Strata vs Individual Title for Landed Property

TScontestchris
post Aug 19 2023, 10:58 PM, updated 3y ago

5,569 posts

Hi all,

I just went to take a look at Ilham Residence 3 / Elmina Green 7 today.

Any idea why Ilham Residence follow strata development? What's the benefit? I also went to Gamuda Gardens, all their townships there are following strata development as well.

Still need to fork out easy RM350/month for maintenance fees.

When I ask, there are no special facilities i.e. swimming pool, no high maintenance cost items like lifts, also the sampah is collected by local city council.

So what is the logic of a strata landed development? What are the pros and cons?
keanutan
post Aug 19 2023, 11:13 PM

87 posts

Good impression, all facade will be same due to stratta not allow to renovate outside , less pets issue due to no gate , better security because got guard Ronda Ronda 😅
TScontestchris
post Aug 19 2023, 11:27 PM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 19 2023, 11:13 PM)
Good impression, all facade will be same due to stratta not allow to renovate outside , less pets issue due to no gate , better security because got guard Ronda Ronda 😅
But what's the point? My condo around 10 years old, already have people do their own shit and management office cannot be enforcing everything.
Gabriel03
post Aug 20 2023, 12:17 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 19 2023, 10:58 PM)
Hi all,

Any idea why Ilham Residence follow strata development? What's the benefit? I also went to Gamuda Gardens, all their townships there are following strata development as well.

When I ask, there are no special facilities i.e. swimming pool, no high maintenance cost items like lifts, also the sampah is collected by local city council.

So what is the logic of a strata landed development? What are the pros and cons?
Landed Strata is less dense compared to condo (unit per sq ft). Hence, lower number of units means lower amount collected, which caused a high maintenance fee in spite of no swimming pool and other high maintenance device.

The fee is used for security, landscaping (all the fancy trees and stuffs need to be maintained), clubhouse/gym/swimming pool (if any), street lights within the plot of land, etc.

The pros are security, good view and clean neighbourhood. This maintain and increases the property values.

The cons are high maintenance fee that is subjected to increase further down the road. If the residents chose not accept the hike, the place will be poorly maintained and make it less desirable. It will cause the property value to drop.

Personally, I prefer landed with individual title but with gated and guarded. It's way cheaper in maintenance fee and I get to renovate my house the way I like. However, due to lack of such options, price & location, I had to settled for strata landed. haiz...
The consolation prize is the JMB is lenient in terms of renovation of the outer part of the house.

Anyway, you can read more on the pros & cons in this article:
Pros and cons of strata landed properties
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ded-properties/

This post has been edited by Gabriel03: Aug 20 2023, 12:33 AM
soulred777
post Aug 20 2023, 10:33 AM

803 posts

Hi all,

I own landed individual title yet I still prefer strata. RM350 is absurd with no facilities. M.fees is actually your fix commitment along your loan which eventually could be higher in future.

soulmixx
post Aug 21 2023, 09:47 AM

174 posts

from my point view, landed strata mainly is for compound security plus landscape.. if both not your main concern than go with individual.. monthly fee can spent to upgrade your plot..

if corner lot, better go individual, else you will see extra land wasted as can't do any structure-up..
rumahwip
post Aug 21 2023, 10:16 AM

1,099 posts

dmc only for strata. but having say that. MC is as stronger as enforcement. else is back to sq 1. individual is for RA.
all depend on how strong is the neighbourhood and MC
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 21 2023, 11:34 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 19 2023, 11:27 PM)
But what's the point? My condo around 10 years old, already have people do their own shit and management office cannot be enforcing everything.
can take legal action against Landlord.
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 21 2023, 11:36 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 19 2023, 11:13 PM)
Include cleanliness and beautiful landscaping !
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 12:12 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Aug 21 2023, 10:16 AM)
dmc only for strata. but having say that. MC is as stronger as enforcement. else is back to sq 1. individual is for RA.
all depend on how strong is the neighbourhood and MC
Not very true, DMC also can also apply to individual title house, developer can prepare it for buyer to sign, so ALL BUYERS are voluntarily agreed to be binded with DMC signed as proof, no one can skip. It work like hybrid btw strata and individual. So owner who bought corner lot with huge land can still do extension and renovation with approval from JMB, but must follow colour code and guidelines. intermediate lot can do extension for small empt land at back yard. This is how Jadehill work.

For strata, no permanent extension is allowed even if you buy corner lot with huge land.

So buyer must know what are they buying for.
PAChamp
post Aug 21 2023, 12:43 PM

1,159 posts

Hi all,

I have started a thread on this exact same issue here, you can look for it. Ilham developments will have a separate clubhouse with facilities but this will be optional in the future (free for 2 yrs) so that if you don't use, don't have to pay. Basically the facade will be maintained. No ugly colours and crazy extensions allowed. Better security as maintenance payments easily enforced against defaulters. With sinking fund collection, future upgrades are possible eg. electric fencing and cctvs all around. House Rules can be enforced ie. no littering/throwing of rubbish like bulk rubbish on roadside, growing pisang trees outside your house, parking rules etc. But the downside is pay maintenance every month. SDP mitigate this by installing solar panel to provide green electricity to lower your electric bill plus separate clubhouse. So its a fair trade off.
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 12:47 PM

682 posts

Hi all,

If you
- just need a simple landed house
- ok for residents to just park the cars beside the road. If rebut car park then settle among yourselves
- you or your neighbour like to renovate and paint the house in personal preferences, full liberty as long approve by municipal for huge extension
- no need nice landscape and playground, satisfying with all facilities provide by municipal including playground
- feel ok if your neighbour would like to skip monthly management fee as long as he continue to use visitor lane to get in.
- all visitors record is purely on paper and rely on guard self effort. (Unlike strata or individual with DMC, all visitors must be registered by owner through App and if they did anything wrong, owner have to bear for consequences , so visitor is strictly managed.)
- usually only have two/three guards on duty for whole neighborhood (strata or DMC will have at least 10 and above)
- normal CCTV (strata or individual with DMC use security grade CCTV for whole perimeter, with either motion or vibration detection features)

then you can just buy for non strata house/ individual with Resident association. Usually the monthly fee is just rm60 or RM80.

Aaron212
post Aug 21 2023, 12:57 PM

1,773 posts

strate - many more guards, can have apps to register vsitors, when u away can make sure guards come ur house ronda more frequently

and prevent others from leeching by not paying monthly fees, every house needs to pay so its fair

downside, pay until hamkachan still need to pay
PAChamp
post Aug 21 2023, 01:01 PM

1,159 posts

Actually there is another unique feature applicable to Selangor only but not KL. The state law does not allow foreigners to buy landed individual title but they can buy strata landed title houses. Subject to zone value limits of course. Technically, if you buy individual landed, you can only sell to locals but if you buy strata, you can also sell to foreigners.
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 01:03 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 21 2023, 11:36 AM)
Include cleanliness and beautiful landscaping !
Even lamppost also different, come with some design features
TScontestchris
post Aug 21 2023, 01:12 PM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 21 2023, 12:43 PM)
I have started a thread on this exact same issue here, you can look for it. Ilham developments will have a separate clubhouse with facilities but this will be optional in the future (free for 2 yrs) so that if you don't use, don't have to pay. Basically the facade will be maintained. No ugly colours and crazy extensions allowed. Better security as maintenance payments easily enforced against defaulters. With sinking fund collection, future upgrades are possible eg. electric fencing and cctvs all around. House Rules can be enforced ie. no littering/throwing of rubbish like bulk rubbish on roadside, growing pisang trees outside your house, parking rules etc. But the downside is pay maintenance every month. SDP mitigate this by installing solar panel to provide green electricity to lower your electric bill plus separate clubhouse. So its a fair trade off.
How much is the green energy capacity generation in kWh via solar per month roughly?

What if you use lesser than you generate?
nailin
post Aug 21 2023, 01:13 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 21 2023, 01:01 PM)
Actually there is another unique feature applicable to Selangor only but not KL. The state law does not allow foreigners to buy landed individual title but they can buy strata landed title houses. Subject to zone value limits of course. Technically, if you buy individual landed, you can only sell to locals but if you buy strata, you can also sell to foreigners.
Yes, but minimum RM2mil dry.gif
PAChamp
post Aug 21 2023, 01:15 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 21 2023, 01:12 PM)
How much is the green energy capacity generation in kWh via solar per month roughly?

What if you use lesser than you generate?
I don't have all the details but from what i understand, the excess electricity is fed back into the grid and you get paid by TNB for it.
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 21 2023, 01:50 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 21 2023, 12:57 PM)
strate - many more guards, can have apps to register vsitors, when u away can make sure guards come ur house ronda more frequently

and prevent others from leeching by not paying monthly fees, every house needs to pay so its fair

your next generation lo biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TScontestchris
post Aug 21 2023, 02:00 PM

5,569 posts

Questions - Who does:

1. Sampah collection
2. Repair / resurface roads
3. Repair water pipe leakage underground
4. Cut grass
kochin
post Aug 21 2023, 02:04 PM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

for landed strata, is the management responsible for any leakages from external walls and roof?
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 02:09 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 21 2023, 02:00 PM)
Questions - Who does:

1. Sampah collection (local council)
2. Repair / resurface roads (within prescient handle by JMB)
3. Repair water pipe leakage underground (outside your house handle by JMB, within your compound handle by yourself)
4. Cut grass (JMB only maintain landscape, within your house if got small plot of land, you need to maintain)
Clueless07
post Aug 21 2023, 02:09 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 21 2023, 02:00 PM)
Questions - Who does:

1. Sampah collection
2. Repair / resurface roads
3. Repair water pipe leakage underground
4. Cut grass
Strata title.... all this the MC will take over.
which mean additional cost to be paid by owner.

Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 02:12 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 21 2023, 02:04 PM)
for landed strata, is the management responsible for any leakages from external walls and roof?
Bear by owner after warranty period, even repaint the exterior wall of whole house also bear by owner.

The sinking fund is purely for infra and facilities
Clueless07
post Aug 21 2023, 02:14 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 21 2023, 12:57 PM)

wanna have more security, wanna be more premium, wanna have nice landscape, wanna enforce a lot of rule...
then gotto pay more loh.

as you said- everyone need to pay so it is fair.

but many time as i see, every owner have different need/view on how the money is to be spend. yes they can vote or suggest to MC.
it will never please every one.

so people will have a feeling that his/her money went for things he dont want/no value.

one example was my previous taman..... during AGM they have some simple food + 1 kambing golek.
nothing lavish la, just to get people together, be merry build rapport..... but some resident also eye red say ham ka chan waste my fvcking money

always hard to please the world
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 02:14 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Aug 21 2023, 02:09 PM)
Strata title.... all this the MC will take over.
which mean additional cost to be paid by owner.
For my house under strata title, still need to pay for cukai tafsiran and cukai tanah.

kem96
post Aug 21 2023, 02:18 PM

90 posts

My house is landed strata also. Maintenance fee only rm100/month, maybe due to higher density(600 units). But I can see that it is quite peaceful in the housing area. Properly maintained and does not have pet littering on your house compound. Downside is only the renovation limitation, cannot do much in front of the house(back is allowed to extend)
Clueless07
post Aug 21 2023, 02:24 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(kem96 @ Aug 21 2023, 02:18 PM)
My house is landed strata also. Maintenance fee only rm100/month, maybe due to higher density(600 units). But I can see that it is quite peaceful in the housing area. Properly maintained and does not have pet littering on your house compound. Downside is only the renovation limitation, cannot do much in front of the house(back is allowed to extend)
well... good to hear so. it is really depend on the efficiency of the MC, and the mentality of the tenant.

one example on the other far extreme is Palm Spring KD..... despite strata with MC, that place is like Sh1T
guard just sit there, log book no one care,
parking dirty, facilities destroyed, lift not working.

in short- many unit dont pay maintenance fee, dont know how they sustain, until collapse.
similar situation in many many other condo as well.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 21 2023, 03:37 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 21 2023, 02:04 PM)
biggrin.gif you dreaming, any problem within your house area, youself responsible
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 21 2023, 03:38 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 21 2023, 02:14 PM)
For my house under strata title,  still need to pay for cukai tafsiran and cukai tanah.
of course, govenment willing to do it for you, just that you reject only. money still need to pay
Clueless07
post Aug 21 2023, 04:20 PM

1,372 posts

yes- still need to pay the 2 cukai....

as they claim
1- you reject.
2- the cukai also cover other things- say the street light, or road nearby you taman.

so just pay ba.
r
OrangeGrove
post Aug 21 2023, 04:41 PM

643 posts

I am curious if we can install solar panel on top of strata houses..?
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 21 2023, 05:02 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGrove @ Aug 21 2023, 04:41 PM)
As long as not breaching the Strata act should be fine
Jingle91
post Aug 21 2023, 05:10 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGrove @ Aug 21 2023, 04:41 PM)
Can, but depend on your JMB rule. My one no exterior piping is allowed, so have to conceal the conduit pipe at own cost
TScontestchris
post Aug 21 2023, 07:24 PM

5,569 posts

I don't understand, if it's a pipe bocor under the main road, and need to excavate and patch the road back again, it will cost a huge bomb.

Is it wise for strata landed in this case?
TScontestchris
post Aug 21 2023, 07:27 PM

5,569 posts

How about if 200 identical 20x70 houses are built on a 25 acre land (bet it leasehold or freehold). Assume for simplicity, 10 acres is the land belonging to owners directly. 15 acres is to roads, parks, facilities etc.

Do the 200 owners have a claim to that 15 acres of land?

That means, is it fair to say they own the surrounding land, not just the house?

If in the future the government or private entity wanted to take over the entire housing township, must the government or private entity only compensate for the 20x70 parcel belonging to each owner, or also for their equal share of the remaining 15 acres of "public" land within the strate development?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Aug 21 2023, 07:28 PM
Jingle91
post Aug 22 2023, 06:50 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 21 2023, 07:24 PM)
I don't understand, if it's a pipe bocor under the main road, and need to excavate and patch the road back again, it will cost a huge bomb.

Is it wise for strata landed in this case?
Not sure whether Air Selangor will have to bear the cost or since the underground pipe is belong to them. Maybe next time I can ask office for this challenging question, lol

Anyway, assuming in the worst case scenario, something very bad happen damaged your precient's infra like whole fencing collapse or all facilities breakdown and incur huge cost, and it is not covered by insurance bought by JMB, and worst the JMB ACC no more money inside, then answer is yes, all owners as strata title holder must bear the cost equally.

So the conclusion is strata landed house always incur higher cost compare to normal individual title house due additional features (infra, landscape, design, security). So you should ask yourself whether you need these and willing to pay for it or not, instead of thinking whether it is wise or unwise. Same like a person can either buy BMW 330 or myvi, both are drivable for daily use, but they provide different user experience and enjoyment.

Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 22 2023, 08:33 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 22 2023, 06:50 AM)
Not sure whether Air Selangor will have to bear the cost or since the underground pipe is belong to them. Maybe next time I can ask office for this challenging question, lol

Anyway, assuming in the worst case scenario, something very bad happen damaged your precient's infra like whole fencing collapse or all facilities breakdown and incur huge cost, and it is not covered by insurance bought by JMB, and worst the JMB ACC no more money inside, then answer is yes, all owners as strata title holder must bear the cost equally.

So the conclusion is strata landed house always incur higher cost compare to normal individual title house due additional features (infra, landscape, design, security). So you should ask yourself whether you need these and willing to pay for it or not, instead of thinking whether it is wise or unwise. Same like a person can either buy BMW 330 or myvi, both are drivable for daily use, but they provide different user experience and enjoyment.
if fencing or retention wall collapse which is very rare case, may ask from developer for assistance ( of course JMB must provide strong justification)
kochin
post Aug 22 2023, 09:04 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 21 2023, 03:37 PM)
biggrin.gif you dreaming, any problem within your house area, youself responsible
just asking since for highrise, the management is responsible for facade which covers external walls and also roof.
hence if the penthouses or top floor units leaks, its under management. and for water intrusion to any of the units, presumably it's also under management.
was under the impression for landed strata, facade still belongs to the management?
anyway thanks for clearing it up.
Aaron212
post Aug 22 2023, 09:07 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 22 2023, 05:04 AM)
just asking since for highrise, the management is responsible for facade which covers external walls and also roof.
hence if the penthouses or top floor units leaks, its under management. and for water intrusion to any of the units, presumably it's also under management.
was under the impression for landed strata, facade still belongs to the management?
if not mistaken for water leaking issues if ur top floor is roof then yes its under MC

if ur top floor is another neighbour then it is bared by ur neighbour not the MC

so ur upstairs neighbour if damn sohai dont wanna pay to repair his house pipings then u suffer the leaking
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 22 2023, 09:08 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 22 2023, 09:04 AM)
for high rise, yes.

For landed no
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 22 2023, 09:12 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 21 2023, 07:27 PM)
How about if 200 identical 20x70 houses are built on a 25 acre land (bet it leasehold or freehold). Assume for simplicity, 10 acres is the land belonging to owners directly. 15 acres is to roads, parks, facilities etc.

Do the 200 owners have a claim to that 15 acres of land?

That means, is it fair to say they own the surrounding land, not just the house?

If in the future the government or private entity wanted to take over the entire housing township, must the government or private entity only compensate for the 20x70 parcel belonging to each owner, or also for their equal share of the remaining 15 acres of "public" land within the strate development?
That's 15 acres of land that still belongs to the government. Strata title means the management rejects government assistance and wishes to self-manage only."

The 15 acres of land will not be included in your house's title; hence, it does not belong to you.
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 09:23 AM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 22 2023, 09:12 AM)
That's 15 acres of land that still belongs to the government. Strata title means the management rejects government assistance and wishes to self-manage only."

The 15 acres of land will not be included in your house's title; hence, it does not belong to you.
Is it the same for condo? I was under the impression the land surrounding the condo (within the pagar) belonged to the owners.
rizerlee
post Aug 22 2023, 10:10 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 21 2023, 01:15 PM)
I don't have all the details but from what i understand, the excess electricity is fed back into the grid and you get paid by TNB for it.
TNB will pay for it ?
Under Netmetering scheme ?
Jingle91
post Aug 22 2023, 10:20 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 09:23 AM)
Is it the same for condo? I was under the impression the land surrounding the condo (within the pagar) belonged to the owners.
Even it is same with condo, your understanding seen like inaccurate. I try to explain with my understanding.

When you buy your condo, you pay for two things, first is legal ownership to "own" the parcel of unit with the size stated clearly on SPA (which will be registered with land office in strata title later), so you are the legal owner of this parcel and can sell it at mkt later. You also pay for the "legal right" to access and use the common properties (all infra, extra land and facilities WITHIN perimeter of your condo) but of course you can't claim you own the extra land so can do anything you want on it like tanam kebun or build car park, because it is shared by all owners and all owners appointed MC to utilise it in the best way to benefit all owners, so these common properties belong to Management Company, you only own the right to use it but don't have legal ownership on any inch of land beyond your unit boundary. For condo, yes your spa will also mention on the car park that belong to you

So now come to the tricky part, your condo must have mkt value, the value already included the legal ownership on your unit which is transferable, and legal right to access common properties which is attached to the legal ownership of the unit. So the value is determined by market and property valuer will do the valuation from these two rights. And valuation will be fluctuated based on demand supply. If government want to take back the land, they have to compensate based on market value for freehold property, like buying these two right from you, the value is hard to say, it could be higher or lower, but from rule of thumb, we keen to believe the compensation should be mark to mkt as government don't wan to create any unnecessary problems and lose in election.

PAChamp
post Aug 22 2023, 10:28 AM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 22 2023, 10:20 AM)
Even it is same with condo, your understanding seen like inaccurate. I try to explain with my understanding.

When you buy your condo, you pay for two things, first is legal ownership to "own" the parcel of unit with the size stated clearly on SPA (which will be registered with land office in strata title later), so you are the legal owner of this parcel and can sell it at mkt later. You also pay for the "legal right" to access and use the common properties (all infra, extra land and facilities WITHIN perimeter of your condo) but of course you can't claim you own the extra land so can do anything you want on it like tanam kebun or build car park, because it is shared by all owners and all owners appointed MC to utilise it in the best way to benefit all owners, so these common properties belong to Management Company, you only own the right to use it but don't have legal ownership on any inch of land beyond your unit boundary. For condo, yes your spa will also mention on the car park that belong to you

So now come to the tricky part, your condo must have mkt value, the value already included the legal ownership on your unit which is transferable, and legal right to access common properties which is attached to the legal ownership of the unit. So the value is determined by market and property valuer will do the valuation from these two rights. And valuation will be fluctuated based on demand supply.  If government want to take back the land, they have to compensate based on market value for freehold property, like buying these two right from you, the value is hard to say, it could be higher or lower, but from rule of thumb, we keen to believe the compensation should be mark to mkt as government don't wan to create any unnecessary problems and lose in election.
I personally know that for Ampang Park Shopping Mall, the government acquired the whole mall and paid the MC for the market value of the common property. The MC then receives the money and then divides the compensation to the owners based on share units.
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 10:32 AM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 22 2023, 10:20 AM)

So now come to the tricky part, your condo must have mkt value, the value already included the legal ownership on your unit which is transferable, and legal right to access common properties which is attached to the legal ownership of the unit. So the value is determined by market and property valuer will do the valuation from these two rights. And valuation will be fluctuated based on demand supply.  If government want to take back the land, they have to compensate based on market value for freehold property, like buying these two right from you, the value is hard to say, it could be higher or lower, but from rule of thumb, we keen to believe the compensation should be mark to mkt as government don't wan to create any unnecessary problems and lose in election.
I'm not saying I own the surrounding land within the strata development, I'm asking if do owners collectively own the surrounding land, or is it actually the government that owns it?

Assuming everyone in the strata development has equal share units, do they share in equally to the ownership of the surrounding land (and ensuing compensation were it to be sold), or not?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Aug 22 2023, 10:33 AM
Jingle91
post Aug 22 2023, 10:37 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 22 2023, 10:28 AM)
I personally know that for Ampang Park Shopping Mall, the government acquired the whole mall and paid the MC for the market value of the common property. The MC then receives the money and then divides the compensation to the owners based on share units.
That make more sense, thanks for sharing.
Think the owners must have very good capital gain. My uncle in sentul last time also receive huge compensation for his flat, the land was acquired for LRT construction.
Jingle91
post Aug 22 2023, 10:50 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 10:32 AM)
I'm not saying I own the surrounding land within the strata development, I'm asking if do owners collectively own the surrounding land, or is it actually the government that owns it?

Assuming everyone in the strata development has equal share units, do they share in equally to the ownership of the surrounding land (and ensuing compensation were it to be sold), or not?
Kan sudah jawab, my understanding is the land belong to MC, that is why they can decide on what landscape to be planted or what facilities they wan to build for residents, my prescient also got new CCTV installed on common property area recently.

And the "equally shared" is only refer to the legal right on using common property area, mean corner lot and intermediate lot resident both can use the facility without discrimination. If you die die wan to relate it to monetary value, then can take PAChamp's good sharing as reference, in such scenario it should be based on the size of unit lo, since management fee also determined by land size of your unit ma.
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 10:52 AM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 22 2023, 09:12 AM)

Can someone please confirm if this is true. Some saying it belongs to government, some saying it belongs to the MC (which ultimately means it belongs to the owners)?
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 22 2023, 11:31 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 10:52 AM)
Can someone please confirm if this is true. Some saying it belongs to government, some saying it belongs to the MC (which ultimately means it belongs to the owners)?
regardless of belong to MC or government, eventually its still not belong to the owners. The owner only own the land based on the geran (title).
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 11:36 AM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 22 2023, 11:31 AM)
regardless of belong to MC or government, eventually its still not belong to the owners. The owner only own the land based on the geran (title).
It's makes a difference, no? If the owners have a share to the land, then when it is sold in the future, the owners will get compensated for the surrounding land as well, not just for the main parcel. If the owners don't have a share in the land, the government will just need to pay for the main parcels.

As far as I can tell, the MC exists as a collective of the owners.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 22 2023, 11:57 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 11:36 AM)
It's makes a difference, no? If the owners have a share to the land, then when it is sold in the future, the owners will get compensated for the surrounding land as well, not just for the main parcel. If the owners don't have a share in the land, the government will just need to pay for the main parcels.

As far as I can tell, the MC exists as a collective of the owners.
Applying the same concept, if it's a leasehold land, will the renewal cost of the lease include calculations for the surrounding area?

if yes, it will cost a bomb
Ichighost
post Aug 22 2023, 12:01 PM

358 posts

if not mistaken..

land parcel / box is not landed.

so you actually do not own the land..you own the parcel that happened to be on ground.

the leasehold renewal should follow normal strata..should be done by MC.

only fire insurance i think need to buy it separately.

PAChamp
post Aug 22 2023, 12:02 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 10:52 AM)
Aiyo, i just give short answer: Common property belongs to MC, it is private land and it has been alienated ie. has a title. State land has no title.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 22 2023, 12:08 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Aug 22 2023, 12:01 PM)
if not mistaken..

land parcel / box is not landed.

so you actually do not own the land..you own the parcel that happened to be on ground.

the leasehold renewal should follow normal strata..should be done by MC.

only fire insurance i think need to buy it separately.
if such the situation, then the leasehold renewal will really cost a bomb?
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 12:10 PM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 22 2023, 12:02 PM)
Aiyo, i just give short answer: Common property belongs to MC, it is private land and it has been alienated ie. has a title. State land has no title.
Oh man, the MC doesn't get money magically. It's coming from the owners. The MC is the owners as a collective, why is this so hard to agree on. Its not a separate entity that does as it pleases, it does what the owners as a collective wish to do.

Now, does it mean for a leasehold landed strata with lots of acres of greenery, the lease renewal will be exorbitantly high? Yes I know MC will pay but who will foot the bill ultimately?

This post has been edited by contestchris: Aug 22 2023, 12:11 PM
Ichighost
post Aug 22 2023, 12:11 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 22 2023, 01:08 PM)
if such the situation, then the leasehold renewal will really cost a bomb?
i'm not sure we even have any precedent on this..

but as MC they are responsible on this..if you ask me you pay based on your share. thats all.

because even maintaince also you only pay your sqft.

they (MC) that decide on how to use it (maintainance / services, upkeeping)
TScontestchris
post Aug 22 2023, 12:13 PM

5,569 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Aug 22 2023, 12:11 PM)
i'm not sure we even have any precedent on this..

but as MC they are responsible on this..if you ask me you pay based on your share. thats all.

because even maintaince also you only pay your sqft.

they (MC) that decide on how to use it (maintainance / services, upkeeping)
So if 20 acres of common land, 200 owners. Each owner will need to pay share equivalent of 4,300 sqft on top of their own parcel? That is quite a lot indeed...
Ichighost
post Aug 22 2023, 12:22 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 01:13 PM)
So if 20 acres of common land, 200 owners. Each owner will need to pay share equivalent of 4,300 sqft on top of their own parcel? That is quite a lot indeed...
in theory yes.

practical..no body know it yet..most leasehold not even half of their time..landed strata on leasehold even a newer product..

plus..you are paying one time for another 99 year lease..for all the area/facilties/security that you and your children enjoyed for 99 years...

this is why the entry price point is cheaper compared to freehold.

PAChamp
post Aug 22 2023, 12:39 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 22 2023, 12:10 PM)
Oh man, the MC doesn't get money magically. It's coming from the owners. The MC is the owners as a collective, why is this so hard to agree on. Its not a separate entity that does as it pleases, it does what the owners as a collective wish to do.

Now, does it mean for a leasehold landed strata with lots of acres of greenery, the lease renewal will be exorbitantly high? Yes I know MC will pay but who will foot the bill ultimately?
The MC is a separate legal entity. Just like a company. In many cases the MC decides against some owners and some owners sue the MC. Majority rules. The MC as owner of the common property will have to pay the premium for leasehold renewal but it will have to collect the premiums from the owners. We have yet to see this happen in Malaysia although it has happened for some areas like PJ old town where leasehold tenures for landed property have expired. There the state has agreed (due to political reasons) to charge a nominal premium like 1 to 2 k for renewal subject that if the owner sells the property, the actual premium based on market value will be back charged.

This may apply for leasehold strata schemes in the future. That's why try to get freehold if possible so your children or grandchildren can avoid this headache.
Ichighost
post Aug 22 2023, 12:50 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 22 2023, 01:39 PM)
This may apply for leasehold strata schemes in the future. That's why try to get freehold if possible so your children or grandchildren can avoid this headache.
not much freehold around anymore especially around KV.

most of freehold are own by plantation big players, they turn the land from agriculture to residential.

I think gov should at least take a look at leasehold process and impact moving forward.

if gov not doing any project within half decade...might as well let the conversion happen and get some money out of it..
PAChamp
post Aug 22 2023, 02:50 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Aug 22 2023, 12:50 PM)
not much freehold around anymore especially around KV.

most of freehold are own by plantation big players, they turn the land from agriculture to residential.

I think gov should at least take a look at leasehold process and impact moving forward.

if gov not doing any project within half decade...might as well let the conversion happen and get some money out of it..
Your are right that nowadays, any newly alienated land ie. state grant title to the lands are leasehold. This is to allow state to control transfer to ownership and to get recurring income from premium. Freehold titles are titles issued long ago thus freehold titles are getting rarer and may one day see a huge premium compared to leasehold.
vicky.max
post Aug 22 2023, 08:49 PM

168 posts

I will definitely go for individual titled houses (G&G of course).

Won't go for strata landed as I can't imagine JMB dictating on how I should 'manage' my house. Also can't imagine my kids running around in a gateless environment / no-wall between my neighbours.
Aaron212
post Aug 23 2023, 09:03 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(vicky.max @ Aug 22 2023, 04:49 PM)
I will definitely go for individual titled houses (G&G of course).

Won't go for strata landed as I can't imagine JMB dictating on how I should 'manage' my house. Also can't imagine my kids running around in a gateless environment / no-wall between my neighbours.
+ 1

the no wall no gate concept still not acceptable for many

u want keep a dog also cannot later ur dog walk walk walk reach jiran house n shit there
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 23 2023, 09:15 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 23 2023, 09:03 AM)
+ 1

u want keep a dog also cannot later ur dog walk walk walk reach jiran house n shit there
with individual title, dog or cat also walk walk n shit anywhere in front of jiran house after then Jiran house bising bising and put in their Taman Group Chat whose owner dog shit again and irresponsible biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Aaron212
post Aug 23 2023, 09:18 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 23 2023, 05:15 AM)
with individual title, dog or cat  also walk walk n shit anywhere in front of jiran house after then Jiran house bising bising and put in their Taman Group Chat whose  owner dog shit again and irresponsible  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
tat 1 dumb doggo owner never pick up his own doggo chocolate cake

at least got gate ur dog sits within ur own house ma

no gate so cannot have big doggo can have chihuahua keep inside house
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 23 2023, 09:21 AM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 23 2023, 09:18 AM)
tat 1 dumb doggo owner never pick up his own doggo chocolate cake

at least got gate ur dog sits within ur own house ma

no gate so cannot have big doggo can have chihuahua keep inside house
doggo owner just left the doggo walk here walk there and dun pick up chocolate cake lo

in Strata Title , Doggo owner more responsible with this Chocolate Cake biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Aaron212
post Aug 23 2023, 09:27 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 23 2023, 05:21 AM)
doggo owner just left the doggo walk here walk there and dun pick up chocolate cake lo

in Strata Title , Doggo owner more responsible with this Chocolate Cake biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
but how to keep doggo outside house caz no gate

can build small doggo house anot behind house

ruined liao landscape surely MC reject
TScontestchris
post Aug 23 2023, 10:17 AM

5,569 posts

Need to have indoor dogs lah for strata obviously
keanutan
post Aug 23 2023, 10:37 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Aug 23 2023, 09:21 AM)

in Strata Title , Doggo owner more responsible with this Chocolate Cake biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Stratta landed same as high rise stratta , dog cannot outside only can inside house , cat everywhere can 🤣
keanutan
post Aug 23 2023, 10:39 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 23 2023, 09:03 AM)
+ 1

Some landed stratta got small gate about 2ft high 😅
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Aug 23 2023, 10:48 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Many starta tile house have gate
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 23 2023, 02:03 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 23 2023, 10:37 AM)
Stratta landed same as high rise stratta , dog cannot outside only can inside house , cat everywhere can 🤣
subject to strata acts of each high rise
some allows, must have dog guides walk
Ckmwpy0370
post Aug 23 2023, 02:04 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 23 2023, 10:39 AM)
Some landed stratta got small gate about 2ft high 😅
yeah some only, some put at the back yard

0.0441sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled