mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 28 2023, 01:04 PM)
was bout to ask this.

wait... i mean ain shams

i tot those 2 uni, oyen very lespek one

its weird. they lespek those uni, but if u talk about NUS and NTU they macam DGAF.

those ain shams and al azhar even worse than our local uni but if u say u from there they look u high high
UniRank lists ranking based on website performance, not educational performance.

azarimy
post Aug 28 2023, 01:40 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 28 2023, 01:39 PM)
regardless, even qs or thes dont rank those higher than UM
Memang ler. I'm saying, UniRank only looks at the website performance. Meaning, if the university pumps a lot of money to produce good, informative website, they'll rank higher.

This is why a few years back LKW outranked most IPTAs, and everybody was like WTF? Rupa2nya webranking hahaha.
azarimy
post Aug 28 2023, 01:59 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 28 2023, 01:43 PM)
btw since ur a local academician, is it true?

because thats what I saw from my friends' facebook
i know some grad from there then their frineds be like "wooo , grad al azhar ni power sia"
"wah ko grad ain shams ek, patutla power"

meanwhile, me grad from local uni "je"..

"oh... UXX.ok"
unrelated :
actually i realize one of the easiest way for marhesian to go to a top uni is by applying to peking uni but the main problem is gotta learn mandarin. anyone trieded before?
You're asking if it's true Al-Azhar is power gila?

Well, it is true that Al-Azhar is the 2nd oldest university in the world, but it only became a full-fledged university in 1967. As a comparison, UM became a full university in 1948, then re-established after the split of Singapore in 1962.

But yes, there's a massive tradition that is one of the pillars of Al-Azhar. It's not just about the publications or research, it is also about the prestige and the character of the students. They don't let any person study and graduate from Al-Azhar, which means the graduates will always have a certain degree of prestige.

Nowadays, local unis play the ranking game. So IPTAs pump a lot of money and effort into fulfilling the ranking requirements, and less emphasis on things that Al-Azhar concentrates on. Because of this, Al-Azhar is ranked at 1201-1400, while UM is at #65 (based on QS world ranking).

0.0131sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:15 AM