Outstanding Payment from CANCELLED ACCOUNT

TSstruggleofnewbie P
post Sep 25 2023, 02:49 PM, updated 3y ago

Probation
26 posts

Do anyone have any related experience for the same situation? I want to switch my postpaid plan and now Maxis tell me that I have outstanding payment for an supplementary line that is cancelled 5 years ago. Before we cancel the account successfully, we already paid for all the outstanding balance at the same day where we transfer the supplementary line to become own individual principal line. Everything goes well and just really recent only the Maxis suddenly shows notification that we have outstanding balance for the cancelled account which is impossible as we very sure we paid for it. We dont have any transaction record or any bill cause we paid by cash at the Maxis centre.

Can anyone who have similar experience provided some advice how to deal with this except paying for this? We have check with the Maxis centre, they insisted us to pay for it although they couldnt find the record of the outstanding except referring to the system notification that shows the outstanding. They even told us nothing we can do except paying, we can just let it be without paying but the principal line holder will be blacklisted and couldnt do any changes to the plan or subscribe anything.
treblecase
post Sep 28 2023, 10:20 PM

IHI
779 posts

Most likely pro rated charge. For example your account billing date is 7th of each month, you canceled the line on say 20th. Even though you settled the latest bill, you’ll still owe them the charges between the 7th & 20th.
mlamlam
post Sep 29 2023, 10:43 AM

652 posts

You have no where to check the bill until goto their Maxis Center to ask...

I kena before and credit rating got decreased..
p4n6
post Sep 29 2023, 05:47 PM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(struggleofnewbie @ Sep 25 2023, 02:49 PM)
Do anyone have any related experience for the same situation? I want to switch my postpaid plan and now Maxis tell me that I have outstanding payment for an supplementary line that is cancelled 5 years ago. Before we cancel the account successfully, we already paid for all the outstanding balance at the same day where we transfer the supplementary line to become own individual principal line. Everything goes well and just really recent only the Maxis suddenly shows notification that we have outstanding balance for the cancelled account which is impossible as we very sure we paid for it. We dont have any transaction record or any bill cause we paid by cash at the Maxis centre.

Can anyone who have similar experience provided some advice how to deal with this except paying for this? We have check with the Maxis centre, they insisted us to pay for it although they couldnt find the record of the outstanding except referring to the system notification that shows the outstanding. They even told us nothing we can do except paying, we can just let it be without paying but the principal line holder will be blacklisted and couldnt do any changes to the plan or subscribe anything.
I think classic problem for maxis postpaid.

Because it is postpaid, your last payment is calculated up to the billing date. So anything after will be prorate into the next month bill.

Like let say your billing date is 15/9, you terminate on 20/9. So when u settle payment during termination, you actually pay until 15/9. But your last bill is actually on 15/10 which will be your usage from 16/9-20/9 (4 days).

What worse is ... you won't be able to see the new bill from your Maxis app or online anymore as you have already been terminated.

Not sure they still send paper bill or online bill after that ... but my sister hit this before almost throw chair in the centre.

This post has been edited by p4n6: Sep 29 2023, 05:49 PM
iz1011
post Oct 3 2023, 09:08 PM

516 posts

It's just the pro-rated charges only they can only have the bill after end of the bill cycle.
zephyrwatt
post Nov 6 2023, 03:09 PM

154 posts

i just landed with this similar prob n few days ago being notified by celcom i am blacklisted by maxis.

7 years ago, i settled maxis bill before being allowed to port to celcom. i called their collection, confirmed i have outstanding. i am baffled n confused how come i still got outstanding bcoz i was told by their own maxis staff at centre that i have cleared off the bill in order to port to celcom.
Oltromen Ripot
post Nov 6 2023, 10:15 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(zephyrwatt @ Nov 6 2023, 03:09 PM)
i just landed with this similar prob n few days ago being notified by celcom i am blacklisted by maxis.

7 years ago, i settled maxis bill before being allowed to port to celcom. i called their collection, confirmed i have outstanding. i am baffled n confused how come i still got outstanding bcoz i was told by their own maxis staff at centre that i have cleared off the bill in order to port to celcom.
not just maxis. all postpaid bills are like this. and more so since now is unlike decades ago when we are required to put deposit before can sign up.

yes - you paid up to your most recent bill issued in the day(s) prior to port out or termination.
after all, the condition to port out or terminate is just to pay off the amount due up to most recent bill.

what you failed to pay is the amount you incurred between that most recent bill until the date of your port out or termination was effective.

all telcos and ISPs made it onus on you to follow up on the next (last) bill AFTER port out or termination.

TaylorS8
post Nov 6 2023, 10:18 PM

72 posts

Luckily i use prepaid
zephyrwatt
post Nov 7 2023, 08:36 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 6 2023, 10:15 PM)
not just maxis. all postpaid bills are like this. and more so since now is unlike decades ago when we are required to put deposit before can sign up.

yes - you paid up to your most recent bill issued in the day(s) prior to port out or termination.
after all, the condition to port out or terminate is just to pay off the amount due up to most recent bill.

what you failed to pay is the amount you incurred between that most recent bill until the date of your port out or termination was effective.

all telcos and ISPs made it onus on you to follow up on the next (last) bill AFTER port out or termination.
yep few friends work in maxis told me the same, but my old maxis bill cycle was dated every 24th and i ported completely to celcom on 21st in the same month, 3 days prior to the bill cycle.

i wasn't being told nor informed by the maxis staff there will be a last bill after termination. they only said 'all sudah settle, now u can port no worry' which i did immediately as celcom only right next door.

odd enough that i was able to do everything with celcom in the past 7 years without anything holding me back - easyphone twice, 2000 credit limit increase. till recently due to maxis blacklisted me.

the outstanding amount was only RM93.60, so i just paid full 2 days ago despite after lodged a complain to maxis.

Oltromen Ripot
post Nov 7 2023, 08:43 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(zephyrwatt @ Nov 7 2023, 08:36 AM)
yep few friends work in maxis told me the same, but my old maxis bill cycle was dated every 24th and i ported completely to celcom on 21st in the same month, 3 days prior to the bill cycle.

i wasn't being told nor informed by the maxis staff there will be a last bill after termination. they only said 'all sudah settle, now u can port no worry' which i did immediately as celcom only right next door.

odd enough that i was able to do everything with celcom in the past 7 years without anything holding me back - easyphone twice, 2000 credit limit increase. till recently due to maxis blacklisted me.

the outstanding amount was only RM93.60, so i just paid full 2 days ago despite after lodged a complain to maxis.
actually the stupidest between all 3 is Celcom.

Once you port out or terminate, you can't check nor even pay your final bill EXCEPT through walk in to Celcom's Blue Cube counter to manual enquire. The real Blue Cube; not even its authorised dealers' pseudo Blue Cube.
Both your mobile number and account number can no longer be used to pay via any other channel offline or online. Not even through Celcom's own portal. Last number ported out from Celcom was about ~1yr ago, I think.

I hope that stupidity will not infect Digi after the merge.
I terminated one of teo Infinite 150 about 2 months ago, and had been postponing payment. Recently Digi still emailed final bill for the 2nd time after termination and I was able to pay via its own portal.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Nov 7 2023, 08:44 AM

0.2214sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:35 AM