MG 4 and MG4 (X Power?) for Malaysia?!, YES IT IS COMING , est RM104k!!!!

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 5 2024, 11:22 AM

4,145 posts

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...pe-market-share

News from Europe

Chinese EVs Nab Record 11% Share in Europe Ahead of Tariffs
SAIC fills dealer lots with MG4 model to beat duty deadline
BYD gains customer traction with Euro 2024 marketing push

Chinese brands captured 11% of the European electric-car market in June, notching record registrations as manufacturers raced to beat stiff European Union tariffs that took effect early this month....

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 10 2024, 11:20 AM

4,145 posts

I think to fight Atto 3 or Omoda E5, MG needs to launch New ZS EV fast

https://www.team-bhp.com/news/mg-zs-ev-succ...ead-2025-unveil

But the latest reports from Paul*an seems to show top EV are actually more balanced portfolio of sporty sedan and SUV

Because latest YTD July figures are:

No 1 BYD Seal sold 2,062
No 2 BYD Atto 3 sold 1,990
No 3 Tesla Model Y sold 1,794
No 4 Tesla Model.3 sold 1,599
No 5 BYD dolphin sold 1,018
No 6 Chery Omoda E5 sold 429
No 7 Ora good cat+ 07 combined sold 388
No 8 SMART #1 and # 3 sold 340
No 9 MG 4 sold 291

So brands like Chery and MG that have 1 SUV and 1 hatchback and a very dated SUV respectively are losing out a lot of action since both GW ora and SMART has covered at least a combo of hatchback/cross and hatchback cum cross and sedan respectively

MG has however more models to come that include a Cyberster and others to follow?!

https://autobuzz.my/2024/03/27/mg-cyberster...rst-topless-ev/

So perhaps things will change after those comes in

Another thing about MG's interior, I think MG is very Shanghai's and European influenced: modern, stylish but reserved...kind of like Mazda
not a bad thing per se because not all buyers prefers shiny flashy things

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Aug 10 2024, 11:27 AM
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 10 2024, 12:19 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Aug 10 2024, 12:04 PM)
ZS EV is here already...only issue is they didn't bring in the long range version. Yes, Malaysians prefer flashy interior rather than the driving experience. The MG4 is one of the top 5 sellers in Europe and top EV in UK where as the BYD is no where near. Goes to show that those in the West prioritize driving capability over fancy interiors. Can blame the UK MG designers who went full Lotus with the MG4's design. They tried to make an Elise for the family...in a sense, they hit the sweet spot for European and even Australian or NZ buyers but Asians are brought up differently.
MG EV ZS is to put it out honestly outdated, outspec'd and out priced , For the price it is asking , it often get overshadowed

But I like your perspective on the design. Knowing Shanghai, UK guys alone shouldn't take all the responsibility for it but it is what it is.

It will have it supporters , one of them is yours truly

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Aug 11 2024, 09:21 AM
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 10 2024, 10:16 PM

4,145 posts

Spotted few days back

https://www.wapcar.my/news/will-it-be-ice-o...-imminent-81097
Is it ICE is it PHEV?

Soon all will be revealed
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 11 2024, 09:22 AM

4,145 posts

Meanwhile down under....

https://thedriven.io/2024/08/01/mg-slashes-...ce-war-resumes/

A AUD50k car in 2021 slashed to AUD35k....

OMG, and it comes with 10 year warranty.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Aug 11 2024, 09:23 AM
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 30 2024, 08:36 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 28 2024, 11:14 AM)
direct competition lai liao... similar shape and size, more kits... feel like buying one... hahaha... but i really want seagull...

Wish it (BYD Seal 06GT) will come soon here but then again it may not for it has Europe market set as target mainly .

https://insideevs.com/news/731495/byd-seal-06-gt-revealed/

If Malaysia have to wait so long for MG4 , this one could be a long wait too.

The prospect of it coming in reminds me of a song ` Let Down ' by Radiohead that goes....

'Transport
Motorways and tramlines
Starting and then stopping
Taking off and landing
The emptiest of feelings
Disappointed people
Clinging onto bottles
And when it comes it's so so disappointing
Let down and hanging around
Crushed like a bug in the ground
Let down and hanging around...'

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 30 2024, 08:41 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ Aug 30 2024, 06:37 AM)
Some observations after 4 mths and 8000km ownership of standard..
Town driving on normal mode gives 14kWh/100km with range of around 360km.
OPD bumps this to 12.6 increasing the range to 400km which is pretty good.
Highway cruising at 105-110 kmh with ACC
gives 15 kWh/100km with 340km range..
Without ACC can get 13.5 increasing range to 380km..
So wltp claim quite accurate
Thanks for a great sharing.

I don't know about anyone else but MG4 is still the most ideal hatch EV to me, befitting even as a retirement gift to self. Perhaps that is what I will get for myself when that time comes.

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 30 2024, 10:01 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Aug 30 2024, 09:25 AM)
It is slightly bigger overall than the MG4 but it is nice to know that the MG4 shape is a good one to imitate  wink3.gif
thumbsup.gif “Imitation is (indeed) the sincerest form of flattery” biggrin.gif
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 30 2024, 10:07 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 30 2024, 09:56 AM)
mg was very different... zero presence, everything from scratch

byd already got sime... selling like hot cake... just have to order, but obviously have to go market by market...
I appreciate your enthusiasm....

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Aug 31 2024, 10:27 AM

4,145 posts

More reach in making....

https://www.zigwheels.my/car-news/five-new-...oon-in-malaysia

AGRESSIVE with MASSIVE non EV and EV launches: MG5, MG HS & Cyberster

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Oct 11 2024, 08:50 AM

4,145 posts

MG4 Lux is offered for sale at the event with savings of up to RM10,888 at ACE 2024.

Additionally, there will be savings of up to RM5,888 for the MG ZS EV, the MG4 Standard and MG4 XPower, which will make your entry to electric motoring with the MG brand even more accessible.

Source :Pault*n
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Oct 14 2024, 11:42 PM

4,145 posts

Latest report on sales numbers

https://soyacincau.com/2024/10/14/malaysia-...september-2024/

What do you see?

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Oct 18 2024, 05:57 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Oct 18 2024, 09:37 AM)
Then the carbon neutral initiative by 2050 is all tok kok sing song leh ...
2050 lah....not 2030. No urgency like no tomorrow. Any way if one want to look for sub100k EV , their only hope in 2025 is Neta V and Dongfeng Box. These 2 are among the EVs expected to be locally assembled (CKD) in 2025 – these could be priced below RM100k along with a Perodua EV developed with an Australian partner ( NOT Daihasu ) according to Pault*n

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Oct 18 2024, 09:09 PM
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Nov 6 2024, 01:28 AM

4,145 posts

MG ZS EV now available for RM99,999: The cheapest electric SUV in Malaysia

26k discount, people.

https://soyacincau.com/2024/11/05/mg-zs-ev-...uv-in-malaysia/

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Nov 7 2024, 07:39 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Nov 7 2024, 10:18 AM)
MG4 is the best selling Chinese EV in Europe and they frighten the EU to import high tariff on it. EU people want MG but their gov scare of MG. Ironically the MG was originally a "British brand" but end up sold to Chinese company and same goes to Volvo EV brand from Sweden but owned by Geely now.
And do you know what is happening to UK now?

https://www.autonews.com/manufacturing/auto...-fiat-sales-uk/
LONDON — BYD and Chery Automobile’s Omoda brand sold more cars than Fiat in the U.K. in October [2024] in a further sign that Chinese automakers are gaining a stronger foothold in Europe.

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Nov 8 2024, 04:10 PM

4,145 posts

https://soyacincau.com/2024/11/08/mg4-malay...e-rebate-rm96k/

HOHOHO

Christmas has come early

MG4 Standard which was launched in Malaysia for RM103,999 back in March. NOW with a rebate of RM8,500, you can now obtain the electric hatch for just RM95,499.

On the other hand, there is also an RM16,000 rebate for the MG4 Lux. So, you can now get your hands on the EV for RM112,999 instead of its original launch price of RM128,999.
Check out the comparison against others too

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Nov 12 2024, 12:38 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Nov 8 2024, 06:55 PM)
96k, what happen to the 100k-floor thingy?
In short, circumvented in a clever way

TSEnergyAnalyst
post Nov 12 2024, 12:45 AM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(shunner19 @ Nov 11 2024, 02:26 PM)
Test drive one yesterday, it was my first time driving a rear wheel drive car, the handling is so good, and it is smooth during accelreration, this might be the best value EV in Malaysia right now, if I didn't buy my honda civic, I will buy this car lol, the handling is miles better than my honda civic.
Maybe trade in your civic for another rear wheel EV

https://soyacincau.com/2024/11/09/tesla-mal...rade-in-uplift/

LOL.

If only others follow suit, right?
TSEnergyAnalyst
post Dec 1 2024, 12:44 AM

4,145 posts

https://insideevs.com/news/740368/mg4-austr...es-beats-tesla/

NEWS from Down Under
Chinese-Made MG4 Dethrones Tesla, Tops Australian Sales Charts
Sales of the MG4 electric hatchback quadrupled in October after the model got a significant price cut.

An aggressive price drop instantly sent the MG4 to the top of the October EV sales charts in Australia.
The price was cut to just AU$ 31,000 ($20,500) and sales tripled compared to September....

That is just RM90k for Pete's sake, lucky Aussies bangwall.gif

Are we as Lucky? innocent.gif

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0205sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:18 AM