Serious How to know you are ready for marriage?, Marriage

hksgmy
post Jun 8 2024, 01:01 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(tekkaus @ May 2 2024, 09:15 AM)
Ha! I have 2 boys and 1 daughter.  rclxms.gif
Heh… no kids on my part, but somehow, I knew my then gf now long suffering waifu was THE ONE the minute she said yes to a meal at White Castle. And we were still in our school uniforms back then.

When you know, you know..
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 08:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Apr 29 2024, 11:21 AM)
Haaaih...TS.....time to sort your thoughts. Talking to your ex gf friend is fine. Talk aje......

As for your old age plans, you wanna be alone OR with someone.

One my my friends now age 50 regret not having anyone now. Younger days playing the field. Now rasa liao........

So you too better sort your thoughts. No point regretting later.
But we have quite an unrepentant resident player here in this section of the forums hahaha…. He hasn’t terasa yet…
hksgmy
post Jun 12 2024, 08:47 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 12 2024, 08:38 AM)
You dont derive your sense of worth of external things like money or women even a family. You just enjoy those and view it from god perspective and have an objective view of anything in life. You're not completely carried away by temptations

If he's feeling lonely, he's trapped in low paradigm for long time
I beg to differ. A healthy sense of self value has to be made up of a combination of intrinsic as well as topped up with a sprinkling of extrinsic qualities. To have only a wholly internal barometer or as you said “god perspective” is both unhealthy and unbalanced.

Megalomaniacs, dictators and narcissists… these are the characteristics of those who measure themselves with no regard for accountability.

hksgmy
post Jun 12 2024, 08:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 12 2024, 08:51 AM)
Each individual is just playing their own character to the max
as ive covered numerous points in the previous thread
From your skewed and inaccurate perspective, yes, you’ve said that many times… perhaps in an attempt to convince yourself, most of all.
hksgmy
post Jun 12 2024, 02:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 12 2024, 12:41 PM)
amoi crave a sense of male stability
that stability doesnt need to come from money
but your ability to be indifferent when she or life gives you shit tests, will stand out from most guys out there

cause u have been there
and your aura cannot be faked if a person communicates with you longer time
Why are you so quick to dismiss the role that financial stability plays in the interaction? Just curious.

Because I would imagine a confident, suave, self assured person with the financial clout to back up his words and actions would score more points than the same type of person who, apart from his demeanour, words and self confidence, is actually running on empty….
hksgmy
post Jun 12 2024, 11:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Jun 12 2024, 11:25 PM)
I like where you're going 👀 Well, from woman perspective looking into long term relationship, I fully agree that financial stability is a factor. Let's not kid ourselves: money can't buy all happiness but it sure buys many! We don't need to look for loaded rich man, but a bum/NEET would be very undesirable.

I've heard of this relationship advice, "don't find someone to complete yourself; complete yourself to find someone." It makes sense to me because burden is unattractive, like duh?

That said, onto the topic of long term vs short, the dynamic is very different.... Who cares if you're poor, if all I want is to have fun? Be it physical intimacy, or companionship, or platonic friendship .... Knowing you're not my future, I don't need to know your financial standing to enjoy short flings with you. It's never about money determining status, but more about the future of a couple.
I agree with your assessment, that’s why I found what he (our resident player) said quite contradictory:

amoi crave a sense of male stability
that stability doesnt need to come from money

On one hand, he says a woman craves for a sense of male stability (which wouldn’t come into question if it were just a fling), but one the other hand, he was quick to say that the stability has little if anything to do with money (which as you rightly called it, actually plays quite a big part in the ability of a person to provide the physical and material part of stability).

Love may make the world go round, but money makes it go round so much smoother. I’m just mature (and old enough) to admit it.
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2024, 09:31 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 13 2024, 08:59 AM)
don't forget about cultural differences

while i'm aware and I have experienced it myself with heartache on 'ada wang, ada amoi' (this is really true, even my wife said it), one should not overlook the cultural factors in play.

in some other cultures, you can clearly see couples getting married despite the husband holding improper jobs or those 3D jobs. If you speak to them, financial stability is not the most important trait to them.

And some women are clearly charmed by the wits of men who are good in sweet talking despite holding improper jobs.

whereas in some specific culture, the daily life revolves around money, money, and money, for example, attending a wedding involves giving away money, attending funeral also involves giving away money, even attending birthday celebrations also involves giving away money.
I believe it’s more of an educational and values difference rather than an outright cultural bias. Certain financially successful people (eg doctors, since I obviously mix the most with these guys within my social circle) think in a certain similar (albeit not identical) manner and do so with a similar methodology - regardless of the cultural background they come from.

Sweet nothings will only get one so far… since it’s built on nothing, hence it’s got nothing to stand on.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 13 2024, 09:33 AM
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2024, 04:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 13 2024, 03:33 PM)
Most females want to have fun (assuming if they make enough money for themselves), they're also girls who outright rejecting a guy based on his Instagram profile, I've fucked hot girls who seldom on social media and I was very poor that time there are many factors that can hold the attraction period

Money is not the sole factor
as I said, if a man has gone out to experience women a lot, he knows what I'm talking about
I may be mistaken, but for a moment there, I was given the impression that you think the number of girls you've scored is actually something to pin on your achievement list, like a scout's badge.

Wow... bar's set super low for some, I guess.
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2024, 04:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 13 2024, 04:39 PM)
thats what a sjw does
Oh, really? I would have thought that's what any man with any other worthwhile achievement (financial, academic, professional, family etc) would think.

People often choose to focus on the only thing that they're good at, no matter how controversial or dubious, because they are devoid of any other worthwhile achievements.

Don't need to be a SJW to see that ... anyone with half a working brainstem and a functioning eyeball could tell you that.
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2024, 05:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 13 2024, 04:45 PM)
just focus being a good family man then
why waste your time to reply?
You do yours, and I'll do mine when it comes to fun, thanks smile.gif
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2024, 04:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Jun 13 2024, 10:31 PM)
Just as it's presumptuous of us to say you will want a long term relationship, it is also presumptuous of you to think "most women want to have fun".

Remember that this topic is about readiness for marriage. What you're telling me from your statement of bedding many hot girls, is not that you're a good boyfriend or husband, but more like you're good at bed... which, I guess that's true if you're not ghosted after first time, but I don't want to know anyway).

You may be right when it comes to initial attraction, that money isn't the main point (heck, anyone who talks about money on first date would be a red flag). However, all that amounts to nothing when it comes to marriage or along the lines of long term commitments. Anyhow, I guess you helped other readers who agree with you that they are also as unprepared for marriage as you.
As I said, his inability to process and synthesise possibilities beyond his own limited paradigmatic boundaries (ie some men or women could be looking for more than just a fling) is demonstrative of a lack of a critical mind and, the corollary of that failing, an outright shallowness in thinking.

I find it both fascinating and rather sad that he is blinded by his glaring foible and mistakes his ignorance for self confidence.
hksgmy
post Jun 15 2024, 08:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 15 2024, 08:27 PM)
the ability to be interesting and interested is a skillset
not just making money and be a work slave
find a life balance
Im sure you dont want all your attention put onto kids only
Ah, the presumptuous mind of an immature thinker.

Who said anything about needing to be a work slave to make the kind of money I am making or talking about?

And so many other incorrect assumptions of an inept mind of an incompetent man…
hksgmy
post Jun 15 2024, 11:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 15 2024, 11:23 PM)
very sien have to repeat myself to this kind of rigid old man
Oh, there’s no need for you to keep singing the same song. Because the more you try to explain yourself or your ‘philosophy’, the more it sounds like you’re trying to convince yourself.

But I appreciate the civility and the evenhanded response you’ve shown so far. It’s a good start to meaningful discourse.
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 12:19 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

What did I just read above?!?!
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 09:56 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I got my then classmate, later girlfriend and now long suffering wife interested because I was the apparently the brightest bulb in the box back at school.

She was apparently the second brightest, so it wasn’t enough with mere appearances since all of us could break a buffet spread and not gain an ounce at that age, and certainly wasn’t about the money since all of us were as broke as we were skinny as students.

After all these years, we still find ourselves engaging in intellectual discourse and philosophical discussions over local and international affairs.

And we still enjoy it.

Sapiosexuals are a rare breed, but that’s what made us click.
hksgmy
post Jun 16 2024, 04:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Jun 16 2024, 04:17 PM)
...Oh. Yeah well I think you're one of us now, fellow "SJW" tongue.gif

I guess he's lost it when he said

The more he tries to justify himself, the worse it looks for him in a subforum that isn't about body counting 🤷‍♀️
Couldn't have said it any better ... like I said, the more he tries to explain/justify, the more it seems he's trying hard to convince himself that somehow, somewhere, what he does and how he does it inexplicably carries some unfathomable meaning for him.

Because it certainly doesn't for me.

0.0251sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:35 PM