Don't simply seize handphones

SUSraynman
post Sep 22 2023, 12:29 PM, updated 3y ago

4,333 posts

Why the need to seize phones during probe

PETALING JAYA: Former law minister Zaid Ibrahim, who is being investigated for sedition, has questioned the need for police to confiscate his phone.

Zaid said it was unnecessary to do so when the “person under investigation admitted to writing the tweet”.

He suggested that the Malaysian Bar and other human rights groups should look into the Communications and Multimedia Act.

“Making it an offence to express oneself is bad enough, but to impoverish them by taking their phones is cruel,” he said in another tweet today.

Zaid was questioned by Bukit Aman under the Sedition Act yesterday over a post on X (formerly Twitter) which touched on the royalty.

In January, police also seized the phones belonging to aides to economic affairs minister Rafizi Ramli and Bentong MP Young Syefura Othman.

Both Farhan Iqbal and Noor Suhana Ishak also questioned the need to have their phones seized.

In June, FMT reported that graphic artist and activist Fahmi Reza had his phone returned a year after it was confiscated when the police investigated him over a satirical poster.

The police had seized a phone and a SIM card for investigation under the Sedition Act as well as the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...x-law-minister/
AbbyCom
post Sep 22 2023, 01:08 PM

452 posts

They not looking for just the evidence of the tweet, they looking for other incriminating evidence too, in case there are private collection - can add on a few other charges ma
SUSraynman
post Sep 22 2023, 02:57 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 22 2023, 01:08 PM)
They not looking for just the evidence of the tweet, they looking for other incriminating evidence too, in case there are private collection - can add on a few other charges ma
Are the police legally empowered to look for other incriminating evidence? Not too sure about that.

SUSTongPakFu
post Sep 22 2023, 03:04 PM

141 posts

Sep 22 2023, 03:05 PM
This post has been deleted by raynman because: .

AbbyCom
post Sep 22 2023, 03:24 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Sep 22 2023, 02:57 PM)
Are the police legally empowered to look for other incriminating evidence? Not too sure about that.
I no legal expert - sometimes police use social engineering - they make you assume that seizing your phone is part of the investigation of the offence that you are being investigated. Some people being investigated like Zaid and some rights activists know their rights, they gip the popo the middle finger when the investigating office ask to take their phones.

We all experienced this - when popo pulled us to the road side, they will ask if we know our traffic offence will cause us to be fined a lot of money or need to go to courts (that was before this was really the case) so that you would be motivated to pay a small 'assistance fee' to wiggle your way out of that. They will try to exploit some of our Asian upbringing to conform to authorities or to avoid inconvenience.

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Sep 22 2023, 03:26 PM
SUSAccord2018
post Sep 22 2023, 03:27 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

2feidei and 9m2w sure use different phones went going out to work. brows.gif

On a serious note, they cannot suka2 check your phone. The suspicion must be reasonable or if have people made a report against you.
SUSTongPakFu
post Sep 22 2023, 03:34 PM

141 posts

Sep 22 2023, 03:47 PM
This post has been deleted by raynman because: .

seather
post Sep 22 2023, 03:37 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,334 posts

hey boys.. BN is back!

#ReforMATI

This post has been edited by seather: Sep 22 2023, 03:38 PM
maxpudding
post Sep 22 2023, 03:51 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Sep 22 2023, 03:27 PM)
2feidei and 9m2w sure use different phones went going out to work.  brows.gif

On a serious note, they cannot suka2 check your phone. The suspicion must be reasonable or if have people made a report against you.
Diamlah lamtin

You tunggu masuk court again
SUSAccord2018
post Sep 22 2023, 03:52 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Sep 22 2023, 03:51 PM)
Diamlah lamtin

You tunggu masuk court again
Can you shut up? You only a Low IQ non professional who are you to talk to me? my last message to you ler adi block it. Low iq slandere no right to disturb okay. You await your bad karma punishment together with your lampazhi gangs.

This post has been edited by Accord2018: Sep 22 2023, 04:11 PM
pobox
post Sep 22 2023, 03:52 PM

551 posts

During World Cup time some bad policeman did that and check WhatsApp. Any side bet they will deem it as illegal gambling and ask you to go balai
Rusty Nail
post Sep 22 2023, 03:56 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

I think it's the age old practice of police consficate item used to commit the crime.
BL98
post Sep 22 2023, 03:57 PM

738 posts

Technically cannot.
Evidence taken illegally cannot be admitted in court.
Fruit from poison tree doctrine.

But this is bolehland, they can do anything they like.
BL98
post Sep 22 2023, 03:59 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 22 2023, 01:08 PM)
Just do not give your phone. It is your rights.
Just because police tell you to do something, does not mean you have to follow bulat bulat.
gemusw
post Sep 22 2023, 03:59 PM

gtfo la human rights trash bodoh!
gyver
post Sep 22 2023, 04:12 PM

1,067 posts

This is the reason why Fahmi KuasaSiswa has 6 iphones laugh.gif
Natsukashii
post Sep 22 2023, 04:26 PM

^^
1,084 posts

Phone is private. Mmg tak malu ambil phone org.

Lainlah the person is suspected to take illegal photos. Hehe.

AbbyCom
post Sep 22 2023, 05:52 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Sep 22 2023, 04:12 PM)
This is the reason why Fahmi KuasaSiswa has 6 iphones laugh.gif
Lol, I have 5.
AbbyCom
post Sep 22 2023, 05:58 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Sep 22 2023, 04:26 PM)
Phone is private. Mmg tak malu ambil phone org.

Lainlah the person is suspected to take illegal photos. Hehe.
Not many knows la, especially since this is alleged crime that was committed using a mobile device. So the phone is considered the evidence.

Dunno, it's like the weapon used in the a crime - the weapon will be taken in for evidence - that's my logic but this is wrong in this case when relating to MCMC/online laws.

0.0164sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:29 AM