Twitter/X embeds

TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 06:53 PM, updated 3y ago

1,129 posts

-- Please keep your post concise to ensure a speedy review from us. We suggest 250 words or less. --

nowadays if wanna embed twitter, the link is actually "https://x.com/..." instead of "https://twitter.com/...."

So if I put twt]https://x.com/...[/twt it will not work.

Can this be updated?

Baconateer
post Sep 28 2023, 07:01 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

testing

it works for me
TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 07:02 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 28 2023, 07:01 PM)

testing

it works for me

But you put twitter, not x?
MatQuasar
post Sep 28 2023, 07:03 PM

Validating
329 posts

It is still twitter.com.....

https://twitter.com/lilianweng/status/1706544602906530000

TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 07:04 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(MatQuasar @ Sep 28 2023, 07:03 PM)
Yes i want it to be x, not twitter

MatQuasar
post Sep 28 2023, 07:15 PM

Validating
329 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Sep 28 2023, 07:04 PM)
Yes i want it to be x, not twitter
If you type x.com in address bar, it will get redirected to twitter.com.

Same with https://x.com/lilianweng/status/1706544602906530000 --> https://twitter.com/lilianweng/status/1706544602906530000
Baconateer
post Sep 28 2023, 07:15 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Sep 28 2023, 07:02 PM)

But you put twitter, not x?
and why would u want it to be X?
TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 07:18 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(MatQuasar @ Sep 28 2023, 07:15 PM)
If you type x.com in address bar, it will get redirected to twitter.com.

Same with https://x.com/lilianweng/status/1706544602906530000  --> https://twitter.com/lilianweng/status/1706544602906530000
I dont think you understand the issue. It is about embedding a twitter post here.

if you try to embed below it wont appear

TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 07:20 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 28 2023, 07:15 PM)
and why would u want it to be X?
because if you copy a link to share (like below) it will now be x, not twitter.

Baconateer
post Sep 28 2023, 07:25 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Sep 28 2023, 07:20 PM)
because if you copy a link to share (like below) it will now be x, not twitter.

cant change it to twitter?
TSLembu Goreng
post Sep 28 2023, 07:29 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 28 2023, 07:25 PM)
cant change it to twitter?
Can change, but its manual. Hence the request to have it updated to reflect current url automatically

Matchy
post Nov 21 2023, 09:20 AM

1,327 posts

bump... support lembu in this case. the link sharing in the x app is using x.com instead of twitter.com. I believe it is something simple the admin can add.
TSLembu Goreng
post Nov 21 2023, 09:23 AM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Nov 21 2023, 09:20 AM)
bump... support lembu in this case. the link sharing in the x app is using x.com instead of twitter.com. I believe it is something simple the admin can add.
Thanks. Yes I believe it’s a simple code change

Matchy
post Nov 21 2023, 09:29 AM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Nov 21 2023, 09:23 AM)
Thanks. Yes I believe it’s a simple code change
yup... it is already so freaking hard to use the short code in mobile (due to lack of short code button unlike youtube). And need to change the URL manually is just frustrating.
Human Nature
post Dec 16 2023, 11:45 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

recently notice that twitter embeds are not showing
PJng
post May 18 2024, 12:43 AM

12,041 posts

https://www.gsmarena.com/twittercom_now_red...-news-62927.php

does will break incoming all embedded post?
Helpdesk
post May 18 2024, 02:44 PM

Ready to Help
Forum Admin

this is still an ongoing issue that has not been solved by x. the function is still working for now.

the current embed script is still on twitter.com, and there is no redirect, or alternative hosted on x.com.

https://devcommunity.x.com/t/is-there-any-p...ed-api/212343/2

even if you use the official x embed help page, https://help.x.com/en/using-x/embed-x-feed, your embed url will still be automatically changed back to twitter.com.

We will continue to monitor the situation and update the embed codes should X release a new embed option.

0.0146sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:29 PM