Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

cschun86
post Jan 30 2008, 12:20 AM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

3870 IDLE is around 40-45C,
load is around 60-70C
syapl
post Jan 30 2008, 11:37 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 30 2008, 12:20 AM)
3870 IDLE is around 40-45C,
load is around 60-70C
my idle is around 65~75 sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jan 30 2008, 11:44 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 29 2008, 05:05 PM)
My OC spec is like below,
just the GC is change,
and i can provide u the sm2/sm3/cpu score,
becoz I am using the 3dmark06 basic version only...
I thought u said ur using HD3870?? Why the screenshot says ur using HD3850??
If ur card is HD3850 then ur score is normal ah... Need to OC the GPU more kot??
Just my 2 cents ar...
syapl
post Jan 30 2008, 12:02 PM

301 posts

how come like this ar.... sweat.gif 70+C

This post has been edited by syapl: Jan 30 2008, 12:03 PM
temptation1314
post Jan 30 2008, 12:06 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(syapl @ Jan 30 2008, 12:02 PM)
What casing you using?? Airflow good?
cschun86
post Jan 30 2008, 12:16 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jan 30 2008, 11:44 AM)
I thought u said ur using HD3870?? Why the screenshot says ur using HD3850??
If ur card is HD3850 then ur score is normal ah... Need to OC the GPU more kot??
Just my 2 cents ar...
I got 3 cards on hand right now
2 unit of 3870 and one 3850
i am using 3870 for the benchmark score that i posted b4,
and the OC print screen is previously using 3850,
now OC with the same like i done b4, just changed the GC from 3850 to 3870...
vearn27
post Jan 30 2008, 01:14 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Just installed Crysis this morning... you guys would recommend me to play at which setting?

i) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 0x AA
ii) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 2x AA
iii) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 4x AA

I guess anything beyond this setting will be lagging for me sweat.gif.

This post has been edited by vearn27: Jan 30 2008, 01:14 PM
nelienuxe_sara
post Jan 30 2008, 01:55 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

3870x2 out at 1.5k
any body wanna let go their 3870?
Sagittaros
post Jan 30 2008, 02:13 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jan 29 2008, 11:37 PM)
i just bought sapphire 3850, during installation of win xp, why the card terrible hot... the copper heatsink can boil egg...... and got the burn smell from the display card.
whats going on ?
It is normal.
The powerplay feature still havent enabled becuz driver wasnt installed.
besides,the fan is damn slow.
I would not recommend u to use ubuntu with it.
You would get 90C inside casing no joke.
It is hotter than i play crysis at full load.
Thats why i bought iceq,nice!
frags
post Jan 30 2008, 02:27 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jan 30 2008, 01:14 PM)
Just installed Crysis this morning... you guys would recommend me to play at which setting?

i) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 0x AA
ii) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 2x AA
iii) 1280 x 1024 @ High Setting @ 4x AA

I guess anything beyond this setting will be lagging for me sweat.gif.
Dude forget about 4XAA in Crysis...even 2X have to think twice...in fact keep it at 0XAA
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 30 2008, 02:31 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jan 30 2008, 01:55 PM)
3870x2 out at 1.5k
any body wanna let go their 3870?
woah what a bargain wey laugh.gif

me me me wave.gif after new year wahahahaha brows.gif
butthead012
post Jan 30 2008, 03:12 PM

1,040 posts

wonder if 2 HIS hd3870 iceq turbo will beat 1 HD3870x2?

i still cant decide to get 2xturbo or 1 hd3870... got review stating they are almost the same with hd3870x2 slightly better, tat's tje normal hd3870 though...

just need some info bout this...
syapl
post Jan 30 2008, 03:16 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 30 2008, 12:06 PM)
What casing you using?? Airflow good?
using thermaltake armor now,airflow i think is ok,although i open the side plane the temp just drop 1~2 degree doh.gif
riku2replica
post Jan 30 2008, 03:22 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

will maya 3d program alikes works well on hd3850? google but found a lot of junkies... cry.gif
vearn27
post Jan 30 2008, 03:32 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(syapl @ Jan 30 2008, 12:02 PM)

What is your "fan duty %" at the time when you're taking this screenshot? My HD3870 IceQ 3 Turbo (which is factory overclocked edition) running 50~52C idle and 70~72C full load with all stock setting. I then tuned the "automated fan speed duty %" myself with the RivaTuner and it hardly stay beyond 70C now since I set the fan to be 70% when reached 70C and 80% when reached 75C. It runs around 68~71C now while full load playing Doom 3 or Crysis smile.gif.

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 30 2008, 02:27 PM)
Dude forget about 4XAA in Crysis...even 2X have to think twice...in fact keep it at 0XAA
Really that terrible meh? sweat.gif In which location Crysis will use the maximum graphic processing power? unsure.gif

QUOTE(butthead012 @ Jan 30 2008, 03:12 PM)
wonder if 2 HIS hd3870 iceq turbo will beat 1 HD3870x2?

i still cant decide to get 2xturbo or 1 hd3870... got review stating they are almost the same with hd3870x2 slightly better, tat's tje normal hd3870 though...

just need some info bout this...
Well, to be safe... lets wait for better revision and probably better cooler as well for the HD3870 X2 smile.gif.
syapl
post Jan 30 2008, 05:26 PM

301 posts

how to see the fan duty %?my rivatuner looks like got problem,the fan profile will no vaild after i set it
vearn27
post Jan 30 2008, 05:44 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(syapl @ Jan 30 2008, 05:26 PM)
how to see the fan duty %?my rivatuner looks like got problem,the fan profile will no vaild after i set it
I'm not sure how that software works to you but it been real buggy to me before I successfully configure everything in my 3rd attempt!!!! doh.gif doh.gif

Perhaps the RivaTuner haven't re-coded to work with Ati Catalyst 8.1

Anyway, here's the guide: http://www.guru3d.com/article/article/449/1/ smile.gif
frags
post Jan 30 2008, 05:48 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jan 30 2008, 03:32 PM)
Really that terrible meh? sweat.gif In which location Crysis will use the maximum graphic processing power? unsure.gif
Well you see...Crysis is the most graphically demanding games at the moment and some of the effects it uses are new...and there are many effect...Im sure you will agree with me on that....When you use AA...it actually uses AA on the effects too(not just the 3d sprites like many games do)...on the sun beam...rays in the water...etc...it is full AA...that is why its a huge performance killer...

Many other games actually take short cuts in these and dont really use full AA.

vearn27
post Jan 30 2008, 06:00 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 30 2008, 05:48 PM)
Well you see...Crysis is the most graphically demanding games at the moment and some of the effects it uses are new...and there are many effect...Im sure you will agree with me on that....When you use AA...it actually uses AA on the effects too(not just the 3d sprites like many games do)...on the sun beam...rays in the water...etc...it is full AA...that is why its a huge performance killer...

Many other games actually take short cuts in these and dont really use full AA.
So in conclusion we can say that Crysis is the 1st ever PURE AA designed game while the others so far only partially? sweat.gif

Actually this is my first major upgrade from my 9600xt. Really been losing touch with high-quality games already sweat.gif. That's why I'm trying to asking at what settings usually you all go with 1280 x 1024 which is my LCD native unsure.gif. Alright, been set at 1280 x 1024 High Settings with 0x AA. Thanks god still in very great details smile.gif.

A few mentioned that Crysis need a balanced rig to perform equally good. They recommended me to OC my Q6600 till 3.0~3.2GHz for this game. Izzit true?
LExus65
post Jan 30 2008, 06:05 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

the price for 3870x2 is good, but the cooler aijor...... very disspointed and the power requirement is also killing......

i was thinking of getting a 3870 and 3870x2 together 1..... but i think it's not possible now.... PSU tak cukup power.

butthead, 2 3870 may outperform the x2 if u have x38 chipset, else may be not working as well.... x4 is really limiting the card ability

0.0225sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:39 PM