Home solar 4 months in.

BaRT
post Aug 22 2024, 03:46 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Aug 22 2024, 09:13 AM)
I actually picked Emit Solar because they are the only one AFAIK that don't have upfront payment. There was one other solar company that I consulted before, but I backed off because they need upfront payment or they want us to do EPP scheme. I have nothing against EPP just that it will eat up my CC limit which we might need in times of emergency.

Actually after installation I found out that Emit Solar is an intermediary, the actual installation is done by another solar company. However, I am fine with that because Emit Solar assumes the risk, support and warranty for the whole installation.

What happens after 10 years is actually for us to decide. I am quite happy that they used Huawei inverter with 10 years warranty. Imagine if they skimped on this and opted for an inverter that can last 5-6 years. Now that I think about it, they opted for this for a good reason as well. If everything goes as planned most likely we just need to replace the inverter and it's good for another 10 years, solar panels theoretically could last 30 years. One other factor to consider is what happens to our NEM contract after 10 years? Can we renew and sell back to grid after? Only time will tell.

Everyone can say they can get cheaper but the quality of the solar panels and inverter is another factor that you need to consider as well.

Final thoughts: Solar installation is NPV positive from Day 1. You also get to lock a portion of your energy cost from the fluctuations in the energy prices of TNB. If you opted with Emit Solar you are actually making infinite return since your savings that you get divide by 0 = infinity smile.gif
Hi, mind to share which package you install & how much?
They using string or microinverter?
BaRT
post Aug 23 2024, 11:39 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Aug 21 2024, 12:52 AM)
I actually opted to take their offer.

9.28 kWp for monthly payment of RM 372 for 10 years. No upfront cost, they throw in first 3 months free. On top of that I got RM4k rebate from Solaris.

System was installed early July.

My TNB bill went down from RM 600-700 to RM 50 for July bill. August TNB bill is on track to have same or lower amount.

Considering that this setup would cost 30k, I think its worth it, they can take their profits over 10 years  biggrin.gif
I don't see how it is worth for the customer.
The setup cost is around 30K, now u pay 372 x 120 months = 44,640.

Better opt for 30K with 60 months installment.

BaRT
post Aug 29 2024, 06:37 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Aug 28 2024, 03:49 PM)
recently get quotation for 6.05kWp solar panel for RM12,200 after incentives, and another RM1000 discount. Nett is RM11,200.

Machiam reasonable.
wow..for me this is cheap. Which company is this?
BaRT
post Sep 3 2024, 04:18 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Sep 3 2024, 12:17 PM)
Actually dtu will get back the previous data thst is not transmitted. 

So let’s say if u off ur dtu, ur system should work and then once the dtu connects to the inverter, it will sync back the lost data.
really??
coz my neibour say if the dtu offline, tnb meter will not count your export. And it has happened to him.

BaRT
post Sep 4 2024, 10:35 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 3 2024, 10:00 PM)
Here's mine!
Guys, there’s one thing I want to understand. Let’s say my solar panels generate 300 kWh during the afternoon. The energy generated will feed my grid first for my own consumption, right? If I only consume 200 kWh during the afternoon, the remaining 100 kWh will be exported.

So, my question is, will the TNB bill show an export of only 100 kWh instead of 300 kWh? If yes, this mean TNB bill export information reflect the net amount, not the total energy generated from the solar power. Am I right?
BaRT
post Sep 8 2024, 06:55 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Sep 8 2024, 03:20 PM)
I am on 9.68kWp (16×605W Trina bifacial) with micro inverter (4×Hoymiles HMS-2000-4T) for rm27k. Still waiting NEM approval.
This price is before or after solaris rebate?
BaRT
post Sep 8 2024, 11:54 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Sep 8 2024, 08:06 PM)
Before...

Cheap..which installer? Im also looking for quotation
BaRT
post Sep 11 2024, 06:35 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 11 2024, 06:24 PM)
Maybe got glitch, now goes back up! brows.gif
where got? laugh.gif
as of today at 6.30pm, quota left 4.4337MWac
equivalent to 443 applications left if count each apply 10kwh.

Maybe they will add more quota. Who knows.
BaRT
post Sep 12 2024, 02:44 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 12 2024, 12:30 PM)
Should be anytime soon. Too many applications since end of Aug to now, there are bound to be delays. But I think the delays by some installers will be even worse coz they take on too many clients but don't know whether can meet the 3 months deadline or not.
So how bout the solaris quota left? Sufficient to all applicants?
BaRT
post Sep 25 2024, 12:38 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 24 2024, 06:05 PM)
I think there is a fine and jail term for feeding power into the grid without approval. Are you feeling lucky?
U mean feeding into grid outside of his house?
How it possible if the export function is not yet activate?
BaRT
post Sep 26 2024, 04:15 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

After nearly a month of operating my solar system, I’ve noticed an unusual production pattern from one of my inverters, which is connected to four panels. Frequently, between 12pm and 1pm, this microinverter generates very little power, regardless of whether it’s sunny or cloudy.

As you can see, the position of these four panels covers both angles of my roof and they are not shaded by anything.

Has anyone else experienced a similar issue?

This post has been edited by BaRT: Sep 26 2024, 04:25 PM
BaRT
post Sep 26 2024, 04:26 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 26 2024, 04:20 PM)
NEM approval?
haha..updated my post above. Why ah bro?

This post has been edited by BaRT: Sep 26 2024, 04:26 PM
BaRT
post Sep 27 2024, 12:16 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Sep 26 2024, 05:01 PM)
Hi, yes that happens when the Hoymiles micro inverter's temperature goes beyond 86C and the micro inverter throttles performance by means of cutting back down on output power. Happened to mine often. You can view the micro inverter temperature from the website below, just login as usual. I've reached out to Pathgreen on this many times, but they're just silent on this, never acknowledging this issue. On our end, I'm not sure what can be done to improve the heat dissipation of the micro inverter unit.

https://global.hoymiles.com/platform/login
thanks for the advice. I almost forgot that we can log in from the web. Upon checking that panels & inverter having no issues on the temperature by comparing with other inverters.
If PG keeps silent on this, I think it is time for us to gather all the user feedback and highlight this issue to make it more prominent.

QUOTE(bee88 @ Sep 26 2024, 06:36 PM)
This could be several reasons. The most common reason is thst the inverter lost communication with the DTU at that time. But do check on the voltage. It could be overvoltage and need a grid profile.

Do check on the total yield of the day and see if it differ much from other panels from other inverters. As your reading is back to normal after that, inverter failure may not be the reason.
It's kinda weird if this inverter lost communication almost everyday within the same time period. Somemore, got another inverter that is located far from this but never has a lost communication issue.
Is this microinverter designed to auto shut if overvoltage? How to check if our inverter is overvoltage?

Upon checking, it is obvious this inverter generates significantly lower power than others. (the centre panel from the layout below)

This is overall result for this month

This post has been edited by BaRT: Sep 27 2024, 12:24 AM
BaRT
post Oct 6 2024, 07:35 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Sep 30 2024, 02:01 PM)
should be about similar i think.

Anyway, for microinvertor like my house HMS2000, there will be clipping at 536.8W, so u have 1000W panel also no use

Not too sure about string invertor

Edit: 1000W not no use still can generate more power than 600W panel during morning and evening, but will have heavy clipping during noon time so not efficient.
your system is 7.26kw?

at 12.45 there is a sudden drop in power, is it due to cloudy? Can you move the cursor to check if the drop is equal to all panels?

This post has been edited by BaRT: Oct 6 2024, 07:38 PM
BaRT
post Oct 6 2024, 09:40 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Oct 6 2024, 08:36 PM)
7.2kwp. it is cloudy lah my inverter is working fine
I'm just checking je lah tot yours will similar case like mine.

BaRT
post Oct 7 2024, 03:58 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(zartegh @ Oct 7 2024, 01:45 PM)
Hi all,

Just wanted to share my setup which was activated just last week. I've also been corresponding with bee88 who has been very helpful throughout the process.

System capacity - 4 panels 490W, 4 panels 575W = 4260W.
Microinverter setup - 4 panels to 1 inverter @ 2kWac each

Timeline:
16 May - engaged solar installer to do site survey and take measurements
24 June - received final proposal and rendering of panels on roof (took awhile as my roof is quite small and have to also work around solar water heater and water tank)
10 July - solar company applied for NEM 3.0 through SEDA website
1 Aug - SEDA approval received (had a small clarification from SEDA after 1st week of submission)
9 Sep - installation of panels and inverters on roof completed within 1 day (took awhile to get solar installer to do this as they have limited manpower)
1 Oct - received Welcome Letter from TNB
3 Oct - engineer from solar company came to set up system and monitoring app
6 Oct - received Solaris rebate form from TNB (eligible for RM4k), currently waiting for rebate

Overall, very happy with the whole process even though the waiting time was a bit long. System has been performing very well so far, even though it has been mostly cloudy past few days. Monitoring app also works as expected. Microinverter setup allows for monitoring of individual panel performance and even has a "time-lapse" mode. Web portal also allows for data extraction in XLSX format for offline data analysis, which will be useful later.

Standard warranty for all components i.e. 3 years for workmanship, 10 years for inverters, 25 years for panel performance.

If anyone has any other detailed questions, feel free to PM me. smile.gif
wow...installation within 1 day but the welcome letter rcvd almost a month?
BaRT
post Oct 15 2024, 04:26 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Oct 14 2024, 10:02 PM)
Cheap… can share the contact?
for 4.84kwp microinverter system, u can get the price around 17K
BaRT
post Oct 25 2024, 12:08 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(utellme_6376 @ Oct 24 2024, 12:05 AM)
My solar is 7.2kw too. Switched on from 21 sept till now. So far higher day yield  is 37.4kw and lower day is 11.5kw. In month of sept from 21/9 to 30/9 is 274kw. Yields from  1/10 to 23/10 is 658kw.
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Oct 24 2024, 11:39 AM)
Mine too , 7.26kW system, hoymiles micro inverter, max output was peak out at 6.11kW, max total on a single day was about 38.01kw - 5.5 sun hours..  I wonder what's the max peak output for hoymiles inverter, anyone ?
can share the panel layout that show each of panel performance during the highest kwh?
BaRT
post Oct 25 2024, 01:09 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Oct 25 2024, 12:28 PM)
pls see a post above this.. Clipping, is this something normal ?
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 25 2024, 12:28 PM)
how the progress so far? still having the same issue?
after a few days, so far so good. They came & fixed the issue. It is a wiring problem, the installer wrongly installed between +- in that particular inverter.
The highest peak so far is 6.44KW @ today at 12pm.

It seems like all our panel can generate max at 89%, equivalent to 536.8W from 605W. Probably not sunny enuf?

This post has been edited by BaRT: Oct 25 2024, 01:11 PM
BaRT
post Oct 25 2024, 02:42 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Oct 25 2024, 02:35 PM)
I think it is limited by the inverter coz inverter max only 2,000w. So 605w x 4 = 2420w is definitely not achievable.
so that's mean with 605W panel, 1 microinverter should connect to 3 panel instead of 4 to get maximum output?
or get the higher W of inverter.

This post has been edited by BaRT: Oct 25 2024, 02:55 PM

0.0221sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:39 AM