Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V41, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

wc_how
post Oct 20 2023, 01:33 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2023, 01:10 PM)
But the x3060z not bad wor. Pinjam my neighbour's ones to test. Got this on my Mac mini M1. But dunno how well their implementation of mesh is. Will test that later.
Mac mini M1 5Ghz 2x2 80Mhz.
My personal experience with x3060z, single unit is quite OK but easymesh is bad for me. Not much speed improvement compared with my m4 deco set, yet it had random connection spikes.
wc_how
post Oct 20 2023, 01:53 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2023, 01:34 PM)
When you tried Easymesh, did you use cable or wireless for the 2nd unit?
Tested with both method.
Backbone mesh is faster, much faster but spikes were still there.

This post has been edited by wc_how: Oct 20 2023, 01:55 PM
wc_how
post Oct 20 2023, 04:20 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(alijoe @ Oct 20 2023, 03:14 PM)
Just read your reply and quickly turn off another ax3060z and let my main unit run without mesh. Yeah, much much better speed than easymesh. Did not realize that this DLink AX3060Z is actually not bad. Thought with easymesh better, earlier upstair 80-90Mbps. Now single unit run whoaahhh upstair 5Ghz 350-400Mbps. 2 storey terrace house.
This is why i am planning to upgrade deco series other than onemesh, easymesh, or aimesh. I never tried other series of mesh before but this 3060 easymesh had given me quite bad of experience.
Idk it was because TM firmware or dlink firmware, i am thinking to use TPlink AX73 easymesh, but it makes me thinking many times still yet to take decision.
wc_how
post Oct 20 2023, 07:08 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(hasifhanif @ Oct 20 2023, 06:59 PM)
Is Rm1000 enough for a router that can hit 500mbps on wifi? I’m eyeing Tplink axe95 for 11.11. Or do you have other suggestions?
It depends your coverage and situation, also wifi is both side, meaning your device has to be good too.
For you information i am using ac1200 (tplink deco m4) and i still able to get 450-600m.
My recommendation is buy tplink ax73 with your budget.
wc_how
post Nov 2 2023, 04:47 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Omochao @ Nov 2 2023, 03:55 PM)
Just went on to those shopee review , only way is to reuse back those old charger and plug into USB A, which got 5V step, I dont dare to DIY modify the 12V adapter existing line, might cause more troubles.

Yeah, seems to be the custom rom issue, so I'll just reconnect back to my old router WiFi5 for stability.

Better Wifi speed after using ethernet backhaul to the fiberhome mesh, so for now I think best to use it to the max, changing router really involves many unnecessary cost, even though there are 2nd hand routers in the market which comply to WiFi6 standard. tempted to, but nah...

You can get a Y cable. But overkill and noisy for router fan.
I am using a 12v fan, and cut down the speed to 5v.
wc_how
post Nov 7 2023, 11:17 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Nov 7 2023, 11:03 AM)
i just found out that the fibrehome mesh routers i got from tm won't give me full speed on all my devices & it actually cuts my speed to half.

after googling & talking to a forumer here, the solution I found was either to replace the fibrehome router with a triband router like TP-Link AXE5400 Archer AXE75 or TP-LINK Deco M9 Plus AC2200 Mesh WiFi.

so i need some advice for all the sifus here. should i just get a triband router or get deco m9 to replace the lousy fibrehome router?
Depend your house size, if big then you must get wired backbone mesh.
IDK what is your half speed, but M9 best speed (i mean in real life practical speed) like 500m~ only (same room with router), and optimised at 300m.

If your internet speed better than that, get AX3000+ with backbone.
wc_how
post Nov 7 2023, 11:36 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 7 2023, 11:27 AM)
i plug "gigabit" port of M9 Plus direct to router, then plug in the other "gigabit" LAN port to gigabit ethernet port on laptop.

in both office and home, if it passes through M9 Plus, ookla speed test maxed to above ~500Mbps.
i tested 2 * M9 Plus in case either is lemon unit. both are from different batches 1.5yr apart.
i tested with different cables, including bundled with M9 Plus, bundled with TM's router, CAT6e specifically purchased from trusted, ...
M9 is AC2200, or equal to 400+866+866m. Technically single 5Ghz best at 866m but practically it won't pass 700m. So a single M9 mostly working with 200m to 650m depend which corner you at. If direct to LAN you can max to 1gbps, unless it is wireless backbone.

This post has been edited by wc_how: Nov 7 2023, 11:36 AM
wc_how
post Nov 7 2023, 12:38 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 7 2023, 11:43 AM)
abang, you missed out that i speedtest fibre using LAN cable.
only insane people insists to brute force WIRELESS speedtest.

i bought M9 with consideration that it contained built-in speedtest.
i bought AX86U with consideration that it contained built-in speedtest.
but back then i was on 500Mbps, so the deficiency of M9 "gigabit" ports wasn't apparent.

they only become a concern when AX86U and M9 start disagreeing with large margin when I upgraded to 1Gbps.
and become red alarm tsunami alert when I'm on 2Gbps.
Mustahil wire-to-wire built-in can only barely get above ~500Mbps when even the AX86U can get around 1Gbps.
Chill bro.
I have no doubt that your M9 performance. Either with LAN or Wifi. My explaination more on real life user experience. Extreme speedtest doesn't mean anything actually. I can utilize 2gbps with AX speedtest
The end user doesn't use in a single point and with LAN only. If that case a 2.5g switch solve most of the issues.

wc_how
post Nov 8 2023, 02:01 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Nov 8 2023, 11:37 AM)
thanks for the info.

i think will shop around for tri-band mesh.
Triband wifi 5 cannot guarantee your full speed, especially if you want full 500m everywhere in your house. Upgrade all your devices to wifi6.
I use Ethernet mesh cannot guarantee that too. After 2 rooms/walls mostly left with 3XXm. Same room like 650m.
wc_how
post Nov 8 2023, 02:23 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Nov 8 2023, 02:04 PM)
i don't expect 500MB full speed. 400MB also good enough for me.

but if what you say is true, then i have to buy wifi 6 devices to get full speed instead of wasting my money on tri-band mesh.
If you read to blacktubi's review. Deco X95 & XE75, both of them, point C were about 3XXm only. Point B met with your requirement.
https://www.blacktubi.com/review/deco-xe75/
https://www.blacktubi.com/review/deco-x95/

I always suggest peoples to pull backbone mesh with AX5400. Lesser headache and high performance, and much much cheaper to very high end triband mesh. Of course not everyone can accept the wiring stuffs. Up to your decision.
wc_how
post Nov 8 2023, 09:26 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(tancyew @ Nov 8 2023, 07:03 PM)
asus ax5400?
I usually recommend for ax73 for cheap and big. No idea for Asus.
But next year should be world of MTK chipset. Some Xiaomi routers top in best routers 2023. Look forward to get them next year.
wc_how
post Nov 16 2023, 08:25 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Nov 15 2023, 06:37 PM)
If you somehow live in a place with 0 wireless interference then maybe, but in real world, unlikely

I have an AX5400 Enterprise grade AP and I can’t pull anything more than 600-700Mbps on my iPhone 15 Pro. If you want to save cost without the feeling of getting fake 2Gbps, just go for 1Gbps.

You’re a gamer which you’ll only benefit from faster downloads speeds and low latency. You can get more than 1Gbps on wireless but gaming on wireless is not something that you want to do right? And via LAN you can only pull at most 940Mbps under ideal conditions

In conclusion, save the extra money for 2Gnps or wait until TM is not stingy enough to give a ONU/ONR with 2.5Gbps port.

But hey your money your rules. That’s just where I’m coming at with a 1Gbps plan, yes I’ll get upgraded to 2Gbps for free next year and I’m willing to go the SFP GPON ONU route, but you don’t want that which you’ll just be paying TM extra for not much utilization
Sorry to say it is because iphone wifi suck. Some top end android can reach with 1.5gbps side by side with router without pressure, with AX3000.
wc_how
post Nov 16 2023, 09:07 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Nov 16 2023, 09:02 AM)
Any screenshots? As far as I’m aware, there isn’t any difference. I have a Z Fold 3 as well and it’s doing the same/similar results

Z Fold 3 is by no end the most high end android device but FastConnect 6900 in the Snapdragon 888 is already capable on reaching 3.6Gbps

Yes, I am aware that 160Mhz is not supported by iPhones , my AP currently is running in 160Mhz mode at the moment
I don't have 2gbps plan to test it, but i saw from some fb group.
Here is the speedtest from the group.

wc_how
post Nov 16 2023, 02:32 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Nov 16 2023, 01:28 PM)
Mi Mix 4 with a SD 888+ with the same FastConnect 6900, not sure what they’re doing but that’s just my results. WiFi isn’t very reliable for sustained max peak anyway, my wired can reach 940Mbps decently reliably
Can
A lot of factors to consider. Wifi doesn't build for stability, only for convenience. And once the range more than 2-3meters, it starts to degrade. If it more than 2 walls, that's almost / no difference with wifi5. Most nodes especially phones are only 2x2 mu-mimo, with 160mhz max 2400m, while some of them are only 80mhz, mean best at 1200m. Real life usage -30% discount.
This is what my understanding on the wifi knowledge.

** Isn't Fastconnect wifi 6e?

*** Just read snapdragon doc, fastconnect is 2x2+2x2, if you dont have wifi 6e, mean you are using 2x2 2.4g + 2x2 5g. If your phone is running 80mhz ax3000, or equal to 1200m. You probably having best speed of 2.4g 80-100m + 5g 800-900m. You rarely get beyond 1gbps. And it wont match the total speed like 3.6gbps as it is total max speed.

This post has been edited by wc_how: Nov 16 2023, 03:49 PM
wc_how
post Nov 30 2023, 08:43 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(mikey8811 @ Nov 28 2023, 03:27 PM)
So TM did really counter offer you RM 110 for 500 Mbps with 6 months free and MESH routers?

If so, I am going to lodge a complaint because it is discriminatory - they should be offering the same to everyone.
Hmm if discrimination i think the whole SWU plans are discriminating to all the other normal users. I think nothing you can do nor they care it.

0.0270sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:18 AM