Yes you can. As I said it is a server.
Dvico TViX media player owner, pls come in
Jun 17 2008, 10:47 PM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Yes you can. As I said it is a server.
Jun 18 2008, 10:39 AM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
thanks dude,now i need to source for NAS liao, btw, wats the alternative, firewire solution?
Jun 18 2008, 01:15 PM
796 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Jun 18 2008, 02:55 PM
thanks ikanmanga
Jun 19 2008, 11:02 AM
Tell us ur fun with the NAS thingy...
Jun 19 2008, 11:19 AM
er... stil dunno where to start, wny other brands? better looking ones?
or better functions? sorry guys, im not very good at this things and must be mac compatible as well |
Jun 19 2008, 02:02 PM
1,161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:19 AM) er... stil dunno where to start, wny other brands? better looking ones? Many brands of NAS out there. Popular (reputable) ones include QNAP, Synology, D-Link. Avoid the Netgear ones. Many china-brand NAS out there which should be cheaper. or better functions? sorry guys, im not very good at this things and must be mac compatible as well IMHO, what's important besides the form factor (which I know is important to you) is: (1) the noise level (esp. when idle since the NAS is usually left on 24x7 and the fan starts to kick in). (2) continued firmware upgrades. The features of the NAS is found in the firmwares, so if the manufacturers only sell the nas box but don't bother upgrading their firmware as your model gets older, then you are left out of the latest features. This is important because you are not really buying hardware (ie the nas case) but the features that the nas offers. So buy one that has good after-sales support. (3) no. of bays for future expansion. Single-bay NAS may seem enough right now, but I tell you once you've experienced a HDD crash on a NAS, the idea of having at least 2-bays will be mighty attractive. Having a 2-bay NAS will allow you to run it on RAID mode (mirror) especially if you have invaluable data on the hard disk (e.g. priceless baby videos, photos, etc.). I find the QNAP is quieter than the Synology. I base that on my TS-209 vs my Synology 106e. Perhaps the newer Synology models are quieter, I don't know. I also have a Buffalo NAS, my first one long time ago. I'm getting a TS-409 soon. Bear in mind u can use the Synology and QNAP to stream to your PS3 as well, so there's some overlap in function between the PS3 and tvix. U can use the PS3 to play mpg/divx, mp3, jpg files off the NAS. Of course, the tvix does more than that. Hope that helps. Edit - oh yea, most NAS are Mac compatible as well, since they are not OS-dependant. This post has been edited by terranova: Jun 19 2008, 02:15 PM |
Jun 19 2008, 10:08 PM
2,706 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: sunway @ middle earth |
Bro RX, if u check a few pages back, there is 1 guy who posted some cheap looking media player. He also sells NAS. Got Qnap n Synology. Check this or the other media players thread.
Jun 19 2008, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(terranova @ Jun 19 2008, 02:02 PM) Many brands of NAS out there. Popular (reputable) ones include QNAP, Synology, D-Link. Avoid the Netgear ones. Many china-brand NAS out there which should be cheaper. Qnap and synology have the same future and the price are almost same. I choose snology over qnap because it have fan. Qnap is using passive cooler and abit hot running. I don't think it is good for HDD since the nas mostly running 24/7. A HDD running with high temp = shorther life. Run till now, I hardly hear the fan noise.IMHO, what's important besides the form factor (which I know is important to you) is: (1) the noise level (esp. when idle since the NAS is usually left on 24x7 and the fan starts to kick in). (2) continued firmware upgrades. The features of the NAS is found in the firmwares, so if the manufacturers only sell the nas box but don't bother upgrading their firmware as your model gets older, then you are left out of the latest features. This is important because you are not really buying hardware (ie the nas case) but the features that the nas offers. So buy one that has good after-sales support. (3) no. of bays for future expansion. Single-bay NAS may seem enough right now, but I tell you once you've experienced a HDD crash on a NAS, the idea of having at least 2-bays will be mighty attractive. Having a 2-bay NAS will allow you to run it on RAID mode (mirror) especially if you have invaluable data on the hard disk (e.g. priceless baby videos, photos, etc.). I find the QNAP is quieter than the Synology. I base that on my TS-209 vs my Synology 106e. Perhaps the newer Synology models are quieter, I don't know. I also have a Buffalo NAS, my first one long time ago. I'm getting a TS-409 soon. Bear in mind u can use the Synology and QNAP to stream to your PS3 as well, so there's some overlap in function between the PS3 and tvix. U can use the PS3 to play mpg/divx, mp3, jpg files off the NAS. Of course, the tvix does more than that. Hope that helps. Edit - oh yea, most NAS are Mac compatible as well, since they are not OS-dependant. Added on June 19, 2008, 11:26 pm QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 18 2008, 10:39 AM) Why you need a NAS? You mean connection beside firewire? That would be E-sata.This post has been edited by ozak: Jun 19 2008, 11:32 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 10:05 AM
er... i need NAS, so tat i can share and transfer the files, rather than pluggin in and out? cos my files are in my notebook and imac, both wirelessly connected to the router.
and since, i just shifted my tvix, next to the router, its now easily coneected wihtout having to buy a wireless dongle |
Jun 21 2008, 10:09 AM
abang terra... thanks for the info
so a better bet would be to go for qnap and synology? which are the models i shud look for, i wen to their webbie yesterday, see also pening, so many types my budget would be for entry or midlevel pricing, not high ends ones how can my ps3 connect to it as well? does it matter if the HDD inside is formatted as NTFS? |
Jun 21 2008, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2008, 10:09 AM) abang terra... thanks for the info Adinda rx, so a better bet would be to go for qnap and synology? which are the models i shud look for, i wen to their webbie yesterday, see also pening, so many types my budget would be for entry or midlevel pricing, not high ends ones how can my ps3 connect to it as well? does it matter if the HDD inside is formatted as NTFS? I can't vouch for the other brands as I've never used them, but I can say that QNAP and Synology features and after-sales support are good. Go to their website and look under the Home/SOHO section. Basically, they're all almost the same, main difference is whether it's 1-bay (1 HDD), 2-bay (2 HDD) or 4-bay. Those with > 1 bay can do RAID configuration e.g. RAID 1, RAID 5, etc. QNAP models - TS109 (1 bay), TS209 (2 bays), TS409 (4 bays) Synology models - 107 (1 bay), 207 (2 bays), 407 (4 bays) As long as the NAS are DNLA-compliant, your PS3 will recognise them on your home network when you search for it and the NAS will appear as an icon under the Music/Photo/Video sections in XMB. Synology and QNAP are not the cheapest in the market. If you want cheaper ones, I'm certain there are many brands in the market. I'm just not familiar with them. Another thing to take note, rx, is that you probably need to reformat your hdd before u can use it with your nas. This post has been edited by terranova: Jun 21 2008, 09:18 PM |
Jun 22 2008, 11:44 PM
NAS things look very complicated......
Jun 24 2008, 02:03 AM
Jun 24 2008, 10:00 AM
thanks for the inputs braders
hmmm, i wonder is this thing sold locally here in jaybee? any idea how much would it cost me? any others with rekomendation to cheaper alternatives? hmmm, if i go 2 bays, the max i can go is 2tb rite? after 2 tb, then wat? |
Jun 24 2008, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 24 2008, 10:00 AM) thanks for the inputs braders I think it's better u go shopping for this in SG. Probably better choices there. Just a thought. hmmm, i wonder is this thing sold locally here in jaybee? any idea how much would it cost me? any others with rekomendation to cheaper alternatives? hmmm, if i go 2 bays, the max i can go is 2tb rite? after 2 tb, then wat? I bought my Synology 106e (the predecessor to the 107e) for HK$1,600 (about RM650) and QNAP TS-209 for HK$2,550 (~RM1k). Yep, 2 bays max 2TB, but if u run on mirror mode (RAID 1), then only 1TB as the other hdd is used to mirror the first hdd. This is what I use to store invaluable data like kid's videos & photos, hundreds of ripped CDs with scanned cover art, etc). But don't forget that you can hook up any external hdd to the NAS via usb/e-sata/firewire (depending on model) if u need to. Just curious, is it easy to navigate the TVIX without using the TV/monitor? I mean e.g. when u want to listen to music, u just need to switch on the amp/av receiver and the TVIX. But u still need to go search for the song or playlist etc so u need to navigate via the built-in VFD screen on the TVIX. Is it cumbersome? Also what does the screen display while the song is played? A scrolling text of the title & artist (like Squeezebox)? About RAID : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redundant_arr...dependent_disks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels This post has been edited by terranova: Jun 24 2008, 11:09 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 24 2008, 11:07 AM
terra... spore nowadyas jam gila....
hmmm, i wonder has the price gone down yet or not? most likely i won run on RAID, dun really need back up for the movie files im having so wtih this NAS, lets say im dling something on the same network, i can direct the location to the NAS? and wat if not on the same network, im in office, NAS at home, is it possible as well? |
Jun 24 2008, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 24 2008, 11:07 AM) terra... spore nowadyas jam gila.... Yes u can redirect the download to the NAS. THe NAS will show up on your Windows Explorer as another hard disk just like your local hard disk C:. But actually, most NAS now comes with built-in BT downloading software so u can download using this even when your PC/notebook is not switched on. So technically, your NAS is a 24x7 BT downloading station. HOwever, the BT speed may not be as great as what u may experience on the notebook/pc, but heck leave it on for a day and it'll still get the job done if speed is not your major concern. hmmm, i wonder has the price gone down yet or not? most likely i won run on RAID, dun really need back up for the movie files im having so wtih this NAS, lets say im dling something on the same network, i can direct the location to the NAS? and wat if not on the same network, im in office, NAS at home, is it possible as well? |
Jun 24 2008, 11:41 AM
whoa.... too bad i dun BT
hmmm. spore site mostly buffallo and dlink brand nia... dunno any local lowyat seller selling or not bro, ps3 will recognize is as long as its DLNA compliant? my setup would most prolly be like this ps3 wireless / wired tvix wired NAS wired imac wireless vaio wireless so shudnt be a problem? |
Jun 24 2008, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 24 2008, 11:41 AM) whoa.... too bad i dun BT Yes PS3 will recognise any DLNA-compliant NAS. hmmm. spore site mostly buffallo and dlink brand nia... dunno any local lowyat seller selling or not bro, ps3 will recognize is as long as its DLNA compliant? my setup would most prolly be like this ps3 wireless / wired tvix wired NAS wired imac wireless vaio wireless so shudnt be a problem? I don't see any problem with your proposed set-up. My only advise would be to check if your router can do gigabit speeds to help speed up transfer rates. Otherwise, big files may take some time, esp on those wireless connections. I think u can get Synology and QNAP products in KL (not sure about JB). Call up the distributor and find out their JB retailer. Refer to this thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/653445 QUOTE QNAP and Synology have distributror in malaysia: Build Technology Supply sdn bhd. How to connect QNAP to PS3 : http://www.qnap.com/pro_features_PS3.aspor you also can get it at low yat palza :All IT, C-zone, Viewnet, Midi Specialist |
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:09 PM |