5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Chery Omoda 5, Some advice needed

TSSotsotzaii
post Aug 17 2023, 12:25 AM, updated 3y ago

2,539 posts

Hello all, I plan to get the Chery Omoda 5 next year. Few reasons I wait until next year to buy is because firstly I'm not in a rush, want to see what other says about the car after driving for a year, secondly to make sure if I really want to buy it.

Anyway, Omoda 5 just so happens to have every features and technology of my dream car, which would costs around 200k+, and also fits in with my budget, also with Omoda 5, it costs more than half the price, but my main questions remains..

- Is it a reliable car that would lasts me years to come without any big major issues ? ( I saw someone saying he drove Chery for 20+ years, and the only thing he changed was gearbox )

- Is the quality ( interior ) for example the leather, the stitching, the technology etc legit decent quality ?

Other questions would be more general, is it worth to get at the price of 120+ OTR ( High spec ) ? Appreciate all kinds of advice and feedback.
matrix88
post Aug 17 2023, 12:29 AM

2,236 posts

What will you expect from a China brand car?

BL98
post Aug 17 2023, 01:01 AM

743 posts

Low spec 108k is enuf. And you might want to wait for proton s50 sedan.
em_on
post Aug 17 2023, 06:22 AM

On My Way
612 posts

Good car, tho’ its after sales service/support/spare part are yet to be seen
overfloe
post Aug 17 2023, 07:56 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,208 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Aug 17 2023, 01:25 AM)
Hello all, I plan to get the Chery Omoda 5 next year. Few reasons I wait until next year to buy is because firstly I'm not in a rush, want to see what other says about the car after driving for a year.
Come back and check again next year. You'll get more information of the ownership experience from other owners.
Pugbunny
post Aug 17 2023, 08:08 AM

717 posts

Maybe give another 1 or 2 years.

Like X70 so many after sales service issues on
Parts availability
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2023, 08:15 AM

4,061 posts

I test drive their Tiggo 8 pro. Interior is basically copy paste Merz interior for most part. Good NVH, the DCT is not slow like Geely tuned DCT.
babisotong
post Aug 17 2023, 09:22 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 17 2023, 12:29 AM)
What will you expect from a China brand car?
come on bro.. still with that sentiment? can't let go of the past? not everything China made is sheit..

This post has been edited by babisotong: Aug 17 2023, 09:23 AM
littlefire
post Aug 17 2023, 09:44 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Aug 17 2023, 01:25 AM)
- Is it a reliable car that would lasts me years to come without any big major issues ? ( I saw someone saying he drove Chery for 20+ years, and the only thing he changed was gearbox )

Early batch Chery using Mitsubishi engine & gearbox, they have move on now. I personally knew 1 friend own and driven Chery car and his feedback is there are a lot of cheap/low quality plastic material which did not last long and easy to brittle/break after warranty ends (After 5 years be prepare). Not sure if now got improvement, but 1 reason he sold his ride is also due to long waiting time for spare parts.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 17 2023, 09:47 AM
matrix88
post Aug 17 2023, 09:58 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Aug 17 2023, 09:22 AM)
come on bro.. still with that sentiment?  can't let go of the past? not everything China made is sheit..
the sentiment will be there unless they can proof to the world that they improved
no spare part thing is a big worry - even X50 X70 also have these headaches eventhought they are produced in MY and by Proton

warranrt thing - they can promise you many things, but when warranty comes, no spare parts and your car will be in workshop for monhs.
I rather wait and see this happens or not before committing myself to China made cars for time being.

for other electronics, if any issue at least I can just dump it and buy a new one but car investment is for longer period, cannot get rid easily
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2023, 10:00 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 17 2023, 09:58 AM)
the sentiment will be there unless they can proof to the world that they improved
no spare part thing is a big worry - even X50 X70 also have these headaches eventhought they are produced in MY and by Proton

warranrt thing - they can promise you many things, but when warranty comes, no spare parts and your car will be in workshop for monhs.
I rather wait and see this happens or not before committing myself to China made cars for time being.

for other electronics, if any issue at least I can just dump it and buy a new one but car investment is for longer period, cannot get rid easily
Currently using x70 ckd, the parts issues only happening during covid/mco time. Nowadays almost all resolved. No more issue. For warranty claim, as usual sc send request to HQ for approval and it take 2-4 weeks, usually 2 weeks already part arrived

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Aug 17 2023, 10:01 AM
matrix88
post Aug 17 2023, 10:05 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 17 2023, 10:00 AM)
Currently using x70 ckd, the parts issues only happening during covid/mco time. Nowadays almost all resolved. No more issue. For warranty claim, as usual sc send request to HQ for approval and it take 2-4 weeks, usually 2 weeks already part arrived
good to know.
that is after how many years they produce the model here? hahaha

so Cherry just came in, you expect they will be better?
babisotong
post Aug 17 2023, 10:12 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 17 2023, 10:05 AM)
good to know.

chill bro, give them a chance.. what with all the hate.

"Chery Malaysia inks spare parts warehousing and transportation agreement with Tiong Nam Logistics"
"https://<link removed>/2023/06/23/chery-malaysia-inks-spare-parts-warehousing-and-transportation-agreement-with-tiong-nam-logistics/"

give them a chance bruh..
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2023, 10:12 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 17 2023, 10:05 AM)
good to know.

All brand affected during covid. Well my family cx5 takes 1 month plus for bearing replacement under warranty last time around MCO. 9k km already claimed rear wheel bearing. B4 that Steering clock spring. All of this giving unpleasant ride and rattling inside, luckily the Glenmarie SC Body & Paint technician resolved all for the car.
Aaron212
post Aug 17 2023, 10:16 AM

1,773 posts

worth it to get the top spec for all the extra features

quality wise hard to say as its completely new comapred to their old models

only time can tell if it can tahan our abuse for at least 5 years otr
TSSotsotzaii
post Aug 17 2023, 10:35 AM

2,539 posts

Thanks for all the valued advice and feedback, hope to hear more of it !

Getting back to the spare parts and warranty issues, apparently for JB area at least, spare parts have already arrived at Chery 4S center at Medini Iskandar by Tiong Nam. So I don’t think we will be seeing any issues with spare parts, but still, to be observe.

Warranty I have no idea, hence im going to wait for a period of 1 year to see how everything unfold.

And yes, proton and even Volvo ( which is my dream car ) is actually taken over by China company, so to have that China made will explode etc mentality, is all in the past. Let’s see how they do with the Omoda 5 and Tiggo this time around.

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Aug 17 2023, 10:36 AM
Chrix
post Aug 17 2023, 11:47 AM

1,188 posts

only time will tell, everything else is just speculation

maybe an indication is how they handle their brand in places where they are more established (guess only in mainland?? not sure)
ssmui
post Aug 17 2023, 12:53 PM

89 posts

Can I understand why you would opt for the Chery Omoda 5 ?
Can you settle with other alternative within same price point -- Honda HRV ? Toyota Corolla Cross V ?
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2023, 01:12 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Aug 17 2023, 12:53 PM)
Can you settle with other alternative within same price point -- Honda HRV ?  Toyota Corolla Cross V ?
Have u try HM model? Later u get answers why some doesn't want using them
TSSotsotzaii
post Aug 17 2023, 01:37 PM

2,539 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Aug 17 2023, 12:53 PM)
Can you settle with other alternative within same price point -- Honda HRV ?  Toyota Corolla Cross V ?
Well, you should probably watch car reviews on these 3 type of cars, then you will know why most people would choose the Omoda 5 over these 2 brands. Whether it's China or German made, from the car reviews 10 out of 10 says their interior quality is legit high quality stuff, quality that you only find in cars that costs 200-300k.

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Aug 17 2023, 01:39 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0203sec    1.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:27 PM