to fix. Coz after 10years , solar users like me already earn double or triple with free panels on top. By then I can just turn it off when I don’t need it. So tnb has no reason to charge. I think the Aussie man has the option to off too. He already got his return anyway. |
Apr 9 2025, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(loceng00 @ Apr 9 2025, 07:48 PM) Hi, need advise which is resonable? My house has no shading issue so I really dont know if I need micro inverter. Appreciate the help. Thanks. no shading issue, no complex solar panels orientation , get string inverter then, less component less problem.13.5 kWp JA Solar N type 630W 22 pcs Solis string inverter 1 unit 3 phase RM30k 14.6 kWp Astronergy 610W 24pcs Solax Micro inverter RM42k |
Apr 11 2025, 07:44 PM
Apr 18 2025, 11:53 AM
May 2 2025, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(kopiride @ May 2 2025, 08:03 PM) But the electric generated from our solar is used up by ourself. They can't earn right? Excess got route back to them? no, solar power mostly wont go directly to industrial factories or commercial buildings, but because your solar power supplies to your neighbours, therefore, TNB supplies less power to residential area while have more power to supply to industrial areas. Jenn77 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0266sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:19 PM |