~ Official Asus EEE PC Thread ~, Post everything on EEE here!

seaotter
post Nov 7 2007, 12:02 AM

601 posts

oh? an Eee thread? wonderful!

Kerazul: this is the stuff that i mentioned to you previously. Good eh?

btw, this would be nice for classroom setting as its not HUEG or HEAVY or something to that sense, and its about the same price as people would pay for a handphone these days. seeing this has about 3.5 hours of battery WITH wifi on, i can say you can add about 1 hour or so with the wifi turned off?

and also, as someone previously said, SHDC 8GB + this = a better thing to have than a PDA. Even with XP on it, you can save some space by installing OpenOffice seeing its smaller. Besides, you can always nLite your XP installation.

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4062 <== some tweaks people have done for the Eee, which includes XP installation.

BTW, there is another model of the Eee announced last year - 8GB version. it WILL be more expensive, but would be more better for installing XP WITH extra space.

but for basic document workings? i think the 4GB is decent enough.
seaotter
post Nov 7 2007, 09:09 PM

601 posts

Kazaho: that bad eh? cant help it. its not a vaio T series tongue.gif

anyhow, i suggest you disable your file swap to prolong your SSD's life.

click the link i posted in page...6? 7? that has the tweaks for it.

*starts an Eee fund*
seaotter
post Nov 11 2007, 11:19 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(GSPierre @ Nov 11 2007, 11:09 PM)
can i install window XP? it stated that window xp compatible... what does that means?
yeah you can install XP on it. it WILL take a big chunk of the SSD but its possible. heck, Asus is even giving the drivers for the tuff in a dvd they are providing with the unit. So if want to install XP, have to use external dvd/cd drive la. on HOW to install, google it. i know there are a few brave souls out there that has done it.

one question - when this promo ends, will the shop carry more Eees in malaysia? or Asus will start distributing it around computer shops?

1299 for a ultra mobile laptop - so nice, but i have to save up first liao...T_T
seaotter
post Nov 11 2007, 11:27 PM

601 posts

oh wow kerazul, ur getting the Eee.
nice one. altho the battery life cannot lawan your Dopod la ehehehe

my 6828 is running fine, tho seeing the Ee is here, i'm saving moneh to get it and trade in my 6828 to a smaller phone haha.

most probably by next year?....i hope
seaotter
post Nov 11 2007, 11:32 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Nov 11 2007, 11:29 PM)
i dun think can install much software rite? cause its not running on windows rite?
if you mean windows program yes

but remember, there are like a lot of programs for linux out there. ask the gurus in the linux forum if you have any question
seaotter
post Nov 15 2007, 12:38 AM

601 posts

i for one think it as the cheapest sub notebook that you can buy in the market now to do normal day-to-day jobs - document writing, net surfing, occasional songs/video, maybe some light programming.

its light enough for me to bring to class and use it without me having the need of needing huge tables or something like that.

for me, even with XP,. 4GBs is enough for what i intend it to do - Memory cards/thumb drive are cheaper per GBs these days, so its not hard to have stuff to go.

question - for those who has it - mind putting up a picture of the power brick? i heard its small, but i need to see it then i can belive biggrin.gif
seaotter
post Nov 15 2007, 12:57 AM

601 posts

stringfellow: i heard about that, but, knowing the human condition, i need to see visual proof tongue.gif

anyhow, with the CONFIRMATION of the 8GB +10" screen model....i'm divided to get which one. i still need to save up, but to save of for which spec?...
seaotter
post Nov 16 2007, 12:09 AM

601 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2007/11/15/asus-ee...n-galaxy-black/

ok.
this is sexy.
k0k_w3i - push Asus to bring in the black one NOW biggrin.gif
seaotter
post Nov 16 2007, 02:55 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 16 2007, 02:30 PM)
I got ONE! And I absolutely love it! Great build quality and simply perfect as my little Linux box!

Million thanks to MTCS(Thank you Mike & Kok Wei, you guys totally rock!) for making this a smooth purchase. Tested with the Apacer 8Gb SDHC & two Kingston 4Gb SDHC, flawless!

May not have time to do that Asus restore image. But hot damn Asus, you made a fan out of me! thumbup.gif
lucky fellow biggrin.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

mind taking some pics of the charger next to the unit itself?
seaotter
post Nov 16 2007, 09:51 PM

601 posts

hey guys...

a funny thing happened. i went to pavilion for dinner just now, go makan lah.
then i went for jalan-jalan. then i remembered that mtcs is in pavillion, so i draged my mom along to see the shop and molest the demo unit.

long story short, i'm now typing in my own Eee!
boy its small, the pictures out there does not do it justice.

ans stringfellow: by the time you posted that image, i was in the process of buying one biggrin.gif

btw to the other owners - how long so far your batteries have tahaned?
seaotter
post Nov 17 2007, 10:27 PM

601 posts

Day 2 of Eee-own

Attempting to install skype 2.0 - will the 2.0 version overide the old 1.4?
also, thinking of making the Eee XP. who has XP-ise their machine? want to know did you install bulat bulat or used nlite to shrink the install?

(still need to get use to that tiny shift key on the right hand side tongue.gif)
seaotter
post Nov 18 2007, 07:33 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(ilham87 @ Nov 18 2007, 06:05 PM)
i just install xp pro.. installed driver,office 2003, adobe acrobat reader, vlc player, norton internet security 2007. 1.4gb left.

although some people said norton consume a lot of resource, but i notice the startup is much faster compare to computer, with same software installed. boot time.. 35 seconds from switching on button, until finish loading startup items (no hdd activity).
bro, did you install bulat bulat the xp, or you nlited it?
also, for office 2003, you installed some or everything?

p.s : sorry gen-x for stealing your user icon biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by seaotter: Nov 18 2007, 07:34 PM
seaotter
post Nov 18 2007, 09:18 PM

601 posts

hmm...like that ah?

btw mind putting up a screenshot of XP running? btw did you disable swapfile? i heard by doing that you can increase the lifespan of the SSD
seaotter
post Nov 18 2007, 09:25 PM

601 posts

that, and the my computer window

thinking of XPing the Eee.

btw, did you formated the SSD? and when u press the home button on te keyboard - does it open the start button?
seaotter
post Nov 20 2007, 01:05 PM

601 posts

hmm.....

kokwei: just want to ask an update about the memory thing - do we need to go to the asus center to upgrade or we can upgrade ourself without nulling the warranty?
seaotter
post Nov 21 2007, 01:12 PM

601 posts

so.....k0k_w31, if we buy our own memory and bring it to the Asus center and upgrade there can ka?

btw where IS the Asus center?
seaotter
post Nov 21 2007, 04:03 PM

601 posts

so k0k_w31, any updates?

512 with XP is not really the best environment out there....its like a wira with a kancil engine tongue.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
seaotter
post Nov 29 2007, 10:32 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Nov 29 2007, 10:10 AM)
nope nlite to trim it for me
my installation abt 200 mb
what DID you trim off from your XP install?
seaotter
post Nov 29 2007, 10:49 PM

601 posts

hey guys - for those who installed xp on the Eee, how big is your realtek driver install?
seaotter
post Dec 5 2007, 12:18 AM

601 posts

question - to those who upgraded your rams to 1GB - how did you take off that yellow sticker?

or you voided your warranty already?

0.0375sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:25 PM