Which Home Automation (Alexa, Google Home, Xiaomi), You use
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 25 2023, 09:32 PM, updated 3y ago
Which Home Automation (Alexa, Google Home, Xiaomi, etc) you use or plan to use?
I have fragmented smart devices, like smart curtain xiaomi china, xiaomi cctv global version, google home nest hub...
So difficult to integrate all under 1 roof.
also Alexa now using LLM, a lot smarter than google home. Xiaomi Xiao-Ai also using LLM soon.
What do you use?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(knives. @ Sep 25 2023, 09:34 PM) Wont have that problem if you upgrade everything to the best of the bunch i.e. Apple Apple got home automation, lol. Its eco system is so tiny compared to Google Home and Alexa. No one using Apple home automation now.
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(gyver @ Sep 26 2023, 11:16 AM) Nope. I am a paranoid tech freak. I don't trust these tech to protect my privacy and security. I disable cam and voice on Android TV. Also block internet access when sleeping and unplug if outstation or holiday. U rich and famous? U elon musk? IF not, who want to spy on you???
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 25 2023, 10:24 PM) Use home assistant to integrate all. Heard about home assistant, can it use several cams to monitor any intruder than send alert to mobile phone and siren/light too?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 26 2023, 04:42 PM) Not only Google Home. 90% of Tuya stuff is compatible with Google Home and Alexa and sometimes Apple Homekit. You cannot go wrong with Tuya Tuya damn cheap. Cheaper than Sonoff. B40 like you and me just buy Tuya can dy Is Tuya smart switch good? OR Xiaomi switch and other?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 05:01 PM
Anyone knows why some smart switch got live wire, some don't have?
What is the difference? Pro and Con??
This post has been edited by GoodMorningMY: Sep 26 2023, 05:01 PM
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 26 2023, 05:04 PM) Good. I use all Tuya. Xiaomi too expensive Not worth Neutral to power the switch. But nowadays without neutral they can still power the switch via some magic trick that I am not going to explain because I am electrical engineer and you are not. Obviously neutral is best but your house lighting switch no neutral one. Just buy without neutral and without need for capacitor. Don't buy the one that need capacitor. You will regret. Search for "without neutral" + " without capacitor." Dear Electrical Engineer, https://shopee.com.my/Tuya-Smart-Switch-wit...34-79edc8d4241fThis one ok? Zigbee 3 gang no neutral no cap. Thanks in advance. BTW, I can just use echo show direct connect to this switch right, no need buy another zigbee hub?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 26 2023, 05:55 PM) Zigbee need hub I suggest use ethernet zigbee hub connect to router for stabilty https://s.lazada.com.my/s.6Ed3FSmartrul is branded Tuya maker Alexa echo show got built-in zigbee hub support, not sure if it works with tuya one. Also, say I install 3-gang zigbee, 3-gang zigbee, 2-gang zigbee. I can all connect to the zigbee hub right and give each unique label? Noob here.
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 26 2023, 07:11 PM) Ya I can understand I am Google. You are Apple Different market Is smartrul same as tuya?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 26 2023, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 26 2023, 05:55 PM) Zigbee need hub I suggest use ethernet zigbee hub connect to router for stabilty https://s.lazada.com.my/s.6Ed3FSmartrul is branded Tuya maker Ignore the question, you already answered here. BTW, can I use the smart switch for fan?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 27 2023, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(emino @ Sep 27 2023, 08:53 AM) Lampu, Switches and Aircond. TV, Dishwasher and Washer-Dryer also is connected but just monitoring. And my LG water filter is connected just because it can lol. For lampu I pair with movement sensor sebab wife complaint don't like to keep saying to Google to open lights. Then ada additional automation to on and off certain lights at certain time. I also have a smart button installed in bed to manually control light for bedroom (shortpress) and entire home (longpress) if needed. My aircond usually on pakai voice command but for off I letak auto off living room AC at 1 AM and auto off bedroom AC at 4 am. Fans semua auto off at 5, sebab kalau tak bini aku tak bangun tido after I go gym. I also use one smart switch to automate my wife punya candle warmer, so every 3 hours it will turn on for 1 hour to keep the house scented. Nice! But no vacuum robot? Surprise. So seems like you using Google Home only. Lampu and switches pakai what brand? For aircond, your aircond switch is always on?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 27 2023, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(emino @ Sep 27 2023, 09:00 AM) 2 cara - if your fan xde IR remote, then you kena replace switch to the fan to be smart switch. - if your fan ada IR remote, you can buy IR Remote Box that can be paired with Smart Home and the app will handle automation from there. IR remote difficult, since got 2 fans in living/dining area. Both fans will be on and off at the same time, got 1 xiao ai IR smart speaker, I can use it to control aircond but it will turn on/off both aircond at the same time. So looking at smart switch instead. TV got chromecast.
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 28 2023, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(JON97 @ Sep 27 2023, 02:00 PM) It depends on how many device and how complex you want it to be.. If want it simple, get a hub eg tunya, zigbee.. But if you want more compatibility, more integrations and no need to go back to the same brand.. Home assistant. However home assistant will require self setting up and configurations. Can home assistant link to Alexa/Google Home voice assistant or its own voice assistant?
TSGoodMorningMY
Sep 29 2023, 05:40 PM
Anyone knows why my Xiaomi Roidmi Eve Plus Vaccum bot works well in Xiaomi App, but it wont show in Google Home even after I linked both. Other devices in Xiaomi App all show in Google Home and working perfectly.