Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V41, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 16 2023, 10:54 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 16 2023, 10:45 AM)
I need 2 APs for my house. Will probably get another hAP AX3 or a cheaper hAP AX2 soon.
Been thinking the same,obtaining one more ax device of mikrotik for extending coverage.
Waiting for audience ax is like forever......

hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 16 2023, 11:15 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 16 2023, 11:03 AM)
Another one I'm looking forward to is cAP ax. Not sure if it's already in MY yet. Maybe get that instead of hAP ax2. I don't like the antennas on the hAP ax3 but no choice, had to get because got USB slot for external storage for containers. Have you tried containers yet? Adguard Home, for example, runs pretty well.
Cap ax is a good choice.I maybe will wait for abit for the audiance or get another hap ax3.
Not yet, maybe will try it too.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 09:23 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(Marcion @ Oct 17 2023, 08:51 AM)
Hello guys, I have problem with the unifi speed, I got SMS from TM unifi saying free upgrade completed from 300 to 500mbps but stock router give only same speed 200mbps. So I bought new router Asus rt-ax53u, after setup up, firmware update, set 2.4ghz bandwidth to max 40 and 5ghz to 80, tested TM speed at early morning get
[attachmentid=11482352]
I also did set IPv6 to native. So why I still not able to get at 400+ Mbps or 500mbps speed?
Disable IPV6 and test again.
The cpu might not able to handle ipv6 greater than 400Mbps.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 09:47 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 17 2023, 09:32 AM)
so many questions on speed after upgrades, new router, new eqpt, etc.. n i m a little confused or maybe out of date on wifi tech...? biggrin.gif

will be good if u or other gurus can u help clarify:

assuming proper modem, premium router, correct cables, latest premium mobile phone used to test:

1. is it normal to expect full wifi speed using wifi 6, 5ghz? Or typically 70, 80% of max?

2. does it make a big difference using ookla, fast.com, netflix apps for testing?

3. if using wifi 5, 5ghz, close to router, what may be the max speed one shud expect... 30, 50, 60% of max?
Short answer.
1. 50-60%
2. nope,all having Malaysia hosted server.
3. 50-60%

I believe this WIFI speed was covered on Soonwai pinned thread.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 10:12 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 17 2023, 09:56 AM)
that means...

ethernet : wifi
800 : 400-500
500 : 250-300
300 : 150-200

i m puzzled why still 1 of every 2 posts in this or related threads are about "not getting full speed with wifi"!
Not like that..what im refering was on the wifi side.
If you subsribed to 500Mbps internet package,you should have 500Mbps speed.
On the wifi side of things, if you have wifi6 AX 5GHz at 1200Mbps,you should have approx 60% of the rated speed due to the nature of wifi.

Example, you have AC wifi 5 ( 2 stream) of 80MHz wide channel ( 867Mbps ) router accesspoint, expect 50-60% speed of the wifi if you have the matching client.
when you have wifi 6 AX ( 2 stream ) of 80MHz wide (1200Mbps)....the same as above if you have matching client.

when you have router AP with wifi 6 with 160MHz wide ( 2400Mbps ), you could eventually hit max speed of your subscribed internet package of 800Mbps with client matching wifi hardware spec of your wifi accesspoint.

"not getting the full speed " was due to those(wifi) hardware.Same goes to the router capabilities (CPU) of routing and other overhead.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 10:45 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 17 2023, 10:30 AM)
thanks much, jojo and felix.

i think i get it now. biggrin.gif
Glad it help you.
For me..for my type of usage,I dont care of raw speed on downloading etc.
I can live with 30Mbps of internet.
My upmost priority was network latency.I do alot of wifi calling and video call which does not
consume bulk traffic.

hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 03:51 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Oct 17 2023, 03:30 PM)
Mine LED all won't blink already but they don't want to replace it for me
Same like mine..huawei ONT..power and PON status led already kaput.
Try to ask for replacement on chat,they denied my request.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 04:00 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Oct 17 2023, 03:53 PM)
IKR, they tell me from their system see still working so no replacement needed bangwall.gif
I dont really like downtime, so i proactively ask for replacement.
They say if got connectivity problem, then technician came and do troubleshoot.
I said also, where can i buy one ( new unit )..she didnt answer my question.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 04:12 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Oct 17 2023, 04:05 PM)
No sure will get replacement or not even if technician come, if they say no problem then buta2 kena service charge, so I just use as it now since connection no problem.
They will squeeze the life of that ONT before make the replacement.That the way i see it. ranting.gif
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 06:37 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Oct 17 2023, 04:33 PM)
Doubt so, I can’t remember who here but someone stuck a piece of paper into the ONU to pretend that it’s dead to get a replacement. FOC cuz ONU is literally free to them cuz of how cheap it is tongue.gif
I do remember his name on top of my head, crystal clear... biggrin.gif
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 06:42 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 17 2023, 04:48 PM)
nvm, next time if internet problem. See how they are going to troubleshoot with you over phone or live chat with all dead leds..
I really hate downtime..they should do some sort of preventive maintenance before something goes wrong IMHO.
Haaa.... i will answer what they ask one by one...no led...no led..no led.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 17 2023, 06:51 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(NimalKumar @ Oct 17 2023, 04:20 PM)
Why wanna change ONT ? I received my Huawei ONT during my first install and would never let them change to the FiberHome one. No hate to FiberHome but I feel Huawei is superior.
I do actually save my huawei ont config(PLOAM.OMCI.HW MAC etc) to my computer if something happen.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 18 2023, 11:48 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(merzchan @ Oct 18 2023, 11:14 AM)

2. Router (get at least ax3000 and above)

This mean my router (ax1800) is not good for 300Mbps internet cry.gif
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 18 2023, 03:11 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 18 2023, 12:42 PM)
Good enough for 300Mbps lah. Even old Wifi5 also can (Mikrotik hAP ac.)
AX1800 speedtest..ofcourse can.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 18 2023, 04:19 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(beverlykho @ Oct 18 2023, 03:46 PM)
TM's routing seems shittier today, particularly in Kuching. I'm only getting 350-380M when I Speedtest via Wifi to Singtel server. 60.xx.xx.xx, 175.xx.xx.xx, 124.xx.xx.xx range all shitty. Speedtest to TM KL server also shitty.

I only see 500M, or close to it, if I Speedtest to TM server in Kuching.

Also, for packages above 100M, TM now promises to 75% of advertised speed.
Simanggang to TM KL

hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 20 2023, 06:50 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2023, 02:11 AM)
Tomorrow test Easymesh.
Would love to see..
How do you configure them...double NAT?
hasmidzul_jojo
post Oct 20 2023, 09:07 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2023, 09:00 AM)
Just straight AP on my LAN. No NAT.
Share also about roaming experiance.
My hands are itchy, i literally does not need second AP..but would love to give it a go for 2nd HAP AX3.
hasmidzul_jojo
post Nov 23 2023, 09:06 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Nov 23 2023, 12:19 AM)
sometimes is tm server problem, you can try singapore singtel server to see if you can get full speed.

i'm using 800mbps as well but on kuching tm server only get below 400mbps result

Im on 500Mbps package.Test result against kuching tm server.

hasmidzul_jojo
post Nov 23 2023, 09:18 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Nov 23 2023, 09:14 AM)
Hey guys, just wanna ask if you can access Twitter, Discord, Microsoft store at the moment? TQ
All sites you described can be access.Mine using linux desktop pc

0.2036sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:37 AM