Laptop shutdown when connecting USB-C cable

SUSeds2
post Aug 28 2023, 06:25 PM, updated 3y ago

101 posts

currently using lenovo yoga 9i

recently got this problem (sometimes happened), when i plug in usb-c cable to charge, laptop turned off and i need to reset (push power button for 15 second) for it to turn back on.

this laptop usb-c have surge protector or my charger sucks?

i'm using a xiaomi gan 65w charger and usb-c cable from ikea. no problem before this though.

any ideas?
acbc
post Aug 28 2023, 06:30 PM

9,048 posts

Have u tried the original charger?

If shut-off means something has short the power rails to ground.
SUSeds2
post Aug 28 2023, 09:20 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 28 2023, 06:30 PM)
Have u tried the original charger?

If shut-off means something has short the power rails to ground.
per right now, gan and ori charger work just fine. cannot replicate the problem (the abrupt shutdown)

before this, when plugging in usb c (gan or ori), it will take time to recognize charging. plug in and out 2-3 times only charge.

i sent to lenovo service for checkup (ask them to look if loose usb-c port or busted power ic) but they said all is ok
Xploit Machine
post Aug 28 2023, 09:21 PM

❤️ 孤独な旅行者 ❤️​
7,256 posts

cable issue .. try another fone eg. with VIVO with VIVO cable ..
and85rew
post Sep 10 2023, 06:39 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

invest in quality cables
PRSXFENG
post Sep 11 2023, 08:14 PM

2,611 posts

My guess is sometimes these USBC adapters that are 2 pin have weird grounding issues (you will feel a tingle or zap)
Criollo
post Oct 17 2023, 11:31 AM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

Ah i had an M15 with the about the same issue, though mine was USB-A port. Every single time i plug in any sort of USB device it will powerdown with error and i have to hard reset to bring it to life.

Sadly, after changing motherboard and ram 3 times the issue could not be resolved. Full refund.
chkwong
post Oct 17 2023, 08:46 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Aug 28 2023, 06:25 PM)
currently using lenovo yoga 9i

recently got this problem (sometimes happened), when i plug in usb-c cable to charge, laptop turned off and i need to reset (push power button for 15 second) for it to turn back on.

this laptop usb-c have surge protector or my charger sucks?

i'm using a xiaomi gan 65w charger and usb-c cable from ikea. no problem before this though.

any ideas?
Did close or open the laptop cover when charging? It could be the magnetic sensor (circuit) is kaput liao.

0.0173sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:23 AM