How long seller should respond to a buyer's offer?, What is the normal range of days?

TSwestlife
post Sep 10 2023, 08:15 PM, updated 3y ago

14,315 posts

as above...
taitianhin
post Sep 10 2023, 08:31 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

agent would has a price range. If price nice, 1 hour you get the answer.
If hitting his offer price probably 2-4 hours

1 day - morning till night, if offer lower than what seller wants, agent will try to talk 2 Seller few times to get him to accept and next...

if way too low, 1-2 days...
TSwestlife
post Sep 10 2023, 08:39 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 10 2023, 08:31 PM)
agent would has a price range. If price nice, 1 hour you get the answer.
If hitting his offer price probably 2-4 hours

1 day - morning till night, if offer lower than what seller wants, agent will try to talk 2 Seller few times to get him to accept and next...

if way too low, 1-2 days...
i see. i have 1 buyer offered me a price on tuesday which i am ok. but my agent asked me to wait for another buyer to view the house for second time today (sunday) and see if they offer higher. but after viewing today. they actually offered the same as the first buyer.

Then i told my agent that i want to sell to the first buyer. but my agent seems to purposely delay this although he said that she will proceed to check with the first buyer's response. then after that my agent sent another message to ask me if this is not a bumi released lot (the question seems to ask by the 2nd buyer).

i seriously do not understand what my agent is thinking. the only thing can explain probably becos the 1st buyer is a buyer under his friend's client while this 2nd buyer is his own client? so with this, he can make two sides commission becos both seller and buyer are under him??
taitianhin
post Sep 10 2023, 08:54 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 10 2023, 08:39 PM)
i see. i have 1 buyer offered me a price on tuesday which i am ok. but my agent asked me to wait for another buyer to view the house for second time today (sunday) and see if they offer higher. but after viewing today. they actually offered the same as the first buyer.

Then i told my agent that i want to sell to the first buyer. but my agent seems to purposely delay this although he said that she will proceed to check with the first buyer's response. then after that my agent sent another message to ask me if this is not a bumi released lot (the question seems to ask by the 2nd buyer).

i seriously do not understand what my agent is thinking. the only thing can explain probably becos the 1st buyer is a buyer under his friend's client while this 2nd buyer is his own client? so with this, he can make two sides commission becos both seller and buyer are under him??
Possible, cases as you mentioned
1. 1st Buyer is co-share commission, so he prefer 2nd-which could be full commision.
2. maybe 1st buyer 2% commission, the 2nd is 3%?
3. Maybe 1st Buyer is non-bumi, 2nd is Bumi buyer
4. 1st buyer seems to be fishy and doubtful, 2nd seems to be a better choice
5. Or 2nd buyer is his repeated buyer...

Good luck, maybe you could offer bit higher price by few thousand in this case
TSwestlife
post Sep 10 2023, 09:13 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 10 2023, 08:54 PM)
Possible, cases as you mentioned
1. 1st Buyer is co-share commission, so he prefer 2nd-which could be full commision.

yes, this is exactly what i suspect also. i initially told him that i am ok with 1st buyer's offer and want to proceed already on tues night but he just tried to convince me to wait till saturday (then the 2nd buyer ended up came only today to view 2nd time). In total, it delays 5 days already. I totally felt it weird to let 1st buyer waited for so long.

he kept on telling that if 2nd buyer ended up offer higher and the extra can help me to cover the portion of the commision that i need to pay to him.

seriously agent should want to clinch a deal asap rite instead of waiting for new uncertainties unless he has other agenda that benefits him even more i guess?

(this one not sure)

both non-bumi buyers. but i dun know why the 2nd one purposely asked if my unit is bumi released lot. even if it is, by rite released already it should be same as other non-bumi lots rite?

cannot be. from what interaction with the 1st buyer, they are more sincere and like my house more. less complaints they mentioned.

2nd buyer after 2nd viewing today still makes many complaints and try to bring down the price.

this one i am not sure. but he seems to side the 2nd buyer, this is very obvious.

u mean i can ask for (instead of offer) higher price from both buyers and try to see how is it?
actually i just want to sell my house, as i get tired of the process of ppl coming to view my houses which i need to entertain all these. i dun mind not to make the extra few thousands more.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 10 2023, 09:17 PM
taitianhin
post Sep 11 2023, 09:20 AM

1,523 posts

Bumi lot will always remains as bumi lot. That is what i know. Was there a clause saying bumi lot will auto convert to non bumi after certain years?

Selling house is mostly a 1 time things, get as much as you can while you still can, from dollar and cent perspective.
TSwestlife
post Sep 11 2023, 10:54 AM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 11 2023, 09:20 AM)
Bumi lot will always remains as bumi lot. That is what i know. Was there a clause saying bumi lot will auto convert to non bumi after certain years?

Selling house is mostly a 1 time things, get as much as you can while you still can, from dollar and cent perspective.
i dun think so. developers will need to allocate certain no of percentage of lots for bumi lots. but if they are not sold, they cannot be remained as bumi lots while u ask the developers to sxxk thumb themselves one. as far as i know, as long as after amount of time, if they are still not sold, and the developers can demonstrated that they had tried their best to sell (e.g. to advertise it etc.), they can seek state gahment's approval to release those bumi lots to sell to non-bumis...

and once it is done, next time the non-bumi buyer can also sell to another non-bumi for that lot.
DragonReine
post Sep 11 2023, 11:00 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 11 2023, 09:20 AM)

After a certain period of time when there's high number of unsold bumi units, developers can try to apply to remove the bumi restriction if they can demonstrate that there's poor bumi buyer interest+existing interest from non-bumi.

But this is not automatic, need to apply to get approval 1st, also I think need to show proof of non-bumi buyer wanting to buy/good sales and that too many bumi lots remain unsold.
jojolicia
post Sep 11 2023, 11:35 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2023, 10:54 AM)
i dun think so. developers will need to allocate certain no of percentage of lots for bumi lots. but if they are not sold, they cannot be remained as bumi lots while u ask the developers to sxxk thumb themselves one. as far as i know, as long as after amount of time, if they are still not sold, and the developers can demonstrated that they had tried their best to sell (e.g. to advertise it etc.), they can seek state gahment's approval to release those bumi lots to sell to non-bumis...

and once it is done, next time the non-bumi buyer can also sell to another non-bumi for that lot.
In bold, it may not be a blanket omission (this bumi release). It varies from state-to-state.

For one state that i know, for a bumi release unit, if the release consented to a developer /w a chop 'sekatan' on the geran, you as a non subsale seller/buyer, must again seek consent for subsale transfer

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 11 2023, 11:39 AM
TSwestlife
post Sep 11 2023, 12:37 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 11 2023, 11:35 AM)
In bold, it may not be a blanket omission (this bumi release). It varies from state-to-state.

For one state that i know, for a bumi release unit, if the  release consented to a developer /w a chop 'sekatan' on the geran, you as a non subsale seller/buyer, must again seek consent for subsale transfer
is it? then bumi-release indeed has lower value comparing to non-bumi lot.
jojolicia
post Sep 11 2023, 12:52 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2023, 12:37 PM)
is it? then bumi-release indeed has lower value comparing to non-bumi lot.
I wouldn't say lower value la. Just an extra requirement on conveyancing pertaining to bumi released lot.
As i highlighted, bumi release is state land matters, so it defers from state to state and the development itself. Its not a blanket reversal/ omission.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 11 2023, 01:17 PM
taitianhin
post Sep 11 2023, 10:53 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 11 2023, 12:52 PM)
I wouldn't say lower value la. Just an extra requirement on conveyancing pertaining to bumi released lot.
As i highlighted, bumi release is state land matters, so it defers from state to state and the development itself. Its not a blanket reversal/ omission.
I know for new lot, developer able to find ways to remove bumi title to sell the unsold uniy.

But subsale, i would say i never have any experience nor heard someone who bought and purposely to convert it to non bumi lot. As investors matters, non bumi investors have no interest in buying bumi lot. That y it tend to be cheaper with lesser demand.

So if this is bumit lot, selling to non bumi is probably would not happen or someone have to cough out extra to get thr consent. And please be frank to the buyer that if this is a bumi lot ,please.
jojolicia
post Sep 11 2023, 11:21 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 11 2023, 10:53 PM)
I know for new lot, developer able to find ways to remove bumi title to sell the unsold uniy.

But subsale, i would say i never have any experience nor heard someone who bought and purposely to convert it to non bumi lot. As investors matters, non bumi investors have no interest in buying bumi lot. That y it tend to be cheaper with lesser demand.

So if this is bumit lot, selling to non bumi is probably would not happen or someone have to cough out extra to get thr consent. And please be frank to the buyer that if this is a bumi lot ,please.
I was referring to a non A who bought a developer's bumi released unit. One state does chop a 'sekatan' to this particular geran.

So, when this non A wants to sell (subsale) a non B years later, a consent is again require for the subsale transfer of ownership.

Hope it clarifies.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Sep 11 2023, 11:21 PM
thickface
post Sep 12 2023, 12:14 PM

170 posts

Usually buyer can wait some time but if your agent keeps delaying, the buyer might try to low-ball more because it seems like nobody else might be interested in your unit.

If you ask me, deals should be straight forward. The longer the time for finalizing, it will usually lead to either seller requesting more or buyer requesting less.

My transaction agreement took less than 2 days as both sides willing to meet in the middle. Previous negotiations which didn't lead to dealing took like 3 weeks and in the end, seller decides to take my offer but I took up the other offer which I love. Kindly find another agent that prioritize you.
TSwestlife
post Sep 12 2023, 02:24 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(thickface @ Sep 12 2023, 12:14 PM)
Usually buyer can wait some time but if your agent keeps delaying, the buyer might try to low-ball more because it seems like nobody else might be interested in your unit.

If you ask me, deals should be straight forward. The longer the time for finalizing, it will usually lead to either seller requesting more or buyer requesting less.

My transaction agreement took less than 2 days as both sides willing to meet in the middle. Previous negotiations which didn't lead to dealing took like 3 weeks and in the end, seller decides to take my offer but I took up the other offer which I love. Kindly find another agent that prioritize you.
What I discovered for my case is that although I already told my agent that I wanted to sell to the 1st buyer based on the offered price without the need to negotiate further.

He still continues to ‘work’ with the 2nd buyer which is his client as well. But at least yesterday he reverted the 2nd buyer offered extra 8k than the 1st buyer and I eventually sign the OTP with the 2nd buyer.

So I would say that sometimes it is not the matter of the seller(owner). Someone the seller’s agent also can try to do something that is against the wish of the seller and decide it by himself.
thickface
post Sep 12 2023, 02:43 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 12 2023, 02:24 PM)
What I discovered for my case is that although I already told my agent that I wanted to sell to the 1st buyer based on the offered price without the need to negotiate further.

He still continues to ‘work’ with the 2nd buyer which is his  client as well. But at least yesterday he reverted the 2nd buyer offered extra 8k than the 1st buyer and I eventually sign the OTP with the 2nd buyer.

So I would say that sometimes it is not the matter of the seller(owner). Someone the seller’s agent also can try to do something that is against the wish of the seller and decide it by himself.
Okay la got extra 8k. Good also. Lucky for you.
taitianhin
post Sep 12 2023, 03:23 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Sep 11 2023, 11:21 PM)
I was referring to a non A who bought a developer's bumi released unit. One state does chop a 'sekatan' to this particular geran.

So, when this non A wants to sell (subsale) a non B years later, a consent is again require for the subsale transfer of ownership.

Hope it clarifies.
Ok. I get it. Is for 1 particular scenario. Good to know on the process
Btw. Do you know how long extra time it took for this? Any extra cost?

Btw. Congrats to TS for extra 8k. At least agent fight for you and his commission la...
TSwestlife
post Sep 12 2023, 03:33 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 12 2023, 03:23 PM)
Ok. I get it. Is for 1 particular scenario. Good to know on the process
Btw. Do you know how long extra time it took for this? Any extra cost?

Btw. Congrats to TS for extra 8k. At least agent fight for you and his commission la...
yes, he said he fight for me more to cover the comission i paid to him while he is also earning extra 1% from his client lo obviously. tongue.gif

already signed the OTP now.

so next is for the buyer to apply loan. normally this will take so long until the next step to sign SNP until i complete this selling? tongue.gif
taitianhin
post Sep 12 2023, 03:42 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 12 2023, 03:33 PM)
yes, he said he fight for me more to cover the comission i paid to him while he is also earning extra 1% from his client lo obviously.  tongue.gif

already signed the OTP now.

so next is for the buyer to apply loan. normally this will take so long until the next step to sign SNP until i complete this selling?  tongue.gif
Upon Booking form signed, there are 2 weeks clause for buyer to prepare spa. So witin this period buyer have to get cash/loan ready and spa ready. +- seller shd giv ard 3 weeks as good will waiting
2 weeks to draft spa is easy. The hard part is choosing housing loan, choosing which bank and the best rate could takes time.
Upon both party signing spa, you could get your 10% - commission.

TSwestlife
post Sep 12 2023, 04:02 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 12 2023, 03:42 PM)
Upon Booking form signed, there are 2 weeks clause for buyer to prepare spa. So witin this period buyer have to get cash/loan ready and spa ready. +- seller shd giv ard 3 weeks as good will waiting
2 weeks to draft spa is easy. The hard part is choosing housing loan, choosing which bank and the best rate could takes time.
Upon both party signing spa, you could get your 10% - commission.
icic. current the buyer is paying 2% for the OTP.

how come the spa is prepared by buyer? i tot both buyer and seller will need to engage their own laywer for SNP although seller can co-share the lawyer with the buyer's lawyer but this will create disadvantages for seller.

besides, how much seller needs to pay for SNP?

0.0253sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:23 AM