35 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Home solar 4 months in.

bee88
post Apr 17 2024, 08:30 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Apr 17 2024, 06:49 PM)
i had additional 600kwh from Jan to March over-generation, tot can simpan till december.. mana tau april use all d... 24/7 on aircon
April actualy the weather is erratic.

Didn’t look like previous April.
bee88
post Apr 28 2024, 04:41 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 26 2024, 03:07 AM)
Quite useful tered. Why is it in /k lol

Going to pay booking next week.
5kW system with 3 phase Huawei Hybrid Inverter & 5.4kW Trina Vertex S+ panels.

After doing extensive reading, this Huawei Hybrid Inverter is the bomb if it’s the same price as non hybrid string inverters. Built in AFCI. 10 years warranty (installer says it’s 1 to 1 swap), option to plug in their HV batteries and supported ones — argument that it’s proprietary is silly. You can still install AC coupled batteries as with normal string inverters if you want.

What I’ve noticed about many installers is that the panels and inverters they use are seasonal. E.g. one company used to sell Canadian Solar panels and now moved to Longi exclusively. And they are also phasing out string inverters and going for Hoymiles micro inverters.

Which brings me to the conclusion that, when selling you the system they can tell you 12 years warranty and 25 years performance guarantee or whatever, but if they stop carrying or selling the brand, or the distributor stops distributing the brand. Your warranty is just words on paper.

Huawei is distributed by themselves in Malaysia. Gigantic company, and I am confident with the warranty they offer. No idea about panels. Any panel manufacturer has presence in MY? Trina konon partner with TNB. Don’t know what that actually means. Probably just GSPARX using their panels.
Actually u will notice that most solar companies will just offer the brand of the panels they have in stock and they won’t stick to one single brand. I have seen many companies and their quotes, that changes brand over the time. Perhaps your company also no difference. They could bring two or more brands in and offer whichever which is in stock.

Usually for the panel warranty, the company will just replace with the similar wattage and claim the defective panels later with the manufacturer on credit note. That’s why a company which is reputable is better than those new companies.

Also that’s why to go for tier 1 panel companies, as they are more likely to storm the weather and last longer in the pv industry.

bee88
post Apr 28 2024, 10:38 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Apr 28 2024, 08:52 PM)
Tis good deal? Using huawei , promotion partner with huawei

I dont think so to be honest. Need to see what is being offered in detail lah anyway.
bee88
post Apr 29 2024, 12:12 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 29 2024, 12:03 PM)
For d 11kWp system at rm25800, how many panels would be needed? It's bill of rm650 is ~1366kwh? My current bill is rm300, planning to get EV in 3 years time.
If your bill is rm300, you don’t need this much. If ev is in the planning, but not confirmed, I think better not to take into consideration. Lots of thing can happen within this three years. Newer tech, cheaper options.

You most likely need about 7kwp max. If you are on single phase, you don’t need to convert to three phase for 11kwp.

Why 3 years time to get ev. Get now and enjoy. Nice ride actually.
bee88
post Apr 29 2024, 01:21 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 29 2024, 12:31 PM)
my house is 3 phase power, but they chose 1 phase inverter for me, it's 6.96 kw panel system, set date to install on end of May. How is it not optimized though?
Ur import will be high.
bee88
post Apr 29 2024, 01:22 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Apr 29 2024, 12:54 PM)
Ur solis inverter supp max 7kw system?
Sked in future wana add more panel also cant supp jo
Actually don’t think of future want to add more panel or not. Coz if u just want to add one or two pieces, u will kena charge a lot. Based on my friend experience.
bee88
post Apr 29 2024, 02:22 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 29 2024, 02:18 PM)
If efficiency refers to using the solar power generated in your home.. you can say 3 phase more efficient.
I'll try and layman this from what I understand
You CAN use a 1 phase inverter on a 3 phase tnb supply. The installers never lie. But it is not optimised. Because the other 2 phases will draw power from tnb grid. I give simple example. your tnb 3 phase, your solar 1 phase inverter, you have a 3 phase EV charger, charging at 11kW (3.65kW x 3). So if you charge during daytime when solar generating power, you won't be able to use all 7kW from your solar for the EV, as the solar is only on 1 phase, thus it'll be capped at 3.65kW and the balance will draw from grid. And if you import more than 1500kW TNB.. you kena ICPT RM0.10/kW

EDIT before got smart Alec comment: ok don't be an idiot and tell me you no EV charger. I just use EV charger cause easy to explain. Go find out what is wired to each phase in your own home ok?

As an owner.. why lah wanna make my home's 3 phase not balance. and why wanna limit my self-consumption for solar on just 1 phase..and forced to draw from grid for the other 2 phases?

TNB FAQ:
correct. but since he is on a smaller capacity, my concern is he will not be eligble for the 2 cent icpt rebate if his import hits 600kwh
bee88
post Apr 30 2024, 09:20 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 30 2024, 04:29 PM)
anyone here got install solar optimizer?
That would be solaredge.

Or huawei with optimizer.

But both are not cheap and have lots of serviceable parts. Each panel will be fixed with optimizer.

bee88
post Apr 30 2024, 09:26 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Darrylx3 @ Apr 30 2024, 06:40 PM)
I asked one of the companies why not use three phase inverter and they said that that can form three phase connection using single-phase microinverter.

Anyone knows if this a viable substitute as opposed to just straight up install three phase inverters?

For context this is for a >9Kwh system
Actually, single phase micro is a better solution for three phase connection for home from my understanding how it is installed. Single phase micro inverters can be balanced between three phase so it’s not really an issue. I have studied how it is installed and it has its advantage especially those with ev.

Last time I was also think like you. Coz why not use three phase micro if the house is three phase. Turns out there are some advantages using single phase over three phase.

But this is for micro only. For string, it must strictly follow the phases to reap the benefit.

bee88
post Apr 30 2024, 09:32 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 30 2024, 06:55 PM)
Haha
>9kW system use 1 phase inverter on 3 phase tnb grid supply? Run. Run very far from them.

Which company is this?
It’s on microinverter if not mistaken so It should be okay. Coz they can string two micro on each phase. With 6 inverters, they should be enough for all three phases. So essentially it’s still connected to all three phases.
bee88
post Apr 30 2024, 10:16 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 30 2024, 10:09 PM)
no idea.
i google online, look like kind important to have optimizer, cause if 1 panel drop efficiency cause by any mean, all other panel will drop together as well.
That’s the benefit of optimizer. But usually due to its cost, not recommended if your house is not really shaded or ur roof is not complicated.

bee88
post May 7 2024, 09:58 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 7 2024, 09:04 AM)
google but seems no details info. recommended?
U check the keyword, aeon, Bsn. Most likely solar financing. Surely got interest

Profit Rate
SBR + 2.62% to SBR + 3.12%
Profit Rate without Takaful
Additional 0.50% from the above profit rate
Financing Limit
Up to RM150,000
Financing Tenure
Minimum: 1 year
Maximum: 10 years

This post has been edited by bee88: May 7 2024, 10:02 AM
bee88
post May 8 2024, 12:53 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ May 8 2024, 12:36 PM)
let say 12 panel
6 at front and 6 at back.

when morning, front get Sun
when evening, back get Sun

if all string together, this will become shading issue right?

how to solve this?
Usually for string , they have two main mppt. Which string one group together while another group with another mppt.

Like this it won’t be shading problem so much. But if one panel of thst string play up for any reason you might still get lower yield.

bee88
post May 9 2024, 10:45 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Marcus Cody @ May 9 2024, 02:17 AM)
Hi guys, I am planning to get my home to equip with solar panel, it is around RM300 per month and my house is 3phases power. I wanted to have installment plan, I saw there are some subscription based solar provider, are they good? Or I should go with those installment one
Installment one. Subscription one not suitable.
bee88
post May 10 2024, 02:14 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ May 10 2024, 11:26 AM)
Can reduce the bill to zero?
Yea. Very possible. The 900 is also due to icpt.
bee88
post May 11 2024, 06:40 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 11 2024, 06:37 AM)
Whats your parent house bills be like monthly? My house last time consistent rm300-350 monthly due to old inefficient AC that already 10 years old or more. Change all AC in the house to 5 stars inverter, hp follow room sizes, hall included. And repaired my water pump forgot the electrical parts malfunction,it keep pumping water non stop (used quite high current, Grundfos). Now getting rm130-160 average and max rm180.

Ask few solar company, they said better wait cz solar are those who are higher bills consumed like rm350 above.
His is under FIT. He gets RM900 from TNB, not paying Tnb.
bee88
post May 25 2024, 07:30 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 25 2024, 02:53 PM)
Now wanna find solar company that is willing to do this
If I am not mistaken, there are two types of installation you the roof of your kind. Yours should be involving removing the original screw that screw the roof and screw the railings to the same hole.

There is another way which is using kliplok roof clamp. But ur roof doesn’t look like the kliplok roof. They usually clamp on the part with truss. But I don’t think this is suitable for your case.

Both involving the same thing, which allows the frame to be installed for solar.

For method one, as ur wood is abit old, when they screw back, it may crack. And it’s not worth taking the risk to install.

Usually for solar companies, they don’t change the structure of your roof. They only install on top of existing roof. As they are not expert in redesigning the roof. They have to bear the responsibility if they do that. And of course it incur additional charges.

Better leave the roof to the experts. , aka get a new roof first.

bee88
post May 26 2024, 08:51 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ May 24 2024, 08:03 PM)
I got two friends living at close vicinity with solar panels installed.

11.5kw and 6.4kw.

Both string inverter

April TNB bill shows 890kwh and 396kwh respectively

And this figure appear to be peak of what their system is producing.

Is this considered ok?
It’s hard to determine, and this is one weakness of solar panels on string that I notice.

As u cannot rely on Tnb reading, (it’s a nett reading) after usage.

You need to identify it from your inverter app to see the total production.

From The total production, you minus the Tnb export. Thst is your morning consumption. The tricky part is to determine if the morning consumption if it tallies with the your actual usage. There are ways but quite tedious.

Meanwhile, from micro inverter system, you can see individual panel production. From there you can compare and rule out any problem in the harvesting part. The calculation also become simpler.
bee88
post May 26 2024, 09:59 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ May 26 2024, 09:23 AM)
Pasang sendiri saja, do grid interactive UPS style no export ok liao. I’m been enjoying close to 3 years already.
Actually in Kuching or Sarawak, their electric charges is still very very cheap. Like 30 cent per kWh at the highest rate. So there is little point going Solar there unless you are really a big consumption.
bee88
post May 26 2024, 11:48 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ May 26 2024, 11:34 AM)
True also la, Sarawak has more than excess electricity if I recall correctly. But yea, if you say consistently above 600-1000, then it’s worth it la. My fren did check out one Gsparx and quoted 47k for 9.5kWp, 8kW inverter. I think it’s abit too expensive la. But Sarawak ba
Actually in Sarawak with 31.5 cent per kWh, it’s okay to buy direct. And don’t need solar. Coz even if u use 2000 units, it’s just about rm600++. Here if use 2000 units, it’s about 1.3k.

35 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:06 PM