Gidibii Nemo 2 chain oiler, When u can't afford a Scottoiler

TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 4 2023, 01:47 PM, updated 3y ago

1,057 posts

Finally got around to installing the damn thing. The whole kit costs about RM100 on AliExpress I think, although if you're brand conscious you can cough up 3x more for the angmoh Cobrra version on Shopee.

Unlike Scottoiler's elaborate mechanism, the Nemo 2 only requires u to fill the aluminium tank with cheap-ass gearbox oil (typical 90 weight oil can be had for under RM10 a little) then turn the body 90-degrees each time before riding off to get it to dribble oil on your chain for 3 minutes at a time.

Very simple mechanism. It relies on tank pressure - the whole body is threaded, so when you turn it, it screws down to pressure the oil to dribble out the tube.

Haven't tried it in action just yet, coz I'm waiting for my new batt to arrive since my Optimate says the old one is now charging up to 60% only.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 4 2023, 02:25 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 4 2023, 03:20 PM)
unrelated but why do you have spikes on your seat...
To keep the damn cats & pigeons off my bike.

TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 5 2023, 12:07 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Sep 5 2023, 12:28 PM)
will this fling all around the rear rim?
Can't say for sure yet until I receive my new battery & resume riding to work while testing this new oiler contraption.

But since the delivery method is the same as Scottoiler (drip tube at the rear sprocket near the chain), I take it that it's a tried and tested method.

The trick is in the amount and weight of the oil that it drips on the chain. You have a choice of SAE90 or SAE140 weight gearbox oil to choose from that you can easily buy on the cheap. You can even mix the two in varying ratios to your liking. The point being, heavier weight oil might be a little more resistant to fling.

Then there's the amount. If you overlube using any type of chain lube, it will fling regardless. I reckon the same caveat applies.

The Nemo 2 is entirely mechanical, unlike the old Scottoiler design that is activated by the vacuum created in your throttle when you naturally twist the grip when riding while the newer one is electronically activated - both of which will require a more elaborate installation. So the second you activate it by twisting the body 90 degrees, it will start squeezing out the oil in drips for the next 3 minutes. Which means you need to bugger off and ride immediately after so that the oil will be distributed along your chain, otherwise it will drip and make a thick oily mess on the floor.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 6 2023, 12:16 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 5 2023, 11:05 PM)
elaborate is an understatement.  blush.gif

i installed my scottoiller under the seat to avoid it from being stolen. friends say best to have it there since mat rempit can't get to it.
Now that's dedication to the cause. Tabik spring!

Between work, postgraduate studies, household chores and family, I just do not have the time or energy to strip the bike for anything. Tak laratttt....

Once I saw someone in my condo completely rebuild his R1200GS all by himself bit by bit over a few months. Perghhh....

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Sep 6 2023, 12:21 AM
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 12 2023, 03:05 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Sep 5 2023, 12:28 PM)
will this fling all around the rear rim?
Finally gave this thing a go today after installing the bike battery yesterday.

Took a 180-deg turn to push the oil out for the first time thru the empty system and I rode off to work. While riding, I reached down and gave it another 90-deg turn... sebab aku jakun.

When I arrived at the office... well, it works. The chain has a notiecable coating of gear oil on it. The rear rim too has a thin coating of oil on the chain half, indicating fling coz I might have overlubed. But the big difference is that it isn't sticky like chainlube, so it's possible that it won't accumulate stubborn muck like chainlube -- I loike...!!

No oil on the rear tyre.

Ran a 50:50 mix of SAE90 and SAE140 oil. I'll try with 100% SAE140 next refill.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Sep 21 2023, 01:26 PM

1,057 posts

Very cool. How much did it cost you?

0.0207sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:39 AM