Yes 5G Wireless Broadband Flexi Unlimited RM58?

eddie2020
post Oct 20 2023, 10:14 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

Guys the Sim card only can buy online or yes store? I went to mynews and they give me yes Sim and said its rm30.. I ask is it a broadband but they can't answer.. They took 2 type of packaging which only written 5g..so I not sure if we buy and activate the Sim and select either postpaid prepaid or broadband?
eddie2020
post Oct 30 2023, 06:59 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

Guys did you all got issue when connecting to company portal etc? I using yes.. Sometimes modem drop to 4g everything OK but when I lock 5g.. B28 n78 my connection of company laptop or Microsoft Outlook very slow and keep need to refresh.. But normal browsing all very good over 100 mbps.. Izzit something wrong with the band? Or maybe my company security setting with 5g wireless? Tring to figure out
eddie2020
post Nov 5 2023, 09:37 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2023, 06:53 PM)
I just received the Zyxel NR5103e router bought from Taobao, speed tested:

Not too bad, there were a few instances it went above 500Mbps and it is always getting >500Mbps on fast.com
How much from taobao...
My line keep dropping randomly.. Used a week I guess dropped like 4 5 times.. Modem show connected etc but no Internet.. Then I need go in reconnect the band... Not sure is modem problem or yes problem..
eddie2020
post Nov 5 2023, 09:39 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 3 2023, 10:32 PM)
My problem is that Yes 5G is not stable, it will drop to 4G and becomes unusable. At least, I can see this from iPhone 12PM. I guess I will terminate it after a month and change to U Home. laugh.gif
But umobile is using dnb as well rite?
eddie2020
post Nov 6 2023, 09:38 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 2 2023, 08:24 PM)
so far mine is okay - fingers crossed!
QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 5 2023, 09:59 PM)
Anyway, the line never drops anymore after I change to the router. Happy with this purchase. It kept dropping when I was using it with iPhone 12 Pro Max.
I got it about RM 510 with airshipped from China.
Yes. So gonna be the same? laugh.gif
Wow 510 is cheap.. You can resell in Shopee ady haha..

Guys since u both use the same modem as me.. Wanna ask did you guys reset factory setting? Izzit 4g Internet is green colour and 5g is blue colour?
I find out 5g I have many difficulties logging in my company teams / outlook.. I need change it to 4g only can use.. Not sure if you guys have the same issue..
eddie2020
post Nov 6 2023, 10:37 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 6 2023, 10:01 PM)
Ya, those people on Shopee also got from Taobao. laugh.gif

The unit already reset to the factory settings when I got it. 5G is blue color globe. I'm using it today whole day for working, Outlook and Teams all work perfectly.
Hmmm.... Weird... Donno izzit my company encryption.. Did you get any drop off?

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 6 2023, 10:30 PM)
outlook and teams seems okay ... but netflix, hbo go seems lagging
You mean lag in term of speed? My speed is OK 3xx mbps n 1xx upload.. Jz that random drop off and the working stuff can't login
eddie2020
post Nov 8 2023, 03:55 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 6 2023, 10:44 PM)
No drop off anymore after I changed to this router, it did when I was using it in iPhone 12 Pro Max.
you mean previous one have?
I trying to play with the ip6 not sure if that help..
This drop off make me quite frustrated..
And not sure why only my company pc got issue while other pc all works fine
eddie2020
post Nov 19 2023, 06:17 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 9 2023, 06:01 PM)
OK, then I need to change to U Home. brows.gif I paid for one month already, I think I will just use it for a month, easier without any headache for overpayment.
If we don't pay it auto terminate? Not sure how the termination.. I wanted to stop 1 month n test umobile and continue if show same result..

QUOTE(iiee @ Nov 13 2023, 12:51 PM)
just ordered U home to compare with the Yes that i hv been using for 1 month.  Hopefully can get more stable 5G.  Currently with tplink x50 the 5G will drop to 4G and i have to restart it until i get 5G again.
U mean yes need to keep restart? Mine will auto connect jz drop n reconnect maybe.. But once I lock 2 band it didn't drop...

QUOTE(endG @ Nov 19 2023, 10:03 AM)
i also faced similar issue with Yes5G:
cant connect to office vpn, connection to outlook mailbox server always dropping (happen to few laptop with diff outlook account), lazada free rice game cannot load, do speedtest always less than 5mbps in upload speed.

got a UHome 5G sim and voila all issue gone .. speed and latency all similar to fiber.

using the same NR5103E router for both sim above.
My lazada rice works OK.. Only my company laptop for those system etc can't connect.. I need do a trick which hotspot using my mobile and reconnect to home WiFi.. speed test always above 2xx to 3xx mbps

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Nov 19 2023, 12:33 PM)
I let you do this test and find out yourself.

YES 5G does allow torrent if you do it nekkid without VPN and speedtests shows full speed if you do them with local servers. It gives a temporary boost for few seconds to allow you to show off and advertise for them the speeds you can get.

Now here's the test to reveal the real dirty trick they silently imposed:

Connect to a overseas VPN/VPS and do the same test across the globe see if you're throttled a not. My results show that you get ADSL speeds with just around 8Mbps at most or worst. Torrents become worst when you turn on your VPN.

U Mobile does the OPPOSITE. Without VPN you can't torrent, but with VPN your speeds and routing gets optimized to the best potential.

I tell you this company cannot be trusted. They always secretly modify their FUP with every possible means to give you less. Got trapped many times before with their previous 100GB 4G Postpaid plans which allowed use in modems but later say your device not in their compatible list of limited devices.

Meaning to say this:

1) Their 5G plan is just for speedtest showoffs and indirect marketing for their company

2) You can torrent with caution for legal files such as linux ISOs and official apps with full speed but beware of being exposed. But once you turn your VPN on, the throttling kicks in and your use will be limited.

3) All connections outside Malaysia are heavily throttled to ADSL speeds around 8Mbps or less with VERY HIGH latency. It's their way of being stingy.
It could be port based though they don't block it to give you fake sense that they don't do speed throttling.

4) Latency is very bad compared to their direct competitor U at LEAST double most times with international servers. It gives indication that their servers can't handle large capacity traffic and their unwillingness to invest more in core network routing equipments.

5) Their 4G network with quota allowance doesn't have this port throttling limitation. You can get full speed with international servers and VPNs because its quota based.

EDIT with additional comments:

My speedtest results without VPN is consistently >500Mbps day long.

When connected to the best VPNs/VPS with 10Gbps servers even closeby countries such as SG, my speedtests dropped to 5 Mbps or less and torrents not moving only getting ard 0.5MB/s.

Something is wrong? Without VPN torrents can reach >30MB/s shakehead.gif

Obviously they are implementing port throttling to international servers and only allow fake speedtests.
I beg to diff... It really give what they provide.. Speed test 2xx to 3xx mbps.. Then I download using steam keep 3x to 4x mb downloading each sec.. Similar like speed test
eddie2020
post Nov 19 2023, 08:43 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(endG @ Nov 19 2023, 06:25 PM)
hahaha i used the same trick connecting my mobile hotspot first then only change to home wifi  thumbup.gif
Haha weird... So now umobile OK? For yes you terminated? How you did with the migration from yes to u?

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Nov 19 2023, 07:03 PM)
Your Steam downloads goes through VPN or RAW without?
If without VPN then everything is fine with popular sites even torrents reaches full speed.

The problem starts when you start connecting to VPN, speed to Europe and USon average only like 5-8Mbps, pings can go as high as over 300ms.

YES seems to be implementing anti VPN policy which is not good. Users need to connect to their company VPN to work remotely.
Speedtests don't say it's fake. You can give a few second temporary boost say for 60 secs for the speedtest then start throttling users to prevent them from heavy downloading.

I know because on fibre totally no such restrictions or throttling.
Fast.com also can test your speed.. Steam without any vpn.. My company laptop use vpn but I can connect all in normal speed.. Just issue with above mention some of those stuff abnormal and need use some tricks
eddie2020
post Nov 20 2023, 02:04 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 20 2023, 11:19 AM)
Don't try not to pay anything for telco bills, you will be blacklisted.

Coincidentally, I will be in Bukit Bintang area this weekend, gonna terminate it while I'm there.
OT: Not sure if anyone knows, I'm wondering if I can subscribe to U Home from Berjaya Times Square and get the SIM card on the spot?
Yes maybe they call it as postpaid for a reason.. I kena before with digi when I am secondary sch.. They terminate and keep charging my bill till 4xx...then send letter demand.. After 10 years I told them either you give discount or you don't get paid.. Settled around 2xx lol..

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 20 2023, 12:13 PM)
u can actually email them - i actually done that ... as currently overseas.

a) Cancellation form.
b) IC copy front and back.

done in a matter of 1-2 days ..
They will refund the extra credit? Maybe I drop an email to them later..
eddie2020
post Nov 20 2023, 03:03 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

Now broadband suddenly no signal.. Fb ppl complaining lol
eddie2020
post Nov 20 2023, 03:34 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(hopperz_pro92 @ Nov 20 2023, 03:31 PM)
my postpaid have same issue, no signal. i thought my phone got problem.
My prepaid working.. Broadband not working
eddie2020
post Nov 20 2023, 04:17 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(hopperz_pro92 @ Nov 20 2023, 03:35 PM)
yes, it looks like prepaid no issue. my friends prepaid have signal.
Lol prepaid better than postpaid now
eddie2020
post Nov 22 2023, 01:38 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(iiee @ Nov 20 2023, 08:30 PM)
Yes becoz the 5G signal is not strong.  but recently i found a place that can get 4 bars, so it stays on 5G signal now.  Speed no difference around 200-250mbps download, but upload only 10mbps
You need rotate the modem and it's help.. Mine upload sometimes like 10 n below.. Rotate abit by abit now around 80 to 100 mbps download 200 to 300 sometimes 400 depend on time
eddie2020
post Nov 24 2023, 11:17 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Nov 20 2023, 12:13 PM)
u can actually email them - i actually done that ... as currently overseas.

a) Cancellation form.
b) IC copy front and back.

done in a matter of 1-2 days ..
I email they ask alot and keep ask me go yes store for termination... What a service..
Then tell you if distance less than 50km from ur address u need walk in.. Bravo

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Nov 24 2023, 08:08 PM
eddie2020
post Nov 26 2023, 02:56 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(endG @ Nov 25 2023, 11:14 PM)
umobile all good, no any special trick needed .. all works like fiber
no any refund, just terminated today at Lot 10
Yup.. I tried that and I still don't understand why yes got issue while other don't have.. Summary, if not with the connection issue with my company stuff I would continue yes..

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 26 2023, 02:25 AM)
I know right.  doh.gif
I’m back in Seremban and tested U Home, speed wise almost the same as YES but the upload speed is much better around 50s to 60sMbps.

This is a reference for you if you are hesitating to choose which one.
Mine diff not much.. Upload both 100 to 130mbps..

0.0265sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:39 AM