Breeze Block wall cost, need help

TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 12:14 PM, updated 3y ago

525 posts

My outdoor wall is 204cm (W) x 150cm (H) (6.6ft x 4.9ft), I ask a contractor for quotation, contractor quoted me RM3500 including workmanship (without paint)

Below image is the type of BREEZE BLOCK I want

Any sifu here, can help me give some advice, TQ

This post has been edited by Atoz 1 point 1 auto: Aug 18 2023, 12:20 PM
SUSceo684
post Aug 18 2023, 12:20 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

What advise you want?
How to dig foundation and mix concrete, order breeze block and DIY install with necessary supports and end cap/pillars? Level installation is also not as easy as it looks on Youtube.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 18 2023, 12:21 PM
TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 12:22 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 18 2023, 12:20 PM)
What advise you want?
How to dig foundation and mix concrete, order breeze block and DIY install with necessary supports and end cap/pillars? Level installation is also not as easy as it looks on Youtube.
So, RM3500 is the OK price for you ?
SUSceo684
post Aug 18 2023, 12:27 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 12:22 PM)
So, RM3500 is the OK price for you ?
There's also MOQ/effort expended, even if its a small job like changing one lightbulb for 10min also have to charge half day because the time taken to drive to your place and back, not forgetting the supply store one trip for the lightbulb if so happen not in stock, all the hidden costs - when in fact it is "preventing my prioritisation" to focus on bigger jobs.

If price is a problem shop around or DIY lor. the materials are not expensive. Whether you have the time to go around transport/order/load and unload/mix everything yourself is another story.
TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 12:31 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 18 2023, 12:27 PM)
There's also MOQ/effort expended, even if its a small job like changing one lightbulb for 10min also have to charge half day because the time taken to drive to your place and back, not forgetting the supply store one trip for the lightbulb if so happen not in stock, all the hidden costs - when in fact it is "preventing my prioritisation" to focus on bigger jobs.

If price is a problem shop around or DIY lor. the materials are not expensive. Whether you have the time to go around transport/order/load and unload/mix everything yourself is another story.
OK TQ.

Btw, have you ever DIY Breeze Block wall ? mind sharing ?

Maybe I can DIY too

This post has been edited by Atoz 1 point 1 auto: Aug 18 2023, 12:31 PM
SUSceo684
post Aug 18 2023, 01:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 12:31 PM)
OK TQ.

Btw, have you ever DIY Breeze Block wall ? mind sharing ?

Maybe I can DIY too
Unfortunately no but care must be taken to ensure supporting pillars are well entrenched.. it has risk of toppling if the "posts" are not well anchored in strong wind
jojolicia
post Aug 18 2023, 01:17 PM

1,925 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 12:14 PM)
My outdoor wall is 204cm (W) x 150cm (H) (6.6ft x 4.9ft), I ask a contractor for quotation, contractor quoted me RM3500 including workmanship (without paint)

For a better response (3.5k), you should post a photo where you want your breeze wall to be erected? The pre existing.

Is it a new bottom up wall, part extending of a wall, or merely sealing up existing opening?

If new bottom up, what is the existing ground condition (bothsides) ie drain on one side? Or its a dividing wall with your neighbour (driveway or lawn) ? Or a water feature wall etc?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 18 2023, 01:27 PM
MrBaba
post Aug 18 2023, 01:24 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 12:14 PM)

Go by this rule u can judge u kena potong or not . Material price time 2 = quotation price . If more then that mean over price dy .

This post has been edited by MrBaba: Aug 18 2023, 01:37 PM
vasculio82
post Aug 18 2023, 01:26 PM

153 posts

whats wrong with a window?
TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 02:35 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Aug 18 2023, 01:24 PM)
Go by this rule u can judge u kena potong or not . Material price time 2 = quotation price . If more then that mean over price dy .
I see, if the material total cost is let say 1700 then RM3500 is considered ok price
TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 02:38 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 18 2023, 01:17 PM)
For a better response (3.5k), you should post a photo where you want your breeze wall to be erected? The pre existing.

Is it a new bottom up wall, part extending of a wall, or merely sealing up existing opening?

If new bottom up, what is the existing ground condition (bothsides) ie drain on one side? Or its a dividing wall with your neighbour (driveway or lawn) ? Or a water feature wall etc?
My is outdoor wall/fence, typical double storey terrace of the 80s

All 3 sides (bottom, left, right) are fully cemented, they can almost lay the breeze block directly
TSAtoz 1 point 1 auto
post Aug 18 2023, 02:39 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 18 2023, 01:03 PM)
Unfortunately no but care must be taken to ensure supporting pillars are well entrenched.. it has risk of toppling if the "posts" are not well anchored in strong wind
This is my worry too

Thats why I get contractor to do it
chitchat
post Aug 18 2023, 02:45 PM

491 posts

Rule of thumb get 3 quotation from 3 contractor.
ShadowR1
post Aug 18 2023, 03:07 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

There are things u can diy even u have no idea what u r doing.
There are things u dont diy even u know what u are doing.

(6.6ft x 4.9ft) Rm3.5k is kind of expensive to me.

TS, go ahead and diy, remember to come back and tell us the experience ya.

jojolicia
post Aug 18 2023, 03:16 PM

1,925 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 02:38 PM)
My is outdoor wall/fence, typical double storey terrace of the 80s

All 3 sides (bottom, left, right) are fully cemented, they can almost lay the breeze block directly
My estimates for your consideration.

60/sqft+25%=2100+25% (small qty)
max 2600

I will diy, if time permits

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 18 2023, 05:20 PM
ycs
post Aug 18 2023, 03:36 PM

4,240 posts

hire 2 indons daily paid, you buy materials
Jenn77
post Aug 18 2023, 03:41 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 18 2023, 03:36 PM)
hire 2 indons daily paid, you buy materials
TS needs to supervise..
Snoopycute98
post Aug 18 2023, 05:47 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Aug 18 2023, 03:41 PM)
TS needs to supervise..
Pay 3500 oso kena supervise lo
MrBaba
post Aug 18 2023, 06:18 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Aug 18 2023, 02:35 PM)
I see, if the material total cost is let say 1700 then RM3500 is considered ok price
Yup

0.0185sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:40 AM