New Tesla Model 3, Facelift

dwRK
post Sep 12 2024, 10:03 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 11 2024, 07:51 PM)
If you looking for colored PPF, can consider dot garage plt. https://www.facebook.com/DOTGaragePLT/

I did mine there, photos here.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set?vanity=c...160976420304442
nice...

how long warranty?... did they say how long lifespan and when to replace?

dwRK
post Sep 12 2024, 10:14 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ Sep 12 2024, 08:26 AM)
Damn man, that's a heck of a price tag!
Dumb question though, whats the difference between colored PPF and a wrap?

Already starting to accumulate stone chips and got a wheel arch ding from an idiot who didn't know how to be considerate when opening doors.
Considering what to do at the 1 year mark in a few months.
quite normal for whole car ppf...

ppf is thicker 6-10mil... made from either tpu or cheaper tph... some are self healing with heat... some infused with hydrophobic ceramics...

wrap is 2-3mil thick... made from vinyl... has more colors n patterns... easier to install... do not last as long as ppf...

obviously ppf offer better protection from stone chips... neither can protect from bad door dings...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 12 2024, 10:19 AM
celciuz
post Sep 12 2024, 05:14 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 12 2024, 10:03 AM)
nice...

how long warranty?... did they say how long lifespan and when to replace?
Mine is 5 years warranty, when to replace... never mentioned laugh.gif

It is TPU coloured PPF... lubrizol base.
TSLone Wolf X
post Sep 13 2024, 07:29 AM

728 posts

Congrats Penang people! rclxms.gif
Deliveries have started
Hope they will open one in Sarawak/Sabah!

TSLone Wolf X
post Sep 17 2024, 07:02 PM

728 posts

Uncle YS Khong approves the TM3P! 🥳

dwRK
post Sep 17 2024, 07:25 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(Lone Wolf X @ Sep 17 2024, 07:02 PM)
Uncle YS Khong approves the TM3P! 🥳

he approves every car he drives up genting... laugh.gif

TSLone Wolf X
post Sep 18 2024, 02:40 PM

728 posts

There is some fake news going around claiming that EV can be hacked into and turned into a bomb. Something to do with pagers exploding apparently.

Please take note that Tesla invest a lot in cybersecurity to ensure the system is secured. They also have a bug bounty program which rewards people who find vulnerabilities.

So if there is any bugs I'm sure they will patch it up fairly quickly.

https://www.tesla.com/en_MY/legal/security

Kiding
post Sep 18 2024, 06:27 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Lone Wolf X @ Sep 18 2024, 02:40 PM)
There is some fake news going around claiming that EV can be hacked into and turned into a bomb. Something to do with pagers exploding apparently.

Please take note that Tesla invest a lot in cybersecurity to ensure the system is secured. They also have a bug bounty program which rewards people who find vulnerabilities.

So if there is any bugs I'm sure they will patch it up fairly quickly.

https://www.tesla.com/en_MY/legal/security
any device connected to internet can be hacked, it is just a matter of time and difficulty level, no need to worry Tesla vehicle is hacked and get exploded, because it requires a lot of efforts and hacker don't really get rewards, they rather hack the device that have high values as rewards.

babykids
post Sep 18 2024, 09:05 PM

167 posts

i got free wall connector x 1 , mobile connector x 1 for my car. rclxm9.gif
ye0073
post Sep 19 2024, 12:04 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(Lone Wolf X @ Sep 11 2024, 02:13 PM)
White plates or black?

Definitely the new EV plate looks nicer.
HotshotS
post Sep 19 2024, 04:00 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Sep 19 2024, 12:04 PM)
Definitely the new EV plate looks nicer.
For me it looks okay on white paint but honestly the black plate looks better for the other paints.
l2k
post Sep 19 2024, 04:40 PM

13 posts

Dear Model 3 owners. I have been eyeing an EV for awhile. Finally went to test drive both Model 3 and Model Y RWD and to be honest, the experience was beyond my expectation.
Unfortunately the experience store I went to, don't have Model 3 LR.

So, I wish to get some clarification here if LR worth RM30k on top of RWD. My use case is mainly city driving (I do have another ICE) but may still drive long distance once every few months (Penang - North Johor).

1) Real world range concern - What is the real world range of Model 3 LR driving in highway 110-120km/h?
2) Audio quality concern - is the 17 speakers on LR much better than 9 speakers in RWD? On paper it seems yes. I tested the audio briefly, i can tell Model Y is better than Model 3 RWD. This is another factor that sway me towards Model 3 LR.
3) Anyone regretting not going for Model Y after getting Model 3?

The 0% or 0.98% interest is really tempting but ending soon. So, looks like I will have to wait for the next promotion cycle (if there will be another one) sad.gif
celciuz
post Sep 20 2024, 06:27 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(l2k @ Sep 19 2024, 04:40 PM)
Dear Model 3 owners. I have been eyeing an EV for awhile. Finally went to test drive both Model 3 and Model Y RWD and to be honest, the experience was beyond my expectation.

So, I wish to get some clarification here if LR worth RM30k on top of RWD. My use case is mainly city driving (I do have another ICE) but may still drive long distance once every few months (Penang - North Johor).

1) Real world range concern - What is the real world range of Model 3 LR driving in highway 110-120km/h?
2) Audio quality concern - is the 17 speakers on LR much better than 9 speakers in RWD? On paper it seems yes. I tested the audio briefly, i can tell Model Y is better than Model 3 RWD. This is another factor that sway me towards Model 3 LR.

The 0% or 0.98% interest is really tempting but ending soon. So, looks like I will have to wait for the next promotion cycle (if there will be another one)  sad.gif
1. I drove from Melaka to Rawang... it was about 147 Wh/km at 110-120 km/h (except the last stretch more and more cars so about 90 km/h). With this calculation it is about 500km range. Another drive was from KL back to Melaka... kena heavy traffic and I was tired so I just AP in middle lane and follow. Averaging 90-100km/h. This one averages 125 Wh/km ~ about 600km range.
2. All Model Y is premium speakers (aka 2 subwoofers). That's why during the lightshow gatherings, when they are more Model Y...the sound is much louder lol. Cause the model 3 SR speakers are kinda soft and less bass.
3. I personally like Model Y shape better... but when I test drive the Model Y after driving Model 3 for a few months... I was happy I didn't go with Model Y. No confident when I corner with Model Y, maybe due to I'm a sedan guy all this while and not used to crossover. The sound inside the car was kinda noisy too, my friend sitting behind said he can't hear what the salesperson and me talking about. And another thing is, Model Y door close sound is soooo different laugh.gif

Personally, M3 Long Range is nice for your usage. But you won't be able to get from Johor to Penang in single charge either, but fret not as now Gamuda Cove is open... that one is a nice pit stop for you.

AmyDazz
post Sep 20 2024, 07:44 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(babykids @ Sep 18 2024, 09:05 PM)
i got free wall connector x 1 , mobile connector x 1 for my car.  rclxm9.gif
Wow! Good for you. I know we can get free wall connector. But how did you get the mobile connector for free? Is it official free gift by Tesla Malaysia or did you need to beg from your SA or DA?

Btw, your car is Model 3 or Model Y?

This post has been edited by AmyDazz: Sep 20 2024, 07:47 AM
huiqing88
post Sep 20 2024, 10:26 AM

Wow many stars~ :p
781 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Sep 20 2024, 07:44 AM)
Wow! Good for you. I know we can get free wall connector. But how did you get the mobile connector for free? Is it official free gift by Tesla Malaysia or did you need to beg from your SA or DA?

Btw, your car is Model 3 or Model Y?

He bought Model Y Performance with current ongoing promotion which is free mobile connector.
AmyDazz
post Sep 20 2024, 11:28 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(huiqing88 @ Sep 20 2024, 10:26 AM)
He bought Model Y Performance with current ongoing promotion which is free mobile connector.
I see.. no wonder. I thought it was for Model 3. If that's the case, I also would like to request a free mobile connector biggrin.gif
l2k
post Sep 20 2024, 12:14 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 20 2024, 06:27 AM)
1. I drove from Melaka to Rawang... it was about 147 Wh/km at 110-120 km/h (except the last stretch more and more cars so about 90 km/h). With this calculation it is about 500km range. Another drive was from KL back to Melaka... kena heavy traffic and I was tired so I just AP in middle lane and follow. Averaging 90-100km/h. This one averages 125 Wh/km ~ about 600km range.
2. All Model Y is premium speakers (aka 2 subwoofers). That's why during the lightshow gatherings, when they are more Model Y...the sound is much louder lol. Cause the model 3 SR speakers are kinda soft and less bass.
3. I personally like Model Y shape better... but when I test drive the Model Y after driving Model 3 for a few months... I was happy I didn't go with Model Y. No confident when I corner with Model Y, maybe due to I'm a sedan guy all this while and not used to crossover. The sound inside the car was kinda noisy too, my friend sitting behind said he can't hear what the salesperson and me talking about. And another thing is, Model Y door close sound is soooo different  laugh.gif

Personally, M3 Long Range is nice for your usage. But you won't be able to get from Johor to Penang in single charge either, but fret not as now Gamuda Cove is open... that one is a nice pit stop for you.
Thanks for your well elaborated reply. I have the same feeling like you during my test drive as well, Model 3 is more "solid" and has slightly better NVH. Sounds like RM30k is worth it for Model 3 LR over the Model 3 RWD.
The only thing that bug me a bit is leg room, as if the front seats are adjusted all the way to the lowest position, I can't tug my feet underneath.
Prometric
post Sep 20 2024, 03:44 PM

434 posts

The 0% or 0.98% interest is really tempting but ending soon. So, looks like I will have to wait for the next promotion cycle (if there will be another one)  sad.gif
Get Model 3 Performance if your budget allows devil.gif
HotshotS
post Sep 20 2024, 10:15 PM

146 posts

The long range version is well worth the RM29k premium, it's a no brainer for me. You get extra range flexibility whenever you need it (around 550km of range for highway driving around 110km/h), all wheel drive & extra horsepower, much better audio system and to a lesser extent a slightly faster DC charging speed.

No regret on getting Model 3 instead of Model Y at all. Model 3 has much better handling, better interior with ambient lighting, better NVH and most importantly, Model 3 is so much sleeker than Model Y. I don't know why but Model Y's proportion looks kinda off to me, it looks like a vertically stretched Model 3 lmao.

Lastly, I would like to echo what @celciuz mentioned about the door closing of Model Y. The door closing of Model 3 feels so much more solid!

The only advantages of Model Y over Model 3 are the cabin spaciousness, boot space and the gorgeous full view sunroof, more suitable for a family car.
l2k
post Sep 21 2024, 08:23 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(HotshotS @ Sep 20 2024, 10:15 PM)
The long range version is well worth the RM29k premium, it's a no brainer for me. You get extra range flexibility whenever you need it (around 550km of range for highway driving around 110km/h), all wheel drive & extra horsepower, much better audio system and to a lesser extent a slightly faster DC charging speed.

No regret on getting Model 3 instead of Model Y at all. Model 3 has much better handling, better interior with ambient lighting, better NVH and most importantly, Model 3 is so much sleeker than Model Y. I don't know why but Model Y's proportion looks kinda off to me, it looks like a vertically stretched Model 3 lmao.

Lastly, I would like to echo what @celciuz mentioned about the door closing of Model Y. The door closing of Model 3 feels so much more solid!

The only advantages of Model Y over Model 3 are the cabin spaciousness, boot space and the gorgeous full view sunroof, more suitable for a family car.
Absolutely, I appreciate you sharing your insights. When comparing the Model Y LR with additional RM47K premium over the standard version, the pricing for the Model 3 LR seems much more reasonable as well. If I really need an SUV, I’d prefer to wait for the Juniper refresh, but I probably don’t, since I already have another ICE SUV.

99 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:33 AM