How long can u keep curry jiken in fridge

TSseiferalmercy
post Sep 30 2023, 05:48 PM, updated 3y ago

135 posts

before it goes bad?

3 days can? I want to cook 3 batches of curry jiken.
JohnL77
post Sep 30 2023, 05:49 PM

1,887 posts

Put in freezer lo.

Phoenix_KL
post Sep 30 2023, 05:51 PM

156 posts

Store leftover curry in an airtight container. Keep curry in the fridge for up to four days. Your curry needs to cool down to room temperature before placing it in the fridge. Freeze curry for up to six months.
https://www.mrishtanna.com/how-long-does-curry-last/
pgsiemkia
post Sep 30 2023, 05:53 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(seiferalmercy @ Sep 30 2023, 05:48 PM)
before it goes bad?

Immediately freeze 7-30 days can tahan. If you dun use milk or santan can last longer. Add when want to eat. Ppl who say can keep for months haven’t kena bacterial infections before. If wait for cooling, will be breeding ground for bacteria. Straight freezer.

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Sep 30 2023, 05:55 PM
soul78
post Sep 30 2023, 05:54 PM

939 posts

if you finish within a week.. shouldn't be an issue la... but in freezer, pack in small batches
Pikichu
post Sep 30 2023, 05:55 PM

2,278 posts

TS wants to kill 3 chickens and /k tards helping TS
SUSEfalex
post Sep 30 2023, 05:56 PM

361 posts

Don't forget to sterilise it with Gamma Radiation...
myasiahobby
post Sep 30 2023, 05:57 PM

693 posts

Put in freezer
Rusty Nail
post Sep 30 2023, 05:58 PM

Why am I still here?
4,884 posts

QUOTE(Efalex @ Sep 30 2023, 05:56 PM)
Don't forget to sterilise it with Gamma Radiation...
this
SUSskyblack4492
post Sep 30 2023, 06:47 PM

1,342 posts

Freezer 1 month ok
loserguy
post Sep 30 2023, 06:57 PM

500 posts

curry chicken max 1 week for me in freezer
TSseiferalmercy
post Sep 30 2023, 06:59 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 30 2023, 05:53 PM)
Immediately freeze 7-30 days can tahan. If you dun use milk or santan can last longer. Add when want to eat. Ppl who say can keep for months haven’t kena bacterial infections before. If wait for cooling, will be breeding ground for bacteria. Straight freezer.
I see, so put it in freezer while it’s still hot?
MGM
post Sep 30 2023, 07:00 PM

18,479 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 30 2023, 05:53 PM)
Straight freezer when the curry is still hot, sure or not?
DarkNite
post Sep 30 2023, 07:03 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(seiferalmercy @ Sep 30 2023, 06:59 PM)
If possible, to prevent food poisoning bacteria growth.
VeeJay
post Sep 30 2023, 07:04 PM

3,854 posts

lol, never to place hot food in refrigerator/freezer, its gonna cause condensation/ icing and also you are inducing bacteria in the fridge that might effect other food as well.

as for you initial question , curry is good to keep for a week in the fridge, if needs longer term, then freezer is the place to store
desmond2020
post Sep 30 2023, 07:05 PM

911 posts

hello food poisoning
nelienuxe_sara
post Sep 30 2023, 07:06 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

before it goes bad?

iinm
bawah 3 days max
atas 2 bulan
andyng38
post Sep 30 2023, 07:08 PM

2,402 posts

This is how I do it with chicken curry or curry base (both without santan).

After cooking, place pot in sink with water and ice to cool down. Be careful not to let any of the sink water get into the pot! When it's no longer hot (just warm), portion into freezer bags. Partially seal the freezer bags and let them soak in ice water till cool. Remove as much air as possible and totally seal the bags then place in freezer.

The longest I've kept it frozen is 3 weeks, no problems....BUT there is a marked degradation of flavor when compared to fresh-cooked or cooked-yesterday's curries.

delon85
post Sep 30 2023, 07:11 PM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

Nope. Some freezers will break down after you put hot food into them. That's why you need to use airtight container. Initial heat will kill all the bacteria and as long as you didn't open the container after it cools, then it will last longer when you put it into freezer.
Chisinlouz
post Sep 30 2023, 07:11 PM

849 posts

After cook, let it cool down untouched, then into freezer.

Can last a full week at least till u take out. Brave enough u can store it forever just like typical frozen food but encourage u eat fresh la.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 30 2023, 07:13 PM

157 posts

before it goes bad?

I put in freezer
Cook one big pot for 5 days meal
Then divide into smaller containers portion per meal

Want to eat, deforest it earlier. Then later either steam it hot or put into microwave.

robotking123
post Sep 30 2023, 07:24 PM

1 year
desmond2020
post Sep 30 2023, 07:25 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Sep 30 2023, 07:11 PM)
After cook, let it cool down untouched, then into freezer.

Can last a full week at least till u take out. Brave enough u can store it forever just like typical frozen food but encourage u eat fresh la.
you won't kena food poisoning, but the taste will be terrible
mushigen
post Sep 30 2023, 07:42 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 30 2023, 07:04 PM)
lol, never to place hot food in refrigerator/freezer, its gonna cause condensation/ icing and also you are inducing bacteria in the fridge that might effect other food as well.

as for you initial question , curry is good to keep for a week in the fridge, if needs longer term, then freezer is the place to store
1) nowadays fridges have auto defrost function kan?

2) how do you induce bacteria by placing hot curry which has arguably less bacteria compared to cooled curry?
SUSbadmilk
post Sep 30 2023, 08:01 PM

57 posts

before it goes bad?

deep freeze it - it can last for months.

but once defrost and heat up kena makan semua - don't simpan balik.

chemnz
post Sep 30 2023, 08:02 PM

181 posts

Ziplock then into freezer
desmond2020
post Sep 30 2023, 08:03 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 30 2023, 07:42 PM)

2) how do you induce bacteria by placing hot curry which has arguably less bacteria compared to cooled curry?
hot curry might break the glass in fridge due to thermal shock

but bacteria don't think so
cikalakacikaci
post Sep 30 2023, 08:22 PM

107 posts

Cook,cool,vacuum pack,keep in freezer can last for years
In chiller up to 2 weeks
mushigen
post Sep 30 2023, 10:35 PM

4,954 posts

Chiller or freezer, do you guys measure the temperature inside the fridge/freezer? Apparently, from googling, freezer is recommended to have -15 to -18degC, while the non freezer is iirc 3-5 degC.
VeeJay
post Sep 30 2023, 11:52 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 30 2023, 07:42 PM)

"Putting something hot can damage your refrigerator. Even if it isn't boiling hot, it can increase the temperature inside," food safety and hygiene consultant Glenn Hyde dela Cruz explained on "Unang Hirit."

"Microbes tend to spread a lot faster at a temperature below 5 degrees Celsius. So it's true what they say that it's better to let food cool down before putting it in the refrigerator," he added.

https://www.gmanetwork.com/news/lifestyle/f...igerator/story/

Meher Rajput, Nutritionist at FITPASS explains, "Hot food should be brought down to room temperature-because if placed in the fridge(boiling hot) the salmonella bacteria can spoil the food very easily in the fridge.Also, by placing hot food in the fridge you are risking other perishable foods(eggs, vegetables and meat)- the chances of them getting contaminated increases."

https://food.ndtv.com/food-drinks/never-put...res-why-1773749
mushigen
post Oct 1 2023, 12:04 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 30 2023, 11:52 PM)
Ah, I see what you mean. Makes sense.
Chisinlouz
post Oct 1 2023, 02:24 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Sep 30 2023, 07:25 PM)
you won't kena food poisoning, but the taste will be terrible
Food taste best just out from kitchen smile.gif
pgsiemkia
post Oct 1 2023, 03:23 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 30 2023, 07:00 PM)
Straight freezer when the curry is still hot, sure or not?
I read somewhere if you let it cool, bacteria can grow faster.

AfraidIGotBan
post Oct 1 2023, 03:29 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 30 2023, 09:53 AM)
Insta pack and freezer container can, but if chiller to makan tmr and day after tmr, better wait it cool down first. You can always leave it in pot until it cool down before separating them into batches. Don't la after cook straight divide few container open air kasi cool down. That's not cooldown. That's allowing bacteria to breed attempt. Big hearted man betul.
cursetheroad01
post Oct 1 2023, 03:36 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 30 2023, 11:52 PM)
Citations needed

Regardless, the main thing about cooling food before fridge is just to protect the fridge from wear. The increased temperature while cooling hot food in fridge may affect other food stored.
pgsiemkia
post Oct 1 2023, 03:36 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ Oct 1 2023, 03:29 PM)
Insta pack and freezer container can, but if chiller to makan tmr and day after tmr, better wait it cool down first. You can always leave it in pot until it cool down before separating them into batches. Don't la after cook straight divide few container open air kasi cool down. That's not cooldown. That's allowing bacteria to breed attempt. Big hearted man betul.
Thanks for the confirmation. As a restoran/takeaway owner, you will know better. Same like the chefs on tv who vacumn pack food and dump in the freezer, later put in hot water to heat up to serve.
AfraidIGotBan
post Oct 1 2023, 05:26 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 1 2023, 07:36 AM)
Thanks for the confirmation. As a restoran/takeaway owner, you will know better. Same like the chefs on tv who vacumn pack food and dump in the freezer, later put in hot water to heat up to serve.
That step is actually pretty fakap (As someone that went through that, I've found out that not all vacuum pack is made equal. You may thought its safe to take out, heat in hot water and then bukak open serve, but in fact, getting a aluminium foiled packaging is more safer than the plastic one. If you can, try not to heat food in plastic, regardless how safe it was or you were told)

But again, The least air you letak masuk that container or packaging, the longer it retain the freshness. I think that's the gist of it. Just gotta ensure its tutup, not open.
pgsiemkia
post Oct 2 2023, 09:57 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ Oct 1 2023, 05:26 PM)
That step is actually pretty fakap (As someone that went through that, I've found out that not all vacuum pack is made equal. You may thought its safe to take out, heat in hot water and then bukak open serve, but in fact, getting a aluminium foiled packaging is more safer than the plastic one. If you can, try not to heat food in plastic, regardless how safe it was or you were told)

But again, The least air you letak masuk that container or packaging, the longer it retain the freshness. I think that's the gist of it. Just gotta ensure its tutup, not open.
Scientifically true, more air means more bacteria . I’m also not partial to food boiled in a plastic bag. I don’t even buy/eat chang tied with rafia..

The French however…

AfraidIGotBan
post Oct 2 2023, 02:45 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 2 2023, 01:57 AM)
Scientifically true, more air means more bacteria . I’m also not partial to food boiled in a plastic bag. I don’t even buy/eat chang tied with rafia..

The French however…
oh this you cant compare...

At any case, angmoh punya real quality is there. Their plastic, if its boilable, then you can be sure its thick AF and durable enough from melting along with your water and food. Asian and cheapskate alike however... I prefer not to do so with their packaging.

0.0302sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:34 AM