Travel with infant for the first time

TScodercoder
post Sep 18 2023, 10:39 PM, updated 3y ago

148 posts

hey guys, we plan to travel to Langkawi for 4 days 3 night with Airasia with our 18 months old baby. Normally just for two of us, we don't need to buy any checked baggage. But now with a baby, I guess we need to purchase checked baggage for baby stroller, right?

For those who have experience in this, can share your experience? notworthy.gif

hihihehe
post Sep 18 2023, 10:44 PM

13,775 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Sep 18 2023, 10:39 PM)
hey guys, we plan to travel to Langkawi for 4 days 3 night with Airasia with our 18 months old baby. Normally just for two of us, we don't need to buy any checked baggage. But now with a baby, I guess we need to purchase checked baggage for baby stroller, right?

For those who have experience in this, can share your experience?  notworthy.gif
no checked baggage for stroller

just mention you have stroller during check in and they normally will ask you to pass to the them during embarking
vapanel
post Sep 19 2023, 12:07 AM

1,075 posts

Better don't

Nowaday got COVID very high case

Baby are high risk
cuddlybubblyteddy
post Sep 19 2023, 02:17 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Sep 18 2023, 11:39 PM)

For those who have experience in this, can share your experience?  notworthy.gif
No need, just bring it to boarding gate.

The ground crew will take it and put it into plane luggage compartment

When you arrive at your destination, they will bring it over to you at the arrival gate, if not just pick up from the luggage collection belt
POYOZER
post Sep 19 2023, 07:34 AM

Traveler
3,653 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Sep 18 2023, 10:39 PM)

No need to purchase baggage for baby stroller.

Just wondering is hand carry of 2x7kg is enough to bring all the required items for baby? Based on my experience, it was not enough. My baby carry more items than me.
Lembu Goreng
post Sep 19 2023, 08:55 AM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Sep 19 2023, 07:34 AM)
No need to purchase baggage for baby stroller.

Just wondering is hand carry of 2x7kg is enough to bring all the required items for baby? Based on my experience, it was not enough. My baby carry more items than me.
This. The baby can travel light meh

No need bring diapers, milk, snacks, toys etc?

hoonanoo
post Sep 19 2023, 11:13 AM

1,782 posts

I remembered this couple that brought a baby in a 9 hour flight to Japan.

baby cried the whole night

i can't sleep.

gosh
hksgmy
post Sep 19 2023, 11:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Sep 19 2023, 11:13 AM)

i can't sleep.

gosh
Can request for ear plugs. Quite gooding one, the silicon types.
TScodercoder
post Sep 20 2023, 08:10 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(cuddlybubblyteddy @ Sep 19 2023, 02:17 AM)
No need, just bring it to boarding gate.

The ground crew will take it and put it into plane luggage compartment

When you arrive at your destination, they will bring it over to you at the arrival gate, if not just pick up from the luggage collection belt
How do they know which stroller belongs to which parents?
cuddlybubblyteddy
post Sep 20 2023, 08:16 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Sep 20 2023, 09:10 AM)
How do they know which stroller belongs to which parents?
At the check in counter they will give you a luggage tag for the stroller.

hoonanoo
post Sep 20 2023, 09:36 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 19 2023, 11:24 PM)
Can request for ear plugs. Quite gooding one, the silicon types.
Air Asia got?

hksgmy
post Sep 20 2023, 09:39 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Sep 20 2023, 09:36 AM)
Air Asia got?
Err, not sure. SQ and MAS and all legacy airlines confirm got.
dudester
post Sep 20 2023, 09:43 AM

1,222 posts

stroller just pushed to airplane door and pass to aircrew. they will pass it to luggage handler to put in cargo. when you get off, inform crew and they will bring it back.
first time travel with infant, be warned, air pressure difference will make baby cry during take off and landing. dont panic and stress.
khtan2000
post Sep 20 2023, 10:13 AM

Lurkerz
1,553 posts

depending on your stroller size but you dont need to purchase baggage for it. bigger stroller will be stored in cargo hold (just tell the air crew) or if got any space in the cabin locker, those small form factor stroller can put in overhead compartment.
I bought the one that can fold into a bag size and put inside the stroller bag.

prepare some cut fruits before flight or something for baby to munch on (by right can eat some soft stuff right by now?) so that plane landing or take off give your baby to munch abit (moving the jaw might release the air pressure and to soothe your baby, sucking also can)

you need more baggage for baby stuff though haha , milk,warmer, diapers, clothes,pillow,blanket etc , nowadays my baby/kid carries more things than us parents combined
TScodercoder
post Sep 20 2023, 10:58 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(khtan2000 @ Sep 20 2023, 10:13 AM)
depending on your stroller size but you dont need to purchase baggage for it. bigger stroller will be stored in cargo hold (just tell the air crew) or if got any space in the cabin locker, those small form factor stroller can put in overhead compartment.
I bought the one that can fold into a bag size and put inside the stroller bag.

prepare some cut fruits before flight or something for baby to munch on (by right can eat some soft stuff right by now?) so that plane landing or take off give your baby to munch abit (moving the jaw might release the air pressure and to soothe your baby, sucking also can)

you need more baggage for baby stuff though haha , milk,warmer, diapers, clothes,pillow,blanket etc , nowadays my baby/kid carries more things than us parents combined
with airasia value pack 20kg + 20kg, i think should be enough right? biggrin.gif
khtan2000
post Sep 20 2023, 09:57 PM

Lurkerz
1,553 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Sep 20 2023, 10:58 AM)
with airasia value pack 20kg + 20kg, i think should be enough right?  biggrin.gif
Should be enough lol, bring enough diapers else u need to shop in langkawi for it which is troublesome, milk formula if drinking powder already, if breastfeed then pump, milk packets, warmer, sterilizer(can use hot water from hotel kettle, else bring also) , bottle brush, baby pillow n blanket.

Important is diapers, what the baby eats, sleep, and something to play with to keep baby occupied in plane and during your holidays. Baby cream for any rashes and usb fan to keep cool, unless you all just hide inside aquarium or places with aircond

Enjoy the free airticket for baby and priority bassinet seating and boarding until 3 years old, after that you need to pay full price ticket for the seat hahahaa

hksgmy
post Sep 21 2023, 08:11 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

one advantage of travelling with infants is that some airlines allow you to carry hot water in a thermos in excess of that stupid 100ml rule...
quebix
post Sep 21 2023, 08:26 AM

Gelato Director
1,237 posts

i travel with the stroller that can be folded and can be put in overhead luggage compartment.
sometimes they ask me to do that, but most times they will check it for me.

also, travelling with a stroller/baby/small toddler usually have priority to board first, a different queue at ticketing, at boarding, at other queues etc. almost first class/VIP treatment. haha

based on experience when i travelled overseas. dont know if domestic is the same, shud be the same i guess.
hksgmy
post Sep 21 2023, 08:46 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ Sep 21 2023, 08:26 AM)
i travel with the stroller that can be folded and can be put in overhead luggage compartment.

also, travelling with a stroller/baby/small toddler usually have priority to board first, a different queue at ticketing, at boarding, at other queues etc. almost first class/VIP treatment. haha

based on experience when i travelled overseas. dont know if domestic is the same, shud be the same i guess.
In fact, on SQ flights (sorry, I rarely fly other airlines since I'm based in Singapore), babies/travelling with infants/old/infirmed etc get priority even BEFORE PPS or Suite/First Class passengers to board!
Sizty
post Sep 21 2023, 09:56 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ Sep 21 2023, 08:26 AM)

I would avoid early boarding with kids/baby. They will get annoyed with small space and the chaos of people putiing bags and things in the above compartment. We will usually stay and board last, when the cabin has calm down. With kids, tired them up before boarding, let them run around and play. When they start to sit down on the plane, they will be tired and start to sleep (hopefully). For babies, start giving them milk during take off to help them with the air pressure

Lahaha
post Sep 21 2023, 01:50 PM

219 posts

I brought my LO who was probably around the same age to Langkawi as well just a few months back.

We didn't bring the stroller with us because the little guy prefers to walk most of the time.

Hope you enjoy your trip with your LO.
quebix
post Sep 22 2023, 09:38 AM

Gelato Director
1,237 posts

QUOTE(Sizty @ Sep 21 2023, 09:56 AM)
I would avoid early boarding with kids/baby. They will get annoyed with small space and the chaos of people putiing bags and things in the above compartment. We will usually stay and board last, when the cabin has calm down. With kids, tired them up before boarding, let them run around and play. When they start to sit down on the plane, they will be tired and start to sleep (hopefully). For babies, start giving them milk during take off to help them with the air pressure
i would avoid travelling with babies at all. but toddler so far no issue for me.
the youngest age of kid i ever brought on the plane was 1 and a half years old. he was so excited to be on the plane, then slept most of the time. hahaha.
i kinda OK to do it because it was a short flight.

long flights and transits....around 4 year old. no issue at all. really appreciate the VIP/First class treatment (on queues etc )
kids also gets special airplane kits/goody bags to help them get occupied.

i think to each their own. if well behaved and well adapted kids i think no prob.

RegentCid
post Sep 22 2023, 10:01 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Aircraft during take off and diffriential pressure will make baby very uncomfortable and it may harm baby ear drum. Seriously not recomemded bring baby onboard aircraft.
karazure
post Sep 22 2023, 03:46 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Sep 19 2023, 11:13 AM)

i can't sleep.

gosh
Unker went to kimchiland with bunch of babies on board, cryin become like distorted symphony. worst flight experience ever.

TScodercoder
post Oct 4 2023, 09:00 AM

148 posts

Can we hand carry baby food or need to check in as baggage?
Icehart
post Oct 4 2023, 01:44 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Sep 22 2023, 03:46 PM)
Unker went to kimchiland with bunch of babies on board, cryin become like distorted symphony. worst flight experience ever.
Just yesterday on 6 hours flight got 2 babies on board the section cabin. Got so much cockstare from people that I actually pity the parents.
Toddler ok but babies just don't understand what the parents are trying to achieve.
Avangelice
post Oct 4 2023, 01:49 PM

5,270 posts

As a seasoned traveler. Just bring noise canceling ear phones for entertainment and ear blocks when you sleep. Unfortunately we are all not rich enough for private flights so we have to make due with flying babies
karazure
post Oct 4 2023, 03:49 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2023, 01:49 PM)
As a seasoned traveler. Just bring noise canceling ear phones for entertainment and ear blocks when you sleep. Unfortunately we are all not rich enough for private flights so we have to make due with flying babies
agree, but sayang ANC only become popular this few years.

unker oldies not such thing.
hksgmy
post Oct 5 2023, 02:35 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(codercoder @ Oct 4 2023, 09:00 AM)
Can we hand carry baby food or need to check in as baggage?
IINM Baby food is ok.
Mizwan P
post Jun 6 2025, 06:22 AM

Probation

I did a short domestic trip with my daughter when she was about 7 months, and like a few others mentioned, we didn’t need to buy extra baggage for the stroller. The airline just tagged it at check-in and took it at the gate. What helped us a lot was bringing a stroller that folds down easily and quickly—less hassle walking through security and boarding.

andrekua2
post Jun 6 2025, 06:40 AM

13,465 posts

18 months is not a baby liao... dont worry too much. Just enjoy the trip. Local trip is fun since no need chop passport etc. Walk in walk out.
Ben Amirul
post Jun 18 2025, 11:18 PM

I found very helpful to travel with a bassinet that’s light and easy to pack. I used one that doubled as a playpen, so we didn’t need anything extra at the hotel. I first read about options like these in an evolur bassinet review, which gave me a better idea of what to look for in travel-friendly gear.

0.0211sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:28 PM