KDK Ceiling Fan with modified rod

TSgoolie
post Sep 21 2023, 04:04 PM, updated 3y ago

795 posts

Anyone tried to modify fan rod before? KDK Ceiling fan usually comes with standard 12 inch fan rod which is not suitable for low ceiling house. I will try to modify it to 6 inch fan rod. Do you think it works? Are drop rods truly incompatible between manufacturers?

This post has been edited by goolie: Sep 21 2023, 04:16 PM
COOLPINK
post Sep 21 2023, 04:20 PM

3,663 posts

Yes it will work but air circulation efficiency will be reduced a bit.

BTW using shortened rod too.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Sep 21 2023, 04:20 PM
TSgoolie
post Sep 21 2023, 04:32 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 21 2023, 05:20 PM)
Yes it will work but air circulation efficiency will be reduced a bit.

BTW using shortened rod too.
Do you where normally people will go to do fan rod modification? or can go hardware shop buy shorter rod? does that compatible?
COOLPINK
post Sep 21 2023, 05:33 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Sep 21 2023, 04:32 PM)
Do you where normally people will go to do fan rod modification? or can go hardware shop buy shorter rod? does that compatible?
You can find online.
I think it called universal ceiling fan downrod.
They have 6inch.

Its been a looooong time since i changed mine, so not very sure.

pigduck
post Sep 21 2023, 05:55 PM

422 posts

i want to do this too. Right now the fan rod is too long and it's affecting the lighting in my kitchen. Either I need to get shorter fan blades or change the rod so it's higher.
mini orchard
post Sep 23 2023, 07:16 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Sep 21 2023, 04:04 PM)
Anyone tried to modify fan rod before? KDK Ceiling fan usually comes with standard 12 inch fan rod which is not suitable for low ceiling house. I will try to modify it to 6 inch fan rod. Do you think it works? Are drop rods truly incompatible between manufacturers?

Why didn't you consider buying a baby fan ? It is designed for low ceiling.

Pana Nami series have short rod.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 23 2023, 07:18 AM
wailing81
post Sep 25 2023, 09:12 AM

711 posts

https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/jt-electrical

you can try pm this shop. last time i bought a longer rod from them.
you can simply replace it yourself.
SUSceo684
post Sep 25 2023, 09:45 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Return and get a baby fan lah. 40" KDK is quite windy brows.gif
amduser
post Sep 25 2023, 01:45 PM

5,542 posts

if you need shorter rod then consider getting baby fan instead, their blade pitch is higher to compensate for shorter rod and smaller size

but some baby fan come with their own hook instead of using the D hook like the normal ceiling fan

0.0184sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:01 AM