Technical PSP-2000 Discussion Thread, PSP Slim Owners please come in

dattebayo
post Oct 23 2007, 08:28 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Oct 22 2007, 11:57 AM)
This is very important. If you're running 3.71 M33, don't use, I repeat don't use USB function to flash either your flash0 or flash1 nand either in the recovery menu or xmb. You'll end up corrupting your nand partitions and even worst your idstorage.

The most important thing for all PSP Slim & Lite owners....BACKUP YOUR NAND FLASH. This can be don't with Despertar_cementerio v3 or nandTool or upNand64 and keep it in a very safe place. You won't know when you'll need it.
got question here, issit the idstorage is different for every set of PSP SLim? so that idstorage from other psp can't be flashed into another psp slim etc.. ?
dattebayo
post Oct 23 2007, 08:40 PM

5,366 posts

erm.. from the googling results earlier, it seems sony has put some encryption on the nand flash0/1 vmad.gif

so, how to backup the flash0, while I don't have pandora's battery?
will the backup process cause the PSP to be bricked? sweat.gif
dattebayo
post Oct 23 2007, 08:51 PM

5,366 posts

ok just come across this
http://pspslimhacks.com/open-source-nand-d...p-slim-cfw-3xx/

does this better than the other dumper mentioned in the 1st page?
dattebayo
post Oct 23 2007, 09:10 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(twenty6 @ Oct 23 2007, 08:52 PM)
Man, after reading all the post, i think i'm gonna go back to the shop and get my nand backed up? Do you guys think that our fav psp shop can help me backup the nand?... biggrin.gif
gamers solution? they can do it icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(tot31 @ Oct 23 2007, 09:08 PM)
laugh.gif that is the same one that I've mentioned in my post..nandTool, that site just renamed it laugh.gif

Added on October 23, 2007, 9:09 pm
Youcan try and ask if that shop even knows what nand is...smile.gif
icic biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 23 2007, 09:11 PM
dattebayo
post Oct 23 2007, 10:19 PM

5,366 posts

for the Fat, its NAND doesn't have the new encryption or digital signature on it, so you can simply copy the NAND from any other Fat PSP, but for the Slim is diferent story, I think the Slim NAND is mobo dependent, Sony has added digital signing to it, if idstorage is screwed up and no backup was found, then the Slim could be used as a paper weight apart from mp3/mp4 player whistling.gif

http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=82859

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 23 2007, 10:21 PM
dattebayo
post Oct 24 2007, 11:05 AM

5,366 posts

afaik, only can use one's own NAND/idstorage dump backup to recover from brick
in some cases, where the idstorage isn't corrupted, the PSP slim may be unbricked using other PSP's NAND dump hmm.gif

btw, where the heck is the idstorage? flash0 or 1?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 24 2007, 11:05 AM
dattebayo
post Oct 24 2007, 11:18 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Oct 24 2007, 10:02 AM)
I asked around at Sg Wang, it costs RM550 for PSP Lite, battery and charger.  Is this a good deal?  Normally how big is a PSP game when stored in the memory stick?

good deal, but beware of the swapping of ori with a fake battery
ripped games range from 100 MB to 1.8 GB
dattebayo
post Oct 24 2007, 02:22 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(bububang @ Oct 24 2007, 01:09 PM)
hooray!!! i finally got my psp dump file.. no more worry of brick  rclxm9.gif

thanks to their hard work on working to create this program  notworthy.gif
what tool u use? NAND tool or UPNand?
dattebayo
post Oct 25 2007, 01:45 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ben5173 @ Oct 25 2007, 12:00 PM)
May i know the location of Flash0 or Flash1?
so i can prevent anything to do with it?

example scenario:
1. When i use USB to transfer songs or movie into my psp, i get to access a lots of folder which is i think is from MSPD. is Flash0/1 in there?

2. Izzit safe to use theme at the moment?

3. I have another new copy of MSPD, do i need to copy all folders from the first MSPD in order to use in my psp with CFW or it will auto re-create the folder inside?

thx
notworthy.gif
1. the default case u ll access the mspd only, unless u change the toggle USB settings in recovery menu
2. dunno
3. you can just copy the entire contents from the old stick to the new ones via PC, which I think is faster, also remember to format it via PC, so u can choose FAT, as PSP will format the 4GB to be FAT32, which will make the mspd extremely slow

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 25 2007, 01:46 PM
dattebayo
post Oct 26 2007, 06:38 PM

5,366 posts

Any specific reason for the wifi to suddenly not working?
seems Slim is having more troubles than the Fat currently

QUOTE(ben5173 @ Oct 26 2007, 06:28 PM)
tQ very much~!!!  notworthy.gif

bernard just called me,
he actually offer to backup my psp nand by coming to my house~! Wth...He was so great~! thumbs up for this kind of seller.
anyway, i did not want to have him come all the way to Pj so decided to visit him or do backup only when he is in Pj.

i was causing so much problem for him.  rclxub.gif
from KL to PJ, nothing more to complain lah rclxms.gif
dattebayo
post Oct 28 2007, 02:24 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Oct 28 2007, 11:03 AM)
Hi!

MAy I know what the main pros and cons of PSP SLim & Lite? biggrin.gif

thx
Pro:
mentioned alrdy
Cons: More prone to be permanently bricked, at the moment sweat.gif
Cons: Lighter means they have remove some metal chasis, so if you drop the PSP then it's bye bye time

other than that, it's nothing much, some like Fat more, some prefer Slim more

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 28 2007, 02:25 PM
dattebayo
post Oct 28 2007, 08:34 PM

5,366 posts

the region doesn't really matter as games are region-free. In custom firmware u can change the region too
dattebayo
post Oct 29 2007, 06:30 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 29 2007, 05:11 PM)
Good price will definitely need some sacrifices. Cheapest thus far i have seen is from bernard. Around Rm600 - 700..Not sure on other places because i have search limited places..
Sg wang, Slim PSP, rm550-600, console only, with custom firmware
dattebayo
post Oct 30 2007, 12:05 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Takezho~* @ Oct 29 2007, 10:53 PM)
BTW is the sound quality of PSP good when listening to music?
how is the quality if compare to an average sony mp3 player or an ipod?
one word, not enough bass
the sound is very similar to a W800i playing on Bass (not megabass)
dattebayo
post Nov 4 2007, 08:50 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Nov 4 2007, 06:51 PM)
^ at least when it comes to warranty, can just send straight to Sony (M). Warranty void leh...that one leh, flashed it with OFW when sending for warranty lor...pandai2 la.
problem is, flashing back to OFW from CFW isn't as easy as flashing to a CFW from OFW
somemore, to fix a bricked PSP due to the exploit of CFW, Sony still won't layan one, they will charge some money
dattebayo
post Nov 12 2007, 10:44 PM

5,366 posts

may i know how long it usually take to backup/dump the Slim's NAND flash? Using Open NAND dumper or NANDtool.
dattebayo
post Nov 13 2007, 10:41 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Nov 13 2007, 07:43 PM)
biasanya besar mana  file dia,for normal 2 hours movie..

thanks!
depends on the bit rate
for 25 mins anime, at reasonable quality, I got it around 120MB ++ , not much difference than the original xvid avi which is 170+ MB
if want to reduce the size to around 80 MB also can, but will see noticeable blocky artifacts

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 13 2007, 10:42 PM
dattebayo
post Nov 17 2007, 08:25 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Nov 17 2007, 08:21 PM)
I'm planning to get a PSP Slim. Is it advisable to get it now or I should look for the Fat version? tongue.gif
it's harder and not worth to get fat PSP now [brand new one]

Slim PSP has all advantages, except that it is more fragile than the fat one, do not ever drop the slim icon_idea.gif
dattebayo
post Nov 23 2007, 12:58 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 22 2007, 06:43 PM)
guys, jz wondering..do anyone of u all put some stickers on ur psp to protect it?I was thinking of getting 1..Since certain part of my psp is scratched a bit T__________T ..Was thinking of gettign Gar Skin (but the shop near my college sells it @ MYR99 per piece)Any ideas?
one screen protector at the screen, another screen protector at the UMD door, when not in use place it in pouch,
dattebayo
post Nov 24 2007, 02:16 AM

5,366 posts

any differences between firmware 3.71 and 3.72 ??

0.0269sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:46 AM