New Mitsubishi Grandis 2.4 only 160k, is it good?

TSgaijin
post Oct 22 2007, 10:49 PM, updated 19y ago

172 posts

Heard it's much cheaper now compared to previous release (200k?)

How is its reputation?

Seems service is via EON .... is that a good thing? Giving 5 yrs warranty ! Good buy?

squareballs
post Oct 22 2007, 10:56 PM

4,331 posts

2.4 liter V6 right?i tot next year only with that price with the new facelift..i read magazine..
terrorist
post Oct 22 2007, 11:34 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

i'ma get Wish with that price bro smile.gif
Beach_Boy
post Oct 23 2007, 12:19 AM

:D
8,456 posts

its a 2.4litre 4pot Mivec engine

wish?
why would you pay same money for something smaller?
imperialrealcs
post Oct 23 2007, 12:21 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Oct 22 2007, 11:34 PM)
i'ma get Wish with that price bro smile.gif
lol, before that, compare the luxury-ness of the grandis and the wish doh.gif
comfort, power etc.. powered by 2.4L SOHC MIVEC, this car will not lose against the VVT-i and definitely more comfy
Beach_Boy
post Oct 23 2007, 12:25 AM

8,456 posts

the 2.4 mivec is quite powerful
and the comfy-ness can compare with estimas, though estima is more refined on higher speed(not the older estima that floods the street recently, new 2006 estima)
imperialrealcs
post Oct 23 2007, 02:22 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy(R) @ Oct 23 2007, 12:25 AM)
the 2.4 mivec is quite powerful
and the comfy-ness can compare with estimas, though estima is more refined on higher speed(not the older estima that floods the street recently, new 2006 estima)
but used estima almost same price with new grandis wtf
arcana83
post Oct 23 2007, 07:55 AM

198 posts

da AP kings are sucking your moneh.....thats why its so expensive eventhough is used and those b******s drive lambo, ferarri and bla bla....
grandis is value buy i'd say...and u get long period warranty on top of it.
just prepare more $$ for the road tax and fuel bills.....but its worth it for the size and comfort u get.
leowhy
post Oct 23 2007, 08:41 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

grandis... should be a very good alternative to the more common wish & stream...
2.4L engine means higher readtax however... but since the buyer is buying a Rm160k vehicle, i suppose the buyer can easily justify that additional roadtax... smile.gif
previously grandis was priced at >Rm200k... sweat.gif
that's one of the reason it makes the purchase now even more attractive...
mockv1per
post Oct 23 2007, 09:18 AM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

yeah, the new grandis worth it.. it is a better buy than a wish.
Revamperz
post Oct 23 2007, 09:53 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

finally! someone notice the awsomeness of new grandis price ..

even soo.. not much on the road. rm158k IIRC.

it use to be price at rm211k doh.gif
nagasie
post Oct 23 2007, 10:28 AM

343 posts

the roadtax for 2.4L grandis is only RM700 plus. it still not over 1K. ive asked the salesperson about the roadtax. 2.5L bmw just RM800plus according to the bmw site.

for me, it a good buy and bargain for this segment. estima is overpriced. toyota brand all overprice.
imperialrealcs
post Oct 23 2007, 10:51 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(nagasie @ Oct 23 2007, 10:28 AM)
the roadtax for 2.4L grandis is only RM700 plus. it still not over 1K. ive asked the salesperson about the roadtax.  2.5L bmw just RM800plus according to the bmw site.

for me, it a good buy and bargain for this segment. estima is overpriced. toyota brand all overprice.
rm795 for grandis road tax rclxms.gif
wish is low, it may be stable, but surely not comfy
arcana83
post Oct 23 2007, 12:20 PM

198 posts

sweat.gif its about double the tax compared to similar priced MPV's sold here...like wish and stream.
estima is overpriced becoz of those stupid AP kings trying to earn money.
but toyota is the king of comfort hence why ppl look at the T MPV's and also reliability from the JDM models.
undeniably....toyota conquered MPV segments from the cheapest avanza all the way to the most expensive alphard....its all over the road sweat.gif
theanswer
post Oct 23 2007, 02:23 PM

1,024 posts

I think it is worth it. Mitsubishi now comes out with good sales strategy.
Beach_Boy
post Oct 23 2007, 06:59 PM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Oct 23 2007, 08:41 AM)
grandis... should be a very good alternative to the more common wish & stream...
2.4L engine means higher readtax however... but since the buyer is buying a Rm160k vehicle, i suppose the buyer can easily justify that additional roadtax... smile.gif
previously grandis was priced at >Rm200k... sweat.gif
that's one of the reason it makes the purchase now even more attractive...
well, unless you are those who use all your money to buy cars to show off(which some of the wish's owner out there do, have u seen a wish with used different brand tyres on all 4 corners? )
if u can afford it, the fuel costs and roadtax isnt that bad

i've heard cases which they averaged 7-8km/litre on the grandis
but so far within the two months of 'temporary' ownership, i averaged 10-11km/litre smile.gif
not bad afterall for such a big car

oh, price went down, and so do the thingys inside, it has only two airbags left, iirc is has 6 before the price cut
imperialrealcs
post Oct 23 2007, 07:02 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy(R) @ Oct 23 2007, 06:59 PM)
well, unless you are those who use all your money to buy cars to show off(which some of the wish's owner out there do, have u seen a wish with  used different brand tyres on all 4 corners? )
if u can afford it, the fuel costs and roadtax isnt that bad

i've heard cases which they averaged 7-8km/litre on the grandis
but so far within the two months of 'temporary' ownership, i averaged 10-11km/litre smile.gif
not bad afterall for such a big car

oh, price went down, and so do the thingys inside, it has only two airbags left, iirc is has 6 before the price cut
more practical to strive in malaysia market..
i dont find the extra 4 airbags useful tongue.gif
1 airbags rm10k lolz
Beach_Boy
post Oct 23 2007, 07:39 PM

8,456 posts

if you're putting your family in the car, you will want that extra smile.gif

i will settle for the new estima given i have more budget and more refined(it has far more gadgets in the car, but once it goes wrong, the bill is scary sweat.gif, there's this time the new 2006 estima i drove had a faulty accelerelator sensor or something, the mech ended up frying the sub ECU board, which costs 7k, but luckily it was covered by the warranty tongue.gif )

but for 160k and you want to haul your family members in comfort at road legal speed, you wont go wrong with the grandis biggrin.gif
Austin123
post Oct 25 2007, 02:42 PM

1,336 posts

its another option from getting ugly toyota innova, giant naza ria, small toyota wish.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
alxand
post Oct 25 2007, 03:35 PM

459 posts

welll this definitely a good buy, i had customer fro those who plan an innova n jump to this, wish is around same price but this is more for future as car is bigger...
by the way, those who wan book now, delivery around jan lor...
i'm from ssTWO showroom...
email me lor alxand_mitsubishi@yahoo.com
Austin123
post Oct 25 2007, 03:48 PM

1,336 posts

QUOTE(alxand @ Oct 25 2007, 03:35 PM)
welll this definitely a good buy, i had customer fro those who plan an innova n jump to this, wish is around same price but this is more for future as car is bigger...
by the way, those who wan book now, delivery around jan lor...
i'm from ssTWO showroom...
email me lor alxand_mitsubishi@yahoo.com
hi alxand, r u a SA from EON at glenmarie?? have any free gift etc?? can test drive?? smile.gif smile.gif
alxand
post Oct 25 2007, 04:02 PM

459 posts

me from SS2... free gift... when meet then discuss lor, test drive, need arrange...
zeist
post Oct 25 2007, 08:25 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

The interior... hmm.gif

TSgaijin
post Oct 25 2007, 08:33 PM

172 posts

How is Grandis' reputation in the past? Problems?
Beach_Boy
post Oct 25 2007, 09:04 PM

8,456 posts

if u service it on schedule and you dont drive like an idiot
the car will last for a very long time without giving problem
leowhy
post Oct 25 2007, 10:01 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Oct 25 2007, 08:25 PM)
The interior...  hmm.gif

a little bit like wish... hmm.gif tongue.gif
yewkhuay
post Oct 25 2007, 10:41 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

on the road price without insurance....
zeist
post Oct 25 2007, 10:42 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Oct 25 2007, 10:01 PM)
a little bit like wish...  hmm.gif  tongue.gif
Definitely not my type, like an Ah Pek car. tongue.gif
mTk
post Oct 25 2007, 11:43 PM

401 posts

Hmm... seems like a good buy to me, though I can't say much because I've never been in one nor know much about it. There's been one in my neighbourhood for two years or so I think.

The closest MPV I can think of to compare this with is the Honda Odyssey. It's bigger than the Stream or Wish but smaller than the Naza Ria or Estima.

2.4L SOHC MIVEC can be said to be on par with the Honda Odyssey's 2.4L i-VTEC at 162 bhp. Accord 2.4's i-VTEC makes more power than the Odyssey's, in case you didn't know.

The interior also definitely looks more interesting than the previous Odyssey (not sure about the current one), although it seems somewhat narrow in that pic.

For 160k, it's definitely a better buy than the smaller Wish and the slightly-bigger Odyssey which costs RM200k+. Yes, you can get a 2nd-hand Estima at that price, but you'll also get the perks that come with new cars. Free service and 3-year (or is it 5 years now?) warranty, etc.

I also found an interesting review here:

http://www.carpages.co.uk/mitsubishi/grand...-1-27-03-05.asp

This post has been edited by mTk: Oct 25 2007, 11:46 PM
crazyconsumer
post Oct 26 2007, 07:12 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

EON service? that's not good from the sound of it. What happened to mitsubishi center?
Mingson
post Oct 26 2007, 10:50 AM

344 posts

Wow This car Nice leh!!! and only the 160k Better then Get Toyota Wish!!! i more Trust Nissan,Mitsubishi and Honda cars thumbup.gif
alxand
post Oct 27 2007, 09:17 AM

459 posts

it's at main n big eon service branch, as we need few lanes n counters to serve mitsubishi cars, ppl service mitsubishi cars also not same as proton, if same ah, i also no buy lancer gt, heart pain c onkey do job, haha, but at this price, n our market, this is a value buy, n u can c s'pore flooded by this, simply due to product tat last n less headache... so far nothing major only some complain FC as they drove small but for those who drove big mpv, they know the FC n power is on par...

plus i'm from SS2,pj
TSgaijin
post Oct 27 2007, 10:11 AM

172 posts

Oh, so even though use EON service, but they have special section for mitsubishi customers? No need to queue/fight with Proton customers and different standard service?
Austin123
post Oct 27 2007, 03:28 PM

1,336 posts

it has 3 years free maintenance.. but it uses petronas 15w/40 engine oil??? y new engine use 15w?? it should use at least 5w or 10w instead of 15w.. 10k per service somemore?? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Austin123: Oct 27 2007, 03:28 PM
McIPH
post Oct 27 2007, 06:42 PM

90 posts

I vote for grandis rather than wish
seydee
post Oct 27 2007, 06:47 PM

685 posts

rm160k and you called it only sweat.gif

Anyway mitsu really roll out a few competitive price car....
Beach_Boy
post Oct 27 2007, 08:58 PM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(Austin123 @ Oct 27 2007, 03:28 PM)
it has 3 years free maintenance.. but it uses petronas 15w/40 engine oil??? y new engine use 15w?? it should use at least 5w or 10w instead of 15w.. 10k per service somemore??  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
fyi, in this country, no one actually bother about the front part, ie 0w/5/5w/10/15
we dont have freezing mornings here
you should be looking at the xw/40 instead

go google for info about lubes
Austin123
post Oct 27 2007, 09:03 PM

1,336 posts

it does make different... wit 15w/40... engine will feel more rough than 10w or 5w...
Beach_Boy
post Oct 27 2007, 09:32 PM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(Austin123 @ Oct 27 2007, 09:03 PM)
it does make different... wit 15w/40... engine will feel more rough than 10w or 5w...
if you're using multigrade
you can ignore the frontal low temperature rating part

'Viscosity ratings for commonly used motor oils typically range from 0 up to 50. A "W" after the number stands for "Winter" grade oil, and represents the oil's viscosity at zero degrees F.

Low viscosity motor oils that pour easily at low temperatures typically have a "5W" or "10W" rating. There are also 15W and 20W grade motor oils.'

the frontal part makes no difference to us
only the high temp weight part does

This post has been edited by Beach_Boy: Oct 27 2007, 09:33 PM
alxand
post Oct 31 2007, 06:01 PM

459 posts

full of oil info... looks like a change of topic liao, haha
Jeff_lwh
post Oct 31 2007, 06:30 PM

294 posts

alxand, I have 1 mitsubishi Lancer prospect... What do I get if I get him buy from to you? (AHEM! Broker thingy). For privacy measure, welcome PM'ming me...

Ps. Skoda and mercedes Vito salesman here... (Quasar Carriage)...

This post has been edited by Jeff_lwh: Oct 31 2007, 06:37 PM
alxand
post Nov 1 2007, 04:03 PM

459 posts

u r most welcome, UGPM, hehe
kennytg
post Jan 4 2008, 09:40 PM

25 posts

I'm currently driving the new Grandis.
Certainly no regrets.
I've considered & test drove all other MPVs & SUVs.
The closest rival is Odyssey & Estima.
But then again.....with 160K you can only get a 4-5 years old Odyssey/Estima.
So, why settle for less ???

Furthermore....i actually cancelled my Camry 2.4 to buy GRandis after waiting for 4 months for it's delivery. Luckily I got my 5K booking back.

See my GRandis review below....
http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/to...?TOPIC_ID=22259

haswanniza
post Aug 22 2008, 01:39 AM

grandis compare with 2001 estima, rm120k, which 1 best?

bear bear
post Sep 1 2008, 11:22 AM

129 posts

i also got 2...1st one used 1 weeks hilang but claimed from insurance 90% already
then get another my 1st grandis is black colour with jae 888 bought at 220k(2004)
then 2nd grandis bought at 200k(2005)

so far no problem......nice powerful ride
ssyy
post Sep 1 2008, 12:06 PM

446 posts

i liked the old front look of grandis.. more sharp. the new one doesnt fit my eyes.. blush.gif
Beach_Boy
post Sep 1 2008, 02:16 PM

8,456 posts

you mean this? O.o

IMO the new one is much more handsome than the old one
sinclairZX81
post Sep 1 2008, 02:18 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Looks like old Odyssey. sweat.gif

The new Grandis IMO looks better. thumbup.gif ketupat 2.gif
ssyy
post Sep 1 2008, 02:29 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Sep 1 2008, 02:16 PM)
you mean this? O.o

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/comm...iot_Grandis.jpg

IMO the new one is much more handsome than the old one
no no.. definitely not that one.. the one before undergo facelifting..

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Sep 1 2008, 02:18 PM)
Looks like old Odyssey.  sweat.gif

The new Grandis IMO looks better.  thumbup.gif  ketupat 2.gif
yeah.. the new one nice.. but im saying the one before facelifting.. the one got rounded fog lights.. nice biggrin.gif
zacevox
post Sep 1 2008, 02:36 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

that 1 very common in Langkawi, know as Space Gear.
ShinAsakura
post Sep 1 2008, 02:42 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

Same length with pre-facelift Estima, same cost with recon facelifted Estima (2006), higher power than pre-facelift Estime (165bhp against 156bhp), with roadtax only RM730.00.

What's more?
user posted image Pre-facelift Grandis - RM205,635.00 OTR w/out Insurance
user posted image Facelifted Grandis - RM158,629.80 OTR w/out Insurance

A car from the range of Odyssey but with the price of Stream. thumbup.gif
ssyy
post Sep 1 2008, 02:48 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Sep 1 2008, 02:36 PM)
that 1 very common in Langkawi, know as Space Gear.
yeah, some call it chariot, some call space gear, some call grandis..

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Sep 1 2008, 02:42 PM)
Same length with pre-facelift Estima, same cost with recon facelifted Estima (2006), higher power than pre-facelift Estime (165bhp against 156bhp), with roadtax only RM730.00.

What's more?
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/8616/f10034arn6.jpg Pre-facelift Grandis - RM205,635.00 OTR w/out Insurance
http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/5020/mi...isfaceliii9.jpg Facelifted Grandis - RM158,629.80 OTR w/out Insurance

A car from the range of Odyssey but with the price of Stream.  thumbup.gif
haa! i like the pre-facelift one.. haha tongue.gif yeah, its a reasonable car.. nod.gif the look is very sleek too smile.gif
danny_ptlm
post Sep 1 2008, 03:56 PM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

Facelifted Grandis look nice...
bear bear
post Sep 1 2008, 11:27 PM

129 posts

this is my 1....Pre-facelift Grandis
but now i mod something on it already

This post has been edited by bear bear: Sep 1 2008, 11:27 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 2 2008, 10:12 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

i m too interested in MPVs

i am thinking abt the common wish, stream and grandis

both wish and stream are affordable and below 2.0...
the wish if i buy..most likely unreg ->installed with lots of goodies eg. sound sys and security abt mebbe RM110k -RM130k

if stream..will go for the new one ->RM150k

the grandis..i hv my doubts as its more expansive and has a bigger cc engine ->minum petrol
bear bear
post Sep 29 2008, 12:28 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 2 2008, 10:12 AM)

the wish if i buy..most likely unreg ->installed with lots of goodies eg. sound sys and security abt mebbe RM110k -RM130k

the grandis..i hv my doubts as its more expansive and has a bigger cc engine ->minum petrol
still ok lar...
1 cent get 1 cent things..
i am driving too....its better thank wish because more common,powerful,bigger a bit for the 3rd row..
you can go 180km/h in highway with eating potato chips some more rclxms.gif
Travies
post Sep 29 2008, 01:32 AM

1,048 posts

is grandis FC okok? power ok?
Beach_Boy
post Sep 29 2008, 09:31 AM

8,456 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 2 2008, 10:12 AM)

for MPV, it's better to have bigger engine capacity
if not you're just like pulling a cow up a tree (tongue.gif)
bigger engine capacity doesnt translate to worse FC, this is a myth
and it usually comes from people that only drives small CC cars tongue.gif
AiRBooM
post Sep 29 2008, 10:00 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

Wow.. so many wish's basher here... lol ... calling sonic_cd lol tongue.gif

btw , Grandis is not supposed to compare with Toyota Wish , the class and the CC etc.... it should compare to Honda Odyssey at least... sweat.gif

only streams are comparable with wish la...

btw , only tomyam wish aka Thai spec wish are rm157k+ which selling in UMW Toyota one ... for JDM Toyota Wish (Unreg) are cheaper than Grandis plus a lot goodies like Front/Reverse Camera , Sunroof , HID , 17" SportRim , DVD system & privacy glass etc etc... all depends on the spec you looking for tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AiRBooM: Sep 29 2008, 04:13 PM
jordan86
post Oct 11 2009, 09:00 PM

631 posts

I want to ask about this car the 3rd row has its own aircond at the back like innova? And the service center good or not? THanks

0.0294sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:25 PM