114 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

~ Official Asus EEE PC Thread ~, Post everything on EEE here!

Usernamed
post Dec 27 2007, 05:09 PM

110 posts

hey just got it yesterday, but only in the chinese linux huh??? How to change it to be english?
sniper on the roof
post Dec 27 2007, 06:23 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Usernamed @ Dec 27 2007, 05:09 PM)
hey just got it yesterday, but only in the chinese linux huh??? How to change it to be english?
http://wiki.eeeuser.com/howto:configurefromscratch

http://wiki.eeeuser.com/howto:changelanguage

david888
post Dec 27 2007, 07:22 PM

1,069 posts

one of my friends asked me can we use the EEEPC for BT downloading? i said definitely not recommended since it's using SSD. However, he said it's possible to upgrade the EEEPC to 2GBram, then used the RAMDISK for downloading without accessing the SSD.

Use the Ramdisk software to make part of the RAM become a HDD for download? i have not idea is it possible.

anyone know about this and try before? if it's possible it might help us to save some electricity bill money. smile.gif

This post has been edited by david888: Dec 27 2007, 07:24 PM
iRonTech
post Dec 27 2007, 08:15 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(david888 @ Dec 27 2007, 07:22 PM)
one of my friends asked me can we use the EEEPC for BT downloading? i said definitely not recommended since it's using SSD. However, he said it's possible to upgrade the EEEPC to 2GBram, then used the RAMDISK for downloading without accessing the SSD.

Use the Ramdisk software to make part of the RAM become a HDD for download? i have not idea is it possible.

anyone know about this and try before? if it's possible it might help us to save some electricity bill money. smile.gif
install 2GB RAM, get the ArRamdisk, configure it as big as u wanted...

but, once u shutdown w/o copy it to harddisk/flash USB... sweat.gif sweat.gif everything gone
david888
post Dec 27 2007, 08:39 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 27 2007, 08:15 PM)
install 2GB RAM, get the ArRamdisk, configure it as big as u wanted...

but, once u shutdown w/o copy it to harddisk/flash USB... sweat.gif  sweat.gif everything gone
so, it's possible. hmmm,...that is great smile.gif but i don't think i will do that biggrin.gif

ahsin
post Dec 27 2007, 10:54 PM

Freak9u
1,144 posts

QUOTE(Usernamed @ Dec 27 2007, 05:09 PM)
it time to install xp....
moiskyrie
post Dec 27 2007, 10:55 PM

3,217 posts

malaysia still don't have 8gb?
any site list down the spec of eee pc? since asus website only have limited information...
consider to get 1 unit......
the ram is so-dimm ram or desktop ram?

This post has been edited by moiskyrie: Dec 27 2007, 10:57 PM
sniper on the roof
post Dec 27 2007, 11:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(david888 @ Dec 27 2007, 07:22 PM)

most of the time.. I'm using my Eee for BT'ing leh.

Using external HDD.

Frankly, I dont' really see much use of a 1GB ramdisk
ahsin
post Dec 28 2007, 02:51 AM

Freak9u
1,144 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Dec 27 2007, 10:55 PM)
malaysia still don't have 8gb?
any site list down the spec of eee pc? since asus website only have limited information...
consider to get 1 unit......
the ram is so-dimm ram or desktop ram?
u may get it from taiwan if u hv fren going there or stay there.. i also looking for a 8gb .... spec u can google it... and the ram is normal notebook ddr 2 ... can support up to 2gb....but only got 1 slot
iRonTech
post Dec 28 2007, 08:28 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(david888 @ Dec 27 2007, 08:39 PM)
so, it's possible. hmmm,...that is great  smile.gif  but i don't think i will do that  biggrin.gif
smile.gif i'm using 512 Ramdisk for temp, firefox & ie cache + paging file
moiskyrie
post Dec 28 2007, 08:48 AM

3,217 posts

read from wiki say that ssd will died faster if it read/write too often...true? then how pendrive still not died?
splua333
post Dec 28 2007, 10:09 AM

228 posts

SSD is more durable than flash drive and even last more longer than HDD. Which Eee PC's SSD is MLC type and not SLC type which found on most of the flash drive in market.

Although it has read/write lifespan. But the Eee PC's SSD has dynamic wear leveling feature which is write the "busy" task to a buffer space before write into the SSD
目前EeePC SSD的控制IC是CF card改來用的, 有dynamic wear leveling功能, 會把寫入頻繁的記憶區塊跟空白區塊對調, 延長壽命.

Normally, the SLC type flash's lifespan can exceed 1million times write. But Eee PC's MLC type SSD's Dynamic wear leveling feature will balance the numbers Write-in for buffer space and SSD. And it will longer the lifespan.

The main Advantage for SSD can found on the trip on bus in China (almost like roller coaster). which i can watch my movie (save in SSD+memory card) and never be stop or paused. Unlike the HDD laptops.
moiskyrie
post Dec 28 2007, 11:27 AM

3,217 posts

>.<....make me more more more want it....

oh...if ssd died must replace with ssd or can replace with notebook hdd?
since the since is same...2.5inch
Usernamed
post Dec 28 2007, 11:42 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(ahsin @ Dec 27 2007, 10:54 PM)
it time to install xp....
I've heard from the review (USA or somewhere western country), they said XP is not good for this, may cause many error for certain program
splua333
post Dec 28 2007, 12:22 PM

228 posts

nop. It is stable than linux which builtin.

But, you had to stay with 800x480 or 800x600 resolution. Some of the application need 1024x768 and more, u need to use the simulate 1024x768 or even 1280x1024 that get from display properties.

i found out that it is same as my other lappy and desktop. still cant get error for my daily task and program i used.

Eee PC (701 model, 4G version)'s SSD is solder-type, not 1.8" or 2.5".
But we can upgrade it by put 1 mini PCI-E type SSD for it. But makesure your EEE behind the back cover has the mini PCI-E slot. Latest batch seem had no that slot. (8G version had use it for 8G SSD, But dun hv solder type SSD)
Usernamed
post Dec 28 2007, 12:39 PM

110 posts

I'm not sure about that yet since I only spend 30 minutes on it yesteray lol, gonna check again when I go home. thanks
david888
post Dec 28 2007, 01:03 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Usernamed @ Dec 28 2007, 11:42 AM)
I've heard from the review (USA or somewhere western country), they said XP is not good for this, may cause many error for certain program
mine was already installed with Windows XP, i disable the paging, tested a few applications, office 2003, real player, mplayer, k-lite, surf internet, so far no issue. smile.gif

it should be fine with normal daily application, but i never ty huge & big application on this small notebook, also, after install winXP SP2, office 2003, AVG and few small apps, my SSD left about 1.5GB.
iRonTech
post Dec 28 2007, 06:31 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(splua333 @ Dec 28 2007, 10:09 AM)
SSD is more durable than flash drive and even last more longer than HDD. Which Eee PC's SSD is MLC type and not SLC type which found on most of the flash drive in market.

Although it has read/write lifespan. But the Eee PC's SSD has dynamic wear leveling feature which is write the "busy" task to a buffer space before write into the SSD
目前EeePC SSD的控制IC是CF card改來用的, 有dynamic wear leveling功能, 會把寫入頻繁的記憶區塊跟空白區塊對調, 延長壽命.

Normally, the SLC type flash's lifespan can exceed 1million times write. But Eee PC's MLC type SSD's Dynamic wear leveling feature will balance the numbers Write-in for buffer space and SSD. And it will longer the lifespan.

The main Advantage for SSD can found on the trip on bus in China (almost like roller coaster). which i can watch my movie (save in SSD+memory card) and never be stop or paused. Unlike the HDD laptops.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

will MLC SSD can stand laptop heat? hmm.gif

ahsin
post Dec 29 2007, 05:30 PM

Freak9u
1,144 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Dec 28 2007, 06:31 PM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

will MLC SSD can stand laptop heat? hmm.gif
dont know... but eee pc damm hot
Pip_X
post Dec 29 2007, 09:58 PM