HRV 2022 Soundproofing

TSAshroft98
post Sep 28 2023, 12:16 PM, updated 3y ago

228 posts

As title goes, wanted to install soundproofing as noise kinda loud on highway.

1. Is it worth it to install noise soundproofing?
2. Will it void warranty?
3. Any estimated cost for hrv 2022?

Any experience sharing is welkem

ktek
post Sep 28 2023, 01:05 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

replace wheel first
Gargamel_gibson
post Sep 28 2023, 01:14 PM

526 posts

Highway road noise mostly tyre, change to quiet tyres first. Then maybe add door seals? Quite easy to diy
GamersFamilia
post Sep 28 2023, 05:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Sep 28 2023, 01:14 PM)
Highway road noise mostly tyre, change to quiet tyres first. Then maybe add door seals? Quite easy to diy
continental cc6 tyres seems good devil.gif
TSAshroft98
post Sep 30 2023, 11:42 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 28 2023, 01:05 PM)
replace wheel first
Yeah planning to do that too, current mileage iis at 45k km about 13 months in. Thread still good tho.

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Sep 28 2023, 01:14 PM)
Any tyres recommended? Looking on CC6 and UC7 but from reviews said both have soft sidewall and easy to bulge and explode.

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 28 2023, 05:31 PM)
continental cc6 tyres seems good  devil.gif
Already checked for CC6, but doubtful on the wet driving charateristic and I drive a lil bit on the fast side biggrin.gif
GamersFamilia
post Oct 1 2023, 05:12 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ Sep 30 2023, 11:42 PM)
Already checked for CC6, but doubtful on the wet driving charateristic and I drive a lil bit on the fast side  biggrin.gif
how bout michelin ps4 / ps5
alexei
post Oct 2 2023, 09:18 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

you need to soundproof the flooring and firewall
I think they cannot do firewall very well
it will cost a lot, and after a while you will find other noise in the car

worse, if you do wrong, the whole car will become boomy inside eventhough outside noise don't come in
littlefire
post Oct 2 2023, 09:27 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ Oct 1 2023, 12:42 AM)
Yeah planning to do that too, current mileage iis at 45k km about 13 months in. Thread still good tho.
Any tyres recommended? Looking on CC6 and UC7 but from reviews said both have soft sidewall and easy to bulge and explode.
Already checked for CC6, but doubtful on the wet driving charateristic and I drive a lil bit on the fast side  biggrin.gif
The only continental people complain much is the old MC5 model, newer model like UC7 or CC6 very seldom heard. Besides that your driving a HRV which is a crossover. Crossover tires also different compare to normal car/van tires. If you want more durable, most people with knowledge will search for like SUV/Crossover rated tires. Example like UC6 SUV, Yokohama AE61, Toyo CR1 SUV, Goodyear Effiientgrip SUV, Michelin Primacy/Pilot Sport 4 SUV

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 2 2023, 09:28 AM
ayamxxx
post Oct 2 2023, 09:55 AM

4,058 posts

If TS want good NVH, u are getting a wrong car with HM model. They cut cost on NVH materials especially the under roof area and behind door trim. Not sure if those sound deadening shop able to improve it by a lot.
ktek
post Oct 2 2023, 06:00 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 2 2023, 09:27 AM)
The only continental people complain much is the old MC5 model, newer model like UC7 or CC6 very seldom heard. Besides that your driving a HRV which is a crossover. Crossover tires also different compare to normal car/van tires. If you want more durable, most people with knowledge will search for like SUV/Crossover rated tires. Example like UC6 SUV, Yokohama AE61, Toyo CR1 SUV, Goodyear Effiientgrip SUV, Michelin Primacy/Pilot Sport 4 SUV
which part is different. i been using civic fe rim and tyre on van.
felt good because ringan
ktek
post Oct 2 2023, 06:03 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 2 2023, 09:55 AM)
If TS want good NVH, u are getting a wrong car with HM model. They cut cost on NVH materials especially the under roof area and behind door trim. Not sure if those sound deadening shop able to improve it by a lot.
we may say cut cost cheapskate. factory say lowered weight for stability and improve green fc.
so
littlefire
post Oct 2 2023, 06:04 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 2 2023, 07:00 PM)
which part is different. i been using civic fe rim and tyre on van.
felt good because ringan
Side wall - Normal car & van road tires only 1 layer side wall.

Only those lower profile sport tires or SUV rated are 2 layer to provide more side wall protection.
ayamxxx
post Oct 2 2023, 06:10 PM

4,058 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 2 2023, 06:03 PM)
we may say cut cost cheapskate. factory say lowered weight for stability and improve green fc.
so
Weirdly CBU Honda great on NVH, miles better than Alor Gajah made. They dont emphasis on FC?
kirakun
post Oct 2 2023, 06:12 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 2 2023, 09:55 AM)
Agreed. Been there, done that before with crv. Spent a hefty sum for soundproof but the end result is way below expectation and maybe only marginally better than before. Not worth the time and 💸 spent.
ayamxxx
post Oct 2 2023, 06:16 PM

4,058 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Oct 2 2023, 06:12 PM)
Agreed. Been there, done that before with crv. Spent a hefty sum for soundproof but the end result is way below expectation and maybe only marginally better than before. Not worth the time and  💸 spent.
Afraid the window thickness also they choose the thinnest made possible. That contribute a lot for soundproofing factor. China car able to give thicker or double layer window nowadays for Chery model, hopefully many brand more copy paste that.
ayamxxx
post Oct 2 2023, 06:23 PM

4,058 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 2 2023, 09:27 AM)
Toyo CR1 ok? My buddies gime me 4 rubber of 19", almost brand new, yet to install it. Currently with UC6 and need to make it botak more
littlefire
post Oct 2 2023, 06:38 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 2 2023, 07:23 PM)
Toyo CR1 ok? My buddies gime me 4 rubber of 19", almost brand new, yet to install it. Currently with UC6 and need to make it botak more
Consider budget tires range from Toyo, but at least better than those China/Thailand non-branded 1.
ktek
post Oct 2 2023, 10:07 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Oct 2 2023, 06:12 PM)
Agreed. Been there, done that before with crv. Spent a hefty sum for soundproof but the end result is way below expectation and maybe only marginally better than before. Not worth the time and  💸 spent.
kena shop tactics apply sticky things.
in the end u dampened inside noise source not outside.
littlefire
post Oct 3 2023, 08:23 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Oct 2 2023, 07:12 PM)
Do you know what type & location they do apply soundproof to your car? Soundproof got many materials and different area to paste to reduce certain sound. I seated 1 car with full soundproof, even outside people horn or shout also cannot hear inside. laugh.gif But the problem, car added weight a lot and feel heavy to move felt like added at least 2 person weight (Est. 100kg++) That car is done in this way due to owner want audio sound quality in his ride and feel isolate inside, so both the soundproof material need to absorb/isolate outside and internal sound (to reduce external, echo & vibration sound).

You need to ask and tell the soundproof person what you want, if not some might go for internal sound proof material for car audio quality setup like 1 member said. If want to reduce certain sound like from engine bay, tire or suspension area, different type of sound proof material need to add on engine bay firewall/bonnet, wheel arch/fender area.
em_on
post Oct 3 2023, 08:25 AM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 3 2023, 08:23 AM)
Do you know what type & location they do apply soundproof to your car? Soundproof got many materials and different area to paste to reduce certain sound. I seated 1 car with full soundproof, even outside people horn or shout also cannot hear inside.  laugh.gif But the problem, car added weight a lot and feel heavy to move felt like added at least 2 person weight (Est. 100kg++) That car is done in this way due to owner want audio sound quality in his ride and feel isolate inside, so both the soundproof material need to absorb/isolate outside and internal sound (to reduce external, echo & vibration sound).

You need to ask and tell the soundproof person what you want, if not some might go for internal sound proof material for car audio quality setup like 1 member said. If want to reduce certain sound like from engine bay, tire or suspension area, different type of sound proof material need to add on engine bay firewall/bonnet, wheel arch/fender area.
oh no, means well insulated until can't hear ambulance ? sweat.gif

0.0182sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:19 PM