Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V41, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

Boldnut
post Sep 21 2023, 05:03 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Sep 21 2023, 08:31 AM)
do u think TM will offer Rm89 or lower to new customer, for 300Mbps? if u think they will do so, u can wait for it...

for me, i dont think they dare to take this move .... it will badly affect their revenue ... from Rm149 to RM89 ....almost 40% reduction in price ...

so , just go for SWU 3.0, if they offer u
if they just offer RM69 for 30mbps

RM89 for 100mbps I also happi already.

I most likely jump to Rm69 package, since I just web browsing, online gaming, I dont stream stuff.
Boldnut
post Oct 3 2023, 01:45 PM

2,209 posts

I am gonna bit more realistic

I expect pricing is something like this.

30mbps = RM69/m
100mbps = RM89/m
300mbps = RM119/m
500mbps = RM149/m
1Gbps = RM189/m

Lets hope whatever they drop is NOT worst than this. lol
Boldnut
post Oct 3 2023, 04:24 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Xanxeviera. @ Oct 3 2023, 02:31 PM)
Got internal info that they will no longer offer 30Mbps, 100Mbps will be the Minimum speed.

Ofc, take it with a grain of salt.

if that is true then thats technically no price drop at all.

lets face it, even at RM89/m, it is still pricey for middle class for the minimum package.

mobile phone data line can go as low as RM30/m without contract, even tho they come with data cap, but if you are light user that data cap wont matter much, more than enough to use.

Fiber line? lowest is RM89/m for non-B40 and with a 24m contract. There is no way out of it lol.

Boldnut
post Oct 3 2023, 04:38 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Oct 3 2023, 04:25 PM)
And RM 69 for B40 24m contract, no way out of it lol
Then 24m later become RM 89 lol. laugh.gif

imaging, you just wanna surf web at home

you dont even video stream much, kena pay RM69 or RM89 for 24m. lol

if you switch to mobile, RM35 can get 30GB, that is even enough to stream some video per month. YES even offer unlimited 5G for same price. All this also included with unlimited mobile phone call and can port out anytime if dont like. no contract

Fixed line I dont know why they want 24m contract despite so high monthly fees. IMO 6m contract long already enough.

if gov is serious about broadband price they need to introduce Fixed number portability & force TM to sell some network to other telco.
Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 08:35 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Oct 3 2023, 01:45 PM)
I am gonna bit more realistic

I expect pricing is something like this.

30mbps = RM69/m (Remain B40 only)
100mbps = RM89/m (limited time only, actual price is RM99/m)
300mbps = RM119/m (RM139)
500mbps = RM149/m (RM159)
1Gbps = RM189/m (RM289)

Lets hope whatever they drop is NOT worst than this. lol

So they actually did worst than my conservative prediction roflmao. doh.gif

Looking at old price, there is very little to no price drop at all. And base price is raised from RM89/m to RM99/m. sweat.gif

basically RM89 for 100mbps will become legacy plan
RM119 for 500mbps from swu3.0 already legacy plan

and if you were 30mbps user got lured into swu 3.0 300mbps, you will get stuck with RM119 after contract ends. (assume you calculate 18months bill for 24month contract you jump because average is RM89/m).

And if you are not using 100mbps for 24/7 TM already win by sucking you into pay more.
fyi, 100mbps for 30days is 32TB of download or 45GB of file per hour. (assume even you dont get full speed all the time even you cut by 25% it is still alot)

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Oct 5 2023, 08:52 AM
Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 09:27 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Oct 5 2023, 08:37 AM)
Yes, I will be waiting that day all joined RM 89(RM 99, or RM 109, or RM 119 for the future) club.

And nope, they got chance get glitch to RM 119 1G, let us hope the bet win.

RM89 will be legacy plan, so 2yrs later you can only downgrade to RM99. From there onwards you need to wait next election for price drop. TM control by gov, they dont care about you until near election lol

1G or 500Mbps no diff if you never use kao kao.

I already lay out the example
100mbps can DL 32TB per month, 45GB per hour, 2-3 person stream 4K at same time.

How many you think can break this record to fully use more than 100mbps? As long you dont use more than 100mbps, RM89/100mbps package is better deal than RM119 500mbps.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Oct 5 2023, 09:28 AM
Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 09:30 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Oct 5 2023, 09:28 AM)
Yes, it will be

1. New customer, RM 89 100M!
2. Old customer, RM 99 100M!

Just like new customer get 1 month free trial, this RM 89 will limited to new customer, stopping those jumping high speed customer getting RM 89 at the end of the free speed upgrade. bruce.gif

this one need to cancel acc first lol.

Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 09:37 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Oct 5 2023, 09:31 AM)
And, there is problem for B40 perpaduan RM 69 customers, they need to check their contract.

I think the best result for perpaduan RM 69 30M customers will be.
1. Old B40 customer before Oct 2023 free speed upgrade, get RM 89(at sign of 24 months contract orig price)
2. New B40 customer signed up for RM 69 30M customers NOW, will get back to RM 99 after 2 years.

This RM69 package pretty much cover a lot people, not just B40.

I am T20, I can use my parent name to sigh up as Warga emas if I want.

I still dont know why they wanna complicate this other than wanna keep profit. RM69/30mbps should have offer to all people.

Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 09:45 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 5 2023, 09:37 AM)
ok la... merry christmas first. biggrin.gif

actually, for most, no rush for higher speed.

for vast majority, not using much for typical devices, incl 4k video streaming.

only if u run servers, torrent till kingdom come or using it for biz will u need v high speed.

thats the whole point of speed upgrade. TM know majority of us wont use those speed. Thats why they wont do price cut.

Basically the entire upper-end of fiber line package now is speedtest simulator. laugh.gif You speed test get nice big number, thats about it.

I am not gonna fall into this trap, I wont budge from RM89 plan until there are cheaper ones.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Oct 5 2023, 09:46 AM
Boldnut
post Oct 5 2023, 07:52 PM

2,209 posts

So many upgrade to 500mbps RM119. No scare overload the bandwidth kah?

I guess TM gonna delay those existing customer and monitor line stable or not b4 upgrade them. Jan only see my upgraded speed then lol
Boldnut
post Oct 9 2023, 10:48 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(ahlong0180 @ Oct 9 2023, 01:49 AM)
Even my friend say 500mbps a bit overkill, but still convinced him to change to SWU3.0 rm119. Why? Because he is currently paying rm208 monthly, which at this point is just paying TM blindly or some people say, become waterfish.
Luckily he out of contract so I intro him, help him save some money.

It is quite overkill. Even network device need to upgrade, so it is not just RM30 per month extra lol

Now RM89/m already 100mbps. For most people, no reason to sub higher package.
Boldnut
post Oct 12 2023, 10:40 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 12 2023, 09:37 AM)
walauweh... the routers of different SSIDs aren't supposed to talk to one another lah.
the only situation you want them to talk to one another on same channel is when they are in same mesh backbone group. even mesh nodes in the same group won't sit on same channel except for backbone transmission; scan your airwaves and you will see your mesh nodes are on different channels.

you DON'T WANT overlapping wifi channel.
but since it is unavoidable these days, you WANT the least overlapping channels if you can't get an exclusive channel.

you imagine several separate group of people talking on walkie-talkie ON THE SAME CHANNEL. then they will need to slice the transmission so that each group gets their shared airtime. this will provide less airtime as more groups get onto the same channel. in wifi, that means less time is is able to transmit before it gets interrupted by competing SSIDs.

SwarmTroll

makes you wonder how the heck they didnt though of this problem when design wifi standard. Condo/apartment has been around for quite sometimes, this high density wifi feature should have been implement as early as wifi 4 era. (thats year 2008, that time already got a lot of condo pop up around the world, wifi internet already super common)

Boldnut
post Oct 12 2023, 01:40 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Oct 12 2023, 10:55 AM)
I suspect TM is deploying delaying tactics again . few got free speed update at the moment . the existing subscribers are waiting and waiting until DECEMBER . suddenly all get free speed update in December.

when you see so many sign up, 300mbps/500mbps plan at RM119. You'll know TM will have to allocate a lot of priority at them.

A lot of user when fresh just getting 500mbps, they will use kao kao... after a few months they'll get bored, back to normal usage again.

There is noway TM will just increase 3 months bandwidth temporary to accommodate this. They are expecting everyone get bored of it, then line become lighter usage again. Thats the time to upgrade remaining user to let them syok.

Boldnut
post Oct 13 2023, 11:39 AM

2,209 posts

what the heck, I was expecting them to upgrade my RM89/30mbps line in December at earliest.

here i am I got my upgraded speed lol

Just did a speed test, seems my line is around 90mbps/55mbps. It could be my old 100mbps switch giving problem. sweat.gif

Normally TM will cap speed slightly above the advertise speed, when I was 30mbps/10mbps line, speed test result consistently at 35mbps/20mbps.

oh well Fahmi finally ""delivers" I guess? Not what I want, I wanted lower price, better than nothing lol
Boldnut
post Oct 13 2023, 12:57 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 13 2023, 12:16 PM)
the promise was cheaper internet.
the promise was MSAP took effect since March 2023.
that means we have been overpaying since April 2023 onwards.

do you NOW feel you are paying cheaper than what you previously paid since April 2023?

just by upgrading the speed, now TM have the upper hands to say there is no need to refund for the excess payments since April 2023; "unless you change pack, you are now paying the same" maaaa....

This one i well aware of it, this is why I just take what they give me, I wont move my ass to higher price per month package, no matter what.

In fact I actually impress TM can pull all this cunning shit off all together.

Not only TM manage to do what you said, they manage to lure soo many to sign up swu3.0 RM119 package, locking them for 24months. TM keep the door open to let people keep signing up 24m contract, giving them speed upgrade later

By locking 24 months, many has port out from other ISP back into unifi. Now no matter what other ISP offer, no one will switch over because too many has sign up 24 month contract. Means other ISP will less likely price cut, due to everyone has locked in unifi with contract. So no price cut to lure more customer, price cut only self hurt their own profit because they will collect less money from the current customer.

Then TM go ahead to raise base price to RM99. The RM89 limited time offer is a place holder so no one can complain internet price go up.

Now that average selling price per consumer also moved up thanks to RM99/RM119 plan. TM solved the ringgit depreciating/inflation problem while can proudly say Internet price has dropped. What chad move, I give them that.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Oct 13 2023, 01:05 PM
Boldnut
post Oct 13 2023, 01:07 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Oct 13 2023, 01:03 PM)
Don't forget that other ISP's balls is in TM's hand because they own the HSBB. It's not like we have strong competition in Malaysia. Gov just like to give monopoly rights to certain company. Same happened to 5G.
DNB is another shitty thing,

DNB controlled by gov is actually good thing. But now majority share is own by the six big telco. lol

I rather DNB controlled by gov than controlled by 6 telco now.

0.3274sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:53 PM