~ Official Asus EEE PC Thread ~, Post everything on EEE here!

chicky86
post Mar 25 2008, 08:12 PM

320 posts

new eee user reporting in....
juz got mine last week....
no time to post....
hehe.... summore my connection here very slow....
mine is 701 4g galaxy black.....
love it very much....
plan to install xp.....
any 1 noe how to do it witout external dvd rom??
coz wanna save money on buying sdhc card.... tongue.gif
chicky86
post Mar 25 2008, 10:12 PM

320 posts

thanx bro....
i'll giv it a try den i'll let u noe....
hehe....
btw, did u all manage to find a suitable bag for it??
haha... rclxms.gif

Ps : upgraded to Kingston 2gig ddr2 667 mhz.. love it.... very fast.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chicky86: Mar 25 2008, 10:23 PM
chicky86
post Mar 25 2008, 10:58 PM

320 posts

hmm.... y u said so le???
it will become very slow??
coz now in linux onli detected 1 gig onli....
i need some help here....
i followed da guide but stuck halfway.....
i dunno how to use command prompt..... wat should i type here???

"Once the format is complete DO NOT close the window just leave everything as it is and open a command prompt from your start menu (type cmd in the search bar or run box depending on your version of windows.).

Inside of the command windows go to the directory you have bootsect.exe saved.
(use the cd directoryname command to switch folders)

Now type "bootsect.exe /nt52 R:" NOTE R: is the drive letter for my USB stick if yours is different you need to change it accordingly. What this part does is write the correct boot sector to your USB stick, this allows your PC to boot from the USB stick without it nothing works.
Please note: When running the bootsect.exe command you cannot have any windows open displaying the content of your USB stick, if you have a window open bootsect.exe will be unable to lock the drive and write the bootsector correctly."

dun understand le..... haiz..... noob in command prompt.... rclxub.gif doh.gif sweat.gif blink.gif
my folder for bootsect is "C:\Documents and Settings\Jacky\Desktop\usb xp\bootsect"..... can any1 tell me wat should i type???
realli appreciate it....
btw, im using win xp pro sp2...... laugh.gif
chicky86
post Mar 26 2008, 03:48 AM

320 posts

hmmm....
i followed da step de.....
but it came out error.....
is there anythin im missing???
haiz.... troublesome..... cry.gif sweat.gif
it can boot.... but wen i choose da text function, it came out error.....
haiz...... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chicky86: Mar 26 2008, 03:52 AM
chicky86
post Mar 26 2008, 01:49 PM

320 posts

hmmm...
da problems happen wen i boot into usb drive, i choose txt mode....
den it come out "file \$win_nt$.~bt\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded"
error code is 14....
wat should i do??
wat went wrong?? cry.gif sweat.gif
chicky86
post Mar 26 2008, 06:23 PM

320 posts

hmmm....
but da prob is i didnt nlite my xp.....
i scared i'll make mistake....
so, i use ori xp....
n it came out dis error.....
any idea wat i can do??
hehe... tongue.gif

ps : yeah.. i saw da msg..... i even redo da steps all over again... but stil da same.... cry.gif

This post has been edited by chicky86: Mar 26 2008, 06:52 PM
chicky86
post Mar 26 2008, 07:03 PM

320 posts

nope...
im using ori xp.....
xp pro version 5.1.2600 sp2.....
haiz.....
or izit my desktop prob??
any more idea??
shakehead.gif
chicky86
post Apr 2 2008, 07:33 PM

320 posts

alot can be done with eee pc....
some even modified it for touch screen n other stuff....
of course it can run microsoft office....
but its better if u run da portable version, it save space...
hehe.... some even running photoshop in eee pc...
chicky86
post Apr 5 2008, 01:20 AM

320 posts

guys... needed some help here....
last time tried de to make a bootable xp thumdrive, but failed....
i think i already identified da prob...
i tried to make a bootable xp.... using da guide xenos provided me....
but couldnt do it le....
wen comes to selecting da xp setup source, i select my dvd rom where i put my xp cd in....
but it came out "error: the path .............. does not contain windows xp source files"
wat should i do???
i even tried using other disc.... or use my fren's com.... stil da same....
a fast help is needed here
hehe.... thanx..... notworthy.gif
chicky86
post Apr 5 2008, 03:59 AM

320 posts

im trying to install da full xp....
juz dat im using pendrive....
coz dun hav external dvd rom....
hehe...

Added on April 5, 2008, 4:16 amhmm...
i tried over n over again...
but stil cannot, after i boot from da pendrive, it came out dis error "file \$win_nt$.~bt\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded".... error 14....
any1 has any idea wat i done wrong??
or can u all plz guide me step by step to do it??
hehe.... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by chicky86: Apr 5 2008, 04:16 AM
chicky86
post Apr 5 2008, 03:06 PM

320 posts

im using ori xp disc....
hmmm,....
i'll giv it a try la...
hehe...
thanx.... tongue.gif
chicky86
post Apr 8 2008, 08:09 PM

320 posts

guys...
i admit defeat...
i borrowed external usb dvd rom from my fren to install xp...
hehe....
i heard there's a few things we need to adjust after we install xp rite??
wats dat ya??
im installin da full xp...
i heard we need to adjust sumthin to ramdisk....
wats dat??
can any1 tell me after installin xp, wat should i do??
hehe...
thanx... rclxms.gif tongue.gif
chicky86
post Apr 8 2008, 08:22 PM

320 posts

tongue.gif
QUOTE(xeNOS @ Apr 8 2008, 08:15 PM)
haha glad that u finally got XP on it smile.gif congrats ! rclxms.gif
ok.. i think this is wat i did la...

0. enable drive compression (better do this early)
1. Disable the page file (u hv 2GB ram so it shld be perfectly ok wink.gif)
2. Download RAMdisk (the 1 with GUI easier)
3. change cache of FIrefox to ramdisk
4. disable  file  indexing cos SSD is very fast..

i think tis is it kua.. correct me if i'm wrong guys wink.gif
where to download ramdisk ya??
it is a software hor?? need to install??
sorry for noob question.....
if i use IE7, wat should i do??
hehe... thanx...
1 more thing... if im using sdhc, how to make it look like a partition in my computer??
haha... thanx.... rclxms.gif
chicky86
post Apr 9 2008, 02:52 AM

320 posts

for da ramdisk, juz put da temporary internet folder in it can de??
temporary folder wanna put in it??
hehe.... tongue.gif
chicky86
post Apr 9 2008, 11:20 AM

320 posts

ooo...
alrite....
so its juz da temporary internet files dat we put in da ram disk la??
thanx alot xeNOS....
toughnut... mind to share where can u get da hitachi microdrive driver??
hehe.... rclxms.gif
chicky86
post Apr 9 2008, 03:12 PM

320 posts

hmmm...
guys... i hav another prob now.....
da audio driver juz couldnt install.....
wat should i do........
i install de....
den stil cannot found da driver.....
everytime restart oso da same...... cry.gif

0.0398sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:26 AM