Soft Close Hinges Comparison, Blum, DTC, Pio, SK Motion

TSgoolie
post Aug 21 2023, 09:58 AM, updated 3y ago

795 posts

I'm doing soft close hinges comparison. I believe all of you heard about Blum (lifetime warranty), how about the other brands like DTC, Pio, SK Motion? Are they reliable?

My contractor can provide me 5 years warranty for each DTC, Pio, SK Motion. Any of you using this brand before? Mind to share your experience.

Among these 3 which one is better? Can you rank them accordingly?

This post has been edited by goolie: Aug 21 2023, 10:02 AM
Jerrylum88
post Aug 21 2023, 10:09 AM

74 posts

go for Hafele
Bijisss
post Aug 21 2023, 10:15 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 21 2023, 09:58 AM)
I'm doing soft close hinges comparison. I believe all of you heard about Blum (lifetime warranty), how about the other brands like DTC, Pio, SK Motion? Are they reliable?

My contractor can provide me 5 years warranty for each DTC, Pio, SK Motion. Any of you using this brand before? Mind to share your experience.

I'm just wondering, are you doing renovation for your own stay? landed or condo unit?
Because i have been seeing you asking about all good high quality stuff

Related to this post, if my contractor said he will provide soft hinges for the KC, usually they were the cheap ones right? so it wont tahan lama?
TSgoolie
post Aug 21 2023, 10:19 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(Bijisss @ Aug 21 2023, 11:15 AM)

I'm just wondering, are you doing renovation for your own stay? landed or condo unit?
Because i have been seeing you asking about all good high quality stuff

Related to this post, if my contractor said he will provide soft hinges for the KC, usually they were the cheap ones right? so it wont tahan lama?
Yaya..i'm currently planning to do condo house renovation for own stay.

I'm doing all kind of research and need to get users' opinion to help me make good decision.

You need to ask what brand of hinges they will be using and check warranty too. Some like Kubiq just provide OEM with 2 years warranty only, but can upgrade to Blum with extra cost.
Bijisss
post Aug 21 2023, 10:27 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 21 2023, 10:19 AM)

I'm doing all kind of research and need to get users' opinion to help me make good decision.

You need to ask what brand of hinges they will be using and check warranty too. Some like Kubiq just provide OEM with 2 years warranty only, but can upgrade to Blum with extra cost.
Thanks for the tips, I will ask the contractor later.

Anyway, we are on the same boat, I'm currently planning the renovation for condo too.

Doing all researches I could via this platform and google and also by asking around people I know, very tiring but fulfilling so far.

Thanks for your postings in forum, I have getting a lot good info from them.

Vincy8925
post Aug 21 2023, 10:29 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 21 2023, 10:19 AM)

I'm looking on a contractor for my kitchen work, could you PM your contact for reference? blush.gif
Bijisss
post Aug 21 2023, 11:10 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Vincy8925 @ Aug 21 2023, 10:29 AM)
I'm looking on a contractor for my kitchen work, could you PM your contact for reference?  blush.gif
I have PMed you
amduser
post Aug 22 2023, 10:55 AM

5,542 posts

I'm using Jusen bought from taobao, come with 3 direction adjustment, it can stop at whichever position you like after open beyond 30-40 degree

DTC is from China as well, and there is fake DTC too, even Blum has fake too, it is call Blurn from China as well

Actually you can get from local too, get those heavy duty hinge with soft close

If you are using it for long and heavy for like 2 meter long wardrobe door, better use at least 4 hinge + 1 additional hinge at the top of the door for extra support

This post has been edited by amduser: Aug 22 2023, 10:56 AM
WildChai
post Sep 11 2023, 03:55 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Hey,

Doing reno also. Based on experience... Current home has Blum for dry kitchen and various brands for wet kitchen. After 12yrs of usage... Blum drawers, hinges and lift system... NEVER failed even once. Didn't even get misaligned. Wet kitchen...almost all was replaced over the years.

So now new home... All full blum. Although might be pricey. Long term tco is worth it. Butttttt...it all depends on usage and budget. Stick to your comfort zone.
ar188
post Sep 11 2023, 09:37 PM

9,206 posts

personally dont see any need for super brands, customer want blum, hafele hettich , yea we can install..just tambah extra.

stay within weight limit or add extra hinge per door.
i would be more interested in door material, its a joke if use all blum but use some chipboard door panel laugh.gif hinge costs more than that door
TSgoolie
post Sep 12 2023, 10:06 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 11 2023, 10:37 PM)
personally dont see any need for super brands, customer want blum, hafele hettich , yea we can install..just tambah extra.

stay within weight limit or add extra hinge per door.
i would be more interested in door material, its a joke if use all blum but use some chipboard door panel laugh.gif  hinge costs more than that door
It makes sense to me too. Use all Blum hinges but door material is melamine seems not balance at all. Cabinet first, hinges should come next.

Is it easy to replace hinges? Let say my cabinet comes with OEM hinges, next time i can buy Blum from shopee/lazada and replace it myself?

This post has been edited by goolie: Sep 12 2023, 10:07 AM
wira1979
post Sep 12 2023, 10:12 AM

1,055 posts

Why not buy Ikea hinges? They're Blum right?

I have an Ikea kitchen and their fittings all work very well.
ar188
post Sep 12 2023, 12:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Sep 12 2023, 10:06 AM)
It makes sense to me too. Use all Blum hinges but door material is melamine seems not balance at all. Cabinet first, hinges should come next.

Is it easy to replace hinges? Let say my cabinet comes with OEM hinges, next time i can buy Blum from shopee/lazada and replace it myself?
yes! quite easy to swap them out. except need abit of skill to tune back all the doors nice nice level and flat from front view.
Zot
post Sep 12 2023, 01:08 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 21 2023, 09:58 AM)

I don;t even know that Blum has lifetime warranty laugh.gif

One of the drawer in my kitchen cabinet was broken (actually tilted a bit). I opened it up and found out a corner of the MDF board somehow broken a bit causing the drawer slider (soft) out of its place. I found out that the soft closure used on my kitchen cabinet is Blum. Maybe they asked which brand to use but I forgot already. Perhaps I chose Blum hmm.gif

I managed to fix he drawer my self and have to go to internet to find out how to fix the Blum closure. Quite simple after a bit of scratching to understand smile.gif

Anyway, it is not even 18 years (I'm guessing), the soft motion is not longer working. I can push the drawer in and it makes bang sound though still not that loud, not like when it was new. wink.gif . I'd say that Blum will show its ageing within 10 years time.

Someone mentioned Hafele. I think it is more commonly available and more economical to use compare to Blum (more premium) if price is concern. Anyway, it is not difficult to replace them yourself when it get faulty.
gobiomani
post Sep 15 2023, 04:04 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 12 2023, 01:08 PM)
I don;t even know that Blum has lifetime warranty  laugh.gif

One of the drawer in my kitchen cabinet was broken (actually tilted a bit). I opened it up and found out a corner of the MDF board somehow broken a bit causing the drawer slider (soft) out of its place. I found out that the soft closure used on my kitchen cabinet is Blum. Maybe they asked which brand to use but I forgot already. Perhaps I chose Blum  hmm.gif

I managed to fix he drawer my self and have to go to internet to find out how to fix the Blum closure. Quite simple after a bit of scratching to understand  smile.gif

Anyway, it is not even 18 years (I'm guessing), the soft motion is not longer working. I can push the drawer in and it makes bang sound though still not that loud, not like when it was new.  wink.gif . I'd say that Blum will show its ageing within 10 years time.

Someone mentioned Hafele. I think it is more commonly available and more economical to use compare to Blum (more premium) if price is concern. Anyway, it is not difficult to replace them yourself when it get faulty.
Mine is over 12 years and still going strong. Have many extra door closers sitting somewhere in my store room but never use coz everything still works.
Hafele feels a bit cheaply made and not so premium for the price but I would take it any day compared to any unknown brands.
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2023, 05:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Sep 12 2023, 10:06 AM)

Hinges also equally important. If fitted with elcheapo hinges can be quite frustrating brows.gif

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Sep 12 2023, 10:12 AM)
Why not buy Ikea hinges? They're Blum right?

I have an Ikea kitchen and their fittings all work very well.
Was gonna suggest this but you beat me to it!

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 12 2023, 12:43 PM)
yes! quite easy to swap them out. except need abit of skill to tune back all the doors nice nice level and flat from front view.
Need time to really tune back because Blum hinges got 3-axis (xyz) range of motion
ar188
post Sep 15 2023, 08:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 15 2023, 05:58 PM)
Hinges also equally important. If fitted with elcheapo hinges can be quite frustrating  brows.gif
Was gonna suggest this but you beat me to it!
Need time to really tune back because Blum hinges got 3-axis (xyz) range of motion
er... every hinge got xyz movement. only that the cheap one u gotta manually push the door up or down.
not a big deal if you work in this line. its like installing main door hinge or digital lock set.. after doing a few houses.. can do quite easily..
ar188
post Sep 17 2023, 09:24 PM

9,206 posts

yesterday installed this sideboard.
4 door fully solid wood sideboard.

solid wood door are made with fluted real white oak panels.

tuning the doors didnt take too long.. 15-20min to get them inline. decent oem type good quality hinge.

This post has been edited by ar188: Sep 17 2023, 09:36 PM

0.0235sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:22 PM