Tyre recommendation for Toyota Vios

ru40342
post Sep 6 2023, 03:59 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Sep 6 2023, 10:28 AM)
CC6
TS drives very fast. CC6 is too dangerous for him. Faster than 110 CC6 and CC7 probably not suitable.
KineticKill
post Sep 6 2023, 04:06 PM

45 posts

Why not Primacy?
TSHiggsboson8888
post Sep 6 2023, 05:55 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Sep 6 2023, 04:06 PM)
Why not Primacy?
I asked my colleagues just now also they recommend this, sounds good ya, know any place that can get them for good price?
andrekua2
post Sep 7 2023, 08:37 AM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 6 2023, 05:55 PM)
I asked my colleagues just now also they recommend this, sounds good ya, know any place that can get them for good price?
Primacy price is not that far off PS5, so why not go all the way. Primacy does perform very close to PS series but only when you are driving sensibly. The braking and cornering for example is not on par with PS. Since you like to drive fast, might as well go all the way and protek other roadusers.
giftfre
post Sep 7 2023, 08:57 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 6 2023, 10:03 AM)
I am driving a Toyota Vios 2021 and its 2 years in, clocking in on 40k KM already. The threads are almost gone so its time to change them, just done my service today btw  sweat.gif
Some of my requirements
- Love driving fast (on highway, sometimes reaching 180 km/h)
- Prefer less tyre noise

Which one would you guys recommend ya? I'm considering Michelin XM2, seems like a very popular option.

And also any recommendations on where to buy?

Thanks in advanced.
I am too 2021 vios and was thinking to exchange 4 tyres.
How about spare tyre? It will be aged 3 years old by nw and will be getting aged if you not using it or replace it.

How long is a period of time to keep as a spare tyre?
littlefire
post Sep 7 2023, 11:07 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 6 2023, 12:34 PM)
If I remembered correctly, its 16"
Toyota Vios original 16in is using either 195/50/R16 or 185/55/R16 tires.
If not mistaken Michelin only got XM2+ tires only. No PS3,4,5 series for this size.

Another option is upgrade the size to 205/45/R16, this got PS3 series but you need to consider your sport rim width.
https://www.michelin.com.my/auto/browse-tyr.../205/45/16/87/W
https://tiresize.com/tiresizes/205-45R16.htm
Min Sport Rim width need Wheel : 16" x 6.5-7.5"

As usually original sport rim is very thin/less width to support bigger tires. Just imagine your current small feet (sport rim width) wearing a big oversize shoe, how the effect when running fast?

1st confirm sport rim width, if within 6.5-7.5" width than can upgrade 205/45/R16

2nd consider upgrading wider sport rim or bigger size like 17" and use 205/40/R17 tires, this got PS5 tire option
https://www.michelin.com.my/auto/browse-tyr.../205/40/17/84/Y

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 7 2023, 11:14 AM
KineticKill
post Sep 7 2023, 11:48 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 7 2023, 01:37 AM)
Primacy price is not that far off PS5, so why not go all the way. Primacy does perform very close to PS series but only when you are driving sensibly. The braking and cornering for example is not on par with PS. Since you like to drive fast, might as well go all the way and protek other roadusers.
He prefers less tyre noise too. PS is louder than Primacy, not as comfy as well.
KineticKill
post Sep 7 2023, 11:58 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 6 2023, 10:55 AM)
Can try looking around on lazada or shopee
andrekua2
post Sep 7 2023, 02:46 PM

13,465 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Sep 7 2023, 11:48 AM)
He prefers less tyre noise too. PS is louder than Primacy, not as comfy as well.
Why does tyre noise still matters when he obviously said he's gonna be fast (up to 180KMH)? That wind noise gonna kill him first.
KineticKill
post Sep 7 2023, 03:14 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 7 2023, 07:46 AM)
Why does tyre noise still matters when he obviously said he's gonna be fast (up to 180KMH)? That wind noise gonna kill him first.
Up to him. Usually PS is about RM100 more expensive than Primacy. Go for it if you want TS, but my opinion is Primacy is sufficient.
TSHiggsboson8888
post Sep 9 2023, 02:07 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 7 2023, 02:46 PM)
I’m a bit of a want it all… i know how that sounds haha.

I know there isnt any perfect tyre to block noise and performant at the same time. To block noise, i think I will have to look for other aspects of the car parts.

I will go for primacy.

This post has been edited by Higgsboson8888: Sep 9 2023, 02:19 PM
TSHiggsboson8888
post Sep 9 2023, 02:10 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Sep 7 2023, 03:14 PM)
Up to him. Usually PS is about RM100 more expensive than Primacy. Go for it if you want TS, but my opinion is Primacy is sufficient.
My tyre size is 195/50R16 but I see the options available in shopee and lazada for 195 width are

195/55R16
195/60R16

Would them fit?
KineticKill
post Sep 9 2023, 02:46 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 9 2023, 07:10 AM)
My tyre size is 195/50R16 but I see the options available in shopee and lazada for 195 width are

195/55R16
195/60R16

Would them fit?
This I’m not sure. Might need to refer to shop
General_Nic
post Sep 9 2023, 02:59 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 9 2023, 02:10 PM)

195/55R16
195/60R16

Would them fit?
definitely can fit your rims, but might hit wheel well when steering fully rotate

and speedometer will be off, need recalibrate
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 9 2023, 07:03 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 9 2023, 02:10 PM)

195/55R16
195/60R16

Would them fit?
195/50/16 or 185/55/16

195/55/16 can try but maybe will kena when full turn steering
littlefire
post Sep 11 2023, 09:05 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(Higgsboson8888 @ Sep 9 2023, 03:10 PM)

195/55R16
195/60R16

Would them fit?
Golden rule of changing different size is never exceed the 3% diameter rule. Once out of that, not only speedometer will run, fuel consumption, safety related like ABS/VSC and suspension geometry also will impact due to different tire size, car height and also tire weight.

https://tiresize.com/comparison/

Nowadays cars with all those electronic safety system are calibrate and set at manufacturer side using factory fitted tires. If your ride got ADAS system, bigger tires also will cause overall car height change and need to recalibrate the ADAS system.

A lot of tire shop dont even care about this, as in the end once paid and drive off the shop is your own risk already.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 11 2023, 09:08 AM
sonotme
post Sep 22 2023, 03:27 PM

1,709 posts

My vios 2021 also due for tyre change! Let us all go same shop and nego 🤣
ktek
post Sep 23 2023, 12:21 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 11 2023, 09:05 AM)
Golden rule of changing different size is never exceed the 3% diameter rule. Once out of that, not only speedometer will run, fuel consumption, safety related like ABS/VSC and suspension geometry also will impact due to different tire size, car height and also tire weight.

https://tiresize.com/comparison/

Nowadays cars with all those electronic safety system are calibrate and set at manufacturer side using factory fitted tires. If your ride got ADAS system, bigger tires also will cause overall car height change and need to recalibrate the ADAS system.

A lot of tire shop dont even care about this, as in the end once paid and drive off the shop is your own risk already.
is there such a way to edit adas system
littlefire
post Sep 25 2023, 08:43 AM

2,710 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 23 2023, 01:21 PM)
is there such a way to edit adas system
Sent for recalibration, this is where they reset the ADAS system to match the latest height.
Currently most can only be done at certified SC, maybe some glass replacement shop can do it also.
ktek
post Sep 25 2023, 09:32 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 25 2023, 08:43 AM)
Sent for recalibration, this is where they reset the ADAS system to match the latest height.
Currently most can only be done at certified SC, maybe some glass replacement shop can do it also.
becos mine is lowered. will go ask sc first

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0286sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:28 PM