. My Humble D40 gallery ., Noob Shot , C&C please ! :D

TSbluestolks
post Oct 23 2007, 01:44 AM, updated 19y ago

386 posts

I just bought my D40 last month at Photo Selangor , before this im using Nikon F55 and Sony Cybershot only .. so enjoy my humble shot and dont forget to C&C it .. thanks ! biggrin.gif

[ foto #1 ]

EXIFF DATA:-
Aperture : F5.3
S/Speed : 1/60secs
ISO : 400
W/B : auto

[ foto #2 ]

Aperture : F5.6
S/Speed : 1/25
ISO : 1600

[ foto #3 ]

Aperture : 9.00
S/Speed : 1/320 seconds
ISO : 200

edit : brightness and contrass + watermark

[ foto #4 ]

Tajuk : Jernih air
Keterangan : titisan air dari paip , time ni tgh tolong mak basuh sayur .. laugh.gif

Aperture :5.60
S/Speed :1/500 seconds
W/B : 200

This post has been edited by bluestolks: Oct 23 2007, 01:47 AM
phunkydude
post Oct 23 2007, 01:58 AM

2,403 posts

wat's the feel/perspective of jumping from digicam to dslr?`

ps` the catz looks wild yet fierce` tongue.gif
VincC454
post Oct 23 2007, 11:14 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

hmmm...

1. the cat is too soft...something wrong with the compo

2. lens caps doh.gif ...but next time try to compo it in the middle a bit

3. this one ok...but if the sky blue...sure nice one

4. i dunno about others...but to me the background spoil the picture leh...
TSbluestolks
post Oct 23 2007, 12:00 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Oct 23 2007, 12:14 PM)
hmmm...

1. the cat is too soft...something wrong with the compo

2. lens caps  doh.gif ...but next time try to compo it in the middle a bit

3. this one ok...but if the sky blue...sure nice one

4. i dunno about others...but to me the background spoil the picture leh...
thanks for d C&C ! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on October 23, 2007, 6:20 pm[B/W]

Title : Along the corridor of glory

Aperture : F7.1
S/Speed : 1/200

This post has been edited by bluestolks: Oct 23 2007, 06:20 PM
orenzai
post Oct 23 2007, 08:57 PM

3,114 posts

hihi...
d40 kaki here also...
hope my comments will be taken constructively...
foto 3, i would recommend if you used the Rule of the Thirds...
the BW was not bad...

wlcling
post Oct 24 2007, 01:21 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

Here's some tips. Use lowest ISO if you can afford it. For sharp pictures back to back, use a smaller aperture such as f11 if you can afford it. I think that your shutter speed is overkill for most of the pictures

Lastly, when you caption your pictures, think of the viewer. Can he/she connect the caption with the picture? I don't see what's so glorious about the corridor. Is it an important institution?
TSbluestolks
post Oct 24 2007, 02:59 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Oct 24 2007, 02:21 AM)
Here's some tips. Use lowest ISO if you can afford it. For sharp pictures back to back, use a smaller aperture such as f11 if you can afford it. I think that your shutter speed is overkill for most of the pictures

Lastly, when you caption your pictures, think of the viewer. Can he/she connect the caption with the picture? I don't see what's so glorious about the corridor. Is it an important institution?
yeah ... my bad , thats my school actually ..

Added on October 24, 2007, 3:00 am
QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 23 2007, 09:57 PM)
hihi...
d40 kaki here also...
hope my comments will be taken constructively...
foto 3, i would recommend if you used the Rule of the Thirds...
the BW was not bad...
haha .. thanks for the C&C , hope can learn from u one day ..

This post has been edited by bluestolks: Oct 24 2007, 03:00 AM
goldfries
post Oct 24 2007, 04:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

#1, #2 and #4 just isn't right. not some nice photos.

#3 is nice. smile.gif

EXIF, not EXIFF.

actually picture #4 has potential. you just have to work on the composition.

1. since you're shooting a tap, try not to cut it off unless you know how to cut it off nicely.
2. you might say your composition is the droplet but if that's so, then look at your picture and see how the droplet stands out from other stuff in the picture. does it stand out? no it doesn't
3. composition, background, distractions, many other stuff.

yes, you have the idea already. you just have to make effort to compose.

try something like this

it's not a Picasso but as you can see, the subject is the tap with it's flowing water. no distractions. remember that the background SHOULD help the subject, not distract. smile.gif
TSbluestolks
post Oct 24 2007, 10:30 AM

386 posts

wah ! what a nice C&C i got here ! thanks goldfries , i will try my best next time biggrin.gif
orenzai
post Oct 24 2007, 11:36 AM

3,114 posts

hehe...very nice explanation from goldfries...
i would like to share my tap photo and hope the sifus can comment on it also...
goldfries
post Oct 24 2007, 08:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

orenzai, the pic is nice too! just that the cut-off tap isn't helpful.

furthemore the buttom 3/4 of the picture like does nothing other than showing the pipe and grass.

i'm sure it'll look nice if you could capture the tap as a whole. smile.gif before cutting a subject off, do consider how it'll affect the experience of viewing.
TSbluestolks
post Oct 26 2007, 11:39 PM

386 posts

LIGHT TRAIL

[ foto #1 ]
Tajuk : Light Trail I

S/Speed : 5 Sec
W/B : Manual

[ foto #2 ]
Tajuk : Light Trail II

S/Speed : 5 Sec
W/B : Manual
goldfries
post Oct 26 2007, 11:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

EXIF, not EXIFF. smile.gif

nice shots. just that for the 2nd shot the black bar at the bottom is a distraction.
TSbluestolks
post Oct 27 2007, 12:00 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 27 2007, 12:49 AM)
EXIF, not EXIFF. smile.gif

nice shots. just that for the 2nd shot the black bar at the bottom is a distraction.
lol .. sorry i already made template , i will change the EXIF

ahhh .. i forgot to crop ! duhh , anyway thanks goldfries

0.0174sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:17 AM