Different Tyre Size for Front and Rear

TShamboldt
post Aug 18 2023, 02:59 PM, updated 3y ago

52 posts

Driving a Proton Persona, current tyre size was 185/55R15.

Currently the front pair of tyre is kind of wear off and looks a bit of slight crack. Rear tyre replaced early last year due to side wall being cuts.

I'm thinking if I can replace a pair of tyre to 195/55R15 (since 195 is cheaper and having more option) and switch to rear, the existing pair of 185/55R15 switch to front wheel.

Would this mismatch of tyre will cause something bad or it is okay to do so? Thanks.
apendots
post Aug 18 2023, 03:02 PM

226 posts

Put the bigger tires in front

ktek
post Aug 19 2023, 01:45 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

do u drive a lone or carry ppl always. put front get more advantage.
pro: turning, braking improve.

con: speedometer incorrect (meter lower, actual higher),
slow accerelate from zero (slight heavvy)
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 19 2023, 11:30 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,147 posts

QUOTE(hamboldt @ Aug 18 2023, 02:59 PM)

Currently the front pair of tyre is kind of wear off and looks a bit of slight crack. Rear tyre replaced early last year due to side wall being cuts.

I'm thinking if I can replace a pair of tyre to 195/55R15 (since 195 is cheaper and having more option) and switch to rear, the existing pair of 185/55R15 switch to front wheel.

Would this mismatch of tyre will cause something bad or it is okay to do so? Thanks.
some rims looks good on 185 but not 195

not sure the rim width of persona, but for saga ori 185 using 195 is not nice.

taking goodyear atm/atm2 as example, 185 and 195 got a bit difference in thread design.

atm 185/55/15

atm2 185/60/15

atm2 195/55/15

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Aug 20 2023, 02:04 AM
ktek
post Aug 20 2023, 09:13 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 19 2023, 11:30 PM)

taking goodyear atm/atm2 as example, 185 and 195 got a bit difference in thread design.
four longkang yes x2
littlefire
post Aug 21 2023, 08:31 AM

2,714 posts

195/55R15 (since 195 is cheaper and having more option)

Do you think of long term like fuel consumption higher? Besides that, speedometer also not accurate.
If each kilometer increase 1 cent, example 50000km lifespan = extra RM500 gone just for fuel itself.
Not sure if this will cover the savings from buying different size.

If sell 2nd hand you also loss at least 30~50% of the tire price, in the end owner is also the loser if kena this cheap tire trick/trap.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 21 2023, 08:34 AM
TShamboldt
post Aug 21 2023, 09:26 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 19 2023, 11:30 PM)

atm 185/55/15

atm2 185/60/15

atm2 195/55/15
Thanks for showing the 195 and 185 tyre different, yes the 195 width having 4 longkang. The tyre shop starting only talk what model they have for 185, when i say wanna change 195 he directly bring me inside the shop and start introducing all the model he have. Lol.....

Just got my tyre change to hankook ventus prime4 195/55r15, put it on rear and front still the existing 185/55r15.

TShamboldt
post Aug 21 2023, 09:28 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 19 2023, 01:45 AM)
do u drive a lone or carry ppl always. put front get more advantage.
pro: turning, braking improve.

con: speedometer incorrect (meter lower, actual higher),
slow accerelate from zero (slight heavvy)
Prefer newer tyre at rear for safety. Front can turn and steer anytime. Thanks for the suggestion.
TShamboldt
post Aug 21 2023, 09:39 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 21 2023, 08:31 AM)
195/55R15 (since 195 is cheaper and having more option)

Do you think of long term like fuel consumption higher? Besides that, speedometer also not accurate. 
If each kilometer increase 1 cent, example 50000km lifespan = extra RM500 gone just for fuel itself.
Not sure if this will cover the savings from buying different size. 

If sell 2nd hand you also loss at least 30~50% of the tire price, in the end owner is also the loser if kena this cheap tire trick/trap.
My actual intention is not only 195/55r15 cheaper, but 195 provide more tyre options. Almost all brand 185 are eco tyre, and I'm prefer sort of touring type tyre for slight better grip and wet braking compare eco tyre.

Actually in my mind was conti uc7, hankook ventus prime4 and michelin ps3. Final selected hankook due to price factor rm169 per tyre and quite a good review online.

Anyway thanks for the advice, appreciate it.
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 24 2023, 09:00 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,147 posts

QUOTE(hamboldt @ Aug 21 2023, 09:39 PM)
My actual intention is not only 195/55r15 cheaper, but 195 provide more tyre options. Almost all brand 185 are eco tyre, and I'm prefer sort of touring type tyre for slight better grip and wet braking compare eco tyre.

Actually in my mind was conti uc7, hankook ventus prime4 and michelin ps3. Final selected hankook due to price factor rm169 per tyre and quite a good review online.

yea…195 got much much more tyres to choose

but i wanna keep 185 size…so recently i went with china brand tyre recommended by forumer here, cheap (rm135 for 185/55/15 and worth every penny spent.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Aug 24 2023, 09:01 PM
GamersFamilia
post Aug 26 2023, 07:07 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,766 posts

QUOTE(hamboldt @ Aug 18 2023, 02:59 PM)

195/55R15 - rear
185/55R15 - front

this combination would be the best
TShamboldt
post Aug 27 2023, 03:09 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Aug 24 2023, 09:00 PM)
yea…195 got much much more tyres to choose

but i wanna keep 185 size…so recently i went with china brand tyre recommended by forumer here, cheap (rm135 for 185/55/15 and worth every penny spent.

Can share the tyre brand, model and price?
The tyre shop i went also did recommend Luxxon tyre from China, rm115 for 185 size. But i a bit worried for the tyre quality and how good it's produce.

As my work involve a bit of tyre factory automation, those big brand have lots of machine like uniformity test, x-ray and dynamic balancing where high value tyre (esp. those oem tyre for car maker) will be going thru the same inspection machine 2 or 3 times to ensure quality confimity. Some smaller tyre factory might skip some process to shorten production cycle time for low value tyre, esp. for eco tyre.
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 27 2023, 03:42 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,147 posts

QUOTE(hamboldt @ Aug 27 2023, 03:09 PM)
Can share the tyre brand, model and price?
The tyre shop i went also did recommend Luxxon tyre from China, rm115 for 185 size. But i a bit worried for the tyre quality and how good it's produce.

As my work involve a bit of tyre factory automation, those big brand have lots of machine like uniformity test, x-ray and dynamic balancing where high value tyre (esp. those oem tyre for car maker) will be going thru the same inspection machine 2 or 3 times to ensure quality confimity. Some smaller tyre factory might skip some process to shorten production cycle time for low value tyre, esp. for eco tyre.
details here
https://carousell.app.link/2uUL74AeBCb

yes, i agree with you. this is my 1st time using china brand tyre, just want to test it out to see if it is usable or not, surprisingly it exceed my expectation.

i give it a try because there was a review by forumer here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5096453
constant_weight
post Aug 27 2023, 04:04 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(hamboldt @ Aug 21 2023, 09:39 PM)

Congrats, good move.

This is huge upgrade vs whatever eco 185 you had before this.

Grip and confident are day and night. Next all 4 wheels upgrade to touring.

0.0200sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:35 AM